X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ostello San Frediano Reviews

Via della Cavallerizza 12, Lucca, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
442 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

In the big room which there were 8 person there were only 2 sockets, and we have to wait for charging :( The location is okay and the staff were nice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ciao Liu Yue, thank you for your nice review. We wish to welcoming you again to Lucca soon. Best regards, The staff

80%

It's a solid Hostel. They provide clean rooms and sanitary and the staff is helpful. The only thing that's missing a bit is a cosy atmosphere. The Hostel is huge and there are more than four living rooms. So you don't get in touch with other people that easily.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ciao , thank you for your nice review and suggestion, we will take count of it to improve our hostel even more. We the hope of welcoming you back to Lucca soon, we wish you a really good day. Best regards, Marco

57%

What seemed like a very promising hostel in fact turned out disappointing. The palace like proportions of the property were under utilised... communal spaces lacked any purpose and were poorly lit. Wifi was only available in a couple of places and not in the rooms. On all three days that I stayed the widely advertised 'grand' buffet breakfast was cancelled due to staff 'indisposition', And the toilet in the room did not flush, even when reported to be fixed. Pretty poor service!

Owner Comment (Hide)
we thank you for your review and we are sorry if you couldn't have a 100% positive experience with us. You said that the palace is under utilised, but we think that offer 3 big common areas and wide rooms with a lot of free space, is a positive thing. During your stay the people who make the breakfast were ill, we are sorry if you couldn't enjoy the big breakfast here. For what concern the oilet, whenever there is an alert, we act promptly and quickly we solve the problem. The staff

63%

Strange, huge and empty. Wifi didn't work in the dorm rooms, nor did the single power plug. But worked fine near the reception. No one else around- dark and strange. Large lockers to store your belongings, although I had a top one and had to stand on a chair to access stuff. Nothing really wrong with the place, not really a hostel, kind of felt like that hotel in 'one flew over the cuckoo's nest'

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we thank you for your review, even if we (such as a lot of other guests) don't have the same feeling about the hostel :) The three common areas are big and bright, with a free wifi access and a lot of place for meet other travllers too. With the hope of welcoming you back again in Lucca, we wish you all the best. The staff

86%

A bit out of town, but still a nice location, friendly staff, clean, but no cooking facilities, like some other hostel in Italy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for you review. By the way, we would like to point out that we are situated in the hearth of Lucca, inside the Walls and literally two steps from the main street Via Fillungo and well-known Amphitheater Square. We wish to welcoming you to Lucca again soon, and we wish you all the best. The staff

83%

i stayed in the 6 man dorm on an early autumn Thursday and Friday night. clean dorm room with good sized lockers for each guest in the room, and a common sink. only one electrical outlet for the whole room. but if you need to charge stuff, i guess you could do it in the many common spaces outside the room. i saw one men's bathroom (one toilet/two sinks/one shower) that i believe was shared by two separate dorm rooms. on a couple of occasions, i had to go 3 stories down to use another bath


86%

Easily the most beautiful hotel I've stayed in - it's in an old convent. Easy base to walk around a beautiful city. I would recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you so much for your nice review, we really hope to welcoming you back in Lucca soon. Best regards, The staff

80%

The room and the bathroom was good but the breakfast for 5 euros didn´t offer neither fruits or eggs as advertised.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ciao , thank you for you nice review and we are sorry if you couldn't appreciate the buffet breakfast; normally, we always put fruits and eggs (boiled or omelette, it depends)...maybe that morning fruits and eggs were already finished. We hope to welcoming you again in our hostel. Best regards, The staff

89%

Clean, they let us leave our luggage there after we checked out, friendly staff. Great value for money at €20 a night and only an extra €5 buffet breakfast. Wifi only works on ground floor but wasn't a problem for me

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Joyce, thank you for your wonderful review, we really appreciate it. Thank you again and see you soon in Lucca. best regards, The staff

80%

The two middle aged ladies that were on the desk during my stay were not very friendly or helpfu, however the young guy I saw interact with many of those staying was so friendly and eager to help.. those other two should take lessons in customer service from him!”


74%

This hostel is in a great spot, in a beautiful building with plenty of common areas and big rooms. But there is no air con and if you are there in summer like I was the building gets terribly hot and there are no fans either. Also don't plan on charging things as I had no power points in my room an 8 bed dorm too, apparently some rooms had one but you found most ppl including myself had to sit in common rooms to charge. Staff were nice but didn't go beyond basic needs, not overly helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ciao, thanks for your review. For what concern the plugs, all rooms have at least one and it's also possible to leave things in charge at the reception desk. We don't have the airco, but every room have fans. For the staff, we always do all the efforts to be more helpful as possible, given all the informaion request, even if when we are really busy due to the really high season. We hope to welcoming back again, sure that you will leave with 100% positive opinion. Best regards, The staff

86%

This place is definitely more family orientated. It's a lovely set up and very comfortable. Great location for seeing lucca

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ciao Megan, thank you so much for this good review, we really appreciate it. best regards, Marco

89%

Pros: enormous bed and sitting rooms, very clean, quiet (apart from wedding party next door until 04.00), Cons: No kitchen. Ignore directions to walk around walls unless you like a long walk. Head north and slightly left from Railway Station, into Old Town, to Anfiteatro and San Pedriano Church. Hostel a few metres from church. About 10 minutes' walk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ciao thank you for your good review. For what concern the directions by walk from the train station, we have written two different options...one easy but longer, and another faster but more complicated.

89%

It was a wonderful experience for me and my two girls. We felt like medieval pilgrims. Wonderful, very atmospheric place. Would recommend to everybody. I.R.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Really great labyrinth-like building, would be extra fun for large groups!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Dimitar, thank you so much for your nice review. With the hope of welcoming you back here in Lucca, we wish you all the best. The staff

63%

The exit is not actually signposted as San Frediano so you need to see the church and guess. Also, it's not a baluardo. The wi-fi did not work

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , we thank you for the review, even if we didn't understand a lot a bout it :). The hostel has a big sign that says Ostello San Frediano and anotehr says Internation Youth Hostel, just on the main door at the entrance; and of course is not a "balardo", this was a monastery of the XIV century. Finally, we inform that we have a free wifi working in all the ground floor and also in the common areas of the 2nd floor. Best regards, The staff

100%

I had a great stay and the location was perfect

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ciao , thank you so much for such a beatiful review. We wish you al the best, The staff

89%

Quite a strange large building, but equipped with all that is needed. The location is also very good, can recommend :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ciao , we thank you for this great review and nice words. With the hope of welcoming back in Lucca, we wish you all the best. The staff

80%

Very large, spacious hostel. Very mature, more like a hotel than anything. There wasn't really a youthful vibe at all. The breakfast was good and overall the price was good. I was comfortable in my room and there were large locking cabinets for my luggage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi , thank you for your review, nice words and suggestion. For what concern the youthfull vibes, we think it depends also from the kind of guests we have in a certain day, sometimes we have also groups of young people and we assure that the atmospher is really youthfull :) we hope to welcoming you again in one of these days Best regards, the staff

60%

It was quite cold, and wifi only worked in one corner of the lobby.


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Lucca Hostels

Please give us your feedback