X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ostello S. Fosca Reviews

Fondamenta Canal, Cannaregio 2372, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
966 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

it was a nice hostel with its good environment. I suggest it to have it because of its nearest to main station

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Overall it was ok. The other guests (especially the ones living there) were very unwelcoming, often staring and when asked for directions and help to the bathroom, sneered at us.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear guest, your comment has nothing to do with the staff members and how the hostel is ruled; you gave us a 5 and we appreciate it very much! How can we be responsible for other guests behavior? the manager

80%

The staff was very helpful and kind, willing to give restaurant recommendations and points to see in the city. The hostel isn't far from the train station but the directions were a little confusing, so look at a map beforehand. The rooms were nice and thet had a kitchen to use. Overall a nice place to stay.


97%

Really great hostel, only bad thing to say was on one of the nights there were people being noisy and shouting until late but seemed to stop at about midnight. Great location and the best facilities I've seen at a hostel.


69%

The only good thing going for this hostel is the location and cost as there is not really any other hostels to stay in on the island. Very basic and old. Staff were friendly. Rooms were unbearably hot at night so you had to have the window wide open and then we got absolutely eaten alive by Mosquitos.


100%

When I stayed here I felt at home, very cosy and comfy place to be, the staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast is delicious, with many options, and the bedroom it's comfortable and cute, the bed good, so I would say everything here is created and evoke in you a nice feeling, I was in a shared gilr's room with bathroom inside, the only bad thing is the bathroom doesn't have a locker...this is a bit annoying, just it. Perfect place to stay in Florence...


74%

Nice place. Needs more cutlery and crockery in the kitchen. Otherwise your run of the mill hostel.


74%

Nice hostel, excellent location

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Extreamely BAD and Terrible

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear diloktam, our hostel is in the very centre of venice, we offer the chepest accomodation in town, our guest can reserve severall kinds of rooms, we offer free city map, free luggage deposit on arrival and departure, free wifi, free bording pass printing, a kitchen open all day, a very close supermarket, friendly and young staff, many ourside areas in which everybody can relax, we daily clean all rooms and common areas.. we honestly don't understand your comment and scores... the manager

89%

Loved staying here especially for the location. Kitchen is great and the gardens give the place a nice atmosphere. Bathrooms could use a bit of and update but they were decently clean.


69%

Wifi isn't working on my phone


91%

Was a nice hostel in a good location. We enjoyed our stay


54%

유럽여행 호스텔 5군데중 최악이었어요. 산타루치아 역에서 가깝긴했지만 돌계단으로 된 다리를 무거운 캐리어들고 몇번을 건너야 했던지...방은 불도 안들어오고 락커는 잠기지도않고 감옥같은 분위기였어요. 베드버그는 없었는데 괜히 간지러웠고 헤어드라이어가 전부 합쳐서 한개래요. 일체형 샤워기였고 샤워실 좁았고 여자전용 화장실 샤워실이었는데 남자들이 지나다니면서 볼수있는 구조였어요. 다시 베니스가면 안가려구요. 그나마 리셉션 친절한 편이었어요.


86%

This hostel was very good. I really enjoyed my stay here. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was a little expensive, but for the location it was perfection! I would definitely stay here again.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Quite difficult to find the place and if you got heavy bags it just makes it worst by the time you can get there its quite deep in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear areena, very sorry, we are not very difficult to find! many clients arrive easily to our hostl following the indications we provide! we are just 10 min walk from the train station s lucia! probably you had too much luggage to carry and it was your first time in venice.... and you lost orientation! the manager

83%

The 12:30am curfew was a problem for us. After staying in many hostels around Europe, this was the first with a curfew and we felt it was completely unnecessary. If anything it made the hostel more noisy as people continued drinking and socialising after the curfew. It was our last night of travelling and we would have loved to explore Venice later at night. The bathroom was also dirty as it wasn't cleaned regularly enough. Aside from this, a nice hostel in a good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear jessica thank you for the positive comments please let us underline you knew before making the reservation that our hostel had a curfew... so this cannot be considered a negative aspect! you could have checked other accomodation before booking with us if the curfew matter was so important to you! the manager

86%

The hostel wasn't great for socialising. There was a common area but we share the hostel with some Italian students who stay there who aren't very social and spend there time talking about is in Italian in front of us. It was a 15min walk from the train station and in a pretty good location. The rooms have lockers which is great and made me feel more comfortable about leaving my things behind. The staff are friendly. The wifi is not great and temperamentle

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear claudia thank you for your positive comments reguarding our location, the lockers we offer to all guests and staff members. please let us underline we cannot be considered a non socialising hostel because some guests didin't interact with you..... the manager

80%

Great stay at the hostel. As a note for finding the hostel, it is actually within the church courtyard area. There are, however, signs when you get close.


91%

Staff were brilliant, excellent location. Will visit again some day.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

We had quite an enjoyable experience at this hostel, good location and the private room was lovely overlooking the courtyard and the river. Reception staff were lovely and helpful, and the general common room was open and clean. The biggest area for improvement would be the kitchen as it was the dirtiest I have seen in 10 months so far of staying in hostels around the world - providing that is improved, or you are prepared for it, you will have a lovely stay.


(140 results)


View all Venice Hostels

Please give us your feedback