X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ostello S. Fosca Reviews

Fondamenta Canal, Cannaregio 2372, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
1297 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Literally only checked in for a few hours to shower and sleep, but it was nice. NO BUNKBEDS! So, that was nice. It was also clean so no complaints.


66%

We had lockers and keys but that didn't actually lock the lockers? Was incredibly hot in my room with a fan so we'd open the windows where we'd invite thousands of mozzies. Kitchen facilities were great but not a hostel vibe, more student dorm vibe. No events etc held at all and not really a place to meet other travellers unless you have others in your room. Not sure if i'd stay here again myself. The internet was quite terrible all-round


97%

This hostel used to be university halls of residence so is in university grounds. The hostel is basic however still very clean tidy and in a really good location. The common room was always busy with people and the staff were helpful at check in and out letting us leave our bags!


83%

Only stayed one night in a private room. Hostel was a bit hard to find, and although it was basic, it was very clean, had nice common room areas and good wifi. Would stay again.


94%

Ostello Santa Fosca was a great stay. The hostel is very spacious and includes a meeting area, kitchen, and courtyards to lounge in. The staff was kind and helpful for travelers to a new city. Although it was a bit of a challenge to find from the train station at first, with the help of some locals, I found it in no time. The hostel is about 20 minutes walk from the train station. However, there are water taxis available outside to the train station to facilitate the transfer.


60%

Not the best hostel we've stayed at. There is no atmosphere and isn't the best place to meet people. The kitchen was alright, had a few facilities. Security was good, had our own lockers with keys. Bathrooms and things were relatively clean, the lockout period was a bit inconvenient too. Location is good as it is in the centre of Venice. Overall it was average and wouldn't stay again.


91%

Nice location because it's right between the train station and the sights. Our room was right on one of the canals which was a bonus. It was nice to have a ceiling fan.


100%

I've been to over 50 hostels and this was the best one I have ever been too- massive property, great location, bed desk and Cuboard (no bunks!), kitchen, amazing staff- can't recommend it enough!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!


66%

Routine checks on the bathroom facilities would be appreciated especially at night if possible.


60%

The hostel was very basic in terms of facilities and amenities. The room was clean, but the bathrooms weren't great. Overall, the hostel was a good place to sleep but didn't offer much in the way of socializing. It was sufficient as a place to relax after exploring Venice during the day.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I loved this hostel. It was quiet and in a great location, very easy to walk right into the heart of Venice. The staff were helpful and the place was very clean. I met a lot of great people in my room. The wifi was spotty, which was fairly annoying, but not impossible to deal with.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good choice for backpackers wishing to stay on the island for an affordable price. Quiet but close to main walking route and near vaparetto.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

It was in quite an easy location to access and not a long walk to all the main sights. The lockers were secure and the rooms were neat and clean. We enjoyed our stay and the staff were nice - it just didn't have much of an atmosphere everyone kept to themselves.


69%

The hostel is difficult to find if you follow Google Map to get off in the Casino Station. You can either walk along the main street for around 20 mins or get off in the Ca'd Oro station if you ride on the water bus.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

DO NOT STAY HERE. The hostel was apparently full our whole visit and we met no one! Our room stank of damp and we slept in damp beds you could see mould on the walls as well as holes. Did not feel safe at all! We were kicked out the social area at 8pm, the only place with WiFi in the whole hostel, we also failed to find the kitchen facilities only found a microwave! Staff were rude and spoke in front of us, about us in Italian. Also kicked out of the rooms at 9am for "cleaning".

Owner Comment (Hide)
The hostel was and is full, are we responsabile because you did not meet other guests? probably they were visiting and enjoying the city... kitchen is availbale from the 25 june, as written on our website check out and cleaning are from 10 am venice is builed on water... humidity is a matter to deal with, expecially in summer time... as you can see the scores given to our staff are positive in many other comments; if clients are rude with us, we honestly cannot keap smiling...

51%

The staff were good. Let em keep luggage in exception though there is no luggage room A few things to note 1 shower between 4 rooms (12 people) means lots of waiting for the shower No charger near my bed so had to use the charger over someone else's bed. The hostel is not the easiest to find, and the instructions could be a bit better. The hostel checkout is 9am which is very early, and the reception is closed between 12-3 and closed after 8. Ok to stay for one night photo doesn't match

Owner Comment (Hide)
Let us underline few aspects. the shower you mention is between 3 rooms, not 4. chargers are several in the rooms and available for all guests sleeping in that room; to share rooms is also this... if you hade reserved a private room you would have had a private charger. check out time is at 10 o clock, and you knew about reception time table before booking.... the manager

74%

Great location, friendly staff. One of very few budget options that I can recommend if you want to stay on the venice islands. Accommodation is basic but adequate. Reception has specific opening hours so make sure to check these out - it's got a bit of the old school hostels international vibe. Clean but very old, like everything in venice. It won't be the most luxurious place you have ever stayed at but if your looking for an affordable option this place is absolutely OK for 1-2 nights.


57%

The hostel is in a great location and the rooms are simple and basic, but nice. Our shower didn't have a base or any dip in the floor, so it kept flooding the room.


71%

The bathroom needs to be renovated, and a dorm with 10 girls they would love to have an extra mirror in the dorm itself. It is irritating that de hostel is closed during midday. The wifi connection needs to be updated every 10 min. So you need to log in again, that is irritating.


83%

It is perfect except that wi-fi connection is not very strong in the hostel room. Drinks in the vending machine are very cheap!


(105 results)


View all Venice Hostels

Please give us your feedback