X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Our House Backpackers Reviews

33 Gilbert Place, Adelaide, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
72 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The location of this hostel is great, the rooms/bathrooms are basic but fine and it's clean but the beds were so rock hard that I couldn't sleep and there was a lot of noise coming from outside. We unfortunately cut our stay short and moved to a hotel.


66%

The hostel was average overall and ok for a few days stay. However, one day a guy unlocked the door which was odd because it was a girls only room. Turned out he was staying in the room next door but his key opened our door too..didn't exactly make me or the other girls feel safe! Also, it was very hot when we were staying there and management told us we weren't allowed to have air con on all the time because they wanted to save money...it was boiling!!!

  • 8th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Staff was very helpful and polite

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great bar and staff

  • 21st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice hostel and nice staff! 2 min to the city and the Pub/Bar street, perfect! Problem is that they don't clean every day the toilets. Sometimes only every 3-4 days...


57%

Quite unfriendly staff, unwashed sheets, half the rooms in the photos didn't seem To actually exist, I was in a 10 person room with only one other girl, not v fun. But good location and clean showers.

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Not bad. Good location. No quiet.


91%

Had a great stay with three mates in the Darwin room. for the Ashes. Phil even sent a email to all guests the week before to take aorders for your favourite beer to stock up the bar! Hostel was clean, secure, friendly, and right in the heart of the city. Our room even had a TV which was quite a surprise given it' hostel status. The bar was a good laugh too. All in all, a great stay.

  • 5th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
71%

Good location not too far from the airport ,located in the city center near the shops. the dormitory are too small for 8 bed dorm , there is not enough space for the luggage , especially if you share your dorm with girls. Some staff could be more friendly.


46%

Dingy and very dirty with rude and unhelpful staff. Great location close to the centre of town. Parking is extremely limited. Would likely improve a lot with a good clean, cause bathrooms, common areas and kitchens are filthy. I would not stay here again.

  • 8th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

In a great location, very near central bus station about a 10 to 15 min walk, Staff were very helpful and tours can be booked direct from hostel.

  • 5th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Apart from the great location, this hostel is a dump!!! It appears to be another hostel full of long-termers, who rarely contribute to the travel atmosphere most great hostels enjoy. The kitchen was a filthy joke!! That said, if u are looking for a cheap flophouse and nothing more, this is your place....


51%

Staff were hopeless, they looked as if they were half dead. They mumble, don't smile and offer no assistance. There were a lot of flies and the floors of the rooms were extremely dirty. The place has no character, the only positive is its fantastic location.

  • 23rd Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Nicholas, Thank you for choosing us for your accommodation in Adelaide. We can see that you have booked one night through hostel world, then you have extended your stay after staying one night. Thank you about that. We feel sorry about how you felt during your stay. We haven't had any bad comment regarding our staff before. Anyway thank you about your comment, We do our best to make our guest's stay safe and comfortable. that is our commitment.

77%

Fun atmosphere and friendly people. Insanely noisy on a Wednesday night and toilets were gross, though that's likely more so a reflection on the clientele... Only stay here if you plan to go out every night

  • 13th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Very homely atmosphere. Feels more like a house share than a hostel. Would definitely go back.


91%

Great hostel. Very expensive key deposit and they seemed to try and take it from you at every turn but apart from this great location and facilities

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the comment Amy. $30 key deposit is refundable Amy. Almost everyone get this back at their check out. I am sure you got yours at your check out. We are keeping a key deposit at the guest's check in to make sure that the linen crockery and the keys being returned at their check out. Also we provide an assurance to our guest that their stay is comfortable and safe. Thank you for choosing us through Hostel World. We wish you good luck with your travel plans.

94%

Friendly staff, a/c in the room, a lot of showers, dryer perhaps a bit expensive but at least does its job perfectly, perfect location (well, perhaps in the wrong city, Adelaide is rather boring ;-) )

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the comment Josef. There are few options according to the guests' budget. The summer rate of the cheapest room is $25. This includes free breakfast, hot showers, free wi-fi, Free DVD hire, Luggage storage, crockery and fully equipped kitchen facilities, free storage in fridges, Bedding and linen. Thank you for choosing us for your stay Josef. Good luck with your travel plans.

80%

Stayed here around Christmas and overall was happy with the hostel and the facilities. It was great to have 2 lockers, one in the room and one in the corridor. Hostel is very big and took us a few days to find the common room down in the basement. Wifi was very poor and not worth using.


94%

Staff was great. Very nice place centrally located. Free Wifi very slow but okay for light use.

  • 10th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the comment James.

83%

Free wi-fi was nice but it was incredibly slow. It made it harder to book anything online. Everything else was great though!


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Adelaide Hostels

Please give us your feedback