X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Ostello del Bigallo - Bigallo Hostel Reviews

Via Bigallo e Apparita, 14 Bagno a Ripoli, Florence, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
246 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great place to stay, i highly recommand it. Perfect to enjoy THE real Tuscan experience. The building is amazing, so beautifully restored and quiet. The view and the countryside around definitely worth the journey. Great atmosphere. The pastas and the breakfast are great as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Happy to know that you had a real tuscan experience and that is exactly what we like to give our guests. The whole Bigallo staff sends you his best greetings and will be happy to welcome you again.

74%

The difficulty of getting there as a traveler makes it not really worth it. After the hour long bus rides from the train station you are dropped off at the bottom of a hill and if you have a ton of bags trekking up won't be fun. Made a reservation and when we showed up we came to find not a single other soul was there in this HUGE building. It is really creepy being their utterly alone at night but was a fun experience. The free hot chocolate in the morning at this place is amazing!!

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! you are right that it is some hard to get uphill to the Hostel; we always tell everyone. Your stay was indeed in some more quiet days and that gives the impression that you are alone even if this is not so... the place is really huge. Hot chocolate makes it always good..... Best greetings and we will be happy to welcome you again maybe with the Hostel full!

46%

This is a monastery. Keep in mind that monks went to monasteries to remove themselves from society. By staying here, you are doing exactly that. The latest bus that is nearest to the hostel runs at 9:45pm (and 9:05 on the weekend). If you miss either of these buses, you will have a 1.5-2 hour walk uphill to bigallo. Wifi not offered in rooms and the wifi in the lobby is unreliable at best. They offer pasta at night for an hour knowing there is nowhere else you can eat near the hostel. Dont stay

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Really sorry you did not like our place which indeed was a former monastery and not willing to be a modern city hostel. So you are absolutely right to say that staying with us makes you remove ...and discover autentique tuscan nature and live. We always inform about the busses so that our guests can organize. WiFi is only in common areas on purpose so that people can meet and know each other and so is also PastaTime offered in the evening at only €. 7,00 to make it affordable. Greetings

74%

Beautiful location..but way out of the city and an uphill climb. The place itself was pretty - a monastry converted to hostel. There werent too many people there. I think I would have wanted to stay there again if it wasnt that far out and on top of a hill. You have to take 2 buses to reach the city which can be really inconvenient as the bus timings are really weird.


66%

Interesting and unique hostel in an old monastery. View from the balcony over Florence is breathtaking. Pasta time is good value; nightmare to get to however and the public transport is unpleasant. Ideal for couples with a car.


80%

We loved this beautiful place to stay outside of Florence, but do NOT stay here unless you have transportation. It's just too far by public transport/ walking. Also, my phone was stolen while charging. There are very few outlets in the dormitory, and I was very upset to find out my phone was stolen, and the hostel promised to check their insurance policy, and still have not contacted me. I do believe this is typically a very safe place to stay, just sucks it happened to me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! very sorry for your phone, it is really unusual. We also always suggest to use the lockers; every bed has lockers in which to place personal and precious belongings. As a hostel we are not responsable for personal belongings of our guests so it is not possible to have a refund from the insurance which is for damage made by the hostel. Thanks anyway for having appreciated our place, even if it is outside the city! Best greetings from the Bigallo Staff

91%

Hostel is a ways out of the city, but there is a couple buses you can take to get to and from the city. That being said there's a hike from the last stop so keep thatin mind. The view is incredible and theres a cheap dinner with wine that's great value. The room was massive as well, and it's a neat old building. As long as you don't mind being out of the city, it's a great hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your comment and it's our pleasure to know that you find it a great Hostel. The hike to reach the hostel is uphill but worth of a walk through a real tuscan countryside. All our rooms are so big as they are original of the monastery. Our PastaTime is also a moment to gather all together and meet other guests. Just come back, best greetings from all of us!

74%

We loved our stay in this hostel. We knew that the hostel was going to be out in the country and that it was going to be far away from the city, but we didn't expect it to be that far. Its about 45 min away from city center, we had to take to buses and a 30 min uphill hike on a dangerous road in order to get to the hostel. If we had known, we would have probably not booked our stay there. But I do gotta say that the hostel is beautiful and the staff is really nice. Amazing views of the Toscana.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The location is a little far from Florence, but is still amazing. It overlooks the city of Florence. The small town is very nice. The staff is very friendly. It has a great atmosphere. When I was there, there was live music out in the garden and it was great! I would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are about 40 minutes by public bus from Florence city center but being in the tuscan countryside and upon a hill you can enjoy our amazing view of the city, Frequently we organize music and theatre events in the evenings and if not our garden is a pleasant place to stay with other hosts. Thank you for your nice comment and just come back. Nice greetings Bigallo Team

100%

Perfect place ! Good atmosphere, super team, great events, delicious meal and fantastic monastery ! Oh and what an amazing view on Firenze ! :)

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was nice to have you at our Hostel and the whole Bigallo team is delighted to read you. We send you our nicest greetings!

89%

There is no better place to watch the Florence sunset. Yes, it is a 2 hr bike ride up hill, but totally worth it. The pasta dinner comes with a lot of wine, and the atmosphere is wonderful. There was a local Tuscanny band playing, and the music was top notch. Wish we could stay here longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, nice to read you! Well, by bike it is perfect to get up to the Hostel; from Florence city center it can take you about 1 hour. Every evening we propose our PastaTime which is also a socializing moment with all other hosts and almost every evening we propose music, theatre, and other events so be always tuned on ... Best greetings and see you when you'll come back

89%

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff, view, daily events in the garden, and building really made this place stand out in my trip

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! thanks a lot that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our best greetings

94%

Is true that the hostel is "a little" retired from the city center, but is complete worth it!... The view of Florence and the atmosphere in the Hostel is great!


86%

Very neat place, the trek out of the city is pretty long, and you have to leave in time to make the bus, but it is a great place to return to. In an old monastery with a nice garden and happenings often at night and they have dinner for 6 euros each night


80%

Walk from the bus stop was a pain, but the hostel more than made up for it. Lovely staff, beautiful views and lots going on.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! thanks for coming and that the walk from the bus stop has been made up by our Hostel!!! Nice greetings from all of us!

94%

Absolutely stunning location in the Tuscan country side with the most beautiful views of Florence and the Duomo! Comfy rooms and amazing atmosphere! Favourite hostel in Italy!

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to read your comment!! and hope you come back when in Italy! Thanks a lot.... the best from Bigallo team

77%

This hostel is NOT in Firenze. You have to take a bus for 40 minutes and another one for 10 min. And then walk a hill.... if you want to visit Firenze, i think is not the best option but the hostel is so NICE!


71%

The old Tuscany style house was different from other hostel for sure. It has nice back garden and country setting. However, besides that though, I don't find anything special about the place. It's really far from the city center. I took one bus for about 40 minutes from Florence, then waited for about half an hour for another bus, then another 15 minutes bus ride , then walked 20 minutes up hill. If you goal is to visit Florence, then this place is not the right place. Sorry.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, sorry that you had to wait so much for different busses but being in the tuscan countryside just up the hill we know that it is a hike to get at our Hostel. That is why we always advise our guests about how to get here It is the right place for who is searching a different place where to relax and enjoy tuscany country side with a view of Florence. Best greetings.

80%

The hostel is great. It has an amazing atmosphere and a amazing view of the Tuscany and of Florence, but it's too far away from even a simple restaurant or market. The meaning to get food and drinks are scarce in the hostel and the guests can't even use the kitchen. The parties and getting together with other guests is really cool in the old monastery in the countryside atmosphere.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Indeed being out in the Tuscan countryside there are no shops or restaurants nearby. We have only one kitchen for internal use and that makes it impossible for us to let guests use it. Of course you can eat wherever inside or in the garden and we also have Pasta Time in the evening - pasta and wine at only 6,00 euro. Almost every evening we organize events, concerts to gather people together! Best greetings from all of us - Bigallo Team

97%

We loved this hostel! Be aware that this hostel is an hour to an hour and a half outside of Florence, but we understood that before and booked for that reason. We wanted a taste of countryside outside of the city and this was perfect! Being an old monastery it is so unique! It is a refreshing difference! The atmosphere is great and they offer great "extras". Breakfast was delicious and pasta night was so fun! We rented bikes there and explored outside the garden. I wanted to stay longer!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your nice comment. For breakfast our cook prepares every morning fantasy cakes and we are proud of our PastaTime which is not only an occasion to eat typical home made italian food but also a pretty socializing moment with other hosts See you next time so you'll stay longer! Best greeting from the whole Bigallo Staff

« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Florence Hostels

Please give us your feedback