X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Orange Village Hostel Reviews

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
729 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

very nice place to stay! will come back again!

  • 4th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very nice hostel Only breakfast was a mess! Way to many people for such a small kitchen!

  • 1st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

This place was surprisingly clean and despite the neighborhood crawling with homeless this place was pretty secure as you could only be let in if the front desk person buzzed you in. I wish they were a bit more informative. I was told about breakfast but wasn't given a password for the Wi-Fi. Had to come back down and request it. Also the walls were pretty much covered in rules of what not to do. Didn't feel very welcoming but it was clean and safe and that's what matters most.


26%

The property did not offer as much as was expected. The rooms were gross, and smelt disgusting. The breakfast room sucked.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Breakfast, although crowded, was ok! The room was tiny and really dark! The window didn't close! The location is very good, less then 5 minutes to the union square!


54%

Non air condition room, stuffy at time.

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Lovely staff, but the kitchen (and "breakfast") is an absolute joke. Dirty, cramped and not enough food to feed a gnat.


83%

I stayed one night in a single (double) room for $120 in the fifth floor. The room was very clean and had a fridge and a micro, toilet paper, towels and warm shower. The wireless worked well outside the "rush hours" and reasonably well otherwise. It was not noisy either. The location was also a bonus. My biggest minus goes to the breakfast. After paying over $100 for a night, I was expecting something more from my breakfast, than cereal, milk, juice and self made waffle.

  • 24th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

Very clean, good location and staff were friendly.


80%

Clean and in a reasonable location. Not a social hostel.


63%

It was far too hot The surrounding areas are not ver safe


77%

Great hostel and great location.

  • 16th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

In August SF is crazy expensive, so for someone on a budget this hostel offers a pretty good location (bearing in mind that it's on O'Farrell, the southern most street you want to go to avoid the Tenderloin crack crowds). The breakfast consisted of coffee and orange juice, with some waffle mix that you can use and some cereal. Not exactly a lot of choice. There are better hostels (and cheaper) in Downtown, but they fill up pretty quickly, and this is a decent alternative for a couple of nights.


83%

Staff was professional and helpful. The location was amazing, Ryoku sushi and Milan pizza nearby were great options for late night food. Proximity to Powell muni station was great. Our room was on the inside wall of the building so it was actually quiet allowing us to sleep off our jet lag. My only qualm was that the showers were quite small (32x32").


77%

Good staff! The best of this Hostel is the location!


51%

Really dissapointed with this hostel overall, kitchen facilities were really poor and need up dating. Resources in the kitchen really lack. Place is generally run down and in need of decorating. Staff at reception were okay, some very nice some very un helpful! Only good thing was the price. Breakfast poor. Wouldn't stay here again if visiting San Fran

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The building was very quiet, well run, orderly. Possible improvements could include : put glasses in the rooms; also provide non starchy food for breakfast. The breakfast room could be a little bigger. But we overall emjoyed our stay and would recommend this hostel to people who can bear to share a (clean) bathroom.

  • 8th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Room was fine, bathrooms ok - shower and toilet in same room so lots of queues! Breakfast was DIY waffles, cereals OJ, fine. Kitchen was cramped and no use for more than one or two folk cooking at same time. Staff helpful and friendly. Area ok, 5min from Powell Station, 40ish min walk to Piers, 30 min walk to AT


51%

I didn't like it at all. Super small rooms (we paid for a double with private room), really bad smell, uncomfortable bed. The breakfast is a joke (don't say you have continental breakfast if you have only some waffles and milk), and, on top of that, they have these aggressive signs saying "your mom is not here to clean your mess, do your own dishes". What?! At least be nice and ask it as a favor! I would never stay there again. Expensive but poor!!

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Unfortunately this hostel has bedbugs. The girls at the front desk were lovely, they gave us money to wash all of our clothes and upgraded our room for the remainder of the stay, unfortunately the rude manager walked into the room and with her tone and attitude made it out like it was our fault we had bedbugs. Apart from this our original room was the most depressing place I had stayed and the bathroom was like showering in a cupboard. I would not stay here again

  • 27th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(360 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback