X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Oughterard Holiday Hostel & Angling Center Reviews

Station Road, Oughterard, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
156 Total Reviews
  • 100%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 100%Cleanliness
  • 100%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Unfortunately it was pretty empty when we stayed here, however this meant that the owner upgraded us to a bigger room without having to pay extra, which was very generous. The room was clean as were the sitting room and kitchen. The sitting room was cosy and kitchen well stocked. The location was further from Galway city than I'd thought, but we were able to get there by bus easily from Oughterard town. The town itself was a bit depressing and most shops appeared closed. Great value for money.


60%

nice room, very nice owner no internet, no food/drinks avaliable, no tv, quite far from center transport to galway fast but rare and very expensive! by bad weather nothing to do there :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, you were offered not to stay when you arrived and given a reduction in price, we have free wifi and a Tv, we do not supply any food or Drink and are a fifteen min walk from the Bus, we have Fishing Walking Golf Mountain bike trails Castles Mines Lough Corrib for boat trips, Pubs, Music and many places to eat, all of which cost money to do, who out there works for nothing we are a traditional Hostel not a Mini Hotel please bring you food and use our superb Kitchen

80%

+ = Quite place, kitchen, room, the owner - = A little bit difficult to find, 30 km from Galway, it´s not a good option if you don´t have a car.


89%

Staff very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are very confortable.


71%

breakfast is not included, so i think it is too much expensive. difficult to reach without a car.


49%

Ok for a stop off. Washing service is really expensive, around 10€.


49%

Oughterard Hostel is set about 1km from the Center of the village. The only security is the location in the "wilderness" because we didn't get keys or anything else, so everybody could get in our room. The kitchen was without a freezer and a microwave and the hole thing without breakfast. Host was kind of unfriendly, but his helper, a young woman was really nice. One shower was broken, but everything was clean. Hostel is not settlet by a lake. Good place for familys, but not for backpackers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you are so unhappy, you were one person in a eight bed dorm, its not possible to have keys for everybody, we have a freezer on request, no microwave, the knob on the shower is missing, the temp is set and it works and as there are two showers in room 5 I am sure you had no problem, no lake just purpose built ponds for fishing and teaching Fly Fishing, as for the Staff, we do our best but there are limits to what we can handle.

57%

If you're looking for a quiet, family place, this is the place for you. It's far away from everything (45 minute bus ride from Galway) and there's nothing to do. I was looking forward to fishing, but then found out you have to pay upwards of 15 euros to even attempt. LAME. The owner was nice, he picked us up from the bus stop. But that was the last we saw of him. Not conducive to meeting new people at all. It is quite beautiful, though. I guess I just didn't realize what I was signing up for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments, the purpose built Lakes cost thousands to install and Trout cost up to €5 to stock, if you want to fish for nothing, there is free fishing on Lough Corrib but you must be organized to fish. I was here and available at all times as you were told, 40 other people stayed on the 1st, my guess is Galway Hostels were unavailable.

94%

I chose this hostel because i was looking for a quiet place with beautiful views, besides, i was curious about this sport, i was very satisfied , it exceeded my expectations, its a dreamlike place, feels as if i were in another world away from the turmoil of the city. the staff was always attentive, warm and interested in our needs, i would certainly go back if i go to Ireland again.thanks a lot.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

We stayed 3 nights & used the place as a base for exploring Connemara. We were happy with a quiet relaxed hostel & weren't looking for lots of facilities. Mike was an excellent host: willing accommodate guests requests. The best deal was ordering 2 trout from his lakes at 6 euros each. Each fish was big enough to feed 4 people & tasted excellent !


100%

This was a three-day hostel stay during our two week trip to Ireland and we were pleasantly surprised. Mike, our host, was very kind and he runs a clean, well organized place. Our room was small but clean, with an ensuite washroom. The bed was comfortable and the opened skylight ensured a comfortable sleep during the warm nights. The TV was a nice asset, the kitchen was well equipped and spotless. Thanks to Mike, we have fond memories of our stay in Oughterard and we highly recommend this place

  • 6th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback