Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.4
Superb 556 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.4
Superb 556 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.7
  • Cleanliness 9.6
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2017
10.0

Best backpackers I have stayed at! Pasta night is great value and you meet so many people. Staff were superb and helped out with activities such as drawing in the yard between the fruit trees and horseback riding. I extended 2 extra nights.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2017
10.0

Bigallo hostel is probably the best hostel I've ever stayed at and will ever stay at! This place is incredible, the staff are all so helpful and willing to do anything for you. It's in a gorgeous location but if you want to visit the city everyday you may want to consider somewhere closer. Pasta time was definitely one of the highlights! Thanks again Bigallo, I'll be back 💛

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Aug 2017
9.7

An amazing place very close to Florence, ideal if you are travelling by car. The atmosphere of the hostel and the view of Florence compensate for the lack of A/C which made our stay a bit uncomfortable due to the heat wave (close to 40 degrees Celsius). The host was really welcoming and Keen to help us. Definitely try the "pasta time"!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! It was great to have you all here at the Bigallo Hostel. Thanks for writing this nice review. Indeed it is a little hot these days and hope at soonest a little fresh breeze comes back. PastaTime is actually served on our terrace overlooking the city! Best greetings from all the Bigallo Staff

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
8.9

Great social place to stay and really beautiful. Super out of the way but fine if you have a car like we did. They even helped me get back something I left behind. Wifi not great. Really hot in summer - a fan would've been nice. Would still recommend though not the cheapest hostel for the location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for the review! We're glad we could help you getting everything back to you. This summer has been hotter than usual, but it is finally cooling down a little bit! We think our location and the view from the hostel is what makes us special :-) Greetings from Bigallo Staff

2nd Aug 2017
9.4

Great place to meet people because you are literally in the middle of no where. Awesome experience, HOWEVER I would NEVER stay here in the summer again. It was 110 degreeF while I was there &I got ZERO sleep. The 24 dorm is practically a barn w/ cubicles and it BAKES all day. There is no fans and i don't think i have ever been so hot in my life. I got up at 3am, got my sheet wet w/ cold water & slept with it wet so i didn't die. Other guys moved their mattresses to the hallway to try and get air

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for the review! This summer has been hotter than usual, we absolutely agree that it was incredibly hot. Unfortunately it's not easy to provide fans to everyone because of the size of our building, but the temperature is finally cooling down a little bit now, so it is less of a problem now. But we're happy to hear that you had a good experience here and met nice people! Greetings from the Bigallo Staff

  • annaliesencobb5058
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Jul 2017
8.9

Such a beautiful place to stay and the staff are incredible. Free breakfast, cheap dinner, great vibe :) I underestimated the hill tho, walking uphill in 40degree weather is not fun, and the buses are tricky and the last connection isn't very late. I took a taxi to get up the first day with my suitcase, for 28 euro it was worth it. Def has its pros and cons based on location but the hostel itself was excellent :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you so much for your review! Yes, our beloved hill is definitely what makes our hostel special :-) But the view to Florence is always the best reward for walking up the hill. We're glad you enjoyed our dinner and the atmosphere and our staff sends you best greetings :-)

  • alexboyce325300
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
9.7

From the staff to the beautiful view upon the hill, this was such an amazing hostel. 10/10 would recommend, only thing about this is the hike up to the hostel, it's quite a trek to get there. Other than that it was amazing and DO NOT miss the pasta every night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
9.7

This was our favorite place of all during our 3 week adventure. We stayed 5 nights. It is outside the city. The staff were professional and helpful. It is tricky to get here without a car. We did not find the 23a bus from the train or Flixbus dropoff. You can take bus 23, then bus 24 to Roma 21 Stop or tell driver Bigallo. Do sign up for Pasta Time! It is a great value, delicious vegetarian pasta, and you will meet your fellow travelers. The gardens are lovely. We ate our fill of plums

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jul 2017
9.7

Absolutely outstanding! The view is gorgeous, the staff are so friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere is great. I highly recommend the pasta time dinners - 7 euros for homemade pasta and a glass of wine while you watch the sunset. The beds are comfortable and the facilities are very clean. It does take some time to get there (around an hour from the city), including a bit of a hike up the hill, but you could usually catch a lift with a local. Would 100% recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thank you for the review! We're so happy to hear you had a good experience here. And it's great that you caught a lift with a local, we will recommend this to everyone :-) The Pasta time and sunset is also our favourite part of the job :-) We're glad we could be helpful for you. Hope to see you here again! Best greetings from the Bigallo Staff

28th Jul 2017
9.4

I REALLY loved this place. It was exactly what I needed in every regard. The setting is breathtaking, pasta dinners an exceptional value and lovely atmosphere, and staff helpfulness unmatched. It is a bit out of the city but if you don't mind the 30 minute bus ride, you should not miss out on staying here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks so much for the review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We enjoy the daily pasta dinner on the terrace just as much as you :-) And we're glad the we could be helpful to you. We hope to see you here again! Best greetings from the Bigallo Staff

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.