Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 241 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 241 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
6.0

The location of the hostel is excellent for access to the town/nightlife, this naturally results in an increased noise level when pubs are emptying. The staff were for the most part helpful and friendly particularly the night porter. My only issue with the premises was the absolute lack of facilities for walkers, there are no washing machines, dryers, kitchen facilities including drinking water for backpackers, one of the worst "hostels" I have ever stayed in, as a boarding house its fine.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Namibia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2017
6.0

Shower feeling cold. Would not stay again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2017
8.0

Functional for backpacking or winter sports people. Clean. Simple. Good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
2.6

For us it was really terrible place, no parkplace, no breakfast, old and chip furniture and old not washed carpets. This category of accommodation should cost 20 Pounds, not 65! We couldn’t use the bathroom because of the smell and we couldn't sleep because the walls are form paper and you hear everything from other rooms, even moving on your bad. And better if you don't use the toilet, because every one will hear it. Next time I would rather sleep in my car.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
6.3

Unfortunately as a solo traveller, not for me. Just a tad too noisy for me as the room was right on the street Well suited for the younger traveller/travellers on a budget.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
8.6

Ossians needs a sign at the rear. Front is pedestrian only street. Greeted by a very pleasant man who explained everything about our accommodation and local parking. Self service breakfast, with a helpful lady in charge, consisted of a good selection of cereals with good fresh coffee or a wide selection of teas. Room and beds were clean. Shower was broken and did not provide warm water. Hostels should not use showers with flexible hoses – people break them. Wash basin had been scoured too much

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2017
9.1

I stayed in a single room, which was very spacious for one person. Everything in my room worked, always had a hot shower! Perfect location, right on High Street and writhin walking distance to everything. The place was a little outdated, but I knew that before booking, and it was very comfortable! They let me keep my luggage there after I checked out. The only negative was that the wifi didn't work in my room and I had to go out in the hallway to use it. Other than that it was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
7.4

OK, expensive for what if was, rooms abit grimly. Staff lovely and helpful Good WiFi Great free tea and coffee and cereals

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
8.3

Ossians was very dated saying that it was friendly great view from the hotel window and extremely clean. Helpful staff, I would definitely stay again. Enjoyed every moment.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
8.9

Great location, lovely staff and and a comfortable bed. Dated decor but in a nice way, excellent heat and pressure from the shower.....I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Free breakfast too!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.