X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ostello S. Fosca Reviews

Fondamenta Canal, Cannaregio 2372, Venice, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
967 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

We had quite an enjoyable experience at this hostel, good location and the private room was lovely overlooking the courtyard and the river. Reception staff were lovely and helpful, and the general common room was open and clean. The biggest area for improvement would be the kitchen as it was the dirtiest I have seen in 10 months so far of staying in hostels around the world - providing that is improved, or you are prepared for it, you will have a lovely stay.


86%

Only here for one night, close enough to walk everywhere in Venice. Price was cheap, room was massive.


86%

The staff was so nice! We got a two persons dorm so I don't know how the bigger dorms are, but there were definitely enough bathrooms for our hallway. Nice location on the actual Venice island, and there were a lot of people.


46%

This hostel was the worst hostel we stayed in on our whole trip. The staff are lovely but it's so dirty and unclean. You can hear everything in your room from rooms above and below and the kitchen is so disgusting and not equipt to book.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear katie, how can we offer lovely staff and at the mean time give hospitality in such an unclean hostel? in hostels the basic word is "sharing" with many other guests common areas, kitchen bathrooms.... we take good care of cleaning every day, but cannot be responsable if other clients don't respect the building, our efforts to keap clean or use unproperly the services offered.. we must deal with this matter every day, and it s not easy... thr manager

83%

Pretty cool place and spacious for Venice. Not the nicest staff but not awful. A little far from the main stuff but it's a small city so that wasn't too important. Pretty clean and nice rooms.


80%

It is extremely hard to find this hostel, so make sure to look up detailed instructions before arriving. The staff was friendly and our room was great, but there was only one shower for our entire hall. That part was terrible. People in our hall also flooded the bathroom. Great location though.


89%

The hostel is run by really friendly staff and the insides are modern and attractive. There's loads of seating outside and a good kitchen. Location is good however the entrance was slightly confusing due to signs all saying different things, and none actually saying the name. Huge lockers and lovely rooms. Showers however; shocking. The coldest shower I've ever had in my life with doors completely see through. But generally an decent stay


74%

The location was perfect for a short stay in Venice! Everything was close and the place was easy to reach from the train & bus stations. The biggest minus was the time limit of coming back to hostel around midnight. So it wasn't possible to stay longer in the city.. The staff was really nice and helpful, though the rooms were quite basic and super hot without air condition. Also the kitchen was quite poorly equipped and dirty. In terms of the price range in Venice the price of the room was ok.


97%

Lots of Mosquitos. Be ready! Great facilities, easy to get to be a lot of bridges, looks close but it was a 20-30 min walk from the station for me (with luggage). People were nice. Beds and shower was great. Lockers were huge.


91%

The place was a bit hard to find, but everything was really nice. Would definitely come again.


71%

Nice hostel. No air conditioning and no screens on the windows. We both got countless bug bites during our stay. Great location after you find it for the first time, google maps put us on the wrong side of the canal, but easy to get most places!


40%

After a month long trip through Europe, this was by far the WORST place I stayed. Although the website advertises laundry facilities, there are none, and none nearby either. The private double room I booked was two tiny dorm beds shoved together, no air conditioning, no fan available, windows large enough for a person to climb through and connected to a walkway, so privacy was impossible. The shower flooded completely after ten minutes. When all of this was mentioned to staff, they didn't care.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear jessica WE DON'T OFFER OR ADVERTISE LAUNDRY FACILITIES... AND YOUR ROOM 208 IS LARGE WITH REGOLAR SINGLE BEDS... our question is stupid but normal in this case, are you sure you are writing a comment reguarding our hostel???!! the manager

69%

A good hostel with big rooms and nice kitchen, but it is a bit expensive compared to what it offers.


69%

There are very few hostels on the canals, so I am trying not to be picky, but this hostel left a lot to be desired. It was nice because it had a kitchen you could use and a large courtyard to hang out in, but it also had a curfew of 12:30. The worst was that the bathrooms didn't have toilet paper for a whole day, and when we mentioned it they said the cleaning staff would stock it the next day but didn't give us any in the meantime! It was cool to stay on the canal but maybe try a different one.

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear kelly thank you for the positive scores we cannot believe the toilet paper story you mentioned; our staff answear to a guest "no toilet paper untill tomorrow", and you didin't have any reaction? you didin't ask again? we have at least 4 members working every day.. nobody helped you? impossibile. the manager

94%

Good experience overall. My closet did not lock and so the front desk offered me a security cube in the lobby for free. I thought that was good service. Wifi only works in the lobby


74%

Quite a basic hostel but everything we needed was there for a reasonable price. Rooms had fans in to help control the temperature, and each had a sink to compensate for the busy shower facilities.


80%

It seems as though this hostel also functions as university dorms, large rooms that aren't cramped with beds but have cupboards and desks too. I was lucky to get put in a 3 bed even though I had booked in a bigger dorm and heard a few other people say that also. The staff are friendly and helpful, the accommodation is good, bathroom is basic, a little smelly, kitchen is big but basic with not many utensils or plates. I enjoyed my stay here and met other travellers easily in the courtyard :)


66%

The reception guy did not attend us quickly, he was talking to a girl. This hostel has curfew in some rooms. A toilet was not working during our stay. They do not have a locker room to leave your luggage after checkout. everything else was good

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear ricardo, the staff members give attencion to everybody, maybe the girl was another guest that arrived before you or a staff member solving toghether a matter... the curfew is for all rooms and you knew before making booking. the toliet was fixed the day after since we need a professional help. we offer free luggage deposit on arrival and departure, the luggage are safe and looked after the manager

89%

The shower doors where oy frosted glass which was fine except that you could see into the showers perfectly but from the inside you couldn't see out so looked like they were put on backwards. The cupboards in the rooms didn't look despite being given a key. Facilities were very Good however, and the wifi was brilliant and the staff very friendly and helpful. Location was good and the rooms were spacious.


83%

For the most part the staff is really friendly and approachable and willing to answer any questions that you might have. There were just a few things that I think are important to note about this place. First, is that it's quite difficult to find this hostel and that might be because the Venice doesn't understand the concept of addresses. Second, and probably the most important is that there is a set curfew. You need to be back by 12:30AM if you aren't they will not open the doors for you at all

Owner Comment (Hide)
dera hector thank you for the positive score please, note many guest following our directions arrive easily at the hostel! venice is not easy to walk around but simple and clear indiactions are porvided by the hostel! curfew; before booking you have read about it, so please you cannot consider this a negative aspect; in cas it was you should have reserved another hostel! the manager

(139 results)


View all Venice Hostels

Please give us your feedback