X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orange Village Hostel Reviews

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
853 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Full of rude people. Generally quite dirty and the key card system is a little dodgy. Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't go back.


66%

The lockers could be opened using a screwdriver. They give you a washcloth not a bigger towel. The localization is excellent

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Affordable hostel in the very heart of San Francisco but the location is not the nicest (very close to the dodgy Tenderloin). Staff is friendly and helpful but not really present (no activities or real community spirit as the majority of the guest are passing by and only staying a few nights). The equipment (kitchen, showers, elevator) is quite rudimentary but everything is working so it is acceptable.

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

I had a great time because of the awesome community. There are events every night where you get to meet people. The facilities were pretty terrible though. I stayed in a room that looked like a prison with metal bunk beds inaccessible power points, cramped toilet, and a slow lift. Essentially you get what you pay for.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Friendly staff and 24 hr check in were a huge plus. Bunks weren't very solid in my room so you disturb your bunk mate. Surrounding area is a bit sketchy.


83%

More a hotel with dorm rooms than a hostel. However, very clean room, private bathroom is very good, even being very small. Recommended.


94%

A very good location, safe hostel, a lot of food at breakfast, rooms are clean, friendly staff, good price. Definitely will choose this hostel in the future.


71%

Follow the O'Pharell street down and you get straight to the Market street..dont take the Taylor street,especially not by night!:) Homeless and drug addicted people hanging around there but they seemed not interested,still we never know. Very good located!


71%

Very good value for money - although if I could change anything, I would have liked some sockets near a mirror, and also the 'no toilet paper down the toilet' seemed pretty unsanitary as we had to put used toilet paper in the bins.

  • 13th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The TV room was out of service, cause somehow the power wire was missed. The staff didn't do anything about it, but say "sorry".

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Alencar
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location and helpful staff. Room was basic, but very clean and had good WiFi connection. Only gripe was that the room was very warm and stuffy at night, there was a fan supplied which helped.


100%

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hostel. It was a first time experience doing so and I was very pleased with my decision. I arrived early before check in, so they allowed me to store my bags while explored the city. Came back to check in had my bed ready. Wed thru Sun they seem to have these pretty cool themed parties. I arrived Thursday night and they were doing a super hero theme that night they gave us a free pizza party social. It was a great way to break the ice and meet new people.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

As expected for a youth hostel so can't really complain. Beds were pretty on comfortable and rooms far for luxurious but for this price in the centre of San Fran it's fine.

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A really great hostel close to everything and a staff who were very accommodating and friendly. We would very much recommend this hotel. This was my second visit to the hotel as it has been so great the first time I stayed there in 2010.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Excellent emplacement: central et pratique! Proche de Market Street, du cable car et du métro! Les chambres sont propres, l'hostel bien tenu et surtout...un personnel irréprochable. Nous avions fais une erreur de réservation et ils ont été compréhensif sans nous pénaliser. J'y retourne les yeux fermés dés que j'ai l'opportunité de retourner à SF.


83%

Cheap and reasonable. If the visitor were korean,he or she can speak in korean with the staff. But i cant take shower easily due to shower tab.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Ihan ok hostelli. Hintaan sisältyi aamiainen, mutta tämä hyvin niukka aamiainen piti valmistaa itse ja tiskata itse. Mielestäni ei voida mainostaa, että paikka on hotelli ja hostelli, johon sisältyy aamiainen. Meillä oli hotellin puolen huone. Huonetta ei myöskään siivottu 3 yön aikana lainkaan, vain uudet pyyhkeet tuotiin.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

I had some trouble with hot water here, otherwise the stay was great!


91%

Auberge très propre, personnel très gentil à chaque fois, des événements prévus tous les soirs de la semaine, sans que ça ne créé de bruit dans les chambres. Il manque cependant ce petit truc qui permet de rencontrer pleins de personnes, la salle commune a toujours la télé allumée, et la cuisine ne comporte que 4 petites tables, donc pas forcément pratique pour rencontrer des gens. Autre (tout petit) point négatif, on vous demandera de l'argent si vous demandez d'imprimer votre boarding pass !

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel looks very old inside, but it was clean enough. The wifi works perfect and is fast. The situation is perfect, a few blocks from union square. It is a bit noisy during the night, but it was expected for that location. Breakfast was very nice, with a selection of cereals and you can make your own fresh waffles. If I ever come back to San Francisco in the future, I will try to get a room in this hostel again.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(76 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback