X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orange Village Hostel Reviews

411 O'Farrell street, San Francisco, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
920 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very nice and cool hostel :)

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Kudos to the Asian lady on the staff who upgraded me to a private room on my first night when we discovered I had been mistakenly booked into a female dorm. The design of the bunks makes it difficult and uncomfortable to get down from a top bunk. Good breakfast, very pleasant kitchen and TV room. My last night's sleep was ruined by a late addition to my dorm (505) who obviously had sleep apnea. He made a huge racket all night. It's a wonder I got any sleep at all ( not the Hostel's fault).


86%

Muy bueno el hostal. Pequeños comentarios: no siempre hacían la cama y se agradecería un espacio de fiesta o bar dentro del hostal

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice rooms, great breakfast, but no outside areas and some of the staff at the reception was actually rude! The pub crawl was nice, but the club the took us on friday and saturday night was just way to fancy and empty! The common areas are nice, but not really comfi. Maybe that was why people didn't talk to each other that much. But all together nice hostel and one of the cheapest.


74%

Old building but clean, with updated electrical and working elevator; limited outlets but new TV and Wi-fi. Furniture was basic but functional, and not outdated. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hard to beat the location, as near cable cars, Metro buses, BART, and walking distance to much, much more. Lots of restaurants nearby. Hostel is in the Theatre District, so imagine old delis, hipster hangouts, late night bistros, sports bars. Also lots of tourist fare. Value for money. Would go back.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

321호에 묵었는데 와이파이와 데이터 통신이 안됩니다. 이 부분이 많이 아쉬웠어요.

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


20%

pas de double vitrage,beaucoup de bruit dans la rue,chambre pas confortable et pas à la hauteur du prix que nous avons payé,hôtel non recommandable

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

it was really nice place to stay


89%

Nice facilities - lots of natural light in dorm rooms, newly painted everything, comfortable mattresses. Not quite enough outlets in the rooms, but it's an old building so not surprising. Would also benefit from reading lamps on the bunks--currently the only light is a big overhead one. Very clean. Breakfast is perfectly adequate--toast, cereal, waffles, coffee, tea, bananas. Overall very satisfied.


86%

Overall is good, but wifi is not stable


91%

it would have been nice to have a vanity or desk in the shared dorm, maybe at the window? I'm sure Ikea has one that might fit :). Also might have been nice to be able to sit up straight on the bottom bunks. Otherwise everything was great! I didn't use the laundry, community spaces or the evening tours, but they all looked great and I will recommend Orange to my friends and use it again myself! Thank you so much!!!

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I really like this place, and everytime I come back is always getting better, nice peoples

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

As a 76 year old single woman, I found the location -- easy access to everything, including restaurants, shops, the metro, etc. -- excellent. The private room with private bathroom was adequate with its TV, small Refrig., and Microwave. The elevator needs a major rehab . . The newly renovated kitchen was excellent and the quality of the offerings for breakfast were more than adequate. AJQ from Pembroke Pines, FL - March 2015

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Location is really near downtown and you can reach many sights by foot from there. Staff is ready for your questions but I felt more welcomed in other hostels. The cleanliness of the rooms and linen could be improved, many stains and hairs on it. The price is in order, but not cheap at all thinking about the basic rooms you get.


80%

Hôtel bien situé, proche des transports en commun. Propre, petit déjeuner copieux, personnel agréable.


100%

It is a great hostel in the center of the city. It has great facilities and it is very secure. Nice breakfast too!

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Cheap hostel, so I guess you get what you pay for. I was in a 4-beds room with people that stay for an extended time. Cleanliness of the room was rather poor for this reason. The hoste is located in a noisy street in the city center. The bed sheets they provided did not even fit the mattress, so cumfort was average. Ok location for a cheap night in San Francisco, don't expect more.


83%

it is so nice but i had difficult while came to this hostel because it is so far from station about 15min walking


63%

Para quem escolher os quartos compartilhados é bem barulhento. Pois fica de frente a uma movimentada rua do centro de São Francisco.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Saw a mouse in the room where breakfast is served!

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all San Francisco Hostels

Please give us your feedback