Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Orient Gate Hostel and Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 259 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 259 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Mar 2017
7.7

If you are looking for an affordable overnight stay, only then it is a good option for you. Staff was very co-operative and It is about 1 km from petra but on upside the hill, so you need a taxi that can be available at 1 JD.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
4.9

Filthy hotel with poor management. Avoid.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
5.1

PROS - great location - very cheap CONS - very cold in the rooms - staff keep the key, but were not always available to let me in - rooms needed a good clean

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
10.0

Very nice hostel just in midtown safe place to stay ...the staff are very friendly and nice and close to everything its actually about 10 walk to petra gate. Also its a nice place to meet other travelers. I highly recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
4.0

it's essentially a dirty run down hotel. As a budget solo travellers, it was still decent for the price. I got a free upgrade for my concerns. The owner was quite friendly and accommodating but I would still avoid this place

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
10.0

An excellent place to stay safe in such great location in the heart of downtown near by the bus station and few minutes walk to petra gate. Clean room and great barbeque dinner and excellent breakfast... the tour to wadi rum was so amazing... I will be back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
9.7

Great place to stay right in downtown close to what ever you need and clean rooms and clean bath room in such a great location. Just in the heart of downtown near to what ever you need like restaurant supermarkets and even close to the bus station. Its not far from petra only 10 minutes walking distance... also the arranged me great tour to Wadi RUM it was really great.. I recommend this place very much. Its so wonderful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Feb 2017
6.0

Very cold, drafty rooms. Shower didn't run hit water at all. But able to use the kitchen when the staff aren't using it and decent location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.6

Its the cheapest place to stay in town that I could find so that cant be faulted. The staff we nice, and provided us with a heater for our room. The hotel isn't very clean, including our room, and we needed to request for the hot water to be turned on each evening, and despite this the shower was still cold.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
9.7

An excellent place to stay with clean room and friendly staff the location of the hostel is just great experience as iits in heart of the downtown and only 10 min walk to petra site.I a.mazing experience in here and I would highly recommend it to all buget travelers,, thank you orient gate :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.