X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orange Drive Hostel Reviews

1764 North Orange Drive, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1015 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Brilliant hostel!! The location is amazing-can't believe how close you are to the walk of fame!! Check in was very easy and the room we stayed in (private twin with shared bathroom) had everything you needed and was very good for the price. Rooms were clean, staff were very friendly and beds were comfy and there wasn't a lot of noise.It was easy to arrange a shuttle to the airport and it was only about $17 so a lot cheaper than a taxi. I would definitely come here again!!


100%

Orange Drive Hostel was amazing! The staff were very nice and informative about the hostel and things to do in the area. This was my first hostel in America and I can't imagine having a better experience. Hostel is completely safe and in a great location!

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I don't know how to use the air condition .(^_^)

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I wasn't in this hotel this year, but last year.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

i am ok without milk for breakfast, but if there were some instruction of pancake maker, that would be great

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

very very impressed! nice rooms, good and helpfull staff!!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I had a private room with no bathroom, but was allowed to use any bathroom in the building, and there were plenty. The room was hot because there was no air conditioning. The place was clean and the location can't be beat - from the front door we could hear the screaming fans when the Rock showed up at the Chinese Theatre for a premiere.


80%

A/C would have been nice during the summer


97%

No complaints. Clean, neat, close to everything. Will definitely come back again.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is great to stay close by the Hollywood blvd (just around the corner). You are in the middle of all the action but great to go back and rest in a quiet, peacefull place. Breakfast is great, all you can eat waffles, tea, and coffee. The staff is super nice and helpfull, they hook you up with great tours, give you tips and directions to move around the city, and have a great shuttle service to LAX. Overall not your tipical hostal experience because this one just went overboard.


80%

The location is awesome. Close to the metro, LA Fitness, CVS, and other stores/restaurants. Big beds, but no a/c or fans. I just didn't like that I had to give them $20.00 as collateral for the key just because it forces you to use the ATM there. Everything else was good.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your review. We would like you to know that we do list on our reservation page that a cash security deposit is required at check in. The ATM is a recent addition to our hostel for our guests convenience. But we would be happy to provide locations to other ATM's within walking distance of the hostel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

80%

Excellent location, particularly if you don't have a car. Lots of attractions within walking distance. The 6-bed dorm I stayed in was comfortable enough, but very hot (no air con) and there were only 3 power outlets in the room. Bathrooms were generally very clean and there were plenty of them. Staff seemed friendly. Wifi was a bit temperamental, particularly in the lobby. Breakfast is basic and the kitchen is way too small. Other guests were quiet - no parties here, thank God. Good overall.


100%

Friendly attention, great location -less than a block away from the Chinese Theatre-, very cozy facilities. Definitively the place to stay in Hollywood!


100%

Great stay - the location is perfect, literally minutes from Hollywood Boulevard, it doesn't feel like a standard hostel the house is so beautiful it feels part of history. The only downside is there is no air con, but with the windows open it was fine and everything else made up for that!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • amylou89
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

We stayed at Orange Hostel for 2 nights earlier this month. The property was lovely, however because of the age of the property, there was no air-conditioning so rooms got quite stuffy at night. The dorm was rather expensive for what it was. However, we loved the staff. They were extremely lovely and accommodating. Our stand out favourites were Laura, tattooed guy, and particularly Pedro.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Good points: - Amazing location for the walk of fame and chinese theatre - Lots of bathrooms - free breakfast Bad points: - no tv in the room which we did have in other hostels (in a private room) - no pool - tiny bedroom - not overly sociable environment - kitchen is small for the size of the hostel - NO AIR CON , the rooms get ridiculously hot and there isn't even a fan -room wasn't cleaned all week so bin overflowed - couple of the staff really strange and pretty rude


97%

We only stayed here for one night when we arrived in the US but this hostel is perfect. It's in a small little old house which you wouldn't expect so close to Hollywood Boulevard and it was brilliant for what we were after. Nice facilitiesn and rooms, good wi-fi, and a great location.


63%

Breakfast was poor. Only waffles and instant coffee. Rooms little bit smelly...

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Amazing location!!!


94%

One thing I wish was on the webpage was that there is a $20 refundable security deposit, payable in cash upon arrival. That information would be helpful to travelers who want to make sure they have enough cash on them for other activities. Having said that, the location was excellent, the facilities were great (though one wishes for air conditioning in summertime, especially when sleeping on a top bunk), and the staff were very helpful. Plus, you can't beat free breakfast!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(728 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback