X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ostello S. Fosca Reviews

Fondamenta Canal, Cannaregio 2372, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
801 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The place was a bit hard to find, but everything was really nice. Would definitely come again.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

There are very few hostels on the canals, so I am trying not to be picky, but this hostel left a lot to be desired. It was nice because it had a kitchen you could use and a large courtyard to hang out in, but it also had a curfew of 12:30. The worst was that the bathrooms didn't have toilet paper for a whole day, and when we mentioned it they said the cleaning staff would stock it the next day but didn't give us any in the meantime! It was cool to stay on the canal but maybe try a different one.


89%

The shower doors where oy frosted glass which was fine except that you could see into the showers perfectly but from the inside you couldn't see out so looked like they were put on backwards. The cupboards in the rooms didn't look despite being given a key. Facilities were very Good however, and the wifi was brilliant and the staff very friendly and helpful. Location was good and the rooms were spacious.


69%

Okay hostel in a quiet part of Venice, yet still quite central. Room was big, no bunk beds so that was nice too. Not much atmosphere though. It's a big hostel that also hosts big groups of school kids.


97%

Seemed more like a hotel than a hostel, as there didn't seem to be a common area for people to hang out. But all together, a wonderful location with (local kids playing on their bikes in the evening when the walkways were not as crowded.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear sharon, thank you for the positive scores. please let us underline we have many common areas for people to hang out: common room with television sofas chairs tables and computer, huge courtyard where you can have dinner lunch and breakfast, garden area.... the manager

69%

Facilities were a bit in disrepair. Broken toilet, door handles falling off etc.. Also not the cleanest, which led to bugs. A lot of little things could be done to make the hostel a little nicer.


94%

The best staff in the world. The breakfast is excellent :)


83%

Nice and quiet. But they close The doors 12.30


91%

The hostel campus is large, spacious, and tranquil, tucked away along a canal just off of one of the main streets near the train station. The bathroom facilities functioned well and were ample and clean, my roommates were always interesting and easy to talk to, and there's a kitchen, refrigerators, and clotheslines available for guest use. No pesky insects (at least not that I encountered), and ceiling fans in the bedrooms (in the yellow dorms). I would love to stay here again!


80%

The room I lived in was room 20, which was the room next to the entrance. It was a bit too dark, and the room could not receive the wifi signal so I had to go to the lobby/ common room all the time if I wanted to use the wifi. It would have been better if these 2 aspects could have been improved.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good atmosphere, welcoming. Only one problem with cleanliness: one of my roommates was sick to her stomach on our floor, the mess was still there the next day although the windows were open to air out the room. It was a special circumstance but they could have been more careful in cleaning.


83%

everything is good especially the helpful stuff. big kitchen. but you need to pass through about 5 bridges with stairs from rail station to this hostel on foot. it was quite hard if you were carrying heavy luggages.


83%

Really beautiful buildings, great part of town. Fantastic staff, comfortable beds. Wifi doesn't work in rooms, or for iPhones (although the staff tried their best to help). Think I got bed big bites from here though..

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear yallana thank you for your positive commet please let us underline the aspect of bed bugs; if you were sure you had this problem here you could have told us about it; it a very serious matter and we check all rooms and beds monthy to avoid such problems: since nobody complained since today, we strongly believe you had this bad experience in another hostel the manager

97%

Nice staff and nice twin room with good facilities (shared WC). Located near a main street that will allow you to explore the city easily. Wireless connection is a plus.


80%

A pretty decent hostel. Everything was good. Kitchen is big and big a wardrobe for you to lock your stuff. Just the shower room lacked privacy for girls as the curtain is transparent. Good for guys but bad for the girls (if you know what i mean) . Joke aside the girls should try to get all females room if you can or you need more privacy.


94%

Beautiful place! Charming! Very friendly and helpfull staff, and great location! Very close to SL Station, next to a little canal and close to the big canal and the vaporetto! Will come back.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is located on the main island, close to Santa Lucia railway station, can be reached with approx 10 mins walking. It is like a student dorm, so recommended for student/young travelers. Room was clean, but it was a bit pricey for our budget (but everything in Venice is pricey anyway). Kitchen has a huge and beautiful backyard for having meal, guests are allowed to cook and fridges are available to use. But it took quite long time to check in, but in general, it was a pleasant stay


89%

This hostel is about a 40 min walk from St. Marks square, not 15 as it is advertised.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear alison thank you for the positive score given to our hostel! please let un underline that fr a "real venecian" walking distance from our hostel to s mark square is 10 min walk! because we walk fast and know the streets! maybe it was your first time in venice so it took you longher.... the manager

80%

You get a locker and you can lock our door so security is all right. It also locates near the major sights, well the main island of Venice is not very big, it's very walkable anyway. But the curfew can be a bit off putting, it doesn't allow us to go out after 12 and the communal area also closes at half 12, so that's that. What's more, we had reservations for consecutive four days, but they oddly got us out of our room on the third day and moved us to another room to cater for group booking.


91%

A nice place to stay, the rooms were nice with chairs for all beds and plenty of room. It was nice that there was a sink in the room as well. It is said in advance what the opening hours are of reception, so this was fine. The staff were friendly and helpful


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(76 results)


View all Venice Hostels

Please give us your feedback