Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Oxford Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 2,804 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 2,804 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 7.0
Oxford Backpackers Hostel Located at 9A Hythe Bridge Street, , Oxford.
Oxford Backpackers Hostel
England
Oxford OX12EW 9A Hythe Bridge Street
77% 2804
51.7533899 -1.2667322
Oxford Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
8.6

Very basic but good for the price. Could use a little bit of a facelift but again, for the price I paid, it's quite good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
5.7

Very old building with very old stuff as well as dirty.... i stayed in a female dorm ... the mattress were not clean as you can see blood stains in them

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
7.1

Dorms are loud at night with partying guests and only one bathroom (3 stalls and 3 showers) for all guests there. Other than that it was a pleasant stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
7.4

Great location near both the train station and main sites in central Oxford. The staff and overall atmosphere were friendly. Good place for a short, budget-friendly stay in Oxford.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Jul 2016
8.6

Was only in a night but enjoyed my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Jul 2016
6.9

Cool layout, mediocre facilities, congenial but not overly friendly staff. The bathrooms were not especially clean and there were very few toilets for the number of guests housed in the hostel. Overall, a fair place to stay, but you can see why it's among the cheaper hostels in Oxford.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
4.6

Most of the travelers stay for a long time. It has made the smell in room quite awkward. And there are not enough spaces in fridge which volunteers and long term stays have occupied three of the fridges. Staff are alright. Toilet is broken near the common room. And they are not clean enough. Extremely overpriced. I won't recommend in this price.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
6.0

Worst thing is the cleanness and especially the bed sheets, quite smelly even though they should be washed and clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
5.7

I stayed at the hostel for four nights. It definitely has a fine place, only 10 minutes from the center by foot. However, the hostel looks old and not taken care of. The facilities do not take into consideration the basic needs (for example: places to put your things in the shower and toilet room outside of the shower area). Though the hostel is relatively cheap I wouldn't recommend it unless you really have no where else to go.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
9.1

Nice hostel 5 min from Oxford city centre, great atmosphere, popular prices at the bar and nice people everywhere. I'd definitely go back there if I ever go back to Oxford. Thanks for everything and hope to see you again guys.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.