Hostelworld.com

Orange Village Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1,105 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1,105 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.4
Orange Village Hostel Located at 411 O'Farrell street, , San Francisco.
Orange Village Hostel
USA
San Francisco California 94102 411 O'Farrell street
79% 1105
37.7859556 -122.4114941
Orange Village Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • danielamejian
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
8.0

It's good and clean! The breakfast was super complete and the staff was nice! I'll come back! I would love to have a deal with the parking it was hard :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd May 2016
8.9

Mr and my husband stayed in a private room ensuite. We were surprised over the cleanliness and really liked the hostel. Only thing which was a bit negative was the location. It's just on the boarder to a less nicer neighbourhood. Otherwise really good value for money! I would recommend this hostel to others! You even get fresh waffles in the morning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
7.7

Pros: Price, location (close to union square), cleaner than expected, friendly staff Cons: close to "Tenderloin" (read - seedy area with many homeless loiters), Very noisy location (people love to honk and unfortunately there is no AC in the rooms so if you want to get cool you will have to open a window letting in more noise), atmosphere was meh (people in common areas didn't really seem to engage one another). many older people. Overall, I recommend just be careful going out after dark.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.0

Great place to stay, just have to to tell everyone, tha the location is on the bosrder between dangerous and normal part pf the city, so you must be aware of homeless people agresively bagging around. But the hostel is locked and only guests can enter so in it is safe in the hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.6

The hostel itself was great! Friendly staff, clean rooms and it was very private. The only thing is the location of it is in a horrible dodgey place in San Fran. You picture San Fran to be nice and clean and this area is the exact opposite and if you have a car be prepared to spend A LOT of money on parking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
9.4

Excellent value for money, great location walking distance from Union Square. Staff is super helpful and flexible. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
7.7

The Orange Village Hostel ist convieniently located approx. 5 minutes walk away from the BART station "Powell Street". There are several diners, fast food restaurants and drug stores nearby to buy some daily necessities. The staff was friendly, the hostel was clean, quiet and well maintained. The bed was comfy and the lookers sufficiently large. A big plus was the free breakfast with quite a good selection in a very nice kitchen area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2016
7.1

Clean, easy to reach and right in the middle of the city. Staff is helpful and friendly, the rooms are ok and the kitchen is fine but small. I needed a place to store my bag twice and that was no problem as all! Overall very good, just outside of tenderloin though, so be sure to be OK with that. Better not to go out by yourself at night time. Other than that, had a great stay! Would stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2016
4.9

It was such a compact and crowded place. The room was so noisy and nasty. I should've paid $10 more and get better place. Breakfast was okay

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2016
8.9

The location of the hotel is great - close to restaurants, Union Square, & the train station is just a couple of blocks away. I came in for a conference & very much enjoyed my stay. Breakfast was good (waffles, bananas, bagels, coffee, bagels, etc.), bathrooms & showers were always clean, so was the dorm. I thought that in order to create an even better atmosphere, more could be done in terms of providing places for people to hang out, play games, or what have you. Overall: I'd stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.