X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Orsa Maggiore for Women Only Reviews

Via San Francesco di Sales 1/a, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1747 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

The hostel is located in nice neighborhood along the river, it is close to the Vatican etc but rather far from the trainstation (you have to take the bus). The atmosphere is quiet, so definitely no party hostel. Th wifi did not work in my room (I stayed in one far from the shared spaces). There is a corridor where you can hang out. Also a garden but no one used that.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Madam, thank you for the review. We wouldl like to specify that we are in the center of Rome in the oldest district of the city, apart from the roman ruins) and that in our web page it is clearly stated that the WIFI is only in the hall and in the breakfast room.

86%

They should clean the refrigerator regularly, for example every Sunday. Or have everyone write the date of buying (not their name) on their products, so it is easy to tell what should be thrown out. The refrigerator was really full and very dirty. Also, it would be more nice if there is a cosy seating area. Now everybody sits alongside each other in the corridor which does not stimulate talking to each other.


97%

I really appreciated the calm atmosphere. The hostel was quiet, peaceful, and clean. The ceiling fan and windows helped with the heat.


80%

Great hostel. Good price! And good location. (Very close walking distance to Vatican; walkable to other sites as well) a little difficult to find initially and breakfast was basically just toast. But I would definitely stay there again!


57%

I had high hopes for this place at first. The Audre Lorde posters, etc., all indicated that I would be in a super radical space. But, the staff were generally not friendly or helpful and were occasionally downright rude. One particular hostel worker would buzz me in and then refuse to make eye contact with me once I made it upstairs. Strange! The bathroom facilities were in need of repair, both shower and stall doors were hanging on by a thread, etc. One floor fan per room in August? Yikes!


100%

Very nice hostel. Highly recommend


74%

It would have been a very good accommodation if there had been air conditioning (it was very difficult to sleep there). The rest was OK.


94%

I had a really pleasant stay. You have acces to all facilities, including kitchen, computers, wifi, etc. Breakfast ist included and is ok. Very friendly and helpfull staff and the location is just perfect to go to the main places by foot. Luggage deposit is also available. I felt at home and would definitely stay her again!

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel has the most perfect location and is very quiet. However it did get very hot, as to the missing air conditioning. But they have a fan, so i would definitely recommend this hostel.


74%

Close to Vatican City but a little far by foot from major tourist sights in Rome, though doable. There were lockers, though the door was very hard to lock. The WiFi was excellent during off-hours but during normal hours, it was inconsistent - and there is no WiFi in the rooms. The breakfast was great! There was loud music coming from the bar/stage downstairs late at night, so it would've been hard for light sleepers. It was a very quiet hostel, but nice to have only women.


94%

It was a quiet and comfortable place to stay. Very clean and the location was excellent!. For sure the best place for woman's to stay in all Rome.


89%

This was a great hostel. The staff was very friendly and I felt very safe there. The location is actually the best!! It's a 5-10 minute walk to the Vatican and a 5 minute walk to Trastevere, a very cool area. Other sites are a hike but you're by a major one. My roommates were nice and I made a few friends to spend time with, since I was a solo traveler. Bring earplugs bc the garden area gets noisy with little shows or movies.


69%

It was a good hostel, will be back, but the reviews are slightly misleading.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Orsa. The location, between the Vatican and the Trastevere neighborhood, can't be beat. It's a great area to walk...


89%

The place is really well located, you can get anywhere in Rome by walking or public transportation, it is just in the middle between Colleseum and Vatican, and in the heart of one of the most active places during the night (Trastevere). The rooms have enough space, they are clean and they are more than enough for just sleep. The place in general has a really good environment and because it is only for women you feel a really quiet atmosphere! However the lift was not working.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place, but the shower doors were broken...


77%

Location was good, especially since Lungo il Tevere was happening. Although it was a bit of a trek from the train station. Bathrooms could have been cleaner. And it would have been nice to have wifi access in the rooms.


74%

I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and the rooms quite comfortable but the shared bathrooms were pretty bad and it would have been good to know in advance that there would be extremely loud concerts in the courtyard every night until quite late. Still a fantastic location for Rome!

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is not near a major metro stop, so sightseeing will require long walks or learning the bus system. However, the hostel is in a fun area that comes alive at night. The bar/restaurant downstairs has live music late into the night. I really enjoyed this one night. The next night it made sleeping a challenge.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Madam, thank you for your review. In Rome there are only 2 metro lines that do not go into the center of the town. Our district is in the very center and it is the oldest part of Rome (apart from the roman ruins) and the major sightseeings are within walking distance.

46%

- The level of noise at night was unbearable!; in the next room a ceiling fan sounded like a drill! - The garden festivals are nice I'm sure but if one isn't invited can't join soso bear that noise too. - The toilets where super disgusting and broken. I apreaciate how quickly the light was fixed when I mentioned iit, but ask your cleaners to report any damages. -breakfast isn't suitable for every culture, the west Europeans like fruits in the morning. -fix the water/candy machine !

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Madam, none of the other guests complained for the noise of the fan, in any case we will fix it. For all our guests the is free entrance to the garden events. The toilets are cleaned every day, but unfortunately some people do not behave properly. We offer a continental breakfast; we do not think that in other Hostels in Europe they offer , Chinese, Corean, USA, Indian, Japanese, Greek, Russian, Brazilian, Argentinian ecc. breakfasts. The candy/water machine works!

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback