X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

One World Lodge Reviews

309 Long Street, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
62 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

perfect place for couples or people who prefer it chill. although, the bar scene is a minute's walk away, this place is a great escape. very quite and safe environment. otherwise pretty basic, but well worth the money! staff is very friendly and willing to help out with any plans concerning your stay in Cape Town.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We are really glad we chose this place for our week in Cape Town. Trevor and Matt were really helpful and there was good communication from them before we arrived. Our private room was very spacious and since the hostel was quiet when we stayed it sometimes felt like we had a whole apartment to ourselves. Some people may want more of a party atmosphere but we appreciated having a relaxing place in a convenience location. The downstairs travel centre is also very useful for booking trips.


89%

Matt, the guy who owns the hostel, also owns a travel agency on the first floor and every single recommendation he gave us was amazing! Super helpful guy, would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent week stay at One World Lodge. Organized my entire week at the Travel center connected to the hostel. It is right on the end of long street so it is super easy to get around to see stuff. The South African Museum is right around the block where you can get on a hop on hop off Red tour. A block away from laundry, Mcdonalds (for free WiFi) and a grocery store. In the winter months, it does get cool. I didn't believe all the warnings and I was in for a shock.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
100%

LOVED this hostel and enjoyed our stay altogether. I can't think of a bad word to say would recommend to anyone!!!


100%

nice place. just in the end of long street. very convenient for everything. matt is friendly and helpful with his lovely little girl small. i'll be back!


77%

Trevor and Matt were nice and helpful. The hostel was small and quiet, but lacked any real atmosphere and was a bit expensive for what it was. It would have been nice to have something included (ie free wifi, breakfast, towels, etc). Wifi was really frustrating, too. Kicked me off every 15 minutes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Towels are freely available on request. As for Wifi, unfortunately this is out of our control but if guests report having problems connecting we gladly assist them and we cannot afford to make this free. We are a very small establishment and our rates are very comparable to other hostels and even cheaper than most. We find your comment a bit unfair for the kind of hostel we are. We hope you enjoyed your stay here, hope to see you again

100%

One World Lodge was one of my favourite hostels I have ever stayed. I stayed ten nights in a four-bed dorm. Most of the time alone as no one had booked it at the time. There is specious living room with attached kitchen and all facilities you need for cooking and eating. There are only two other bedrooms, one of them with attached toilet so it is never crowded with them shared one. Staff (Matt) was an excellent host, very friendly and happy to help and give a good advice at all time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a very encouraging review! And thank you for being a great guest, you brought such a great atmosphere to the guests while you were here. Hope to see you again! Happy travels!!

91%

Nice backpackers, located in one of the best places for tourists, staff very kind and friendly, they were very helpfull for us. We liked a lot staying here and we'll recomended for sure!


71%

This hostel est clean, just a bit old. It is a good place to stay because it is less noisy than in the middle of Long Street but you are very close to the main activities. There is no mirror in the bathroom of the private room, so the girls who were there stayed in the share bathroom of the dorm. And the dorm , for 4 persons, is the only way to have access to the balcony, so that it can disturbing to have 5 person who go in and out in your room.

  • 29th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a very pleasant stay at One World Lodge for 7 nights. Arrangements with Matt (the manager) were uncomplicated, availability was not a problem. Due to the excellent location, we had chance to discover Longstreet at night, security guards are all around. Longstreet might be noisy at night, especially during weekends, but the hostel itself is very calm. The small kitchenette is fair enough to prepare small meals. If the weather allows, you can sit on the spacious balcony. Highly recommended!

  • 25th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Thank you guys for all your help during our trip. We are very grateful.


100%

One world on long st is great!!! The owner (Matt) is lovely and the location is perfect! We have had a great stay here and would thoroughly recommend it!!

  • 15th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place if you're looking for something more laid back than all the party hostels on Long St. Just two double rooms and a four-bed dormitory, so you don't have to worry about long bathroom queues or loud punters partying in the living room till 4am. Staff is friendly and helpful, and you couldn't ask for a better location. Highly recommended.


83%

Matt was very helpful during the check in process and informative on the various activities in Cape Town. The location was excellent as it was in the heart of Long Street. The lodge has a total of 3 rooms and was very cozy. Loved this place and would totally stay here again!


91%

Perfect location and really friendly staff. Nice low key hostel. I would stay there again for sure.


89%

We really enjoyed our stay and Thanks to Trevor and Max. we suggest that they iron the linen, to make it more neater. otherwise the place was very clean and very homely.

  • 11th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

We enjoyed our stay at One World Lodge. The staff was really helpfull. Bedroom and bathroom were cleaned. The location is perfect to go out at night.


80%

We had a great stay at One World Lodge, the staff were very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed the atmosphere of such a small place. The terrace is lovely, though everyone has to go through one of the rooms to get to it. That room doesn't lock and its safe isn't even attached to anything solid, which you may or may not find a problem. Also, one of the bunk bed's boards broke, waking me up by falling down on me. Scary :-) There's also some mighty big roaches. Overall, cool but unpolished.


83%

What about a new fridge and stove - that was not up to standard.

  • 25th Mar 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all Cape Town Hostels

Please give us your feedback