X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orange Drive Hostel Reviews

1764 North Orange Drive, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
1263 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Excellent location, couldn't of asked for better. Atmosphere was very lacking, we imagined it to be a hub of livelyness being this close to Hollywood with lots of young people, but we were disappointed to find that it was the opposite of this, with many older guests. None of the provided DVDs worked in the DVD player. Breakfast was the most poor out of all of the places we have stayed in the 7 weeks we have been in the states, the waffle irons were very slow and left the waffles undercooked.


91%

Kitchen is small, but adequate. Waffles, pancakes and oatmeal for breakfast are included--also coffee, tea, and hot chocolate all day. Right around the corner from Grauman's Chinese Theater.


97%

great location and chilled out atmosphere!

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Very well located, unfortunately we had a room between a public restromm and a public shower next to a noisy kitchen with people hanging around late and speaking loud. The beds were confortable though.

  • 13th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything is perfect!

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Excellent position to metro with a high level of cleanliness and charm. Our room on the top level was practically new but could do with more block out curtains with windows on 3 sides that invite the lovely California sun in a little too easily. The kitchen area is somewhat small and awkward as others have mentioned but there is a lovely seating area to eat at outside in the well kept garden. The place is a credit to all the staff.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Orange Drive was so close to Hollywood Boulevard and local shops so that was easy. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room which was apparently Marilyn Monroe's was comfortable and clean and I appreciated that towels were provided. The morning waffles were good too.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice staff, bunch of suggestions what to do in L.A. Includes breakfast but limited choice (oatmeal, pancake/waffle mix) Pratically on the walk of fame !


100%

I had arrived a day earlier than planned knowing that Orange Drive had no rooms available. As the bus has drpped me at Chinese Theatre, I walked up to the hostel and asked to leave my excess baggage at the hostel for next day. Pedro L on duty was more than helpful in accommodating me. He is also well travelled and seemed emphatetic with traveller's needs. It is such a convenient location with buses and train to all corners of LA.


83%

We stayed 3 nights in the private room. The second night after 11:00 p.m, we heard loudly music and people talking from the patio. It sounded like they had a party. The location is good and the room is clean.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you for a great stay!

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

97%

It's nice there. I enjoyed my stay there.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

77%

Stayed in the private room and it was more like a hotel room. Good free breakfast too - make your own waffles. Perfect location right by Hollywood blvd.


80%

There is no air conditioning in the rooms. We stayed there in July and it was very hot all day long.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff are lovely and the hostel is clean and quiet. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for writing a review about our hostel. We appreciate your feedback, and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

100%

The hostel is an extremely clean, well-maintained old Hollywood mansion. The location is absolutely central and convenient, but almost no street noise. I stayed in a 6-bed female dorm with bathroom, and it was very comfortable, safe and quiet. We could also access any of the numerous bathrooms in the building if our bathroom was occupied, which was very convenient. Pancake/waffle batter and syrup was provided for a cook-it-yourself free breakfast. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about our hostel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

66%

Need stronger wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We did have some technical problems with our Wi-Fi during the time of your stay and we apologize for the inconvenience, we appreciate your comments. Thank you for staying with us. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

91%

Location is GREAT, just a 3 minute walk from union station. Staff is really friendly and helpful, and it is very clean. WiFi works well most of the time and even though the hostel is right around the corner of lively Hollywood Boulevard, it is very quiet and safe. It's like being in another world. The kitchen is very small, but we didn't use it for cooking, just for breakfast, it was ok for that. The house is a bit old, furniture outdated but who cares. It's a fine place to stay, we enjoyed it

  • 22nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location, very clean, and very kind and helpful staff. It's amazing because literally less than a block away, you have the super noisy and crowded Hollywood Boulevard and Hollywood Walk of Fame, but Orange Drive Hostel is very nicely sheltered from that. Bathrooms were very clean and the staff treated me well. One very tiny complaint I have is that breakfast options are very limited. It's pretty much just waffles and pancakes. Would have appreciated maybe some fruits and toast.


91%

Great location, great service, great price!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(71 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback