X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orient Hostel Reviews

Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:9, 34400 Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
821 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Location is awesome, very good value of money, met few backpackers, nice atmosphere in lovely city


80%

The staff was really friendly. I had booked the 30-bed dorm, but since there were not many guests they let me stay in the female dorm for no extra charge. Overall, I had a very nice stay. The only negative is that guests cannot use the kitchen to prepare our own food.

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location for reaching the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, etc. It's just not great to have to get through the tourist zone whenever you want to find a well-priced meal or just chill somewhere. Hostel staff are nice and breakfast is delicious Turkish breakfast looking out over the sea.


100%

The best option in Istanbul! The price of the rooms are accessible, the staff are more than prepared to help us, the common areas creates a comfortable environment between all the people in the hostel. The hostel is close to the Blue Mosque, transportation and a lot of restaurants. We also had a bar in front of the hostel, when we had a really good time together. The staff helped us with tickets for the next stop. Amazing hostel! The breakfast was amazing, including that view during the morning!


80%

The music from the bar was waaaaaayyyy too loud, especially the bass- it vibrated the beds, making it very difficult to sleep, even with earplugs. Other than that, everything was great. Very helpful staff.


91%

I would definitely recommend this hostel to backpackers, groups and youngsters who wish to explore Istanbul. The only missing thing is they don't have a common kitchen and common space area is very small . 6 bed room we stayed in is very small and if u don't plan staying in it, it is clean and proper. Staff is very nice and helping. Overall it is a good value for money. Excellent location and good food in the hostel's Cafe and restaurant.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Thank you very much! It was a nice stay and the hostel is quite sweet. The breakfast was neat and it was great that the water is hot when having a shower. The wifi connection is excellent, staff is professional and view from the breakfast terrace is beautiful.


89%

The location is the biggest advantage to this hostel! You can walk to the main touristic site in 5 minutes. The staff are very helpfull and they help with good infos! I travel in solo and i met a lot of nice traveller there. Im glad i stay there.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good hostel, value for money


100%

Great hostel good atmosphere and location. Loved the Buffet style breakfast, going Back there for sure.


91%

When I arrived I was immediately welcomed and upgraded to a better room for the same price. The downstairs area was a perfect environment to meet the other guests and the staff was super friendly. They provided tea, fun conversations, and advice. One of them (Yugal) showed a few of us around the Asian side of the city when he wasn't working. They truly had the customer's best interest in mind and their advice and help reflected this. Great location, price, and people, I would recommend Orient!

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Excelente, muy recomendable!


100%

Great location, great price. Has everything you expect from a hostel.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I spent just one night but I had a great time. Staff was extraordinary helpful. The hostel is very nice and what I appreciate most, very clean. What more, it has probably one of the most beautiful view from roof terrace. Thanks all you guys, for sure I will return to Orient hostel.

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We rented a private room for one night. The room was basic but clean. The hostel staff were very friendly and helpful. Note we found the walls to be quite thin - so consider earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The hostel didn't seem to be particularly noisy but our neighbours were up all night talking!

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

if there is only thing i can tell you that you must do while in istanbul...its to stay at Orient Hostel! From the amazing staff, the lovely breakfast on the terrace, to the amazing location this is thee place to be! Best thing, it won't break your budget and will save you a few bucks that you can spend in the colorful bazaar. As a solo traveler I truly believe this hostel is a great and comforting place to be. -zuzanna

  • 8th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location, great breakfast, rooftop terrace with a beautiful view. Out front there's a little bar which is open to the public so you get a nice mix of people in the bar. There is no real common area inside the hostel to hang out except for the two couches cramped together right next to the reception desk. The night shift guy isn't very friendly, nor helpful nor patient. Maybe because he works too long: I saw him come in at 21:00 and the next day at 10:00 he was still at the reception...


71%

Good times. But bed bugs?!?! Apparently it got sorted. No one like bed bugs.


100%

Orient Hostel is fantastic! It makes a great home base for discovering Istanbul and the roof top terrassse offers stunning views on the city's crown jewels. If you have a light sleep, go for one of the smaller size rooms. If you're not disturbed by someone accidentally turning on the lights or coming home late at night, go for the cheap 30 bed dorm. I stayed there twice for a total of two weeks and I didn't regret it at all.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Buena ubicación ,ambiente juvenil y agradable

  • 11th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Istanbul Hostels

Please give us your feedback