Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 470 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 470 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Apr 2017
9.1

Overall I had a great stay here, would come back! The city buses stop running before 9pm if you don't have a car you might have to cab or walk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
8.9

Really nice place in the hills. The countryside of Italy is where the real beauty is don't get caught up in the cities the whole time. Really beautiful hike leaving directly from the hostel. Building is old and super cool. Wifi is terrible and good options limited. Everything else really cool.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
8.9

Great hostel! Aside from the fact that it's a bit outside the city and there wasn't any hand soap in the bathroom, this is an awesome place to stay, especially if you're looking for a quiet and unique place! It offers beautiful views of the city and the surrounding countryside. I also met so many wonderful people there, some of which I now consider good friends. I'll definitely be using this hostel for future trips to Firenze. =)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
10.0

A special place. Easy to take the bus to Florence and so worth it for the view / atmosphere. Obviously not for people who want to be in the city center. Met some incredible people and had a super experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for writing and it makes us happy you had a super experience and met some incredible people. It is indeed out of the city center but then once arrived you enter in real tuscan atmosphere! We wish you a nice Easter - Bigallo Staff

8th Apr 2017
9.7

Paying for a "24" person rooms really gets you a 2 person room walled dorm within the 24, a super cool suprise! Beds were comfy, breakfast was everything we needed, view was great, town around was gorgeous, staff were extremely polite and helpful, hostel itself is clean and an experience on its own. Maybe the room was chilly, internet doesn't reach the rooms, and the location isn't the best along with the unreliable and untimely buses, but an amazing stay overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for this nice review! Indeed our Lubecca Dorm is somehow different; it has 24 beds but they are divided in 2-bedded alcoves so that you can enjoy some privacy. WIfi is working in all the common areas but not in the dorms as this antique monastery is so huge it becomes very difficult to get it till the dorms. Maybe come back now, sun finally arrived! Have a nice Easter - day! Bigallo Staff is greeting you

  • bethanyw
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Mar 2017
9.7

The staff are so so so nice! Nathalie was very helpful and Fernando was so welcoming and made us amazing breakfasts and made our stay so much better! The hostel itself is very interesting and cool. We enjoyed walking in the gardens and hearing the history! The only small downside is how far out of town it is, which isn't really that bad because the view from here is amazing! Room was very nice and the bathroom was great. Cool sink!! We loved our stay and would definitely come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Just come back! Will be our pleasure to have you again! Best greetings - Bigallo Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Mar 2017
9.7

This is a really special place, a luxury hostel experience, because it's not simply a bed to sleep for the night, but the place is full of history and atmospheric Italia. It fits perfectly if you would like to stay in the countryside, as it is at the border of Chianti and there is a hiking route right in front of the hostel. I was the first guest of season 2017, and see my video for a bit of a feel for this 13th century building https://www.instagram.com/p/BRYw78fhQz_/?taken-by=thuanh_do

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! It was really special to have you at the Hostel as our first Guest of the Season 2017 ---- just come back! Best greetings from all of us - Bigallo Staff

30th Dec 2016
8.9

The pictures do not do this place justice. Upon arrival you will feel as though you stepped out of a time machine into the 1200's. Friendly cat chilling by the radiator was great. The staff is very accommodating. The wifi was less than good, but don't let that knit picking comment dissuade you. A legitimate concern for me was that half of the beds did not have latches for locking up valuables. That being said, nothing was stolen and it seams this place attracts moral bound and positive people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks a lot for having chosen to come at our Hostel and it makes us happy to read you. You are right, we have some lockers broken, and will provide at soonest to repare (thanks for telling). We also will try to improve our pictures but in this way it is always a surprise when Guests arrive :) Best greetings from all of us - Bigallo Staff

28th Dec 2016
8.3

Great staff! Very helpful! It got really cold at night as the room (Lena) was huge and two heaters didn't seem enough. Free breakfast includes juice,milk,bread,cake,muffins! Pasta time was fun. The location! V.beautiful but inconvenient to reach by public transport! First you take 23A to Sorgane and then 24 to Roma19 i guess it was, right after La Fonte and then the 20-30min walk! The walk is fine but the bus 24 runs only twice every hour. Best to have the bus schedule in pocket if staying here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for writing us and sorry that you had some cold in the room but good tthat you liked breakfast ( muffins and cakes are home made) We know you have to take 2 busses to get here and the number 24 was not so frequent as during Christmas days there were holiday schedules. Otherwise it is some better! Bus schedule is always available at the reception. The whole Bigallo Staff sends you its best greetings! Take care!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
9.7

I loved staying here! Yes it is slightly a pain to get there but once you figure out the public transit, you are all good! My only complaint it that the wifi didn't reach to my room, not a big deal!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! It was a real pleasure to have you here at the Hostel and it is nice to read you loved it. You are right the Wifi is only in the common areas and not in the dorms. Being an antique monastery it is somehow hard to have wifi everywhere and we also think that this way people has more opportunities to meet others. Best greetings from all of us - Bigallo Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.