Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 431 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 431 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.1
Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel Located at Via Bigallo e Apparita, 14 Bagno a Ripoli, , Florence.
Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel
Italy
Florence Fi 50012 Firenze Via Bigallo e Apparita, 14 Bagno a Ripoli
91% 431
43.7383521 11.3497030
Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
9.1

Tricky to get to, was an effort to get to and from town but it's so worth it. Amazing view, cozy atmosphere, perfect for a little break away from the city. Recommend highly : )

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Sep 2016
9.7

Probably the coolest most unique and beautiful place I have stayed yet. It's an old monastery and from the moment you enter its like you've stepped back in time. The place it's self is a sight to see and you can wander the grounds or explore the building for at least a few hours. It's a bit of a struggle getting there but it's totally worth it. Pasta time is a must at least once. There is a fridge but no kitchen for guests. Wifi only in lobby/common area. Met some cool people here too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
9.4

A very special place, perhaps unique, in a building oozing with atmosphere on a hillside overlooking Florence....far enough away to filter out the madness of mass tourism down below but close enough to capture the beauty of the city; what could be better!? With so many positives I wonder why they offer what is, perhaps, the most awful breakfast food that is possible to produce.....cheap jam or chocolate tarts! A simple French style breakfast would be just as cheap but much more acceptable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
8.9

Great staff, great price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

... great guests .... Thanks a lot! Best greetings - Bigallo Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

The perfect place if you would like to escape the hussle of the city. a perfect little sanctuary with garden with olive trees and ripe (!) figs! Great view of the city by day and night. The staff is amazing and offers a tour of the building (used to be a hospital for pilgrims in the middle ages) - simply perfect. There was a wedding when we were there and some of the food was offered for breakfast. I can highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! FIne to read you had a perfect stay and you enjoyed view, garden, figs, food and staff... :) Best greetings from all of us Bigallo Staff

  • greg_east
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
10.0

Best hostel in the whole of Europe for me. Worth the big hill!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks thanks thanks and thanks again! Happy to read you! and just wait for you to come back once! Best greetings from the whole Bigallo Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Aug 2016
9.4

One of the greatest hostels we've stayed in throughout our Europe trip. The staff was incredibly nice, and the hostel was so beautiful. We also met so many nice and fun people here who became a part of our adventure. We will definitely never forget about this place! We hope to come back one day. The only thing negative I have to say is the mosquitos. Maybe put screens on the windows or fans so the windows don't have to be open. Thank you so much!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks a lot for having been our Guest! Was really our pleasure. You are right about the mosquitos and we are willing to put screens on most of our windows. So just come back again. Consider Bigallo Hostel your home in Florence! Best greetings from all of us - Bigallo Hostel

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.6

No type of security but you don't need it. The staff is beyond amazing, especially Ferdinando, who will go above and beyond to make your stay a great one. Pasta dinners are delicious and let you meet lots of people. The overall atmosphere is fantastic. Wifi only in the lobby but also good for meeting people. Just make sure to bring bug spray!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! thanks a lot for staying with us and it makes us happy to read you had a great stay! Indeed we only have wifi in the lobby as being the edifice huge and antique it is hard to have it everywhere. But being in the lobby it makes people meet all together and enjou the Hostel'slife. :) Yes I confirm "Bring some mosquito spray!" and as to security there are personal lockers attached to each bed. The whole Bigallo Staff sends you best greetings

12th Aug 2016
9.1

Amazingly clean, spacious heritage property with nice view. Amazing breakfast and very kind & helpful host. Only disadvantage is location since you have to climb up the hillock changing 2 bus. But this place is worth taking that effort. Thanks for nice stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! thanks a lot for writing us and happy to read you think it is worh climbing up the hill. We know it is hard and think our location is just fantastic when uphill! Take care and the whole Bigallo Staff send you its best greetings

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Aug 2016
9.4

Lovely staff. Very sociable atmosphere. Amazing building with amazing an amazing garden, Ripe juicy plums for the picking. The views from the garden and the terrace are the best I've ever seen. Best hostel I've stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! thanks a lot for having been our guest; a real pleasure to read you and that you found it amazing! Just come back and we all send you our best greetings - Bigallo Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.