X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Ostello S. Fosca Reviews

Fondamenta Canal, Cannaregio 2372, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
820 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The room I lived in was room 20, which was the room next to the entrance. It was a bit too dark, and the room could not receive the wifi signal so I had to go to the lobby/ common room all the time if I wanted to use the wifi. It would have been better if these 2 aspects could have been improved.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Very good atmosphere, welcoming. Only one problem with cleanliness: one of my roommates was sick to her stomach on our floor, the mess was still there the next day although the windows were open to air out the room. It was a special circumstance but they could have been more careful in cleaning.


83%

everything is good especially the helpful stuff. big kitchen. but you need to pass through about 5 bridges with stairs from rail station to this hostel on foot. it was quite hard if you were carrying heavy luggages.


83%

Really beautiful buildings, great part of town. Fantastic staff, comfortable beds. Wifi doesn't work in rooms, or for iPhones (although the staff tried their best to help). Think I got bed big bites from here though..

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear yallana thank you for your positive commet please let us underline the aspect of bed bugs; if you were sure you had this problem here you could have told us about it; it a very serious matter and we check all rooms and beds monthy to avoid such problems: since nobody complained since today, we strongly believe you had this bad experience in another hostel the manager

97%

Nice staff and nice twin room with good facilities (shared WC). Located near a main street that will allow you to explore the city easily. Wireless connection is a plus.


80%

A pretty decent hostel. Everything was good. Kitchen is big and big a wardrobe for you to lock your stuff. Just the shower room lacked privacy for girls as the curtain is transparent. Good for guys but bad for the girls (if you know what i mean) . Joke aside the girls should try to get all females room if you can or you need more privacy.


94%

Beautiful place! Charming! Very friendly and helpfull staff, and great location! Very close to SL Station, next to a little canal and close to the big canal and the vaporetto! Will come back.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is located on the main island, close to Santa Lucia railway station, can be reached with approx 10 mins walking. It is like a student dorm, so recommended for student/young travelers. Room was clean, but it was a bit pricey for our budget (but everything in Venice is pricey anyway). Kitchen has a huge and beautiful backyard for having meal, guests are allowed to cook and fridges are available to use. But it took quite long time to check in, but in general, it was a pleasant stay


89%

This hostel is about a 40 min walk from St. Marks square, not 15 as it is advertised.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear alison thank you for the positive score given to our hostel! please let un underline that fr a "real venecian" walking distance from our hostel to s mark square is 10 min walk! because we walk fast and know the streets! maybe it was your first time in venice so it took you longher.... the manager

80%

You get a locker and you can lock our door so security is all right. It also locates near the major sights, well the main island of Venice is not very big, it's very walkable anyway. But the curfew can be a bit off putting, it doesn't allow us to go out after 12 and the communal area also closes at half 12, so that's that. What's more, we had reservations for consecutive four days, but they oddly got us out of our room on the third day and moved us to another room to cater for group booking.


91%

A nice place to stay, the rooms were nice with chairs for all beds and plenty of room. It was nice that there was a sink in the room as well. It is said in advance what the opening hours are of reception, so this was fine. The staff were friendly and helpful


80%

This is a good place in Venice. Value for money, 7-8min walking distance from the water bus stop san marcuola sq. I remember Leila at front office. She was vey nice, helpful. I enjoyed my stay here. Only complains against this place is 1) the direction written on the mail is confusing for somebody who is coming to the place for the first time. 2) the office closes at 8pm. Even if one informs beforehand about our late check in we had to pay 8 eur extra. Obviously this is not something we liked.


80%

Everything is perfect. Repair or put new plumbing in the bathroom. Thank you for good atmosphere.


86%

Cool hostel, everything's satisfactory except the poor wifi reception inside the room.


86%

The location is great, just 10 minutes from train station and 15 minutes from everywhere in the center. Staff great, with good information about the city. The only problem is the check in and check out time, it is very restrict. The bedroom is great, very big and with large windows. The lockers are big and they have at least the sink inside the bedroom. The bathroom is a little small, but the shower is good. At night the place is quiet to sleep, but the pubs are very close to it! Nice place!!!!!


83%

This is a hostel made from an old church. Ask to see the inside, it's really cool. The staff was excellent in service and demeanor. The kitchen was not open, but they are very close to one of the only supermarkets that we saw in our time there, so that was excellent for saving money in expensive Venice. The room was great. Just what we needed. The shower drained slowly, so that could be dealt with, but overall this suited our needs well as it was allowed us to rest after a long day in the city.


89%

The best hostes we stayed in during our time in Italy (Venice, Florence, Rome). Our room was big with a big bathroom, and large individual lockers. The door to our room was also locked. It was basic, but clean. The wifi didn't work in our dorm but that didn't bother us as there is a large communal area with couches , tea/coffee etc in the reception where the wifi worked perfectly. Great location on the island of Venice and close to Rialto and Grand Canal. Very friendly staff.


66%

Not recommended. While the staff was friendly and helpful, the facilities were incredibly simple and had the least to offer of all of the hostels I stayed at in Europe. No common room, no vending machines (once the front desk closed), no brochures, very poor wifi. Which would be fine if the hostel wasn't so difficult to find and if the place was incredibly clean (it wasn't) and if the bathroom had a toilet seat . I never knew that was something I needed to check before booking a hostel.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Wifi is weak or even not accessible at room. Wifi at the reception is okay. But the reception's opening hours is not 24 hours, thus, not all the time can access to internet.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

I didn´t like the fact tha it is kind of far from the station and that the reception is closed from 12 to 3 and from 21 until 9.


(85 results)


View all Venice Hostels

Please give us your feedback