Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.6
  • Cleanliness 9.7
  • Facilities 9.0
Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel Located at Via Bigallo e Apparita, 14 Bagno a Ripoli, , Florence.
Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel
Italy
Florence Fi 50012 Firenze Via Bigallo e Apparita, 14 Bagno a Ripoli
93% 457
43.7383521 11.3497030
Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
30th Dec 2016
8.9

The pictures do not do this place justice. Upon arrival you will feel as though you stepped out of a time machine into the 1200's. Friendly cat chilling by the radiator was great. The staff is very accommodating. The wifi was less than good, but don't let that knit picking comment dissuade you. A legitimate concern for me was that half of the beds did not have latches for locking up valuables. That being said, nothing was stolen and it seams this place attracts moral bound and positive people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks a lot for having chosen to come at our Hostel and it makes us happy to read you. You are right, we have some lockers broken, and will provide at soonest to repare (thanks for telling). We also will try to improve our pictures but in this way it is always a surprise when Guests arrive :) Best greetings from all of us - Bigallo Staff

28th Dec 2016
8.3

Great staff! Very helpful! It got really cold at night as the room (Lena) was huge and two heaters didn't seem enough. Free breakfast includes juice,milk,bread,cake,muffins! Pasta time was fun. The location! V.beautiful but inconvenient to reach by public transport! First you take 23A to Sorgane and then 24 to Roma19 i guess it was, right after La Fonte and then the 20-30min walk! The walk is fine but the bus 24 runs only twice every hour. Best to have the bus schedule in pocket if staying here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for writing us and sorry that you had some cold in the room but good tthat you liked breakfast ( muffins and cakes are home made) We know you have to take 2 busses to get here and the number 24 was not so frequent as during Christmas days there were holiday schedules. Otherwise it is some better! Bus schedule is always available at the reception. The whole Bigallo Staff sends you its best greetings! Take care!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
9.7

I loved staying here! Yes it is slightly a pain to get there but once you figure out the public transit, you are all good! My only complaint it that the wifi didn't reach to my room, not a big deal!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! It was a real pleasure to have you here at the Hostel and it is nice to read you loved it. You are right the Wifi is only in the common areas and not in the dorms. Being an antique monastery it is somehow hard to have wifi everywhere and we also think that this way people has more opportunities to meet others. Best greetings from all of us - Bigallo Staff

28th Oct 2016
9.7

This place is awesome! It takes a while to get to by public transit, but worth every second! 13th century monastery with an amazing view of Florence, maybe the best stay of my trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Oct 2016
8.6

Definitely outside of town, but the old "castle" is charming and has a beautiful backyard with a distant view of Florence. Pasta and wine for 7€ : totally worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Oct 2016
9.7

Hostel Bigallo is a wonderful place outside of Florence in the beautiful green hills. It is close enough to easily access Florence daily but far enough away to have peace and quiet, nice walks in the forest, and a beautiful view of the surrounding area. The staff is nice and the building itself is very historic but well renovated for modern accommodation. I asked to stay 2 extra nights with short notice and it an easy arrangement. I would highly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Oct 2016
8.9

Unique place and experience. Great staff. May be best for guest with car because its far from central Florence or shops and restaurants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Oct 2016
6.6

Stayed for 3 nights. Pros: very unique hostel, beautiful countryside, friendly staff, yummy and cheap dinner (pasta night) Cons: very cold at night (hadn't turned heating on), takes 1 and half hour to bus (2 buses) into Florence city, showers sometimes took ages to get hot, no soap supplied in WC

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2016
10.0

it's a great place to stay! I highly recommend it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your recommendation and it was a pleasure to have you here. Wish you the best - Bigallo Staff

17th Oct 2016
9.1

Loved the hostel and the environment. As every review says, it's far out from town but the views make the travel worth it. Take the 23 bus to the 24 bus and it's a 15 minute walk up hill. Not bad after you get it figured out. Once again, absolutely worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, nice to read you loved to stay at the Hostel. We know it can be hard to get here the first time but all our Guest do it... so just come! Thanks a lot again ! Our best greetings - Bigallo Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.