X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orient Hostel Reviews

Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:9, 34400 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
796 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

We rented a private room for one night. The room was basic but clean. The hostel staff were very friendly and helpful. Note we found the walls to be quite thin - so consider earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The hostel didn't seem to be particularly noisy but our neighbours were up all night talking!

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

if there is only thing i can tell you that you must do while in istanbul...its to stay at Orient Hostel! From the amazing staff, the lovely breakfast on the terrace, to the amazing location this is thee place to be! Best thing, it won't break your budget and will save you a few bucks that you can spend in the colorful bazaar. As a solo traveler I truly believe this hostel is a great and comforting place to be. -zuzanna

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location, great breakfast, rooftop terrace with a beautiful view. Out front there's a little bar which is open to the public so you get a nice mix of people in the bar. There is no real common area inside the hostel to hang out except for the two couches cramped together right next to the reception desk. The night shift guy isn't very friendly, nor helpful nor patient. Maybe because he works too long: I saw him come in at 21:00 and the next day at 10:00 he was still at the reception...


71%

Good times. But bed bugs?!?! Apparently it got sorted. No one like bed bugs.


100%

Orient Hostel is fantastic! It makes a great home base for discovering Istanbul and the roof top terrassse offers stunning views on the city's crown jewels. If you have a light sleep, go for one of the smaller size rooms. If you're not disturbed by someone accidentally turning on the lights or coming home late at night, go for the cheap 30 bed dorm. I stayed there twice for a total of two weeks and I didn't regret it at all.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Orient Hostel was in a fantastic location and had a wonderful rooftop patio that looked to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, and the ocean. The workers were all extremely friendly, especially Baruk, and they helped me and my friends find places to go to. The rooms were clean and there were fans in the rooms. I had a great time here!

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very nice staff, clean rooms, easy to find, good location. Wish there had been air conditioning in all the rooms though, as it was extremely hot. Showers could have done with a shelf or something to put your things on, and perhaps a curtain a third of the way in to keep your clothes and towel dry.


69%

Staff was really unfriendly, they forgot that we already paid and wanted us to pay again.. Rooms were really small and there are only 2 showers per floor


89%

Awesome location, really really helpful staff. Beds, showers and toilets are pretty clean. Multiple power points in each dorm with lockers big enough to store a small backpack and safety deposit boxes I. The lobby for your valuables. Would definitely stay here again


86%

Staff were really friendly and helpful with 24 hour reception. Safe at reception and lockers in room. Only things were lack of kitchen and no air con in some rooms however it did have a fan. Lovely roof terrace for drinks. I would recommend it.


80%

The room was very small and there was just one window for a room of 8 people with a small ventilator. The hostel has a really good location but very noisy too. The breakfast is really good and the personal very friendly.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff and place! Would stay here again. Thanks!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff were very friendly and helpful, great location. Enjoyed the breakfast given in the morning (french toast was fantastic!) would definitely return.


83%

Nice hostel and place

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location on busy but fun street. Six person room on back side of hostel shared bathrooms with 30-person room. House keeping tried to keep bathrooms clean but were overwhelmed but the number of people. WiFi on every floor worked good in the mornings but by late afternoon slowed down to unusable due to the high number of users. Management tried resetting routers many times but like most WiFi in Istanbul, it was slow.


94%

Great hostel, very close to main attractions and things are easy to get to. Staff is willing to help and tell you of places to go and the bar on site has great atnosphere in the evening


89%

I stayed in he Orient hostel four nights. The location was absolutely great for me. I loved the busy street in the night, even the windows of my room were to the road. (the femal 8 bed room is located just about the bar and the busy street. No airconditioning, so closing the windows was not possilbe.)You will definitely need ear plugs if you want to sleep before 2pm, but with them it worked just right! The hostel was clean, convinient price, the staff at the reception very helpful and nice.


94%

Really friendly and helpful staff. Special notice for bicycle travellers: This is the only hostel in Sultanahmet that is really "bicycle tourists" friendly. There is possible to park bicycles inside the hostel at a small contryard, not on a street (like we get answer from the others…). Staff helped us with transfer from/to the Airport (incl. only bicycle box transfer airport -> hostel). Staff also kept our bicycle box in the hostel luggage storage room during our long bicycle journey. Thanks!

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff and breakfast were amazing and view from rooftop unbelievable. Singe n Hassan were fun, friendly and helpful. Thanks for an amazing stay.


91%

The staff are all amazing. I plan to stay there again when I pass through Istanbul later in the month. Also the complimentary breakfast is fantastic. I only wish it had hot water.


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback