Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Orange Village Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,126 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,126 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
Orange Village Hostel Located at 411 O'Farrell street, , San Francisco.
Orange Village Hostel
USA
San Francisco California 94102 411 O'Farrell street
76% 1126
37.7859556 -122.4114941
Orange Village Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
2.6

Location was terrible, hookers and bums right out front. Staff were unwelcoming and not interested. No common area for people to interact. There was no vibe in the hostel what so ever. Pictures and reviews on website were completely misleading. Would not suggest staying here to my worst enemy.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
5.7

The room was quite filthy, dust was underneath the bed an on the shelfs, my locker smelled and there was something sticky in it so I couldn’t use it, Then hair in the shower, the bedsheets had stains. Around the hostel were a lot of drunk and drugged people so as a girl/woman alone it was not safe outside. The staff although was super nice, very helpful and friendly! The waffles for breakfast were great, also peanut butter and Nutella, but I found it a bit strange that there were only single us

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jun 2016
6.0

The zone it's not very safe and the hostel It's very old. It has a nice lounge, and a nice kitchen but not more than that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2016
8.3

Overall, I really enjoyed the hostel and would stay there again! There were only a couple of points I'd mention. 1) Unlike the photo, the bunk beds in our room were metal (not wood) and were v loud when someone climbed to the upper bunk. I couldn't sit up in the lower bunk: too short. 2) Two 'roommates' got in at 1am and then spent the next two hours showering & loudly re-packing. I don't think the 'quiet after midnight' rule was properly communicated to them. Otherwise, I

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2016
4.3

Unfortunately the hostel is located in the worst area of SF. In front the hostel there are a lot of homeless, drug addicts and drug dealers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2016
8.3

Fairly rough neighborhood and it had a mouse that was quite friendly. No other problems. Great value for the price?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th May 2016
8.6

I like the location , it's not far from Powell station And the room was clean. Everything was good but the Korean lady at the reception was not so welcoming

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th May 2016
9.7

Staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful and great at organising social events within the hostel. The kitchen/living room area was also great- very cosy and spacious with grey facilities to cook, watch tv or just hang out. The hostel was also in a good location where you could get to lots of places quickly, however it was quite close to a slightly more dodgy area so be sure to walk the right way! Rooms were great, loved having a sink and decent mirror in the room! Wouk

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • danielamejian
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
8.0

It's good and clean! The breakfast was super complete and the staff was nice! I'll come back! I would love to have a deal with the parking it was hard :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
8.9

Mr and my husband stayed in a private room ensuite. We were surprised over the cleanliness and really liked the hostel. Only thing which was a bit negative was the location. It's just on the boarder to a less nicer neighbourhood. Otherwise really good value for money! I would recommend this hostel to others! You even get fresh waffles in the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.