X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Oporto Fado Hostel Reviews

Rua Alvares Cabral 14, Porto, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
320 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Excellent place to stay! The staff is great and very helpful, the room and the bathroom were really clean.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Sheets smelled bad. Long term families staying there. Uncomfortable bed. Old everything

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Gostei muito de estar neste hostel. A recepção foi excelente e o quarto muito agradável.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

This is a great hostel, especially for its value! The staff is very friendly and helpful. My boyfriend and I booked a private room and for just 11 euros per person per night we even had a private bathroom with bathtub, clean towels every day (for free), free bedlinen (changed once a week) and free wifi. The location was very good, with everything (supermarkets, historic center) in walking distance. Very positive about this hostel, especially compared to other hostels!

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

it was fungi in every room. we wanted to change the room and they put us in an other fungi room. I think every room looks like this. Wet & fungi there.. Dont go people, there are several hostels in middle of the old city. Just take the metro there and pay the 2 euros more per night. its worth it. we didnt slept on the beds cos they were dirrty. fortunately we had sleeping bags from our camping trip. As someone who travelled a lot of places. This was the worst ever. EVER. Disgusting.

  • 3rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Customer, As you know all was perfect until we kindly ask you to do not disturb the other guests with your noise ....... Fights, alcool, noise, all together disturb a lot . I hope for a next time you realise that you are not alone or in apartment .

80%

Very nice and helpful staff! Could have stayed longer if the room wouldn't been so cold..


89%

The staff was very kind and helpful.The kitchen well equipped,the location very good.If it wasn't for the drunk american girls shouting in front of the hostel one night it would be perfect.We had a room for 3 people and got our own bathroom so it was like we were in a hotel.


60%

quiet good location, nice staff but we dont advice for couples or business trips. Was very noisy all night long. Ok for young people who want to party.


74%

Staff was friendly and helpful, but didn't organize anything for it's guest as I'm used to from other hostels People were separated, everyone on his own, noone stayed in the common room. So I didn't like the atmosphere.

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

we had a great time in the oporto fado hostel and recommend it to everybody! the terrace is supernice, we met a lot of cool people there. and Manu the guy who works there is always friendly and really helpful with anything!


54%

the rooms are to small, the stock beds unsecure, the matrazes old, some rooms have no window to out, the near road iis very loud, the staff is friendly

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Kitchen was good equipped and clean. Staff was very kind.


91%

LoCKER FOR THE STUFF WOULD BE GREAT!

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Location was nearby a tramstation. We booked in a different location, but that one was full. So we were placed in another location 200 mtrs further. This location was supposed to be better than the other, but we couldn't check that. Our new location was very dark and only had the things it needed to: beds and a bathroom. Kitchen was oke but didnt use it. Atmosphere was poor, personelle was normally helpfull.


97%

I stayed at this place with a friend, and although we paid for a group room we were accommodated with a private one, for reasons unknown. It was a nice surprise though. The building itself was very nice, with two restrooms, including a bath tub and many showers. The place was very spacious, with a large living room, a back yard, and balconies on which to relax. The superintendent Manuel was very friendly and helpful, as were the managerial staff. I really liked this place.


71%

very freindly and helpful crew, nevertheless wasn't our private room in gut conditions. the air inside the room was very moist, the bathroom really old. we weren't that confortable sleeping there, very bad because the location was ok and the crew was very nice.


60%

My experience at Oporto Fado Hostel was just ok. The rooms were very small and cramped although the beds were very comfortable. There was a very nice living room area, but it was locked every morning and I have no idea why. The location is good because it is nearby lots of restaurants and bars, although it is a bit of a walk to the old town and major sites. Lastly, the kitchen was absolutely terrible and we had to go to a building across the street just to cook dinner.


80%

We got a free upgrade from a double-bed w/ shared bathroom to a family room w/ private bathroom. That was nice! The staff was also very welcoming. However, the room was infested with ants we got (lower ground floor). I didn't really mind because I don't think ants are particularly disgusting but it might be a problem to some people. The room was however very clean, not sure what the ants were doing here.


97%

It's a really good hostel, cheap and comfortable!


54%

We have to pay for the hiting... :(


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(109 results)


View all Porto Hostels

Please give us your feedback