X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Outlanders Tribe Hostel Reviews

Gajeva 9/A, Split, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
149 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

A great hostel. Really sociable, very easy to meet new people and staff are really friendly/helpful. They do a lot to make sure you have a good time in Split. Would defiantly stay again

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

The hostel, as others have mentioned, does one thing well - organizing nights out. It is run similar to a frat house and it will feel like one. This is fine as it will attract only a specific group. A few things the hostel can work on: - professionalism (not necessary if it wants to continue to be run like a frat house) - cleanliness ie there was a band aid in the shower for a few days and overall the place is quite dirty - facilities ie there is only one toilet and two showers

Owner Comment (Hide)
I don't know if you have noticed, but online we state 'The hostel welcomes travelers of all ages; however, we encourage a party atmosphere, so if you are looking for somewhere quiet, we are probably not the right choice.' We do our best to encourage a bright, fun, and positive atmosphere and do the best we can with the building we have. If there was an issue, you should have spoken with a staff member and we could have fixed the issue right away instead of waiting 4 days.

83%

Extremely friendly, welcoming with a great atmosphere. The staff are young and enthusiastic which makes a big difference - they take groups to restaurants and bars which means you meet loads of people. Steve has the best singing voice of any hostel owner you're likely to meet.


100%

Amazing place. Steve and the rest of the staff are there to make sure everyone is taken care of, whether that's by showing you a night on the town or just making you feel comfortable hanging in the common area while you meet fellow travelers. Had a great stay. Would definitely recommend this place to anybody in the area.


86%

REALLY GREAT HOSTEL. WILL HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO FRIENDS, AND WILL SURELY REBOOK IF IM EVER IN SPLIT.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Really enjoyed my stay here. Excellent staff and atmosphere. Kept very clean too!

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A good hostel with a party atmosphere and a chill out vibe. The guy who works at the desk is knowledgable and easy going. Lockers are large enough for your backpack and bathrooms are well cleaned. I would stay here again.


100%

OTH had such an awesome vibe, from the minute we arrived we were greeted by Steve and he made us comfortable and feel very at home, he was also very funny and created a great vibe at the hostel. Steve was also great with giving recommendations for activities to do, always there to help! Location was great! We were there for ultra Europe festival and we couldn't of asked for a better party vibe hostel for our pre festival entertainment. Highly reccomend this hostel if your into the party vibe.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This isn't a very fancy hostel, it doesn't claim to be, but it has a really great social atmosphere and friendly/helpful staff. The staff helped me figure out what to do with my days, which I didn't plan beforehand, and they invited us to a cool bar where hostel folks like to meet with locals. By far the best part of my time there was going to the beach. One of the staff took us there even during his time off. It's Split though, what does he have to complain about?


89%

A small hostel perfect for solo travellers as it's easy to meet people and its in a good location, easy walk to the old town, beaches and bars. Great atmosphere and fantastic staff who will help you out with whatever.


63%

Hostel was always open so security was a risk, in some cases no staff was found at the hostel. The staff is good and information given during chek in is so good but definetely they need to put more attetion to security.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We take pride in not only our great atmosphere and staff, but our security as well. This is why we have free lockers in every room for every guest. Also, we have lock on your room door that only your roommates have access to, as well as our front door that is a steel security door. As stated on our HostelWorld page we do not have 24/7 reception. During that time I believe we went to the bar together with all of your friends ;)

94%

This is one of the best hostel I've ever stayed at! The staff is awesome, young, nice, friendly and energetic!! Good atmosphere and nice place!


83%

Great Hostel! Welcoming staff, laid back location during the day and a great place to start your night! Definitely recommend!


89%

The staff are unforgettable! Steve is the coolest bloke you'll meet this year and Loki is crazy awesome! Perfect location just 10min walk from the centre so it's still quiet and you can stumble home easily in the mornings. The nights out were great and the staff really help add to the fun atmosphere, we even played football with the local Croatian kids one day. Hostel could do with a proper kitchen though. Overall, had an awesome stay here and highly recommend this place :)

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The staff member on night shift was on another planet. Everyone was friendly enough though and the place was clean. Can't say I'd hurry back but can't complain either.


74%

This was just okay. The staff were quite unhelpful and blasé about questions that we had and the options offered by the hostel (limited). It also lacked atmosphere and the only kind of socialising that went on was groups of guys watching watch appeared to be porn and shouting really late in the night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Well first things first I can guarantee that the 'porn' you saw was a tv show with Charlie Sheen called Anger Management. As far as atmosphere goes, we are subject to our guests wishes. If everyone wants to sit inside and watch movies well that's what we do (movie nights and board game nights can be loads of fun!). I am sorry you were uninterested in getting to know people at the hostel, we wish you safe and happy travels in the future!

100%

The owners and staff are all so so awesome, and we all loved it. Small enough so that everyone can get to know each other and enjoy the beautiful and fun town in a group. You'd be mad to go anywhere else and I know that we'll be back soon.

  • 24th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Pros: Meet interestingness very friendly people and staff at hostel was very helpful always. Free lockers in the room Cons: A long walk from the bus station - took me 25 mins brisk walking as its uphill. Also instructions to get there could be clearer. Also did not feel safe to walk up alone as a female. Poor ventilation in rooms and smells up quickly with smelly socks and stuff. Washrooms lack privacy as men use the women's washroom

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, Some tips for the future. 1.) If it's too far take a cab. Hostelworld gives you all the resources you need (address, location, and map). So this should not have been a surprise that you had to walk. 2.) I can't control how stinky my guests are, options include turning on the A/C which we have in every room, or opening a window. 3.) Croatia is a safe country with very low rates of violent crime and our hostel happens to be in a family neighborhood.

100%

Great hostel for solo travelers, great events and the owner & staff go out of their way to make sure your trip goes off with exactly what you want! Hostel dinner with multiple other hostels was a big plus!


83%

I loved the organized group dinners every night. I also really enjoyed getting a big, spacious locker with its own lock and key to keep my belongings safe. Met some nice people here.


(52 results)


View all Split Hostels

Please give us your feedback