X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orange Village Hostel Reviews

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
882 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

Saw a mouse in the room where breakfast is served!

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

So many corean.

  • 6th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great stay and helpful staff.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • katiewub
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

This is one of the cheapest hostels in town and if you don´t mind about being in a hostel that looks much more like a poor hotel, go ahead. I didn´t feel any atmosphere at all and the neighborhood is quite scaring at night with a LOT of drug addicted around the street, but I think this is something you are going to see around the WHOLE town. In general I liked it and I would recommend this place to my friends. :)


86%

Stayed for a conference. It was good because it was fairly close to the Moscone conference center and the Powell St BART station (5-10min walk). A few of the staff could have been a little more sociable, but overall it was good. I would go back

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very basic hostel, but it has everything you need. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Free breakfast with a selection of cereal, bread, pancake and waffles is offered. The hostel is located between the sketchy neighborhood Tenderloin and the Hilton. If you leave the hostel in direction of the Tenderloin you will get in contact with homeless people and drug addicts, if you leave in direction of Union Square you will be in a very safe environment. The free towels are very small, so bring your own.


77%

Its a little run down but meets the needs. A little traffic noise. Excellent kitchen.


83%

Nice breakfastl


66%

the bed is so shack ,f you sleep the upper berth you would disturb the bottom one

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

Full of rude people. Generally quite dirty and the key card system is a little dodgy. Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't go back.


66%

The lockers could be opened using a screwdriver. They give you a washcloth not a bigger towel. The localization is excellent

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Affordable hostel in the very heart of San Francisco but the location is not the nicest (very close to the dodgy Tenderloin). Staff is friendly and helpful but not really present (no activities or real community spirit as the majority of the guest are passing by and only staying a few nights). The equipment (kitchen, showers, elevator) is quite rudimentary but everything is working so it is acceptable.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

I had a great time because of the awesome community. There are events every night where you get to meet people. The facilities were pretty terrible though. I stayed in a room that looked like a prison with metal bunk beds inaccessible power points, cramped toilet, and a slow lift. Essentially you get what you pay for.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Friendly staff and 24 hr check in were a huge plus. Bunks weren't very solid in my room so you disturb your bunk mate. Surrounding area is a bit sketchy.


83%

More a hotel with dorm rooms than a hostel. However, very clean room, private bathroom is very good, even being very small. Recommended.


94%

A very good location, safe hostel, a lot of food at breakfast, rooms are clean, friendly staff, good price. Definitely will choose this hostel in the future.


71%

Follow the O'Pharell street down and you get straight to the Market street..dont take the Taylor street,especially not by night!:) Homeless and drug addicted people hanging around there but they seemed not interested,still we never know. Very good located!


71%

Very good value for money - although if I could change anything, I would have liked some sockets near a mirror, and also the 'no toilet paper down the toilet' seemed pretty unsanitary as we had to put used toilet paper in the bins.

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The TV room was out of service, cause somehow the power wire was missed. The staff didn't do anything about it, but say "sorry".

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Alencar
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location and helpful staff. Room was basic, but very clean and had good WiFi connection. Only gripe was that the room was very warm and stuffy at night, there was a fan supplied which helped.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(46 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback