X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oporto Fado Hostel Reviews

Rua Alvares Cabral 14, Porto, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
336 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Staff was super friendly and helpful! Location was good and easy access with Metro and 15min walk to city centre. The fact that there is no kitchen and only a microwave was a major factor. Cheap, good location, brialliant staff , but no kitchen.


66%

- no heating in the winter (we took really warm cloths and it was impossible to fall asleep without extra heating, which was extra paid), - gas stove not working (we could eat only food from microwave oven), - very bad ventilation (the room smelled with mould), - there is wrong address on the website (it's disappointing, specially when arriving at midnight)

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Interesting and very welcome people.

  • 1st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mozambique
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

it was a bit cold

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

All we need to spend some time with friends.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Had a nice stay in a double room for 16 euro a night only, with towls and soap. And could leave our bags there the whole day after checking out. Staff is nice and helpful. Great place.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

It was a good stay


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
34%

The hostel was very old and dirty with unconfortable beds. It seems like an abandoned hostel. For this price in Spain hostels are better. Thankyou

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent place to stay! The staff is great and very helpful, the room and the bathroom were really clean.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Sheets smelled bad. Long term families staying there. Uncomfortable bed. Old everything

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Gostei muito de estar neste hostel. A recepção foi excelente e o quarto muito agradável.


86%

This is a great hostel, especially for its value! The staff is very friendly and helpful. My boyfriend and I booked a private room and for just 11 euros per person per night we even had a private bathroom with bathtub, clean towels every day (for free), free bedlinen (changed once a week) and free wifi. The location was very good, with everything (supermarkets, historic center) in walking distance. Very positive about this hostel, especially compared to other hostels!

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

it was fungi in every room. we wanted to change the room and they put us in an other fungi room. I think every room looks like this. Wet & fungi there.. Dont go people, there are several hostels in middle of the old city. Just take the metro there and pay the 2 euros more per night. its worth it. we didnt slept on the beds cos they were dirrty. fortunately we had sleeping bags from our camping trip. As someone who travelled a lot of places. This was the worst ever. EVER. Disgusting.

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Customer, As you know all was perfect until we kindly ask you to do not disturb the other guests with your noise ....... Fights, alcool, noise, all together disturb a lot . I hope for a next time you realise that you are not alone or in apartment .

80%

Very nice and helpful staff! Could have stayed longer if the room wouldn't been so cold..


89%

The staff was very kind and helpful.The kitchen well equipped,the location very good.If it wasn't for the drunk american girls shouting in front of the hostel one night it would be perfect.We had a room for 3 people and got our own bathroom so it was like we were in a hotel.


60%

quiet good location, nice staff but we dont advice for couples or business trips. Was very noisy all night long. Ok for young people who want to party.


74%

Staff was friendly and helpful, but didn't organize anything for it's guest as I'm used to from other hostels People were separated, everyone on his own, noone stayed in the common room. So I didn't like the atmosphere.

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

we had a great time in the oporto fado hostel and recommend it to everybody! the terrace is supernice, we met a lot of cool people there. and Manu the guy who works there is always friendly and really helpful with anything!


54%

the rooms are to small, the stock beds unsecure, the matrazes old, some rooms have no window to out, the near road iis very loud, the staff is friendly

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Kitchen was good equipped and clean. Staff was very kind.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(117 results)


View all Porto Hostels

Please give us your feedback