Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oxford Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 3051 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 3051 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
9.7

I needed to get away for the weekend to go to a convention that wasn't too far, so when I booked into the Oxford Backpackers, it was well worth it. Friendly service and everyone there was really helpful. It's the perfect place to get away in Oxfordsire when you need a break or time away from stress and this was just what I needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
8.6

Large, orderly Expensive local parking unless you take a a bus or walk 2 km. Laundry for 3.50 pound Cheap free breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
4.0

This place smelt horrible, I didn't have a pillow, one of the girls in my room got her headphones stolen, and it just didn't feel like a safe place at all. I would avoid coming here at all costs.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.9

Everything was ok. Thanks Maciej Zejdler

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.0

Very small room Bathrooms dirty Poor diversity for the breakfast and we needed to clean the dishes before eating because it was dirty But the staff were really great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Kenya, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
7.7

Very conveniently located near both bus and train stations with easy access into the city. Flexible staff, printing and browsing facilities at a small fee, lockers available for storing valuables. The common room is a bit run down though. Big mixed rooms are good for a short stay, for a longer stay (over 3-4 days) a smaller room might offer more comfort/convenience given the amount of turnover in the bigger rooms. The hostel meets basic needs of comfortable bed and reasonably clean bathrooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Apr 2017
9.4

Very friendly place. The common room makes it easy to meet new people. The facilities are clean and well maintained. The pillow are virtually non existent and the duvets are ripped but at least they are clean. The ages in the rooms were a bit odd. There were young adults mixed in with 60+ year olds. It was a bit uncomfortable but manageable. All around it was a comfy, clean place to stay with a good atmosphere and kind staff that were always happy to help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
5.1

No staff available at night so if you've any problems, they’ll not help you. I and another girl wanted to change room cos a man in our room was horribly snoring and turned heating to the max. Reception was closed so we couldn’t do anything. We had no sleep at all. We complained next day, they said they had beds available and they could‘ve changed us if we’d come earlier, how would we know if the man came to room after 11.30pm? The man’s a regular in this place, every1 knows him cos he's so noisy

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
3.4

Smelly and grotty. Needs a good clean.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. We are sorry to hear you didnt think the hostel was up to a good standard of cleanliness. We have a housekeeping team that clean the rooms/ toilet facilities and common areas every day, which is then monitored by the front of house team. We do ask all guests if they have any issues with anything to please talk with one of the volunteers, as we are more than happy to help out and try to improve your stay with us any way we can. I will pass this on to the teams, and we will address your concerns. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2017
10.0

Perfect hostel in my opinion. Plenty of imenities or goods available, a bar of its own??! Long reception hours, wifi, free breakfast, the works! Well organized. Thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. I will pass this on to the team and we look forward to you visiting in the future.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.