X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orange Drive Hostel Reviews

1764 North Orange Drive, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1420 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Lovely place to stay, amazing location right off Hollywood Boulevard. Also friendly staff. Not a party hostel, but good if you're an older traveller like me, as the hostel has no age restriction. Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate hearing from all of our guests, and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

100%

Great location super close to Hollywood Blvd. Staff were super helpful and friendly.

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review,and we are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

71%

Great location!

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Location location location. Very close to the subway and the Hollywood sights. Staff were friendly and atmosphere was generally good. The free morning waffles where definitely a bonus. Wifi wasn't the best and cut in an out sometimes but apart from that a great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you taking the time to write a review. We were having our WiFi system upgraded during your stay, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused for you. Thank you for staying with us. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

83%

Great for a couple of days in LA if it's your first time, right in the heart of everything & only a short walk to the Runyon Canyon entrance if you want to hike up to see the Hollywood sign. Very touristy area around the corner but the actual street is very nice & quiet. We had a private room with ensuite which was everything we could have asked for.

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Everything is great

  • 29th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • erika093823
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

This hostel is ideally located!! The only minus is the free breakfast that only consists of sweet belgian waffles!! I was expecting more. Bute everything else was great!!

  • 28th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

A breakfast with Bagels would be more efficient than offering the waffle dough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate all of your comments and suggestions. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

83%

The staff were quite cold, but the room was fantastic, lots of character. Agree with previous reviews that there needs to be fans in the rooms, we were there in fall and it was still a bit muggy. The free breakfast is fun, but there are only two waffle irons so when it's busy and you have people making three servings in a row be prepared to wait around in the tiny kitchen.


100%

Really, you can't go wrong with this hostel. It is excellent in all categories. A beautiful building, so close to the main hollywood strip, perfect in all the categories we marked it for. Summer would be a bit hot if the room has no cooling I suspect. Parking is easy too btw, we just pulled right into the back and went to check in.


86%

Great location, cute house, wonderful staff - Melissa went above and beyond to help me both days of my stay. Thank you!


83%

Good value for money hostel in a fantastic location, right by Hollywood boulevard. Staff on the front desk were extremely helpful, we originally had to make 2 seperate bookings for 2 seperate rooms but once we arrived, the lady on the front desk sorted it out so we wouldn't have to switch rooms, the gentleman on the front desk gave us some great camping recommendations when we were checking out too! All in all a great experience


86%

As far as staff, location and price go it's a big thumbs up, the rooms are hot though and need some fans installed,,, also it quite close to the action so expect a bit of noise,,,, there was a lot of complaints about the Internet service but seriously don't travel if your going to hang out and stare at your PC, there's to much to see and do and cool people to meet,,,, sitting on the net is for losers not travellers


83%

All you can eat self-service waffle breakfast is included! No AC in room, very very hot, otherwise nice and safe hostel in excellent location.


97%

Very clean, comfortable, would stay there again only complaint was that it was extra hot in LA that weekend and no AC in our room.

  • 12th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Only stayed a night but happy with the experience.


94%

I love this place! The staff are friendly, efficient and extremely helpful. They make life easy when your brain is suffering From travel fatigue :) I've had several stays there and hope to do so again.

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Loved the free waffles for breakfast!

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

I was very surprised this Hostel did not have a good breakfast. It does not offer water either. What they do is that they put out a waffle batter and once this runs out you are out of luck.


94%

This place is a gem! It's cozy, well kept, clean and in a great location for our travel plans. The only thing that was frustrating was the spotty wifi on the third floor but it wasn't a big issue, we just moved downstairs if we really needed the Internet. 10/10! If we're ever back in the area we know where we're staying!

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. We were upgrading our WiFi system during your stay, and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. Thank you for staying with us; we look forward to seeing you again! Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

(921 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback