X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orange Village Hostel Reviews

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
902 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

it would have been nice to have a vanity or desk in the shared dorm, maybe at the window? I'm sure Ikea has one that might fit :). Also might have been nice to be able to sit up straight on the bottom bunks. Otherwise everything was great! I didn't use the laundry, community spaces or the evening tours, but they all looked great and I will recommend Orange to my friends and use it again myself! Thank you so much!!!

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I really like this place, and everytime I come back is always getting better, nice peoples

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

As a 76 year old single woman, I found the location -- easy access to everything, including restaurants, shops, the metro, etc. -- excellent. The private room with private bathroom was adequate with its TV, small Refrig., and Microwave. The elevator needs a major rehab . . The newly renovated kitchen was excellent and the quality of the offerings for breakfast were more than adequate. AJQ from Pembroke Pines, FL - March 2015

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

It is a great hostel in the center of the city. It has great facilities and it is very secure. Nice breakfast too!

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Cheap hostel, so I guess you get what you pay for. I was in a 4-beds room with people that stay for an extended time. Cleanliness of the room was rather poor for this reason. The hoste is located in a noisy street in the city center. The bed sheets they provided did not even fit the mattress, so cumfort was average. Ok location for a cheap night in San Francisco, don't expect more.


63%

Saw a mouse in the room where breakfast is served!

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

So many corean.


91%

Great stay and helpful staff.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • katiewub
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

This is one of the cheapest hostels in town and if you don´t mind about being in a hostel that looks much more like a poor hotel, go ahead. I didn´t feel any atmosphere at all and the neighborhood is quite scaring at night with a LOT of drug addicted around the street, but I think this is something you are going to see around the WHOLE town. In general I liked it and I would recommend this place to my friends. :)


86%

Stayed for a conference. It was good because it was fairly close to the Moscone conference center and the Powell St BART station (5-10min walk). A few of the staff could have been a little more sociable, but overall it was good. I would go back

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very basic hostel, but it has everything you need. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Free breakfast with a selection of cereal, bread, pancake and waffles is offered. The hostel is located between the sketchy neighborhood Tenderloin and the Hilton. If you leave the hostel in direction of the Tenderloin you will get in contact with homeless people and drug addicts, if you leave in direction of Union Square you will be in a very safe environment. The free towels are very small, so bring your own.


77%

Its a little run down but meets the needs. A little traffic noise. Excellent kitchen.


83%

Nice breakfastl


66%

the bed is so shack ,f you sleep the upper berth you would disturb the bottom one

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Good facilities and well located. I wish it had a common area so you can get to know people.


54%

Full of rude people. Generally quite dirty and the key card system is a little dodgy. Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't go back.


66%

The lockers could be opened using a screwdriver. They give you a washcloth not a bigger towel. The localization is excellent

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Affordable hostel in the very heart of San Francisco but the location is not the nicest (very close to the dodgy Tenderloin). Staff is friendly and helpful but not really present (no activities or real community spirit as the majority of the guest are passing by and only staying a few nights). The equipment (kitchen, showers, elevator) is quite rudimentary but everything is working so it is acceptable.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

I had a great time because of the awesome community. There are events every night where you get to meet people. The facilities were pretty terrible though. I stayed in a room that looked like a prison with metal bunk beds inaccessible power points, cramped toilet, and a slow lift. Essentially you get what you pay for.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback