Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Outlanders Tribe Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Jul 2017
3.7

The best part about this hostel is that it has air-con. There's no kitchen, just two hot plates and hardly any communal area. The communal area that there is always has a weird Croatian guy sleeping on it. This hostel is between two apartment complexes so at about 10:30 if you're outside talking you'll get yelled at to be quiet. I couldn't tell if the hostel was dirty or if there's just stuff everywhere. A guy who worked there kept all of his stuff in the room I was staying in, and it was messy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Just to comment on a few things you mentioned. We do show pictures of our 'kitchenette' and mention in our hostel description that we have basic cooking facilities. If you want a hostel with a huge kitchen look for one in the pictures before you book it... Also we have a 55 square meter terrace and a common room that are usable 24/7 so long as the noise is kept to a minimum after quiet hours. If you are not quiet we have 24/7 reception (which you decided to call the weird Croatian guy) and it is his job to make sure that everyone is respectful of the hostel rules so people can get some sleep during quiet hours.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Jul 2017
8.3

The staff here are so lovely and helpful, the hostel is close to the beach and the centre so it took us less than half an hour to get to the bus station. The kitchen doesn't have many things but they offer so many restaurants that you can live without an oven.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.9

Stayed here for ultra! Was a wicked vibe, very communal. The staff were lovely & the rooms were great! Expensive - but only because of ultra, great location. Would stay again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Jul 2017
6.6

I had the BEST time staying at Outlanders Hostel!!! The vibe, atmosphere and location of this hostel is perfect! Close to the centre, beach and arena (for ultra music festival). The staff were really lovely and welcoming. Only things that need improving is their security within the hostel and the kitchen facilities are difficult but you can make do with what is there on a very basic scale. Loved my time here at Outlanders! Will most definitely be coming back next year!! :D

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad to hear you had such positive feedback! A bit perplexed at the review score, but thanks for the great write up! Just to make things clear we issue every guest with a key that locks their room door as well as a private locker, along with 24hr reception. It is up to the guests if they wish to lock their valuables in their locker or lock their room doors! Cheers and see you next year! -OTH Staff

  • ashleyimanic
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jul 2017
10.0

The hostel's one big family; the staff is super nice ( Adi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2017
9.7

I absolutely love this place! The location is great, the facilities are nice in that the beds are comfortable and common area encourages a great feeling of community. The staff created such a social and amazing atmosphere/environment as well as own the cutest resident kitten. The owners and the staff always went the extra mile to help their customers in every way possible. Great place for solo travelers and groups. I felt like I was part of a family here and I will come back here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Jul 2017
6.9

Had a not too bad stay here but there's no real kitchen facility or communal space. The staff were beyond superb though and gave excellent tips and advice on places to see, things to do and where to eat/drink. Great place to stay if you enjoy going out but if you're in town for the sights and want to get some rest I wouldn't recommend it. The female showers were visible to the whole hostel and although the glass door was blurred it was still uncomfortable to use. And only one toilet available.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Just wanted to mention as far as communal space goes I guess you did not see our 55 square meter terrace located right in front of the hostel. As far as the showers go, the only way for the hostel to see inside the female shower is if you leave the bathroom door open whilst showering which is abnormal hostel behavior. Just so you know we have enforced quiet hours from 11pm to 8am every day :)

6th Jul 2017
8.9

I thought the hostel was ok. It certainly suited our purposes. Location was not bad and easy access to the city of Split. The guy from East Grinstead was very helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jul 2017
8.6

Really good hostel, has a very chilled atmosphere and is sociable. The rooms have air conditioning which was definitely needed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
6th Jul 2017
6.3

This hostel has good reviews but I really question them The bathroom facilities are sub-optimal, you could genuinely be in the shower and someone see you while they are making a cup of coffee....Staff are nice. Rooms are fine. There is airconditioner which is a huge plus. There is a weird Croatian guy sleeping on the couch (the only common area). There is a also a kitten and cat that hang around so if you are not in to that avoid this hostel. 15 min walk from old town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your feedback! Our description states clearly that we are a simple hostel with basic facilities. There is not much we can do about the bathroom and kitchen layout, we optimized the space we are renting to our best capacity. If you read through the reviews, most of the praise is for the staff and the atmosphere, and it is our philosophy that those are what makes a hostel great. The description mentions the cat as well, so it should not be a surprise. Please read the description and other reviews thoroughly before booking to make sure the hostel is suitable to your needs. Split has plenty of hostel options with more luxurious facilities catering to more demanding customers like you. Our focus is on community, atmosphere and meaningful exchange of stories, ideas and experiences between the members of the Tribe family! All the best & happy travels, Dora, Steve & the Tribe crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.