Hostelworld.com

Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 371 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel Located at Via Bigallo e Apparita, 14 Bagno a Ripoli, , Florence.
Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel
Italy
Florence Fi 50012 Firenze Via Bigallo e Apparita, 14 Bagno a Ripoli
89% 371
43.7383521 11.3497030
Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Thornton024
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2016
10.0

A fantastic stay in the most beautiful, relaxing environment & great atmosphere in the evenings at 'Pasta time.' Yes this hostel is a bit out of Florence but it is so worth it! I arrived on a national holiday so no connection bus was running, however I called the hostel and someone kindly came to collect me. I also fractured a bone on my foot and the lady who works there- Natalie- kindly took me to the pharmacy and then hospital. It get like a home away from home! I didn't want to leave!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
9.4

Beautiful place to stay - hard to believe it is a hostel and not a hotel. We arrived late due to transport issues and the host was still willing to cook pasta and serve us cold beer, grazie!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
8.0

It is quite a hike to get there, I hitchhiked up the hill with the #24 bus which was okay, just tell the driver you are going to Bigallo and they will know where to go. The pasta dinner was amazing, definitely do it. Same deal to get down, I just hitched a ride into the city which was easy enough. The sunset and view from the terrace are phenomenal, something you cant get somewhere else. It is also nearly silent at night which is a very good change from inner city hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for writing and nice that you had a good stay with us! Best greetings

18th Jun 2016
9.4

This is a hidden gem outside Florence and turned out to be a special experience! So glad I booked. Plusses: delicious pasta dinner + wine in the garden overlooking the city, new friends, and a hiking trail across the street. The 24-bed dorm was actually 12 sets of two beds, so I had plenty of privacy. Downsides: The monastery is used as a venue for weddings, parties and other events, so it was quite busy over the weekend. It wasn't the tranquil retreat I'd expected, but was still a great place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for writing and the plusses makes us happy! As to the downsides you are right it was a very bussy weekend with weddings and parties. It is rather exceptional, usually we have 1 event during the week ( usually on wednesday or thursday and then once in the weekend). During the weekdays we always organize a moonhike! Our best greetings and still have a nice time around . Bigallo Staff

18th Jun 2016
3.1

Hostel or private banquet hall? On Saturday arrival 1st wedding was happening most of the hostel was blocked for private use. 2nd wedding much of the same. Private party that evening till after midnight with loud music and hostel guests could stay in room or back yard. Only 5 chairs to sit in for wifi. No deck or comfy yard furniture. No soap in bathrooms with black mold on the walls. No restaurants, grocery, or any activities for hostelers. Save your time and money and find better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, indeed we had 2 wedding ceremonies and party on sunday and sorry that there was a lot of people at the Hostel. That day we arranged our pastatime in the garden and it seemed that our hosts just enjoyed to eat in the garden this time! You are right there are no restaurants or groceries around but this Hostel is an antique monastery, located in the countryside just as indicated on all sites and that is also the reason why people choose to stay here!. Every week we have live music and a moon hike organized. Sorry that you decided just to cancel the other nights, maybe you could have appreciated our peace and comfort. In our bathrooms we do not give soap, only in the bathroom of the reception area. Best greetings - Bigallo Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jun 2016
9.4

We spent four nights here, and would recommend it to anyone staying in Florence. It's a bit of a trek getting into and out of the city, but the view and the hostel itself are worth it. It was amazing because of the people, and the hostel did a great job of creating a social atmosphere. There were cool events that weren't always inclusive of hostel guests, and while the staff catered to the events, they were very friendly and willing to help with any issues that arose. Clean and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2016
9.7

I had a wonderful time in Brussels and it was mainly because the hostel was so nice, everything its clean and spacious, we had a good time meeting new people and the location was very centric. The person in charge even showed us with a map how could we get to the touristic or nightlife places easier and he was available for us at all times. I highly recommend for you to pick this one up!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jun 2016
9.4

Yes, yes, yes, the hike is quite a hike and you will get sweaty but what a view! We met so many great people and had so much fun and even got to see a free concert while we were there. Lots of goodies for breakfast and the cool stone walls make you feel like a prince. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Every week during the summertime we have music events and makes us happy that you enjoyed it. Our breakfast is a continental buffet with home made cakes, cereals, bread, marmelade, ham, juices, and hot drinks. Our Hostel has a beautiful garden completely surrounded by original drystone walls! Our best greetings- still have a nice holiday Bigallo Staff

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
9.4

This is a beautiful place to stay, the pictures do not do it justice. It's a bit of a hike up the hill, but it's worth it! I hitchhiked up the hill, which was actually a great experience! Be sure to become friends with the other guests, which is easy to do at the wonderful dinner. The little town by the hostel is great to explore for a day, especially if you just walk down the street thats behind the hostel. And if you're a single girl, they'll try to give you a girl roommate as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Nice reading you! Thanks for this nice review. Sure it is hard to get uphill - it's better to get down.... That is just what we are willing to offer, a place to socialize and find new friends When you choose to sleep in one of our alcoves we always try to give a roommate we think it can be appropriate! Still have a nice holiday! The Bigallo Staff sends you its best greetings

12th Jun 2016
8.6

My friend and I misunderstood that it wasn't actually in Florence, but it was still worth staying there and making the trip to the city when we wanted. Its about a 10 minute walk to the bus that follows what seems to be a random schedule but eventually gets you there! The hostel & view from the hostel are breathtakingly beautiful and the all of the staff were unbelievably kind and accommodating. The only down side to the actual stay in the hostel was that the wifi did not work in the bedrooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.