Hostelworld.com

Orange Village Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1,114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1,114 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
Orange Village Hostel Located at 411 O'Farrell street, , San Francisco.
Orange Village Hostel
USA
San Francisco California 94102 411 O'Farrell street
78% 1114
37.7859556 -122.4114941
Orange Village Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2016
6.0

The zone it's not very safe and the hostel It's very old. It has a nice lounge, and a nice kitchen but not more than that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
8.3

Overall, I really enjoyed the hostel and would stay there again! There were only a couple of points I'd mention. 1) Unlike the photo, the bunk beds in our room were metal (not wood) and were v loud when someone climbed to the upper bunk. I couldn't sit up in the lower bunk: too short. 2) Two 'roommates' got in at 1am and then spent the next two hours showering & loudly re-packing. I don't think the 'quiet after midnight' rule was properly communicated to them. Otherwise, I

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
8.3

Fairly rough neighborhood and it had a mouse that was quite friendly. No other problems. Great value for the price?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
8.6

I like the location , it's not far from Powell station And the room was clean. Everything was good but the Korean lady at the reception was not so welcoming

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th May 2016
9.7

Staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful and great at organising social events within the hostel. The kitchen/living room area was also great- very cosy and spacious with grey facilities to cook, watch tv or just hang out. The hostel was also in a good location where you could get to lots of places quickly, however it was quite close to a slightly more dodgy area so be sure to walk the right way! Rooms were great, loved having a sink and decent mirror in the room! Wouk

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • danielamejian
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
8.0

It's good and clean! The breakfast was super complete and the staff was nice! I'll come back! I would love to have a deal with the parking it was hard :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
8.9

Mr and my husband stayed in a private room ensuite. We were surprised over the cleanliness and really liked the hostel. Only thing which was a bit negative was the location. It's just on the boarder to a less nicer neighbourhood. Otherwise really good value for money! I would recommend this hostel to others! You even get fresh waffles in the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
7.7

Pros: Price, location (close to union square), cleaner than expected, friendly staff Cons: close to "Tenderloin" (read - seedy area with many homeless loiters), Very noisy location (people love to honk and unfortunately there is no AC in the rooms so if you want to get cool you will have to open a window letting in more noise), atmosphere was meh (people in common areas didn't really seem to engage one another). many older people. Overall, I recommend just be careful going out after dark.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.0

Great place to stay, just have to to tell everyone, tha the location is on the bosrder between dangerous and normal part pf the city, so you must be aware of homeless people agresively bagging around. But the hostel is locked and only guests can enter so in it is safe in the hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.6

The hostel itself was great! Friendly staff, clean rooms and it was very private. The only thing is the location of it is in a horrible dodgey place in San Fran. You picture San Fran to be nice and clean and this area is the exact opposite and if you have a car be prepared to spend A LOT of money on parking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.