Hostelworld.com

Oxford Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2997 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2997 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Feb 2017
9.4

Small place and kind of worn down, but despite appearances it was still a cozy, functional, decently clean place! Great showers, great backpackers atmosphere, good kitchen, overall would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Feb 2017
5.4

The location of this hostel is great! Everything else however was pretty bad. The staff never talked to any of the guests unless they had too, and even pushed my friend off the pick nick table we were sitting at to have dinner instead of asking us. The sanitary bins in the woman's washrooms were overflowing onto the ground. The bed was comfortable but the rooms were small and the door wouldn't lock properly so the room was always open.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Feb 2017
6.6

Stayed here for one night with friends. The hostel was ok and I got a good nights sleep. However, the other guests were not as friendly as those in other hostels that I've stayed in. There was plug socket in the room and the bathrooms are very cramped. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Overall, ok if you want a cheap place to stay but I wouldn't want to stay here as a solo traveller

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
3.7

My friend was being harassed by another guest to the point she went into a room our friends were in and slept on the floor there and I did likewise as the staff would not do anything or officially move either of us to other rooms despite there being beds in rooms not occupied just before the last checkin time. the next night the harasser had gone so I stayed in the room booked but did not sleep due to the heat, noise and smell. Staff unhelpful despite the seriousness of the situation.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jan 2017
10.0

Everything I expected, needed and more! Super helpful and friendly staff too. That was great :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments, i will pass them on to the team. We hope you had a great stay with us and ejoyed what Oxford has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

29th Jan 2017
6.9

The location is great really close to the bus station and you can get anywhere you need to by walking. Considering it was only £15/night it was good value for money. The staff were nice but not much interaction or guidance as you'd expect when staying at a hostel. The hostel itself is very rundown and smelly. And I understand that it was off season but the vibe was weird, weird age groups and we had a very old man with bags of stuff staying in our room who caused a lot of disturbance thus no zzz

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2017
7.4

There's nothing particularly special about this hostel. The beds in the rooms are VERY crammed together so there is little to no room to store your things. It is in a convenient location for seeing Oxford and is easily accessible from the train station, which is nice. Otherwise it is fairly clean, the atmosphere is lacking for sure and the kitchen is small with no fridge storage for food. But you have a bed and a dry place to sleep at night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jan 2017
7.4

There's a very noisy club next door so not a place to stay if you have to get up early. Also, be warned. They took money out of my account without permission.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. We hope you had a good experience regardless of the night life . Unfortunately as we are so central we are close to some clubs. However we do offer ear plugs for guests that are light sleepers. Please enquire at the reception. With regards to the amount due on arrival, as per our policy we only charge the amount due when the guest is arriving extremely late, or if they have arrived a few hours later than stated they would. This is to ensure the booking is gauranteed for the guest. We hope to see you in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
8.3

Nice hostel, central and all. Staff was nice, though one of them, aparrently can't cope with people ringing the reception bell while he is at work. Anyhow, lovely place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comment, and we hope you had an enjoyable time in Oxford. I will cover the reception bell with the reception team and monitor this behaviour through the next few weeks. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

17th Jan 2017
6.0

Trouble with lighting, staff struggling to get rid of that trouble, the room was damp at places but friendly staff to help you with everything apart from electrical trouble. Its like what you pay is what you get.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.