Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ottawa Backpackers Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2017
6.6

Good hostel. Location in regards to Ottawa is good, however every close to a homeless shelter- not too safe at night if you are a female traveling alone. No where to securely store large luggage which is disappointing. Free tea and coffee is always good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Sep 2017
9.1

awesome place! Staff are super friendly and helpful, very clean and super easy to meet people is the common room!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
1st Sep 2017
8.9

This hostel had such a good atmosphere! I was only there for a night because it was fully booked the other nights of my trip to Ottawa but I wish could have stayed longer so I got the most out of the hostel. The staff I spoke to were lovely and very helpful. Needed more washrooms really and the rooms were a bit cramped but for a short stay this was fine. If I'm in Ottawa again, this is where I'd stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Sep 2017
8.9

We stayed one night. It was a little expensive but we booked the room the day before We stayed in a private room. It was clean and warm. The bathrooms as well. There was always hot water. There were enough bathrooms for the guests. The kitchen was clean. The door was locked after midnight and you use a code to get back in. The staff was friendly, helpful and polite. The only bad thing is that our room was exactly next to the bathrooms and you could hear when sb took his bath early in the morning

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • crystalwu1225
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
26th Aug 2017
9.1

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel due to the atmosphere. It is one of those incredibly homey and friendly hostels that you can really settle into. Its set up is like a house so that there is a living room, kitchen and patio where everyone can hangout. My first night there, the entire living room was packed for the Mayweather v Mcgregor fight. The facilities are a little bit lacking just because there were only a couple of showers, but the atmosphere more than makes up for it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2017
5.7

I think there are things that need some change, but I think it's ok for the price. it's got a good location, I didn't like having to take my shoes off at the entrance cause the place is not very clean. The staff were nice in the check in but not in the check out

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
8.9

Ideally located, 10 minutes from both the Rideau canal and parliament hill. The staff were happy to help out and the facilities were more than adequate. There were a few guitars available too which always helps!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
7.1

Overall the positive of staying at this location is really location - really close to town centre. The facilities were clean inside. It takes a little navigating to get there by car and several attempts to contact someone by phone weren't successful. The dorm was a little stuffy - not enough air circulation and no fan. The shower didnt work .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • JoseGAcuna
  • Mexico, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
6th Aug 2017
8.6

Good atmosphere and concept, but I think is not clean at all. The localization is very good. I liked to experience this hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Aug 2017
9.4

This was an absolutely fantastic hostel, which not only allowed me to meet the people I'd be spending the next few days with, but to draw close to them and learn about their lives in intimate detail as well as share in countless laughs. I can already honestly say this was the best vacation I've ever experienced in my life and I owe it all to this place and it's wonderful residents and guests. There's no doubt that I'll be returning, the only question is how soon. Bravo Ottawa Backpackers Inn

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×