Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oughterard Holiday Hostel & Angling Center

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.4
Oughterard Holiday Hostel & Angling Center Located at Station Road, Oughterard, Galway.
Oughterard Holiday Hostel & Angling Center
Ireland
Galway Co. Galway H91 Y5N6 Station Road, Oughterard
84% 308
53.4210547 -9.3299460
Oughterard Holiday Hostel & Angling Center
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Sep 2016
10.0

Amazing! Absolutely amazing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Sep 2016
8.6

Tiny double room with ceiling skylight rather than a window. Great kitchen, however closed until 8am of a morning. We wanted an early start. Had to go to common area for wifi connection. Everything very clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments, sorry you were inconvienced by the Kitchen but the key was in the door, and you could have opened it yourself, please ask if you need to leave early, the doors are closed for fire safety reasons. Mike.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
5.4

We stayed in a mixed dorm with ensuite facilities. It was very clean but it is not possible to lock the door of the individual shower booth or at least have a shower curtain. That means that each time you take a shower you have to effectively lock out everyone else from the bathroom because that was the only door you could close. That makes absolutely no sense at all in a mixed dorm! No hot water from 12 midnight to 7 in the morning without clearly telling people so on the website!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments, seems you did not like anything about the place which is to bad, the requirement for an eight bed dorm is one shower, so you lock the main door when you are having a shower, if you are with somebody you are comfortable with both showers can be used, seems simple enough, it is written on the registration form what time hot water is available, this is so people who are in bed can sleep after midnight. If you would like to contact me and let me know what Facilities were lacking I will try to accommodate that for the future. Mike.

9th Sep 2016
7.4

Ok hostel. You do just fell like you are fifteen again and having school camp where a teacher is making up rules. You are not for example allowed to take a shower on night time. Very clean. Good bed but squeeky, so earplugs needed. Wifi did not work. Staff was not friendly. Nothing extra in the kitchen. I mean no filters to coffee machine, no peppers, no oil. You need to bring all that stuff yourself. Would not stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Mike.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
8th Sep 2016
9.1

Located out of town, so perfect if you have a car. Peaceful, quiet setting. No lockers or security cages but I kept my bag locked so not really an issue. Enormous kitchen/dining area with plenty of facilities. Clean bedding and spotless bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments.

  • colmrath7872
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
8.6

A very nice, clean, quiet hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2016
9.1

This hostel is a peaceful place to stay and also well located if you consider travelling around Co Galway and Connemara with a car. Without a car, don't bother. And it is inexpensive as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
9.4

This is an ultra-clean, secure and restful place. The host, Mike, made an extra effort to make me comfortable, assure a good night's sleep, and he immediately more than corrected a minor food issue that only resulted from the staff's assiduous attention to cleanliness and sanitation. Mike also was very helpful with a local connection for a boat rental to enjoy the beautiful Lake Corrib.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
9.7

This hostel is for who is looking for a peaceful place, mainly if you're gonna explore the west of Galway, this place is perfect for u!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st May 2016
9.4

Nice stay but 30 minutes away from Galway City. Arrived a lil bit late and need to quickly use the kitchen since it close at 12a.m. It would be great if it has 24hrs access.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments. Mike.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.