Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oxford Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2,847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2,847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
Oxford Backpackers Hostel Located at 9A Hythe Bridge Street, , Oxford.
Oxford Backpackers Hostel
England
Oxford OX12EW 9A Hythe Bridge Street
76% 2847
51.7533899 -1.2667322
Oxford Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Aug 2016
7.4

Place is ok. Rooms are way too small for so many beds. Only three showers for women doesn't seem enough either. Could be cleaner. Would also suggest to buy some new sheets. If you can't find anything cheaper to stay, it's alright for a night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Aug 2016
6.9

Smelt really bad. Bathrooms were clean at least. Security lockers very small, could not fit my laptop in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. We are in the process of acquiring new lockers, and should have these available soon. We hope to see you in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
7.1

You get what you pat for... £20 for a night which it wasnt bad (in terms of the price). The check out time is 0800-1030 but the receptionist was late for 15 mins which caused me to miss my train. I asked other staff for help yet they have no clue of the reception's operation system. I wish they could have cross-trained some of their staff just in case of their colleagues are in an emergency or they are late...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. I will address the concerns with the team, as to ensure this does not happen again. We hope you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
9.4

I stay 2 nights per week for work in 18bd, and stayed in other Oxford hostels for internships. I stick with backpackers now - it's value for money, difference in price in other hostels is not worth the little difference in quality. Tatty but clean, showers = good pressure + temperature, no queues, everything works in kitchen, never felt unsafe or robbed, staff are great :D only, get bigger lockers + air con/fans guys! Sleeping with damp flannel on face is fine in August, but oh a breeze..!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. We are addressing the vetilation issues within the company, and we hope to have this corrected in the near future. We hope you had an enjoyable stay, and we look forward to having you stay soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Aug 2016
8.0

could do with some a/c or fans as the rooms get stuffy & with the window open the traffic outside is SO loud & the club can be a bit noisy too. Breakfast is only toast & cereal. Hostel was overall average, it's not the most social hostel. I didn't see any organized nights out but there is a club right outside if you're interested in that. Beds are kind of hard .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. We do offer ear plugs for guests, and should you need this please enquire at the reception. We do have events for guests, to promote socialising and meeting fellow travellers. Should you need further information on this please ask at the reception. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

7th Aug 2016
5.4

The staff here was awesome! And the location couldn't be better. I was bummed about the facilities. Creaky beds made it hard to fall asleep at night. Gross showers, smelly hallways, and pillows and sheets with lots of stains. I loved the staff, but the atmosphere here just didn't feel comfortable.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. wew have just upgraded all our linen and pillows and duvets. Hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy them when you stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Aug 2016
6.3

Soso. But I guess this one would be best option in Oxford

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. we hope you had a great stay. See you soon.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
4.3

AVOID. Room was 25C-30C at night, no Oxygen to breath, could cut air with a knife. Loud clubs next door with lots of drunk/'excited' people shouting etc., facing busy road, literally one of the worst sleepless nights of my life! One of the drunk/drugged people triggered the fire alarm at 3AM which rang on for 15mins. A nightmare. Staffers at the desk were friendly but nonetheless I would no stay there again even if getting paid for it, it was an awful overnight stay i very much regret.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. Unfortunately we did have a guest activate the fire alarm, and we have procedures to follow to ensure the safety of all of our guests. As we are in a fantastic location, we also will be next to some night lubs in the city. There will be some noise but please enquire at the reception for ear plugs if needed.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
6.0

This hostel's proximity to the train station and it's proximity to the city centre is truly excellent. They don't charge extra for towels or linens which is very nice, breakfast was provided, and staff were all very amenable. Unfortunately this hostel was filthy. The women's bathroom was especially unkempt with left behind razors and grime on the floor and walls. We were able to hear the music pounding from the club next door all night. There was nowhere in the room to charge our mobile pho

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments, i will pass this on to the housekeeping team.

  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
4.6

The place smells very badly (humid and/or dirty carpets), like dirty feet. Overcrowded. Dirty kitchen. Badly ventilated room. Poor quality in general.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the cpomments, we will pass this on to the housekeeping team and address your concerns.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.