X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Orient Hostel Reviews

Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:9, 34400 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
784 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 98%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Very nice staff, clean rooms, easy to find, good location. Wish there had been air conditioning in all the rooms though, as it was extremely hot. Showers could have done with a shelf or something to put your things on, and perhaps a curtain a third of the way in to keep your clothes and towel dry.


69%

Staff was really unfriendly, they forgot that we already paid and wanted us to pay again.. Rooms were really small and there are only 2 showers per floor


89%

Awesome location, really really helpful staff. Beds, showers and toilets are pretty clean. Multiple power points in each dorm with lockers big enough to store a small backpack and safety deposit boxes I. The lobby for your valuables. Would definitely stay here again


86%

Staff were really friendly and helpful with 24 hour reception. Safe at reception and lockers in room. Only things were lack of kitchen and no air con in some rooms however it did have a fan. Lovely roof terrace for drinks. I would recommend it.


80%

La ubicación es muy buena y las vistas desde la terraza excelentes. Deberían mejorar el café para ser Turquía el que ofrecen de máquina es penoso. Por lo demás muy bien relación calidad precio.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The room was very small and there was just one window for a room of 8 people with a small ventilator. The hostel has a really good location but very noisy too. The breakfast is really good and the personal very friendly.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great staff and place! Would stay here again. Thanks!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Staff were very friendly and helpful, great location. Enjoyed the breakfast given in the morning (french toast was fantastic!) would definitely return.


83%

Nice hostel and place

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location on busy but fun street. Six person room on back side of hostel shared bathrooms with 30-person room. House keeping tried to keep bathrooms clean but were overwhelmed but the number of people. WiFi on every floor worked good in the mornings but by late afternoon slowed down to unusable due to the high number of users. Management tried resetting routers many times but like most WiFi in Istanbul, it was slow.


94%

Great hostel, very close to main attractions and things are easy to get to. Staff is willing to help and tell you of places to go and the bar on site has great atnosphere in the evening


89%

I stayed in he Orient hostel four nights. The location was absolutely great for me. I loved the busy street in the night, even the windows of my room were to the road. (the femal 8 bed room is located just about the bar and the busy street. No airconditioning, so closing the windows was not possilbe.)You will definitely need ear plugs if you want to sleep before 2pm, but with them it worked just right! The hostel was clean, convinient price, the staff at the reception very helpful and nice.


83%

el hostal está muy bien. perfectamente ubicado junto a Topkapi, Santa Sofía, Mezquita Azul... por lo que si lo que quieres es visitar Estambul este es un hostal ideal. la atomosfera es genial, hay gente de todo el mundo dispuesta a hablar y a intercambiar experiencias. el personal es muy agradable y siempre está dispuesto a ayudarte. está bastante limpio y el desayuno es muy correcto.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Really friendly and helpful staff. Special notice for bicycle travellers: This is the only hostel in Sultanahmet that is really "bicycle tourists" friendly. There is possible to park bicycles inside the hostel at a small contryard, not on a street (like we get answer from the others…). Staff helped us with transfer from/to the Airport (incl. only bicycle box transfer airport -> hostel). Staff also kept our bicycle box in the hostel luggage storage room during our long bicycle journey. Thanks!

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Im Vergleich zu anderen Hostels in Istanbul eine gute Auswahl beim Frühstücksbuffet Leider achtet das Personal nicht darauf, dass es nachts im Hostel ruhig ist (nachts Trompete spielen ist leider nicht tollerierbar)

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff and breakfast were amazing and view from rooftop unbelievable. Singe n Hassan were fun, friendly and helpful. Thanks for an amazing stay.


80%

Wir waren als Familie (2 Erw. 2 Kinder, 13 und 15 Jahre) im Orient Hostel. Es liegt zentral im Stadtteil Sultanahmed. Das Hostel strahlt in seiner verschachtelten Bauart einen wunderbar morbiden Charme aus mit toller Dachterrasse. Es ist sauber. Die Mehrbettzimmer sind einfach, aber ideal für Familien. Die Mitarbeiter sind sehr zuvorkommend, helfen, wo sie können und sind sehr nett, wir hatten eine Menge Spaß. Beim nächsten Mal Istanbul wieder.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

in the shower was lots of mold, the furtinure were from the 1970ies, the breakfast was horrible

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff are all amazing. I plan to stay there again when I pass through Istanbul later in the month. Also the complimentary breakfast is fantastic. I only wish it had hot water.


94%

Great place to stay - tons of bars and restaurants on this street, and easy to walk to major sights from here. Clean rooms, excellent breakfast spread on roof terrace.


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback