Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 490 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.5
  • Cleanliness 9.8
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
7.7

The hostel itself is good (if you like historical buildings). The staff is really nice and helpfull. The problem is that the hostel is really far away from Florence, it takes about 2 hours to get at the centre, and you have to walk up the hill about 15 minutes to get at the hostel. Couldnt get a taxi. Don't recommend it if you don't have a car.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jun 2017
9.7

The best hostel you will stay at everything is just as described just go and you won't regret it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.0

Absolutely loved the atmosphere and the sunsets are gorgeous.It's a beautiful 13th cent. building,common areas are great for socialising! Getting there is a nightmare,rent a car or a scooter if you can,it'll make ur life way easier! I found it very clean for such a huge place.Bring a padlock,there's a lockable box at the feet of the beds. Please let people know about the back door if they want to leave before 8, I almost missed my train because of the locked front gate and had to get a cab!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
10.0

Our best stay in Italy! About 5 mi from Florence in the countryside. Beautiful and peaceful. Really nice staff. For a very reasonable price they brought us local wine and made us sandwiches and cookies while we sat outside under the shade of pear and olive trees with a gorgeous view. Every night they have pasta and wine dinners where everyone dines together which were so enjoyable! We didn't have time for nearby vineyards or horse-back, but Ristorante Centanni was AMAZING homemade ravioli

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
9.7

The staff was wonderful. We stayed in the Academia room and loved it! We had a separate garden access door from our bedroom. It was very peaceful and quiet. This hostel is situated on the outskirts of Florence with a great view overlooking the city. We had dinner at the hostel. They served us Lasagna and wine. There is parking at this hostel and the staff is very accommodating. They let us fly our drone over the property for landscape photography of the city. I would recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th May 2017
8.0

Everything about Ostello del Bigallo was really amazing--except the location. If you have any interest in spending time in the city of Florence, you will either spend about €30-€40 each way for a cab, or you can take the public bus for €2 but it will take about an hour, plus walking down a hill to the bus stop and waiting for the bus itself. Stay here if you are looking for an escape to the countryside, but otherwise keep looking. The view from the garden and the hostel itself were incredible.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th May 2017
8.9

This hostel offers an incredible view of Florence and the Tuscan landscape, and an ambience that can't be beat. There are some serious logistical drawbacks - without a rental car, travel into the city takes over an hour, and it's a serious uphill walk back. For whatever reason, there were also a lot of Americans staying there, so if you're looking for culture contact, you might want to look elsewhere. But the staff was very friendly, flexible, and accommodating, and overall, it was a great time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for writing and having been our guests. Indeed we know it is a hard uphill walk but that makes the view of Florence so incredible! Indeed during this season there might be a lot of americans, but we have people from all over the world making this place a real culture melting pot. Grazie e cari saluti dallo Staff del Bigallo

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th May 2017
7.7

Beautiful location, a bit tricky without a car but doable if you don't want the florence nightlife. But it means you get more quiet and an amazing subset view. Pasta and wine time is a fun way to meet people there. Sometimes there are events at the hostel so some areas like the garden or balcony might be closed. No soap in the bathrooms. But overall unique and worth the journey out of the city :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for having been our guest these days! It is true that sometimes there are private events closing some of our inner areas. The garden is always open for all guests. We have soap only in the common bathroom but not in the dorms. Maybe we could improve this! Thanks for this suggestion. We all wish you the best - Bigallo Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th May 2017
8.0

Beautiful location in Tuscany! Pasta night is a great way to meet others in a relaxed setting. Still, not the ideal hostel for a few reasons: no real common room, cold showers, hour away from the city (1,5 if you miss the transfer bus). Also, one morning there was almost nothing left of breakfast at 09.15 (breakfast is supposed to be from 8 to 10am). Also: noise travels, and with all the school children staying here, that is not ideal. Still, I had a pleasant time here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • charlotte2315
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
23rd May 2017
9.1

This place is amazing the location is horrible but the View is worth it, it also feels more like your staying in a hotel because the staff are really friendly. I loved it here and would strongly recommend staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.