X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Open House Reviews

13 Rue Saint Jean, Noisy le Sec, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

44%

Rating
124 Total Reviews
  • 53%Value For Money
  • 45%Security
  • 49%Location
  • 38%Staff
  • 40%Atmosphere
  • 46%Cleanliness
  • 39%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

No toilet seets, we were given half a roll of wc paper for a three night stay, and they charge a 50 euro deposit just to get the keys to the room!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iceland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

as we got in the hostel we were informed by a very rude man that they had no roms available ( we had a reservation and had paid for it!). The man asked us to go to another location in Paris calling it "the other hostel" . There, it was only a korean house. house of the father of the manager. well, just to add : DO NOT STAY OR BOOK THIS HOSTEL. when we refuse to stay in someone's dirty house we were distrated and had an awuful treatment.


20%

I give them 0, they didn't even have a room ready by 22h00. They couldn't give me a key for my room and it was filthy, no linen and the bathroom didn't have a lock or toilet paper. I paid them and left as I couldn't stay there. Found far better accommodation for a few euros more - it was worth the 2hr move back into town!


26%

Never go there! There was only one person responsible from everthing and he speaks neither english nor french. And he is not the most friendly person. He didnt even let me use the wireless, and the room was really in terrible condition. There was a bunch of drunk, and desperate old guys there.


49%

The batjfooms were quite messy and staff didn't speak very good english. In the room you could not lock your stuff somewere safe.


29%

Is good... if you only want a place to sleep. They dont even have toilet paper!


60%

We did not went to Open House. They shifted us to UNi Apartment in (UNI APARTMENT ( Addresse: 9 Mail Jean Zay, 93200 Saint Denis) because of some renovation in Open House. But UNI Apartment was very good place. Lady was nice who was managing all the stuff. Nice place to stay. Clean and Quite. Recommended! :)

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

A deposit is required for the key to the front door, and thus the front door is often left unlocked. The room doors doesn't lock either. It would have been good if lockers were available. Location was outside of Paris in Zone 3, so that was slightly annoying. There was no common area, so yeah.


31%

Owners are rude and unfriendly. Curfew is 11pm. Arrived at 13 saint rue and was escorted to another location by a person who did not speak any English and told that I would spend the night in this alternative accommodation. Other people who were in the hostel also paid a lower price than the one advertised on this site (45% less!). Generally an unhappy experience. I never leave feedback but I wanted to make sure others know that this place is a full on p***-take!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

Very sketchy in bad area far from the center of Paris, we did not feel safe, it was beyond hot, the only guy on staff there did not speak English and was basically no help. Do not stay here.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

When I arrived, the guy working there asked for my reservation number, which I didn't have yet because I was not on Wifi. He told me to pay 14 Euros. I gave him 20 Euros and he said he would return the change later. He only gave me back 5 Euros (took 1!), and when I realized that I only owed him 11 Euros because I paid 3 online, he said too bad and would not give me back the 4 Euros! When I insisted and showed him my receipt online, he started to yell at me!! Was the worst hostel experience ever


34%

It was an awful stay there. tiny rooms with 6 beds. Our roommates were also inacceptable and they were talking till 1 am. the bathroom was so dirty. everywhere hair and shavers. ugly. the room was alsy dirty. there is no toilet-paper. We asked the hostess for toilet-paper and she said to us that we should have it by our own. And it is also very cold. No heating. And be careful, the hostess is very choleric! She demands deposits for nearly everything. Eg. for the sheets 100€! Thats an impudence!!

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Awful place.When we went to there, there was no staff. Actually, there is no receiption table or something. The place of the hostel is very bad. Outside of the city. Environment is very bad. You cant recognize the hostel before you get in. The staff tried to take extra money from us for giving the key of room. We didnt pay it. At the night, the staff came to our room and wanted the key of room. He said you didnt pay deposit. You cant keep it. During the night, some people tried to open our door.


49%

Positive:Good Price, 15min with Train from centre of Paris - Negative:50€ deposit for key,everyone who doesn't have a key will ring in the middle of the night until you stand up to open the door, dirty rooms, no toilet paper (everything must be bought be yourself)

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


23%

Don't stay there!!! No reception, the guy who worked there didn't spoke another language than Chinese! They were fully booked, even when we already booked two beds! They took us with a car to Chinatown, where a unfriendly women wanted to make us stay in an appartement. She told us that we have to pay 22 Euros each, which is not the agreed price of the hostel! She also didn't wanted to pay back the 13 Euros deposite, which is for the internet as she told. (it didn't even worked) We went away.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

This place is not at all professional. I chose this place as it was very cheap. However, I did not go to the Open house. I was taken to somebody's house . I was not given a receipt for my payment. Should be the last on your list.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

This hostel is a joke, the owner doesn't speak French or English just Chinese and he points to things and grunts, i had to translate via google translate. The main door is open and there are no keys for the rooms and no reception to check if people are coming in or out. The location is horrid, dogs barking 24hrs a day, guys selling drugs on streets. The metro takes you to the centre but you have to walk or get a taxi as it has no connections. bathroom is ok. people smoke in the rooms.


49%

The Open House was our hostel for 4 nights. It is in the near of Paris but you can reach very quickly the city by train.Unfurtuately the owners dont speak any french or english. so it was reaaaaaly difficult to understand what they want. furthermore we noticed that there are some bedbugs in our bed and that was really disgusting - so we dont felt really happy there...

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The staff can't speak english or french, they don't have toilet paper.

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

I did not stay at Open House When I first arrived to Noisey le Sec I was immediately fearful for myself. Since I didn't know a word of French I felt scared to open my mouth as I walked the streets in the neighborhood. I chose to leave and find accommodations elsewhere. I felt the atmosphere was unpleasant and hostile. It was like the ghetto, and as a lone traveler I chose to look after myself and be in a better environment where I could feel safe to walk at night


« first « Prev 1 2
(25 results)


View all Paris Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback