Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel Located at Via Bigallo e Apparita, 14 Bagno a Ripoli, , Florence.
Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel
Italy
Florence Fi 50012 Firenze Via Bigallo e Apparita, 14 Bagno a Ripoli
91% 420
43.7383521 11.3497030
Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • greg_east
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
10.0

Best hostel in the whole of Europe for me. Worth the big hill!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks thanks thanks and thanks again! Happy to read you! and just wait for you to come back once! Best greetings from the whole Bigallo Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Aug 2016
9.4

One of the greatest hostels we've stayed in throughout our Europe trip. The staff was incredibly nice, and the hostel was so beautiful. We also met so many nice and fun people here who became a part of our adventure. We will definitely never forget about this place! We hope to come back one day. The only thing negative I have to say is the mosquitos. Maybe put screens on the windows or fans so the windows don't have to be open. Thank you so much!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks a lot for having been our Guest! Was really our pleasure. You are right about the mosquitos and we are willing to put screens on most of our windows. So just come back again. Consider Bigallo Hostel your home in Florence! Best greetings from all of us - Bigallo Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.6

No type of security but you don't need it. The staff is beyond amazing, especially Ferdinando, who will go above and beyond to make your stay a great one. Pasta dinners are delicious and let you meet lots of people. The overall atmosphere is fantastic. Wifi only in the lobby but also good for meeting people. Just make sure to bring bug spray!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! thanks a lot for staying with us and it makes us happy to read you had a great stay! Indeed we only have wifi in the lobby as being the edifice huge and antique it is hard to have it everywhere. But being in the lobby it makes people meet all together and enjou the Hostel'slife. :) Yes I confirm "Bring some mosquito spray!" and as to security there are personal lockers attached to each bed. The whole Bigallo Staff sends you best greetings

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Aug 2016
9.4

Lovely staff. Very sociable atmosphere. Amazing building with amazing an amazing garden, Ripe juicy plums for the picking. The views from the garden and the terrace are the best I've ever seen. Best hostel I've stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! thanks a lot for having been our guest; a real pleasure to read you and that you found it amazing! Just come back and we all send you our best greetings - Bigallo Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
11th Aug 2016
9.7

Best hostel I've been too! Even after a bumpy start with the buses and hills I loved this place. Stayed longer too. Sunsets, meteor showers, pasta time and an amazing bunch of people. Just note wifi only in common area, and no public kitchen. Really made Florence. I've already recommended it to a few people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Nice to read that it was hard to get here but then that you had a lovely time at the Hostel! Indeed we do not have a public kitchen and wifi is only in common areas so that people just meet and stay together! Just continue to recommend us :) Bigallo Staff greets you

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
10.0

Amazing place! It is an effort to get to, and you may well get a bit lost, but it will be well worth it! It is peaceful, and close to nature but close enough to still explore the city. Their pasta and wine in the evening is a great meal, and good opportunity to catch up with other travelers. Staff were awesome and very accommodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks a lot for writing this review! We are happy you found it amazing being here. We confirm Pastatime is an event at the Bigallo Hostel, a moment to knwo other travellers and have a fun time together. Best greetings - Bigallo Staff

5th Aug 2016
9.1

This hostel is amazing! The view is perfect and the fruit from the garden is a plus. The only concern was that there was no door to the alcove where I stayed, and only one of the two lockers in the alcove could be locked. However, the staff was great and I never felt like my gear was in danger of being messed with. Also, the pasta dinner was awesome!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for writing us and that you find it amazing to stay with us. The alcoves are just open boxes and to store your belongings there are lockers, maybe just ask us next time. We would have been pleased to repair the locker. Just enjoy further your holiday and we all send you our best greetings Bigallo Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.1

Its a beautiful place with an amazing history!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hallo!! Thanks a lot for having been our guest for the second time, it was a real pleasure to have you here again! Best greeting from all the Bigallo Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
9.7

This is an amazing hostel with brilliant people running it! In fact while we were sitting at the bus stop dreading the walk we were saved by Natalie who took us right to the door :) Amazing view with stunning sunsets (photos don't do it justice). Pasta time is fun especially when everyone joins in. The only problem really was that in the dormitory the boxes were so hot we could barely sleep. There is zero airflow, a fan would be amazing in there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Happy to read you and that you had an amazing time with us! We really have brilliant guests staying with us! :) Indeed the period you came was really very hot, just come back and you'll see, it is much fresher now! Have a nice time on holiday. Best greetings - Bigallo Staff

30th Jul 2016
8.9

Bigallo was the coolest place we stayed on our 3 week trip around Italy. It's absolutely beautiful, if buggy (bring a lot of mosquito repellant.) We stayed 3 nights and went to Pasta Time twice (totally worth it.) The stars are beautiful and the sunsets are to die for. There is a gorgeous view of Florence from the windows and the balcony/backyard. The staff is super nice and helpful. The bus to Florence is about 45 minutes away and runs every hour, but doesn't run late into the night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.