Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ostello San Frediano

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 519 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 519 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.3
Ostello San Frediano Located at Via della Cavallerizza 12, , Lucca.
Ostello San Frediano
Italy
Lucca Toscany 55100 Via della Cavallerizza 12
86% 519
43.8465290 10.5054938
Ostello San Frediano
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Aug 2016
7.4

Not a bad stay for a night in Lucca!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.6

No guest kitchen, but not so much of a problem since Lucca is not one of those places where most people would stay for a week. The restaurant layout made it difficult to just sit outside and not purchase anything, which made me feel uncomfortable and unwelcome. The rooms are very spacious and tall, non-squeaky bunk beds, bathrooms are generally clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
7.7

There was some kind of festival happening during my stay, and two out of the three nights I stayed there were bands playing in the courtyard until past midnight. I was on the other side of the building on the second floor, wearing earplugs and could hear everything. This was not advertised on their site or anywhere I could find, or I would not have stayed here. Wifi didn't work in the room, super hot and no fan, got no sleep, but at least the bed was comfortable and breakfast was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Jul 2016
7.4

Really good location in Lucca. The staff weren't as friendly as in some hostels but still helpful. Lots of good facilities with bar and restaurant etc. The room could have done with more sockets as there were only two I think for 6 people. The shared bathroom wasn't the cleanest but the rooms were very clean. Would probably stay here again as it's a cheap way to stay in Lucca.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
6.9

There wasn't much of an atmosphere and while the staff answered questions, they weren't super friendly and chat. The room had only one socket for an 8 bed dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
8.3

This place has a super cool atmosphere and great facilities. The garden is a great place to chill. Easy to meet people and located minutes from everything. Old building, but we'll kept. The front desk staff should be better equipped with regards to recommendations for tourists, but otherwise pretty great stay. A little expensive for what you get, but that's the way it is in Lucca!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
7.4

This place is HUGE. I felt like I was in the movie the Shinning. I couldn't find anyone else in the hostel to even talk to. I sat in the back terrace for almost two hours with some wine hoping someone would even come outside and not a peep. This place is great for large groups or someone needing a bed for the night. If you are solo packer you may find yourself by yourself.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Jun 2016
7.7

Great hostel. Feels empty and lonely though. Breakfast is too damn good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We do our best to improve the atmosphere in for example, this summer we have organize several events in our garden. We hope to see you again in the hostel and let you make a 10/10 review next time :D Best regards, The staff

  • itshotinhouston8779
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.9

Great breakfast. Good location. Find church and instead of walking up steps to church turn right 50 steps go into wooden doors on your left. Staff not very knowledgeable about travel. More like a hotel in atmosphere. Clean. Met lots of people doing the pilgrimage hikes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ciao, thank you for your reply and indication. For what concert the knowledgeable about travel, our staff stay 24h at the disposal of the guests to give them an help to plan your travel.

7th Jun 2016
10.0

Great place to stay. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Great location. Nice staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.