X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Orange Drive Hostel Reviews

1764 North Orange Drive, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
950 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

I had a private room with no bathroom, but was allowed to use any bathroom in the building, and there were plenty. The room was hot because there was no air conditioning. The place was clean and the location can't be beat - from the front door we could hear the screaming fans when the Rock showed up at the Chinese Theatre for a premiere.


80%

A/C would have been nice during the summer


97%

No complaints. Clean, neat, close to everything. Will definitely come back again.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is great to stay close by the Hollywood blvd (just around the corner). You are in the middle of all the action but great to go back and rest in a quiet, peacefull place. Breakfast is great, all you can eat waffles, tea, and coffee. The staff is super nice and helpfull, they hook you up with great tours, give you tips and directions to move around the city, and have a great shuttle service to LAX. Overall not your tipical hostal experience because this one just went overboard.


80%

The location is awesome. Close to the metro, LA Fitness, CVS, and other stores/restaurants. Big beds, but no a/c or fans. I just didn't like that I had to give them $20.00 as collateral for the key just because it forces you to use the ATM there. Everything else was good.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent location, particularly if you don't have a car. Lots of attractions within walking distance. The 6-bed dorm I stayed in was comfortable enough, but very hot (no air con) and there were only 3 power outlets in the room. Bathrooms were generally very clean and there were plenty of them. Staff seemed friendly. Wifi was a bit temperamental, particularly in the lobby. Breakfast is basic and the kitchen is way too small. Other guests were quiet - no parties here, thank God. Good overall.


100%

Friendly attention, great location -less than a block away from the Chinese Theatre-, very cozy facilities. Definitively the place to stay in Hollywood!


100%

Great stay - the location is perfect, literally minutes from Hollywood Boulevard, it doesn't feel like a standard hostel the house is so beautiful it feels part of history. The only downside is there is no air con, but with the windows open it was fine and everything else made up for that!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • amylou89
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

We stayed at Orange Hostel for 2 nights earlier this month. The property was lovely, however because of the age of the property, there was no air-conditioning so rooms got quite stuffy at night. The dorm was rather expensive for what it was. However, we loved the staff. They were extremely lovely and accommodating. Our stand out favourites were Laura, tattooed guy, and particularly Pedro.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Good points: - Amazing location for the walk of fame and chinese theatre - Lots of bathrooms - free breakfast Bad points: - no tv in the room which we did have in other hostels (in a private room) - no pool - tiny bedroom - not overly sociable environment - kitchen is small for the size of the hostel - NO AIR CON , the rooms get ridiculously hot and there isn't even a fan -room wasn't cleaned all week so bin overflowed - couple of the staff really strange and pretty rude


63%

Breakfast was poor. Only waffles and instant coffee. Rooms little bit smelly...

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing location!!!


94%

One thing I wish was on the webpage was that there is a $20 refundable security deposit, payable in cash upon arrival. That information would be helpful to travelers who want to make sure they have enough cash on them for other activities. Having said that, the location was excellent, the facilities were great (though one wishes for air conditioning in summertime, especially when sleeping on a top bunk), and the staff were very helpful. Plus, you can't beat free breakfast!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great Hostel, clean, Perfect Location, nice staff

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A little noisy. May be the window can be doubled to keep quiet.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Loved the location and how easy it was to get in and out at night. They provided information about local happenings and transportation. Kind of surprised they left out Uber and Lyft. I felt very safe there and the room was clean. It felt really awkward talking to the person at the from desk, who didn't make much eye contact or smile. They were by no means rude, but I didn't receive the level of hospitality I was expecting.

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We appreciate your review and suggestions about transportation options. Our staff does try very hard to provide excellent customer service but sometimes during check in, especially during the peak summer season, we may not be able to engage with guests as much as we would like. Thank you for your review. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

97%

Awesome hostel! We were in a private double, next to one of many shower/bathrooms so appreciated the quieter atmosphere (more hotel than party hostel). Considering location, which is spot on for Hollywood, and solid wifi, the included waffle breakfasts are super good value for LA (and US in general) although the kitchen is small and queues can form on busy mornings. Considering the price of accommodation In Americas larger cities I would say this was excellent value overall and great staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all of your kind comments about our hostel. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Best Wishes, Orange Drive Hostel

100%

Myself and my girlfriend staye here for a week. Staff were extremely friendly, the location is fantastic - right next to the Hollywood Walk of Fame and near the metro. Room was lovely made and very value for money. If you are going to LA you have to stay here, it really was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind comments about our hostel, and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

80%

This hostel is located in a lovely, rambling old Hollywood-style house and has a nice lawn with outdoor seating and a patio for breakfast. The upper floors with private rooms were VERY quiet - not the place to stay if you want to make some noise, come in late, stay up visiting, etc. Definitely not a party atmosphere. Free pancake breakfast was offered (did not try it). Nice perk was the parking for 5$ extra; you'll need it in this neighborhood. Great location.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We appreciate your review and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Best Wishes, Orange Drive Hostel

100%

I thought the location was perfect as it was so close to the tours I booked and easy to get to all the places I wanted to go.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback