X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oxford Backpackers Hostel Reviews

9A Hythe Bridge Street, Oxford, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2502 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Good place, some small issues: Internet was very poor and patchy even in the common room. Staff were sometimes lazy and there was often no one at the desk to let someone into the building. Staff should also wear some sort of id or shirt so guests can know who is on duty and who staff actually are!


77%

Clean beds and fairly clean bathroom. Our room was a bit crowded and so were the hallway and livingroom.


94%

Really great place with an amazing sense of community! Very friendly staff, fine beds, and an amazing value and location.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The only good thing about this hostel is the location. Cramped overpriced dorms with no ventilation. Ridiculous door code system which makes loud noise everytime a guest attempts to gain access to the room. Run down decor,very scruffy looks like it hasn't been renovated since the 1960's (or hovered). there aren't many alternative hostels in Oxford so demand outstrips supply in peak season and resorting to a few nights here may be your only option if traveling on tight budget.

  • 8th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice stay, with great atmosphere. Very good people around. The only problem I would say is that there were too many long-stay people that makes everything a bit difficult and even more for the price we paid. About the rest: Good bathrooms, good and funny living room, good kitchen, nice staff.


60%

The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms clean but the hostel on a whole is very grundgy and could do with a makeover. The couches are ripped and the carpets old and poorly. there were no individual bedside lights in the dormitories (4 bedded female dorm) and not even a hook or hangers to hang up your clothes. its a real pity as the position of the hostel is very well situated.


74%

Staff are nice. However, there is a strange smell inside the room. Afterall, it is the only hostel in Oxford, so don't have a choice.

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Firstly i´ve to say that Oxford it´s a beautiful city to visit that i would recommend to everyone...The hostel is close to the center and bus station, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms and bathroom were very clean. The breakfast was pretty good, there are even pancakes with nutella jejeje...They got a bar where we had a nice time drinking some beers with good music and meeting people from everywhere, thanks guys for this great experience, i hope to see you again :)

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, everything you need and super close to town. Dorms have too many beds in a small room though, so it'd be very squishy if full.


100%

Very clean, good value for money and a friendly, fun atmosphere. Would definitely stay again

  • 28th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The hostel had a great vibe and was in an ideal location

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Incredibly close to bus station - perk for a rainy arrival. Remedied their outlet issue by putting in a power strip. Would have liked en suite bathrooms, but maybe there just weren't any available that weekend. Nutella at breakfast!


83%

Really enjoyed our stay, staff were friendly on arrival and we had no problems the nights we stayed. It was a bit noisy being next to the bars outside but didn't keep us awake. The atmosphere was great and cleanliness/environment is what you'd expect from a hostel. Would stay there again.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

wifi is pretty bad. It does not connect most of the time. But there are 2 computers with cables. Cleaness is ok. Breakfast stars at 8 with cereal and bread which is fine. Staffs are friendly and helpful. It is a good place to meet people. But i have tobsay the buglar happened on my first night is rare. I did enjoy the stay overall.


86%

The hostel with the best atmosphere! The staff make you feel welcome from the first minute you walk in. If you are looking for a real backpackers hostel, this is it.


97%

Brilliant people, effective staff, best place to meet new people if you like.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

A good place to stay in Oxford, staff is nice, breakfast is simple and good, few problems with the Wi-Fi (not disponible in the rooms and not always ok in the common room), beds are ok, sheets seem to be clean, little lockers to put important things... Don't hesitate to go there :)

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel was great! Everyone was friendly and my bed was really comfy! Great location too :)


69%

PROS: Unique atmosphere and generally pleasant stay. Hostel staff was courteous and helpful. CONS: Our room did not have much ventilation, and so smelled bad. The showers could use some work -- floors were slimy. The whole place was a bit warm (probably due to said lack of ventilation above). Breakfast was basic. Toast and cereal is OK but by the time we reached it the bread was stale -- for some reason it was left open rather than being kept in bags the entire morning, so was rather inedible.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Bathrooms were quite small, too few, and cleanliness could have been better. Otherwise, nice and helpfull staff, very nice ambience, great location, safe rooms, great facilities (computer access is a plus). Quiet enough if you're looking for a place to sleep (may depend on the room you're in), but you can also have good times in the common area!

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(93 results)


View all Oxford Hostels

Please give us your feedback