Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ottawa Backpackers Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1142 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1142 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
7.7

Good location and fun atmosphere. However, I felt that staff were somewhat disorganized - they didn't record that I had checked in and paid, so they charged me the night's stay. I had to catch this myself. Also, they did not adhere to their promised reception hours. We needed to leave our backpacks in storage but couldn't because they weren't at reception at 8:00 AM as their hours indicate. We had to circle back from our day to come back and put our things from our room to the storage space.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2017
6.9

Stay was generally okay. Having stayed in other hostels in Ottawa before, this would be a good second choice especially for the largely independent traveller (more quiet, no breakfast). Also note that rooms are split across at least two houses: the actual hostel (with somewhat of a hostel atmosphere) and the adjacent house to its left (with the feeling of a shared apartment including one small kitchen/dining space, one bathroom and laundry in the basement but no actual living or meeting space).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
10.0

Stayed there for Canada Day and the hostel definitely made it more memorable! Friendliest staff I ever met in my long hostel experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jun 2017
6.6

Has a different feel than other hostels I've stayed in - it's basically a house with loads of bunk beds crammed in. However, despite being a bit ramshackle, it has a nice homely feel to it. Location is brilliant, right next to the lively Byward Market and very near Parliament buildings etc. Great place for sightseeing etc. In terms of social atmosphere, there wasn't much going on - the only person that expressed an interest was the 60+yo dude who seemed to permanently live there!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • pablo_montoya4309
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

Staff were helpful, location is prime for downtown Toronto and the bar in the basement is a wonderful place to meet other travellers and locals alike.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
8.3

It was good to stay with them, but i wish they would have breakfast :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2017
8.9

This is a fun and cosy hostel. I was happy to be in the side building (as opposed to the main building where check-in is located) because I needed to get work done and the environment was quiet and peaceful. At night, guests hang out on the front porch and party, which is pretty neat. The hostel is close to ByWard Market and Parliament, which is basically the nicest part of Ottawa. Most importantly, the staff were extremely helpful when I needed to check out earlier than originally planned!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
8.0

It was a nice hostel. A little bit cramped and no air conditioning other than fans that basically just pushed the hot air around. There aren't too many showers so depending on when you go, you could be waiting for a few minutes. The location is excellent. 5 - 10 minute walk to parliament hill, byward market, pubs, cafes, restaurants, grocery stores nearby. The the lockers are small so most people couldn't fit their suitcases/backpacks inside, so they were forced to leave them on the floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2017
7.1

Unorganized parking issues

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jun 2017
8.6

Real nice hostel. Very warm in the summer and the area is a little dodgy, but nothing out of control. Staff were cool as, facilities all equipped, great lounge area with a TV. My room had a balcony. Would stay here again for sure

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.