X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orange Drive Hostel Reviews

1764 North Orange Drive, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
988 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

My stay was great - awesome location.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I had an absolutely great stay at this hostel! The employees are so lovely and you feel comfortable and safe the whole time!

  • 23rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very gooed location Nice hotel, friendly staff Breakfast is very poor

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

Whilst being close to Hollywood Boulevard (which is less of a positive than it sounds), there is little else to recommend this accommodation. The staff, barring one girl who looks like Tina McQueen from Hollyoaks, were quite rude. The whole place looks like it could do with a lick of paint and security leaves a lot to be desired as there is no safe room to leave luggage whilst awaiting check in. The temperature in the room is also very difficult to regulate, leaving you sweltering.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sad to hear you had an unpleasant experience. We are in the heart of Hollywood, which is a plus or a negative depending on if one wants to stay near all major tourist attractions. You may store luggage in the lobby room before check in and we have lockers downstairs to store valuables. We don't have air conditioning due to the historic age of hostel, we list this information on our website, so potential guests know this before booking a room. We appreciate your review, Kind Regards.

83%

The place was really good to stay during our trip, close to hollywood blvd it's perfect to feel the atmosphere of the Walk of Fame. However one of the receptionist was not welcoming and we felt as we were disturbing her. We payed to be here, just remember that ! The other ones were nice. I particularly enjoyed the front and the private garden to spend time with people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We understand you were tired and that you arrived several hours before the check-in time, but the reception cannot allow guests to sleep in the lobby room. The receptionist was trying to accommodate everyone's needs and conduct the business of check out as well as those checking in. We appreciate all of our guests and their choice to stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're happy you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

86%

Was in an Excellent location


89%

beautiful girl checking in,they help us buy the ticket to universal studio ,and book taxi。feel very good!exceeding explanation!

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Perfect location if you want to do Hollywood´s tourist parts. Good rooms but thin walls so if you are sensitive to sounds this can be a problem. Nice and service minded staff. Would definitely recommend this hotell.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Brilliant hostel!! The location is amazing-can't believe how close you are to the walk of fame!! Check in was very easy and the room we stayed in (private twin with shared bathroom) had everything you needed and was very good for the price. Rooms were clean, staff were very friendly and beds were comfy and there wasn't a lot of noise.It was easy to arrange a shuttle to the airport and it was only about $17 so a lot cheaper than a taxi. I would definitely come here again!!


100%

Orange Drive Hostel was amazing! The staff were very nice and informative about the hostel and things to do in the area. This was my first hostel in America and I can't imagine having a better experience. Hostel is completely safe and in a great location!

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I don't know how to use the air condition .(^_^)

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I wasn't in this hotel this year, but last year.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

i am ok without milk for breakfast, but if there were some instruction of pancake maker, that would be great

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

very very impressed! nice rooms, good and helpfull staff!!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I had a private room with no bathroom, but was allowed to use any bathroom in the building, and there were plenty. The room was hot because there was no air conditioning. The place was clean and the location can't be beat - from the front door we could hear the screaming fans when the Rock showed up at the Chinese Theatre for a premiere.


80%

A/C would have been nice during the summer


97%

No complaints. Clean, neat, close to everything. Will definitely come back again.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is great to stay close by the Hollywood blvd (just around the corner). You are in the middle of all the action but great to go back and rest in a quiet, peacefull place. Breakfast is great, all you can eat waffles, tea, and coffee. The staff is super nice and helpfull, they hook you up with great tours, give you tips and directions to move around the city, and have a great shuttle service to LAX. Overall not your tipical hostal experience because this one just went overboard.


80%

The location is awesome. Close to the metro, LA Fitness, CVS, and other stores/restaurants. Big beds, but no a/c or fans. I just didn't like that I had to give them $20.00 as collateral for the key just because it forces you to use the ATM there. Everything else was good.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. We would like you to know that we do list on our reservation page that a cash security deposit is required at check in. The ATM is a recent addition to our hostel for our guests convenience. But we would be happy to provide locations to other ATM's within walking distance of the hostel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

80%

Excellent location, particularly if you don't have a car. Lots of attractions within walking distance. The 6-bed dorm I stayed in was comfortable enough, but very hot (no air con) and there were only 3 power outlets in the room. Bathrooms were generally very clean and there were plenty of them. Staff seemed friendly. Wifi was a bit temperamental, particularly in the lobby. Breakfast is basic and the kitchen is way too small. Other guests were quiet - no parties here, thank God. Good overall.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(68 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback