Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Orient Gate Hostel and Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
9.7

Great place to stay right in the heart of downtown near by whatever you need and clean room and bathroom I would highly recommend this hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
10.0

Very nice place to stay right in the heart of downtown close to what ever you need and clean room and bathroom.and its 10 minutes walk to petra gate ,highly recommended this place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2017
10.0

An excellent place to stay with clean rooms and hot shower,,, its olso great location in the heart of downtown, and 10 m walking distince to petrta,, its also very SAFE AND SECURE, this place is very nice meet other travellers and the breakfast was so great,,,i woul highly recommend this place and for sure will be back again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2017
4.0

When booking I chose a dorm room so I could to meet other travellers. However on arrival I was told that I couldn't stay in a mixed room as I was female and there were men in there. I have no idea why the room is even an option if this the case. I then had to pay for an individual room - I wasn't even given the option of the female dorm. Then I asked about the 'free' transport to the Petra sight and was told to get a taxi. No hot water and the common room was just the owners watching TV.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
7.7

If you are looking for an affordable overnight stay, only then it is a good option for you. Staff was very co-operative and It is about 1 km from petra but on upside the hill, so you need a taxi that can be available at 1 JD.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
5.4

Cons: Moldy, wet carpets on the stairs, no mirrors in the rooms, no doors on the room bathrooms. Had to ask the hot water to be turned on to shower. No electricity when we arrived and wouldn't give us the cheaper room we booked on HW. Gave us a private room for a bit more after bargaining. Constantly being asked if we want food, taxi or anything that would cost money. Pro: incredibly fast internet, good location, cool rooftop view with couches.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
4.9

Filthy hotel with poor management. Avoid.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
5.1

PROS - great location - very cheap CONS - very cold in the rooms - staff keep the key, but were not always available to let me in - rooms needed a good clean

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
10.0

Very nice hostel just in midtown safe place to stay ...the staff are very friendly and nice and close to everything its actually about 10 walk to petra gate. Also its a nice place to meet other travelers. I highly recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
4.0

it's essentially a dirty run down hotel. As a budget solo travellers, it was still decent for the price. I got a free upgrade for my concerns. The owner was quite friendly and accommodating but I would still avoid this place

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.