X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orange Drive Hostel Reviews

1764 North Orange Drive, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1040 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Bed was small for a private double room. Their parking costed 5 dollars per day. There was noise during the day (some carpentary), but it was ok. Lovelly old woman talked to us when we were leaving. It is on the same block of Walk Of Fame, Dolby Theatre, El Captain and others: so it is good, will save you some time. They give waffle for breakfast, but it is DIY scheme. It was taking too long for people to make theirs, so we went to a starbucks nearby. No deal-breakers. No air-con or fans.


100%

Loved staying here. All the staff were so helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in Hollywood.

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel! We got a two person private room that was very charming. The bathrooms were impressively clean. The staff was always available. The hostel location is within walking distance of Hollywood blvd while the street itself being pretty quiet.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

perfect location for travelers who don't wish to drive! you really don't need a car to explore L/A, the metro is only 10 mins walk from the hostel door. The bonus is the Hollywood Blvd, all the major attractions are only 2 blocks away, the suvinior stores open till 12am! You can take the Hollywood sign picture on the upper level of the mall near by. I will def return to this hostel.


89%

Location is good in regards to the metro, Chinese theatre and going to see Jimmy Kimmel live etc however at night it can feel a little unsafe and intimidating. Staff also informed us we could get a bus to the airport for $8 at the corner of Hollywood and Vine however failed to mention it only ran every hour so we missed it and had to get a $70 taxi to the airport which was very stressful. However staff were very friendly and helpful!


89%

Great place to stay. So close to all the action but felt so far away. Very quiet, clean and safe. Staff were very nice and helpful. Definitely recommend staying here if you are a busy traveller that spends most time out and about.


83%

We stayed two nights in this beautiful Hostel. The building was erected in the 1920th and so everything is a little bit old fashioned but charming and clean. We loved to sit outside at the patio for breakfast (pancakes/waffles are included, also coffee/tee and cereals but no milk :/) and dinner. When you leave the hostel and turn left you already can see the Hollywood Blvd and the Chinese Theatre. The staff was always friendly and tried to help us with all our questions. We definitely recommend


69%

The location is great, but others are so so.


100%

Perfect location if you're going to a show at the Hollywood Bowl, hiking to the Griffith Observatory, or hanging out on the Hollywood Walk of Fame! We had a rental car, so the $5 daily parking behind the hostel was extremely helpful. Facilities were clean and the free waffle breakfast was delicious! Highly recommended.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed here for 6 days had a great time. People were friendly and had a nice vibe to the hostel. In a great spot so easy to wander around hollywood blvd etc. It did get really hot @ night but thats the only bad thing. And kitchens really small so didnt try and cook. But fresh and easy is close and loads of places to eat. Staff where very friendly. I would stay again. Really good hostel with good tradition. Thanks Guys enjoyed LA much more this time around.


80%

The room is too stuffy!! Install fans of something!!


97%

Excellent place and staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Always go out of their way to give you more info. Only complaints would be the heat as there are no aircon or even fans in the rooms which makes sleeping quite difficult. Location is excellent though and everything else makes up for the lack of aircon!

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Such a lovely hostel!! Location was awesome and staffs are friendly :) They have free breakfast service in the morning. You can make waffles or pancakes there..It depends but you might better go eat earlier (like 6 or 7) if you don't want to eat in a crowded kitchen. Landry costs $5 everytime which might be a little bit expensive but others are awesome for me!! I would definitely love to stay here again!!

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A lovely place to stay. Nice and peaceful in the madness of Hollywood and really lovely staff. Nothing fancy, so don´t come with really high expectations but it is definitely a nice place to stay in LA.


83%

I had a very enjoyable stay

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I made so many friends during my stay here, it was in a perfect location and the staff were very helpful. My stay here was well worth the price i paid, and hopefully i will be back here next year.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A great place to stay with the best location! So easy to get around with buses and the metro right on your doorstep. Staff were very friendly and willing to help you in any way they could. Only negative thing I have to say about our stay was that it was so hot in our room we could barely sleep at night, even if we had the option of renting a small fan for our stay that would have been a great help! Other than that, would go back in a heart beat!


100%

I really loved to stay at Orange Drive Hostel. It was my first time being a hostel and I found the environment very friendly. Loved the staff (especially Laura) and all the tips that they gave to me about places to go. I've made a lot of friends there! Not to mention the free waffles in the breakfast and chocolate all day! The location is really good (1 block from Hollywood Blvd). My only complaint it was not having a fan in the dorms. At night was very very hot and a trouble to sleep :(

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice hostel, friendly efficient staff. Good location in Hollywood and good facilities.


100%

The hostel is located a stone throw away from Hollywood Boulevard! It's clean, tidy, spacious, everything we could ever need from a hostel! There were posters and information up on the noticeboards by reception about local events and activities going on in the area and the staff were very helpful. They also give you space in the kitchen to purchase foods and drinks for yourself which is a bonus!

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(72 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback