X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orange Drive Hostel Reviews

1764 North Orange Drive, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1422 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This place is a gem! It's cozy, well kept, clean and in a great location for our travel plans. The only thing that was frustrating was the spotty wifi on the third floor but it wasn't a big issue, we just moved downstairs if we really needed the Internet. 10/10! If we're ever back in the area we know where we're staying!

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review about your stay. We were upgrading our WiFi system during your stay, and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. Thank you for staying with us; we look forward to seeing you again! Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

100%

That's a very nice place to live in this area! Soooo convince!


69%

I found the staff to be friendly and attentive. The room was relatively clean as were the bathroom facilities. There was no air conditioning or fan in our room so it was very hot once the sun came up. There were also ants in the room as I was leaving the window open. The shared area was small and tucked away downstairs at the back of the hostel. A bit of apity as it meant that there was no real communal feel to the place and not a lot of opportunities to meet other guests.

  • 24th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Very clean and friendly in great location.


100%

the staff people each make you feel like you are at your home with your family. The beds a very comfortable and the bathrooms are kept very clean. the front yard and side yard are great places to relax outside or do your paperwork in a warm, sunny, peaceful setting

  • 20th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Perfect Location. Friendly Staff especially Pedro. No airconditioning, an electric fan would be useful. Poor breakfast (only waffles, should have fruits as well at least bananas). Wifi - very bad esp. in upper floor

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for reviewing our hostel. We have had problems with the WiFi in some areas of the hostel. We are working on getting the problem resolved. We know it's very important for our guests to have good WiFi access. We appreciate your comments and suggestions. Thank you for staying with us, Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

86%

Nice hostel with excellent location. Staff there are friendly and helpful

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Wifi was poor in our room (though fine everywhere else). Room itself was fine, as was the ensuite bathroom. Hostel could really have benefitted from a water fountain/dispenser and more breakfast options. I thought 10am is early for check-out. Didn't understand the merit in having to hand over your ID in order to use a hairdryer, when a deposit was sufficient for everything else.


100%

Relaxing, well cared for, and perfect quiet location off busy Hollywood strip. And free waffles in the morning! Very happy with my stay.


63%

The room had no air-conditioning or fan which meant the windows had to stay open but it didn't cool the room at all. Also by having the windows open, there was too much noise from traffic and general outdoor noise from the central location. The bed was really hard and uncomfortable and after driving 5 1/2 hours I really needed a good night's sleep which I didn't get here. My partner actually ended up sleeping on the floor as he said it was slightly cooler being lower down as it was just too hot

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for writing a review about our hostel. We have been working towards having the hostel air conditioned but unfortunately this is a long process in which we must wait for city permits. But we would like you and any other guests to know that we are in the process of getting this issue taken care of, and again we apologize for your discomfort. We appreciate all your comments. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

83%

Nice hostel in a good place. No AC. Was really hot in the room. Showers and room where clean. Nice staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for writing a review about our hostel. We have been working towards having the hostel air conditioned but unfortunately this is a long process in which we must wait for city permits. But we would like you and any other guests to know that we are in the process of getting this issue taken care of, and again we apologize for your discomfort. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

97%

Wonderful hostel with wonderful staff who go above and beyond to help you out! So clean and homely! Very quiet so when you go out to party you have somewhere nice and quiet to come back to. Prime location of you wanna be in Hollywood. I loved his hostel and I'm seriously considering checking in again during my trip! I highly recommend this place!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hostel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

71%

the rooms were really hot and the windows weren't very secure


86%

Loved this hostel, close to Hollywood blv, as in really close but also has a quite feel about it. Met some great people here. So good I'm going back next week!


86%

I loved that the hostel was super clean. The rooms were very cozy and clean. There was not much interaction betweem guests at the common area and I stayed with my friends in a private room so I guess it is not a surprise too. The location is unbeatable, less than 5 minutes walk to the metro subway and only 2 mins to Hollywood. There were plenty of eateries and supermarket nearby. The paper they give you at check in is also very helpful, don't be deterred by the amount of words! Thanks :)


94%

Place was good, although no air conditioning so can get quite hot. Great location in the heart of Hollywood!

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We realize that the heat has been very difficult for people and we are working towards having our hostel air conditioned. Thank you for staying with us. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

83%

Great location in the center of Hollywood, but at the same time very quiet. Very very nice and clean rooms! The staff was a bit slow! Unfortunately we did not have air conditioning in our room.

  • 28th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

A good location just off Hollywood Boulevard. Lovely old house in a garden setting. Book with caution in hot weather as air conditioning is not available and the rooms are stifling. You will not get any sleep. Some staff are intransigent and the kitchen area is very limited.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for writing a review about our hostel. We appreciate all your feedback. We are working towards having the hostel air conditioned. Thank you for staying with us. Kind regards, Orange Drive Hostel

97%

This was probably the best hostel location ever and it is very clean! The staff were super cool and helpful! The only thing missing is the AC! But the parking makes up for everything


100%

Everything was absolutely perfect while I was there. All the staff members were really friendly and helpful when we asked for advices. The hostel is really clean and the beds are comfortable. Thanks for the lady at the front desk we didn't get ourselves in a really dangerous situation because she warned us about that certain area we were planning to go. We are really thankful for that. If I ever gonna have the chance to come back I definitely want to stay in this hostel again. Thank you again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for writing a review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Orange Drive Hostel

(70 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback