X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Oops Design Hostel Reviews

50 Avenue des Gobelins, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3884 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Stayed here because I wanted to be within walking distance from Gare d'Austerlitz but it was a little further than expected (30 mins). Check in and check out processes were very quick, my only complaint is that there were no lockers left for your personal items (very small items, at that) and the quantity of lockers was so limited that you had to go to other floors to find them. Also, they didn't sell water, only soft drinks. Beds were fine, roomies were loud, wouldn't stay here again.


74%

The location is excellent which you can take metro to most places in the city easily. There are quite a number of good restaurants to choose from just along the street downstairs. However, the room is a bit too small and the variety of breakfast have much room for improvement. In short I would still recommend others to stay here as I met some great friends.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Not much of a social atmosphere, seemed to be mostly parents with groups of kids (like 12-15 year olds) Good place if all you want is to spend the night, or if you're a parent/guardian traveling with kids. Not too bad or too great. Personally I'd pick a different hostel with more social atmosphere and alcohol next time.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

basically to say was ok, but the bed has flea,insects..... i got lots of bites in my arms and legs. was soo horrible, i could not sleep. but one of nice stuff helped me to change another bigger room,and also paid me money for my medicin....:(


83%

Nice hostel, great location, friendly staff, good breakfast. Only downside was I had the worlds squeakiest bed.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Really enjoyed staying in this hostel. Beautiful location, with easy walks to metro stops to get to the rest of Paris. Other guests and the staff were great, with a good breakfast and great wifi. However, no real kitchen area (no fridge for personal use!), and only a few small lockers available. This was minor though, and would definitely stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review and we are really happy for you having a good time here! Actually, there is a self-service kitchen with a fridge for personal use, and you can use it from 7am to 10pm, with plenty of tables and music :) Well, you'll visit our kitchen next time, we hope to see you soon! Kind regards, Oops staff :)

71%

The location was good, located close to 2 metro stops. The hostel was well decorated and the beds were comfortable. But there are no lockers to hold your bags. Only small lockers to put a few small valuables in , but besides that you have to just leave your bag in your room and hope that your roommates are trustworthy.


94%

Clean, well designed hostel. Good value for money. In a decent neighborhood, had to take the metro about 10 minutes to get to places like Notre Dame, and about 40 minutes to get to Montemarte, where theres a lot of nightlife. Very helpful staff, but unfortunately there wasnt really a common area to get to know people.


100%

I'd stay with Oops again. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean. The towels are on the small side but do the job. The metro and bus are convenient, the local shops are good, too. Breakfast us a Carbo load but that is good for any heavy walking days you have.

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The common area is a bit compact but the rooms are decent sized so you dont feel like sardines. This is a great hostel, access to the metro makes it easy to get around Paris, the facilities are clean and comfortable. Prior comments about squeaky beds are true so if you're light sleeper bring the ear plugs.


77%

Staff was wonderful! Enjoyed my stay! Rooms are a bit small for 4 bunks and all the luggage but all in all a very good experience!


94%

Good place to stay if you are in Paris. It had a more of a hotel feel rather than a hostel feel. Check in is after 4pm so if you come early you'll have to put your stuff in the luggage room. Also the rooms are closed from 11pm to 4pm for cleaning.

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. However, there is no lock out time and there is no need to leave the room between 11h and16h. OOPS staff

63%

not so bad. Location is good if you want to enjoy Paris because place d'Italy, a useful station, is near this hostel. the others are average, I think.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very good location, very close to Les Goubelins and Place d'Italie stations, you can walk to Panthéon and Les Catacombes. Very good breakfast, clean rooms and bathrooms, free lockers on the hallways, helpful staff.


66%

Clean fine ok staff not very engaging no common room to relax in big rooms and big bathroom


71%

Oops was a great hostel. Not necessarily conducive to meeting people, but in a nice location of Paris - a little on the quiet side but the city is easy to travel with the metro. I had no problems here whatsoever and it was very nice considering the price.


80%

Very clean, the rooms are abit small, really nice staff, check in time is abit late, a good place for 1-2 nights...

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! Check is at 4pm, while in most hostels we checked it is at 3pm...

77%

Nice hostel at good location but really squeaky bunk beds. Make sure to bring earplugs!

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great breakfast, room clean and bright with lovely view! Good wifi access throughout. Only downfall was the kitchen - not enough cooking utensils and cutlery to allow us to cook. So much so we went to buy our own pan! The fridge was full so we couldn't keep anything in it during our stay. Staff were lovely amd friendly, even at 5am when we left !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review! Our kitchen should have everything, but sometimes either the cutlery hides or they go for a walk (and never come back). And it is really a pity when it's one of our guests who discover it before us... But apparently you enjoyed your stay and thanks again for your tips for us to improve! Oops! Staff

71%

The hostel was functional.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Functionality: air-conditioning, brand new showers and toilets, self-catering kitchen, all-ensuite rooms, hair dryer in rooms, wifi and computers, electronic lockers, wheelchair accessibility and a big lift, all that in a haussmanian building with a modern décor :) And we used your review to advertise, since we didn't get the rating you gave to us...

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(74 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback