X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orange Village Hostel Reviews

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
791 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

I put cleanliness as average because I think the kitchen can be more clean and organised, in particular, the washing sink. It is always messy. Perhaps, the management can do something about this. Having said that, the room and the en suite bathroom is very clean and the bed is comfortable.


54%

Depressing room. The tv doesn't work. I don't like the neighbourhood.


89%

Muy buena ubicación estaen todo el centro pegado al hilton (debe de haber unos 30 metros entre la s dos entradas). Buena relación calidad precio

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Double twin room with private bathroom was spacious, but dirty, with wall grime (appeared to be throw-up) from previous occupants and areas that had clearly not been cleaned in weeks. Sheets had bleach stains, but the bed was comfortable and the room was cheap for SF. It would be nice if the rooms were checked / cleaned more thoroughly before visiting - the food waste on the wall and floor is not inviting.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

bruyant - equipement tres rudimentaire - hotel spartiate.

  • 17th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Decent hostel for a short stay. Not a very lively atmosphere. If you're looking to meet people I'd suggest to look for somewhere else.


91%

Stayed in a girl dorm with four. The rooms was clean and so was the private bathroom. The locker is only big enough for your backpack, so take an extra locker for your bag. There's a big kitchen where you can cook and meet people from all around the world. The laundry room is open all day and they offer free soap. The location is great and at night it was ok to walk around (up to certain areas). My only big complaint: the "towel" they offer is actually a bathroom rug. Awful! Take your own!


69%

Un hotel parfait pour le voyageur de passage, ni très propre, ni très sale. Bon emplacement en centre ville.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A nice hostel with great, helpful staff, right in the centre of San Francisco. It was clean, safe and had comfy beds in spacious rooms. I enjoyed my stay.


80%

Personnel très réactif des qu'il y a un souci (wc bouché par exemple)!!!! Faudrait rappeler que réveiller toutes les nuits ses compagnons de chambre ce n'est pas très sympa!!!!


83%

The window in my room (#209) were REALLY dirty like it has NEVER been wiped since day one. It would have been helpful to rent out locks for the lockers in the room. I explore a lot of cities alone but was scared by the mere amount of bums/crackhead roaming streets at night....


94%

Nice and helpful staff, location near Union square, so it´s easy to find. Clean room and bathroom, the linen smell amazing. We loved free breakfast, delicious pancakes and cereals. Perfect place to stay for few nights.


60%

总体还算可以,但性价比不高。

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is 5 minutes walking to Union Square and any transit you could want to take . The hostel was basic (as most hostels are) but nice! We stayed in a private room, which was clean and secure.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


34%

Try to clean the hostel, and if not, maybe it should not be so expensive.

  • 31st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Friendly staff who were helpful. Enjoyed my time there, especially the free breakfast.


54%

staff was terrible, the atmosphere and cleanliness too.


74%

Would certainly recommend staying here if you're looking for a cheap place in central SF. Location was great and the staff was very helpful and enthusiastic. Not the best atmosphere or space, but there were events and the hostel staff tried to facilitate interaction to improve the experience. Don't expect the best hostel experience, but far from the worst.


80%

The location was great - right in the center of town. Breakfast was great and the room was good however the common room and staff let the place down. The common room stank and in the morning one of the staff members was rude when we were making breakfast.


91%

All the bad ratings and comments about tenderloin are puzzling to me. O'farrel street is headed towards a dangerous part of town, but in my experience the hostel itsself was in an ok part of the street. Obviously you dont want to wander around late at night alone, but that goes for most big cities youve never been to before. I was very satisfied with the hostel in general, it was clean, comfortable and many hostels dont even have a breakfast so i wouldnt criticize the breakfast for being "poor".

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(69 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback