X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

OstellOlinda Reviews

Via Ippocrate 45, Milan, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
408 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 64%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

This is a hostel inside a center or college, quite far from the city, the wifi didn't work at all, but there is a quite hostel and I like it!


86%

Yes, it is not a hostel for meeting people, but i do enjoy the quietness there, kitchen facilities are amazing, you can use not just the facilities but the oil and sause, staff are really friend and helpful, clear instruction and great suggestion for short term travelling in milano.


60%

This place is 10 train stops from Duomo (main city centre), which is too far in my opinion (at least 25minutes); however pretty close to the station. No atmosphere here, hardly anyone else around to make friends (if you're travelling solo). The place is clean which is good, the bed is not comfortable


89%

This hostel was somewhat hard to find, but other than that it was a really great place. It was calm, surrounded by lots of greenery, community protected by a huge wall, located in an area of town that is local, not too touristy. The bathroom was very clean, fresh environment overall-maybe all the plants, and the kitchen and dinning room has everything you could need to cook youself a meal (just supply the food, there is a market close). Also, very cool local outdoor market on Saturdays closeby

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
51%

pro: its not too far from the metro station, you can park your car for free inside the gates, the beds were comfy. contra: there was no hostel-atmosphere at all, there were no signs to find the hostel in this big ''clinic-kind-of-area'', we had to climb over the main-gates of this clinic-thing when we came home at night, which is about 3.5 meters high and kind of dangerous to climb. well at least we had a place to sleep at. i guess... we were two guys (both 22yrs) for one night in milano.


29%

Definitely I not recommend this "hostel" for anyone. First, I felt I was alone in the hostel, looked like a haunted place (the hostel is within a park / museum, that was psiquiatro hospital in the past). This "hostel" is super poorly located (you can't find the hostel on the map available at the airport), and the access to the subway and restaurants is not good neither. The water of shower is cold and has no lockers in the rooms. Definitely do not recommend this hostel.


83%

Quirky hostel in middle of hospital complex and very convenient for metro €1.5 on direct line to Milan Duomo. Good clear instructions from Turin-Venice motorway.Not so clear from entrance gate of hospital...need to ask gatekeeper.


57%

Cold shower. Loud neighbors. No time for complaint.

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The bathrooms were super clean and the hostel is in a nice park. I just regret having my glasses stolen there. Otherwise a really good adress

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

The hostel is located inside a hospital compound. and quite far from the city center (6 metro stations). The staff was OK when we checked in, but after that they were nowhere to be found. We had no heat during the night, and it was quite cold. We had to use 3 to 4 blankets. Only some showers had hot water. Otherwise the value for money is OK. We were a group of 9 people and we stayed there in October.


77%

The staff was fantastic and so helpful. The location is so close to the metro. The only area of improvement I saw is that the wifi doesn't really work in the rooms are barely works in the common area.


91%

I really like this place and if i get the chance to stay in milan again is ostell olina the first adress to call. The staff was really nice and helped any time they could. But the most important thing is, it is clean! never had a hostel as clean as olinda. the bathrooms really nice build up, everthing works and again very very clean.

  • 16th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Really nice hostel with spacious, comfortable rooms and a big, well-equipped kitchen. Located quite far from city centre but in a very quiet, green part of Milan. Only downside was the lockers, which you'd need some kind of miniature lock for.


37%

Hostel is well out of the main tourist area of Milan. It's not easy to find as it is in an old hospital complex and not very well sign posted. The staff were not always friendly and we couldn't leave food in the communal kitchen because it would get eaten. We did not feel welcome in the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Catherine, the hostel is just 15 minutes away from the city center (10 stops of underground). I'm sorry that you didn't leave your stuff in our fridge, if you have put the name noone would have touched your food. I hope to see you again.

26%

This is a hostel to avoid. It is located miles away from the centre of town and is hidden away in some old remote hospital grounds. The service from all the staff was slow, poor and unhelpful. The rooms are very basic and get incredibly hot during the night. During our stay in the peak summer we saw only one other guest and meant the hostel was incredibly quiet and almost quite spooky. If you have come to Milan to enjoy the city and take in the atmosphere steer clear of this place.


83%

The place was locked up when we arrived at 1 in the afternoon and it took us some time to roust someone to check us in. Their credit card machine was not working and so u had to pay cash at check out time. But other than those two things our stay was nice: clean sheets, not too noisy, helpful staff once they got there. We are a Girl Scout Troop of 10 girls and women from Colorado.


74%

Very nice hostel, though it was quite far from the center and even the subway was not really far the way to the hostel doesn't look pretty good for walking when it's already dark. If you want to travel its not really the best choice not because its not nice but because of the farness is not very practical. There is no reception the 24 hours, but is pretty good =) We were happy with it.


89%

Very clean bathrooms, helpful stuff; great if you have a car.


51%

Horrible experience at OstellOlinda. The area is covered in graffiti and there are gates with barbed wire on the buildings. The hostel is located in a park which is not kept up to date. Stayed there two nights and refused to stay any longer. One other person was staying with me in the entire building. The hostel is not even in Milan, it's outside. Do NOT stay here. The reviews are wrong.


37%

This hostel is the worst one I have ever stayed. It runs in a house in the back of a hospital very far from downtown Milan. The staff is not there during the working hours, the bed is terrible, there are nearly no facilities and it is FAR, very far, from everything. It is nearly impossible to find this hostel without a half an hour tour on the hospital area. Seriously, don't stay there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry if you didn't like our hostel. Our reception is open everyday from 10AM to 8PM, we are 5 minutes walking from Affori FN (yellow line) metro stop, and we offer many facilities: free internet wi-fi, bed linen included, laundry service, free use of kitchen, free parking. We hope you could be our guest next time and see how nice is our hostel!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(258 results)


View all Milan Hostels

Please give us your feedback