Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 152 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 152 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2017
5.1

A slightly depressing affair. The place would not look modern if I'd visited there in the 70s.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Why does everywhere have to be modern?

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2017
10.0

Absolutely brilliant stay. Stopped for 2 nights as we were climbing Nevis so sleeping was all we required. Staff were great. Tea and free cofffee on tap if you wanted it and cereal in a morning. Bed comfy, shower hot, TV worked as did the free Wi fi. Would 100 percent use again. Far better and cheaper thsn the Travel lodge. Excellent stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
10.0

Very pleased. Near the railway station. We met friends in the lounge. The people were friendly. The cost not excessive. A good start for our holiday. Comfortable twin bed room and quiet. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
9.7

We stayed at Ossians while preparing tho begin the Great Glen Way hike. The staff were quite friendly and helpful. The noise others referred to was not an issue at all for us. The room was nice with a view of the canal. It was by no means fancy and one of the beds in our family room squeaked a bit, but we were very comfortable. It was nice to be close to shops and restaurants. We made good use of the complementary tea all day and the cereal in the morning. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you. Hope you and the girls have enjoyed your hike.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
5th Jun 2017
7.4

The accommodation is well located in the center of Fort William. Only getting hot water for a shower was not easy and needs a lot of time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
4.3

I lean to historic/rustic/country style & don't mind wear & tear, but my single was a spartan white box with a spring-riddled mattress on a narrow metal bed-frame that oddly brought to mind a prison bunk. The only light was a table lamp w/broken shade & a florescent cylinder at the head of the bed. No shelf/hooks/table in bath & inescapable noise from the freeway. I asked to change but they said all singles were on the same side though photos say otherwise. So uncomfortable I checked out early.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

The room this guest stayed in is shown in the photographs on this site. Check it yourself against his description. The guest never spoke directly to a staff member after check in, but sent an email during his stay to ask if there was another single away from the "freeway". Sorry, but all our singles face the same way, which is the view of the loch, with the main road running next to it. If you know the Fort...hardly a freeway. At no time was any mention made of any other complaints he had. When we know something bothers a guest, we will try our best to solve it, but you can't give personal service when the guest doesn't wish make personal contact.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
8.3

This stay left me wondering what the definition of hostel was. I had read a couple of dodgy reviews and was nervous but I thought it was good. I have stayed in hotels with fewer facilities. OK so the decor was a bit tired, but I can live with peeling wood chip.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks. I have found that everyone's expectations are so different. We just try to provide a relaxed spot for our guests, most of whom have been out walking all day.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
7.1

Don't expect luxury, but it was a bed where I needed it, when I needed it, and at a reasonable price.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks. We know we don't provide luxury, but try to provide a friendly and relaxed base for our guests.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st May 2017
9.7

Great place to stay as right in the town centre. Would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th May 2017
10.0

Good place to stay in the middle of fort William....

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.