X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ostello S. Fosca Reviews

Fondamenta Canal, Cannaregio 2372, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
986 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

20%

Extreamely BAD and Terrible

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear diloktam, our hostel is in the very centre of venice, we offer the chepest accomodation in town, our guest can reserve severall kinds of rooms, we offer free city map, free luggage deposit on arrival and departure, free wifi, free bording pass printing, a kitchen open all day, a very close supermarket, friendly and young staff, many ourside areas in which everybody can relax, we daily clean all rooms and common areas.. we honestly don't understand your comment and scores... the manager

89%

Loved staying here especially for the location. Kitchen is great and the gardens give the place a nice atmosphere. Bathrooms could use a bit of and update but they were decently clean.


69%

Wifi isn't working on my phone


91%

Was a nice hostel in a good location. We enjoyed our stay


54%

유럽여행 호스텔 5군데중 최악이었어요. 산타루치아 역에서 가깝긴했지만 돌계단으로 된 다리를 무거운 캐리어들고 몇번을 건너야 했던지...방은 불도 안들어오고 락커는 잠기지도않고 감옥같은 분위기였어요. 베드버그는 없었는데 괜히 간지러웠고 헤어드라이어가 전부 합쳐서 한개래요. 일체형 샤워기였고 샤워실 좁았고 여자전용 화장실 샤워실이었는데 남자들이 지나다니면서 볼수있는 구조였어요. 다시 베니스가면 안가려구요. 그나마 리셉션 친절한 편이었어요.


86%

This hostel was very good. I really enjoyed my stay here. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was a little expensive, but for the location it was perfection! I would definitely stay here again.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Quite difficult to find the place and if you got heavy bags it just makes it worst by the time you can get there its quite deep in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear areena, very sorry, we are not very difficult to find! many clients arrive easily to our hostl following the indications we provide! we are just 10 min walk from the train station s lucia! probably you had too much luggage to carry and it was your first time in venice.... and you lost orientation! the manager

83%

The 12:30am curfew was a problem for us. After staying in many hostels around Europe, this was the first with a curfew and we felt it was completely unnecessary. If anything it made the hostel more noisy as people continued drinking and socialising after the curfew. It was our last night of travelling and we would have loved to explore Venice later at night. The bathroom was also dirty as it wasn't cleaned regularly enough. Aside from this, a nice hostel in a good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear jessica thank you for the positive comments please let us underline you knew before making the reservation that our hostel had a curfew... so this cannot be considered a negative aspect! you could have checked other accomodation before booking with us if the curfew matter was so important to you! the manager

86%

The hostel wasn't great for socialising. There was a common area but we share the hostel with some Italian students who stay there who aren't very social and spend there time talking about is in Italian in front of us. It was a 15min walk from the train station and in a pretty good location. The rooms have lockers which is great and made me feel more comfortable about leaving my things behind. The staff are friendly. The wifi is not great and temperamentle

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear claudia thank you for your positive comments reguarding our location, the lockers we offer to all guests and staff members. please let us underline we cannot be considered a non socialising hostel because some guests didin't interact with you..... the manager

80%

Great stay at the hostel. As a note for finding the hostel, it is actually within the church courtyard area. There are, however, signs when you get close.


91%

Staff were brilliant, excellent location. Will visit again some day.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

We had quite an enjoyable experience at this hostel, good location and the private room was lovely overlooking the courtyard and the river. Reception staff were lovely and helpful, and the general common room was open and clean. The biggest area for improvement would be the kitchen as it was the dirtiest I have seen in 10 months so far of staying in hostels around the world - providing that is improved, or you are prepared for it, you will have a lovely stay.


86%

Only here for one night, close enough to walk everywhere in Venice. Price was cheap, room was massive.


86%

The staff was so nice! We got a two persons dorm so I don't know how the bigger dorms are, but there were definitely enough bathrooms for our hallway. Nice location on the actual Venice island, and there were a lot of people.


46%

This hostel was the worst hostel we stayed in on our whole trip. The staff are lovely but it's so dirty and unclean. You can hear everything in your room from rooms above and below and the kitchen is so disgusting and not equipt to book.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear katie, how can we offer lovely staff and at the mean time give hospitality in such an unclean hostel? in hostels the basic word is "sharing" with many other guests common areas, kitchen bathrooms.... we take good care of cleaning every day, but cannot be responsable if other clients don't respect the building, our efforts to keap clean or use unproperly the services offered.. we must deal with this matter every day, and it s not easy... thr manager

83%

Pretty cool place and spacious for Venice. Not the nicest staff but not awful. A little far from the main stuff but it's a small city so that wasn't too important. Pretty clean and nice rooms.


80%

It is extremely hard to find this hostel, so make sure to look up detailed instructions before arriving. The staff was friendly and our room was great, but there was only one shower for our entire hall. That part was terrible. People in our hall also flooded the bathroom. Great location though.


89%

The hostel is run by really friendly staff and the insides are modern and attractive. There's loads of seating outside and a good kitchen. Location is good however the entrance was slightly confusing due to signs all saying different things, and none actually saying the name. Huge lockers and lovely rooms. Showers however; shocking. The coldest shower I've ever had in my life with doors completely see through. But generally an decent stay


74%

The location was perfect for a short stay in Venice! Everything was close and the place was easy to reach from the train & bus stations. The biggest minus was the time limit of coming back to hostel around midnight. So it wasn't possible to stay longer in the city.. The staff was really nice and helpful, though the rooms were quite basic and super hot without air condition. Also the kitchen was quite poorly equipped and dirty. In terms of the price range in Venice the price of the room was ok.


97%

Lots of Mosquitos. Be ready! Great facilities, easy to get to be a lot of bridges, looks close but it was a 20-30 min walk from the station for me (with luggage). People were nice. Beds and shower was great. Lockers were huge.


(139 results)


View all Venice Hostels

Please give us your feedback