Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Orient Gate Hostel and Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Jun 2017
3.1

Everything about this place is terrible and all the good reviews are not true to reality. don't stay in this place. I left a day early because it was impossible to stay more. The guy responsible for the place does not speak English, wanted to charge me more for a private room I didn't book, was rude and didn't want to give me my change back. place is filthy dirty, old, broken, there cockroaches, no hot water, disgusting dirty sheets, the floors are dirty and stained, kitchen is inhabitable

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
2.0

It is a flop house. Dirty, no one was there when I came. The door was open just walk in. It is located between 2 butcher shops. The wifi does not extend to the rooms. I have pictures of the torn sheets, the paint​ off the walls. The shower was cold water only. A layer of dust on Everything

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
10.0

Very nice place to stay right in the heart of downtown close to petra gate its only walking distance from supermarkets and clean room and bathroom the location is super great I highly recommend this hostel.I will be back again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
9.7

Great place to stay right in the heart of downtown near by whatever you need and clean room and bathroom I would highly recommend this hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
10.0

Very nice place to stay right in the heart of downtown close to what ever you need and clean room and bathroom.and its 10 minutes walk to petra gate ,highly recommended this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2017
10.0

An excellent place to stay with clean rooms and hot shower,,, its olso great location in the heart of downtown, and 10 m walking distince to petrta,, its also very SAFE AND SECURE, this place is very nice meet other travellers and the breakfast was so great,,,i woul highly recommend this place and for sure will be back again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2017
4.0

When booking I chose a dorm room so I could to meet other travellers. However on arrival I was told that I couldn't stay in a mixed room as I was female and there were men in there. I have no idea why the room is even an option if this the case. I then had to pay for an individual room - I wasn't even given the option of the female dorm. Then I asked about the 'free' transport to the Petra sight and was told to get a taxi. No hot water and the common room was just the owners watching TV.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
7.7

If you are looking for an affordable overnight stay, only then it is a good option for you. Staff was very co-operative and It is about 1 km from petra but on upside the hill, so you need a taxi that can be available at 1 JD.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
5.4

Cons: Moldy, wet carpets on the stairs, no mirrors in the rooms, no doors on the room bathrooms. Had to ask the hot water to be turned on to shower. No electricity when we arrived and wouldn't give us the cheaper room we booked on HW. Gave us a private room for a bit more after bargaining. Constantly being asked if we want food, taxi or anything that would cost money. Pro: incredibly fast internet, good location, cool rooftop view with couches.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
4.9

Filthy hotel with poor management. Avoid.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.