X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ostello S. Fosca Reviews

Fondamenta Canal, Cannaregio 2372, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
1155 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Ostello Santa Fosca was a great stay. The hostel is very spacious and includes a meeting area, kitchen, and courtyards to lounge in. The staff was kind and helpful for travelers to a new city. Although it was a bit of a challenge to find from the train station at first, with the help of some locals, I found it in no time. The hostel is about 20 minutes walk from the train station. However, there are water taxis available outside to the train station to facilitate the transfer.


100%

I've been to over 50 hostels and this was the best one I have ever been too- massive property, great location, bed desk and Cuboard (no bunks!), kitchen, amazing staff- can't recommend it enough!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!


66%

Routine checks on the bathroom facilities would be appreciated especially at night if possible.


60%

The hostel was very basic in terms of facilities and amenities. The room was clean, but the bathrooms weren't great. Overall, the hostel was a good place to sleep but didn't offer much in the way of socializing. It was sufficient as a place to relax after exploring Venice during the day.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good choice for backpackers wishing to stay on the island for an affordable price. Quiet but close to main walking route and near vaparetto.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

It was in quite an easy location to access and not a long walk to all the main sights. The lockers were secure and the rooms were neat and clean. We enjoyed our stay and the staff were nice - it just didn't have much of an atmosphere everyone kept to themselves.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

DO NOT STAY HERE. The hostel was apparently full our whole visit and we met no one! Our room stank of damp and we slept in damp beds you could see mould on the walls as well as holes. Did not feel safe at all! We were kicked out the social area at 8pm, the only place with WiFi in the whole hostel, we also failed to find the kitchen facilities only found a microwave! Staff were rude and spoke in front of us, about us in Italian. Also kicked out of the rooms at 9am for "cleaning".

Owner Comment (Hide)
The hostel was and is full, are we responsabile because you did not meet other guests? probably they were visiting and enjoying the city... kitchen is availbale from the 25 june, as written on our website check out and cleaning are from 10 am venice is builed on water... humidity is a matter to deal with, expecially in summer time... as you can see the scores given to our staff are positive in many other comments; if clients are rude with us, we honestly cannot keap smiling...

51%

The staff were good. Let em keep luggage in exception though there is no luggage room A few things to note 1 shower between 4 rooms (12 people) means lots of waiting for the shower No charger near my bed so had to use the charger over someone else's bed. The hostel is not the easiest to find, and the instructions could be a bit better. The hostel checkout is 9am which is very early, and the reception is closed between 12-3 and closed after 8. Ok to stay for one night photo doesn't match

Owner Comment (Hide)
Let us underline few aspects. the shower you mention is between 3 rooms, not 4. chargers are several in the rooms and available for all guests sleeping in that room; to share rooms is also this... if you hade reserved a private room you would have had a private charger. check out time is at 10 o clock, and you knew about reception time table before booking.... the manager

74%

Great location, friendly staff. One of very few budget options that I can recommend if you want to stay on the venice islands. Accommodation is basic but adequate. Reception has specific opening hours so make sure to check these out - it's got a bit of the old school hostels international vibe. Clean but very old, like everything in venice. It won't be the most luxurious place you have ever stayed at but if your looking for an affordable option this place is absolutely OK for 1-2 nights.


83%

It is perfect except that wi-fi connection is not very strong in the hostel room. Drinks in the vending machine are very cheap!


77%

The hostel is well located in Venice, with supermarket and vaporetto stations next door.However, you need to improve on their times from the reception. The check in can be done until 12pm and the reception only opens again at 15h. The breakfast could be better, even being paid out. Another suggestion would be to improve the map to reach the hostel. It is very easy to get lost in Venice and a more detailed map would help, especially in the latter part of the percussion in San Fosca square.


86%

I was in a 4 bed mixed dorm with a sink in the corner, and awesome big lockers for each person. There was a bit of a problem with mosquitoes, it is Venice, but the ceiling fan did assist with this a bit. The area is superb, 15 min walk from the train station, supermarket and restaurants close by, a little less touristy than other areas. Negatives were the restrictive reception hours, no access to kitchen outside 'summer months' and at least 20 people sharing one shower.


89%

It was great to stay there just that there was a lot of bugs and it got a bit annoying...

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

While we stayed here for several days, we never really used the main facilities other than our room and the bathroom but from what I could see they were in good condition. The location was a little off the beaten path, but worked well for us. I would recommend this hostel to others that want to be closer to the train station.


66%

Staff is lovely! But the cleaning not so good.


100%

One of the nicest hostels ever...perfect location, amazing staff!


91%

My only problem was the woman who slept in the adjacent bed who snored all night, which affected my sleeping very seriously - for all three nights unfortunately. But that isn't the hostel's fault! I would love to know if they have any single or double rooms.. and if they are open during the winter months.... The cleanliness is impeccable.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

This place was in a great location (actually in Venice) & had great showers (heat & water pressure). The rooms were clean & had big lockers so that was great. However, the wifi only worked in the common area & right outside (literally outdoors) the common area. That was only open from 9-12 & 3-8 so unless you wanted to get a late start or early lunch, eating there was hard. Plus, no kitchen or bar sucked. I wouldn't go if I was travelling solo. Also no secure room for stuff after checkout.


91%

I loved that there where no bunk beds in the dorm room. Plus you have your very own cupboard that locks and its free!! The directions are a little confusing but once you get in Venice you find that all directions are confusing and the hostel does the best that it can do. Bed was comfy and the shower was hot.


46%

This hostel is pretty basic. The bathroom floods badly every time it's used and you have to pay for a towel (not advertised). The wifi isn't accessible except in the common room which is closed for most of the day and not open evenings.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(48 results)


View all Venice Hostels

Please give us your feedback