X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Oslo Hotel Reviews

38 Grey Street, St Kilda, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

57%

Rating
300 Total Reviews
  • 52%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 59%Staff
  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 37%Cleanliness
  • 50%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Friendly staff, great security, good atmosphere, friendly people. will be staying there again.

  • 27th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Bit dirty but quite liveable in general.

  • 13th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

very dirty

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

The hotel needs a complete overhaul. There are stains on the carpets, cigarette butts on the ground outside and alcohol spillage everywhere. I am very surprised that I feel can still be operating. Surely there are standards in Victoria. it is a shame that I did book this in a hurry and didn't read the 200 bad reviews!

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

4 of us stayed here for one night, the English guy who checked us in seemed nice enough, but the room and bathroom was filthy, the sheets, pillow cases and blankets were dirty, the pillow itself was so old that it just had clumps in it and was horribly discoloured like pee. The beds are old and you sink in the middle, some of the bunks are just two normal singles welded on top of each other. Checkout at 10am, well we would have but no one turned up til 11! We waited as it's $20 key deposit! Poop

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

I found used 2 plaster stuck to the under of my blankets on the last day! glad I slept on top all week, I vacuumed my room on the last day and pulled the small furniture off the wall and found another plaster and just dirt. I paid good money to stay in a dirty room in a dirty bed, also I got clothing stolen from the washing line. it is good for location and if you can handle rugged living it is good value, I was extremely disappointed though.

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

Just 1 thing , don't spent any days in there!!!

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

Very dirty! The worst hostel I've ever stayed


77%

When I read the reviews of this place I had a really bad image of what it was going to be like but there was no where else in my budget.However I extended my stay by a week and I am still there at the moment. been given a really nice room for women only which has its own lounge, fridge and showers. The staff are nice and it has Foxtel in the sitting room. The only real problem I have is that there is a very cliquey vibe, with the majority of guests French or German and not mixing with others


69%

Not a bad place to say, only stayed 2 nights. Other guests unfriendly, also extremely noisy during the middle of the night. That's hardly the hostels fault though


49%

Very dirty. Facilities are very old and in bad condition. Being waking up at 3am due to false fire alarm.


37%

For the days I stayed in Melborne, NOBODY cleaned the rooms, nor the closets. The kitchen and dishes are useless, because so dirty they are. The day I Left, there Was an elder Man, with a very bad mood. I asked him to make a reservation for a shuttle to the AirPort, .adviced in the customs. It Was supposed to arrive at 14:15. At 14:00 the hole staff went out "for a coffe". The time went on, and the shuttle NEVER came. There Was nobody to help me, or even call the shuttle office. I lost my flig

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


49%

The hygiene is awful. There are blood stains and other long term accumulated stains on the pillow. That is Room 52.

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

This hostel has cleaner who doesn't clean and a manager who doesn't want them to clean to much ("bathroom are cleaned every 2 or 3 days"). Bathrooms and kitchen are dirty. Pans, sauce pans, pots are so old that everything burn inside. Price of your room depending if your face fits. Some people pay more in a dorm than in a double room. Wifi very slow and sometimes no wifi, but cheap!

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

My first visit to the Oslo Hotel and though I did not have a lot of time with them I was pleased with my visit. The staff is genuine and caring and things are not allowed to get out of hand, but in general you are not being micro managed either. Things are easy going as one would hope and the location is good, anything I would hope to need is right there and I found their prices to be fair and the internet a good value and worked well even in my room. They actually bill for time used.

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback