Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oughterard Holiday Hostel & Angling Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 294 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.4
Oughterard Holiday Hostel & Angling Center Located at Station Road, Oughterard, Galway.
Oughterard Holiday Hostel & Angling Center
Ireland
Galway Co. Galway H91 Y5N6 Station Road, Oughterard
86% 294
53.4210547 -9.3299460
Oughterard Holiday Hostel & Angling Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
9.1

This hostel is a peaceful place to stay and also well located if you consider travelling around Co Galway and Connemara with a car. Without a car, don't bother. And it is inexpensive as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
9.4

This is an ultra-clean, secure and restful place. The host, Mike, made an extra effort to make me comfortable, assure a good night's sleep, and he immediately more than corrected a minor food issue that only resulted from the staff's assiduous attention to cleanliness and sanitation. Mike also was very helpful with a local connection for a boat rental to enjoy the beautiful Lake Corrib.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
9.7

This hostel is for who is looking for a peaceful place, mainly if you're gonna explore the west of Galway, this place is perfect for u!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st May 2016
9.4

Nice stay but 30 minutes away from Galway City. Arrived a lil bit late and need to quickly use the kitchen since it close at 12a.m. It would be great if it has 24hrs access.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments. Mike.

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2016
5.7

This hostel is 25 km far away from Galway. The hostel is ok but the front desk man is very rude. I would not be there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments, please read the last arrival time 22.00Hrs, its a small Hostel I work for 8am in the morning, also other prople deserve no to be disturbed by late arrivals. Yes we are 25Km form Galway it states that on the booking website book on time and you will get Galway and be Happy.

  • travelingteacher20016529
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th May 2016
9.4

It was great! We were there for just under 9 hours, most of which was spent sleeping. We did use the kitchen which was very clean and well supplied. The whole place seemed very well run. The beds were clean and okay, but not as sturdy as some.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Apr 2016
9.7

I had a great stay here Hostel is very nice the owner mike is helpful and very kind the location is a bit outside from the city but if u are driving by care is still fine is only 20 min. And there is a sign on the main street of the hostel so u can't miss it. The wifi is strong and also works in the room Is a very quiet hostel so u will have a good sleep I really liked the atmosphere there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your positive comments and I am glad you had an enjoyable stay. Mike.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2016
8.0

no other guests there when we stayed so dorm to ourselves but security may have been a problem as it has no lockers its a mixed dorm with shared bathroom with two showers but both had glass doors..... odd kitchen was well equip with lots of facilities and recycling was a big thing so all good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments, I dont suppose you will take a shower with a stranger in the bathroom, its not for that so, I suppose the doors are not a problem, please shower with a friend. I notice you gave an 8 for cleanliness I wounder was there a problem, please tell me while you are hear if you have problems. Thanks. Mike.

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
9.1

Good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.