X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Orsa Maggiore for Women Only Reviews

Via San Francesco di Sales 1/a, Rome, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
1585 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

This place would work for a budget travel, for someone who wont be spending much time in the hostel. It is a clean place, but there is no atmosphere. The WI-Fi doesn't work in the rooms, only at the corridor near the reception. The breakfast is not great, and the kitchen closes at 12 and reopens at 7.30 so if you have an early flight it is impossible for you to have a cup of tea or anything to eat. It is a decent place for a budget traveler, but if your looking for comfort, this is not the place

Owner Comment (Hide)
This is a budget place with budget rates as you probably noticed when you reserved. The wi-fi, works in the corridors and in the brekfast room. Beeing this a XVI century building (this is the atmosphere), the walls are too thick for the wifi in the rooms. Breakfast consists in: Lavazza espresso coffe for real italian cappuccino, milk ,tea, butter, jams, cake, yogurts, bread, and crisp bread, corn flakes, 2 kinds of cheese. Need I say more?

97%

We really enjoyed our stay. There is plenty of room in the bedrooms, much more than the usual hostel and no bunks. The rooms are quiet at night, being on the inside of the building around the courtyard. The bathrooms are also more roomy and dry than the usual hostel. We also appreciated the large lockable cupboards. The breakfast is excellent, with plenty of food and Lavazza expresso. Staff were really helpful with maps and directions for supermarkets, buses & trams.


91%

I loved the part of town this hostel was in. It was on the other side of the river but still close to the Vatican, Piazza Navone and Campo di Fiori. Trastevere itself is wonderful and should not be skipped! Very quaint and the main square had so much going on. They cleaned the dorms and bathrooms each morning, the free breakfast was pretty sufficient (bread, cheese, coffee, juice, yogurt) and common space was laid out well.


77%

Not really anywhere to change in the shower room and the cooking facilities were not that great. Abut overall a nice, quiet relaxing place to stay and chill out away from the masses.


100%

Great place,nice staff,good value.


74%

Pos +: - quiet, airy place - safe feeling - spacious rooms with storage Neg -: - Internet on computers: very slow - 1 key for all - Breakfast: so much waste!! All plastic, never seen before in a hostel...a disaster for nature :( - it's just a small effort to wash some plates, cups and cutlery - You have to pay cash (said on website) but there's a machine to pay w card. Dangerous to walk w cash in Rome: we were robbed in the streets on the first day (and we were not the only one of the hostel..)

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the positive review. Guests can use porcelain dishes and cups, and metal cuttlery. All these things are in the breakfast room. We request cash payment for Hostelworld's bookings because we pay a percentage for their service and we can't afford to pay for the credit card service too. We always suggest to pay at the check in or leave the cash in the room, and keep the cash separate from the documents. Rome as all the big cities in the world, has robbers!

83%

Great Hostel :)


100%

Friendly helpfull staff. Excellent bathroom and kitchen facilities, comfortable beds and lots of space. I would definitely recommend this hostel to others as a great place to stay in Roma.

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Really great location, easily accessible to main sites in Rome with good atmosphere. The beds were very comfy and it was nice to not have a bunk bed. The breakfast was really good, especially the espresso machines! It would be nice to have some fresh bread or pastries. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hostel was very clean.


83%

There was one room key for the entire room. The staff told everyone that the last person out was to shut the door and bring the key to the front desk. There were large lockers available to us inside the room. Near impossible to find power outlets. If you are coming to Rome to see the Vatican it is a great location. Also Trastevere is great with its shops and food. Everyone staying at the hostel was very friendly so I would highly recommend this hostel to female (esp. solo) travellers.

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The staff was helpful if you were nice to them, but the showers were pretty dirty and the whole hostel shared that one bathroom. But the rooms are huge and there's no bunk beds which is nice! There is a 3 am curfew. Also, there's only one key per room so we never could truly lock the door. The location is pretty good, a bit far but manageable. Overall a decent experience though I'd say a bit pricey for what you get.


100%

Amazing place super safe and clean really close to the Vatican! Staff is helpful and friendly definitely would stay here again:)


77%

Very pleasing everything, but bathrooms should be cleaned more often and showercurtains must be renewed!

  • 9th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

I chose to stay at here because I was spending a couple days in Rome on my own. I took a taxi from Roma Termini because I arrived later in the evening. I was in a four bedroom with ensuite bathroom. The room was big, with clean linens on the bed, bedside tables and lockers for each person. The only downfall was the shower in the bathroom which was small and very moldy. I did appreciate the full breakfast they provided in the morning. I also really liked the area, Trastevere is relaxed and cool.


89%

The hostel is located in a wonderful area in Rome, near Trastevere, not so far away from S. Peter and S. Angel Castle. Rooms are quiet and comfortable. The staff is entirely made by women and they are lovely and keen to help you. The hostel belongs to the International House of Women, so you can take part in the activities that the House organizes just one floor below, in the beautiful garden with a lovely cafeteria. You definitely cannot feel alone here. To me, it was like being at home.

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location between the Colloseum


83%

A very friendly hostel in a good location. The staff were very helpful.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I can't say enough about this wonderful place. The staff were excellent. The location was great and within walking distance to the Vatican, Piazza Farnase, Corso di Fiori, Piazza Navona etc. The building is part of the Casa Internazionale Delle Donna which is a world renowned center for training, fundraising and conferences on human and womens rights.and always had some sort of activities going on. The courtyard was a great place to talk and relax after a busy day. Large rooms. Best in Rome!!!!

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place. Friendly and pleasant. Close to Vatican, but not close to metro. Right next to the river, which is an excellent orientier as you are finding your way through the city. Facilities could use an update, but are sufficiently functional.


86%

The stuff was very friendly. The location was perfect. The only thing we didn't like, was using plastic dishes for having breakfast. Not very eco-friendly!!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(41 results)


View all Rome Hostels

Please give us your feedback