X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ostello S. Fosca Reviews

Fondamenta Canal, Cannaregio 2372, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
686 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Nice hostel and helpful and friendly staff. I definitely recommend it!


71%

Reception time is pretty narrow: from 9 AM to 8 PM. Besides that, everything was ok: good location (not far from the centre nor the train station); nice, warm rooms (which was great, as we got there dripping from the rain and it's really easy to get wet in Venice) and bathroom. There's a nice common area and wi.fi all over the hostel.


77%

wish we could have access to the kitchen.. but we knew we wouldn't when we booked.. could have lockers in rooms.. great location.. not far from the train or any of the main attractions. overall.. good hostel


83%

Great location, near to train station. Good price. Great value.


66%

it was okay the wifi was continually dropping out which was very frustrating when i was trying to plan other parts of my trip. the room was okay, no lockers in the room which is annoying but considering the few choices available it is pretty okay. no kitchen it is also annoying


51%

This place was ok. The old church campus makes it really unique and cool. But the horrible desk hours, basically nonexistent internet, and no kitchen makes it not worth the money at all. I booked this place cause I needed internet to buy a plane ticket and ended up paying €20 more because it took 3 hopeless tries on their computer and I finally had to go to an internet café.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear andrew we are sorry to read you consider our reception time table horrible. please note we are sure you read about it before booking! in winter time we don't have kitchen facilities, as written in out description, you probably missed that part. internte connection is working properly, you could have asked help at the reception desk for your plane tickets ostello santa fosca the manager leila

74%

average hostel. nothing special. but the only thing I mind is that they got a very strict reception time. things got more difficult when you have only one or two days there and have to meet with their time and the train. be sure you got the right schedule.


86%

The hostel is very well located and easy to get to. They serve coffee and tee for breakfast for free and have a very nice common room. The bedrooms were clean, but the blaked I got was a bit smelly... The offered sheets though, so it was ok. The wifi didnt work in the bedroom, what was a little bit unconvenient, but besides, everything all right.


69%

Interesting spot, needed more heating or blankets, I found the room to be very cold both nights that I was there, and the heating was already on max.

  • 19th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The staff are really friendly & helpful. The location is quite good esp for those who want to explore the heart of venice by walking, even though you have to pass through so many bridges before getting to the hostel. But as long as you follow the direction provided with your booking you'll be fine. The wifi connection wasn't too strong though.


71%

There is no so good wifi and the room was cold,but the hostel has a very good security system.good location,also.


74%

Everything seemed to be run quite well. When we were leaving in the morning we were quite surprised to learn that the lights in the room no longer worked.. this made packing quite difficult. In terms of the Wifi, the signal wasn't very strong and didn't work well in our room.


74%

In general hostel is ok. But if you need an internet connection it's a bad choice. Internet works only in reception area which is open not all the time ( 9-12 and 15-20), so if you need to work at other time - you can only sit outside. And it was extremely cold in the room, heater worked only at night time (about 10 pm to 5 am) Staff was nice, but couldn't really fix your problems. If you have one - it is only you problem :) As a plus - room was clean and big. And they have unlimited coffee:)

  • 1st Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The double room we took with its private bathroom was perfect for a couple. Everything was clean and ok. Staff was perfect. It was quiet, maybe too quiet. There was not a warm and welcoming atmosphere like in a classical hostels. It looked like more a cheap hotel than a festive hostel.


60%

No lockers, but this is a decent place for not having to pay an arm and a leg. Staff are inattentive but friendly enough (I guess it's Italy after all...). Atmosphere? There is none, but it IS an ex-convent, run by/for Catholic students.


86%

This hostel was a great quiet place to return to after a long day of sightseeing. The atmosphere was a lot quieter than some of the other hostels that I've been to in the past but it was still a great place. It's in a nice convenient location.


37%

Walkable from Venezia Santa Lucia. No security. There was not a hanger in the room and leave apart the thought of a locker. Extra payment for check in after 8 and after 9 you cant as hostel staff vanishes. Hostel staff take frequent breaks and if your luggage is locked in, you have to let go of something to catch a train or a flight

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear sankalpa, please note we are not a 24 hours reception, as you read before making the reservation. the reception time table is carefully respected by all employes. we close at 8 pm; your arrival at 9pm was arranged as appointment, giving you the keys of the room reserved. the extra payment for arrivals after 8pm is clearly written when you checked the service we offer! thank you the manager

94%

Loved it. Easy to find (I thought), a little pricey by any other standards but pretty good for Venice, actually; would have been nice to have breakfast included and the wi-fi just requires a little patience, but on the whole a really cool location and a wonderful stay. Just keep in mind the hours for reception


97%

Nice place. Friendly staff.


74%

The hostel itself was ok, but the common room closes at 8pm in the evenings and it's the only place you can get internet, (no internet in the rooms), so it definitely limits your options if you need to get online.

  • 10th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(47 results)


View all Venice Hostels

Please give us your feedback