Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oxford Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 2,887 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 2,887 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.9
Oxford Backpackers Hostel Located at 9A Hythe Bridge Street, , Oxford.
Oxford Backpackers Hostel
England
Oxford OX12EW 9A Hythe Bridge Street
76% 2887
51.7533899 -1.2667322
Oxford Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Sep 2016
6.3

Well used but serviceable hostel. The guys bathroom smells extremely moldy and there is nowhere to put anything you bring in the shower. Breakfast is bread and cereal.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. I have passed this on to the housekeeping team, and we will address the commetns raised. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

12th Sep 2016
10.0

Great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Sep 2016
8.0

Cheap and cheerful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments, i will pass this on to the team. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Sep 2016
4.6

Great location, but dodgy place. It wasn't very clean in general, it smelled musty and frankly, the hallway stank of puke or something like that a few too many times, dirty carpets, run-down place. Overpriced for what you get. Wifi doesn't work everywhere and there are next to no plugs around (none in the rooms, some in the hallway, but obviously taken, especially in the evenings). Staff ok, but clearly untrained (which shows in so many ways, especially hygienic conditions). Would not recommend.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. Unfortunaely we had a pipe leak and this did have an affect on the smell of the carpet. This has sonce ben fixed and the carpets cleaned. I have passed on your comments to the housekeeping team and we will address your concerns. We look forward to welcomning you back in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Sep 2016
10.0

Fantastic and friendly staff, awesome facilities and the vibe is great for meeting new people. Couldn't recommend it enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. I will pass this on to the team, and i m sure they will be pleased to hear your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Sep 2016
5.7

It's not very clean. Staff thinks to be funny but is annoying instead of helpful. No plugs in the rooms. They say there's free breakfast but it's just bread you have to toast yourself and water for tea you have to cook yourself.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. We are in the process of placing more plug points in some of the rooms, as we have had guests requests this more than once. Hopefully this will be sorted when you are next visiting Oxford. We do offer a free breakfast, which consists of cereal, bread, spreads, biscuits and tea, coffee and juice. There is a boiler in the kitchen for instant hot water. If you are unabole to locate this, please ask one of our friendly volunteers and they will be happy to point this out for you. We look forward to having you stay in the future.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
10.0

The Backpackers hostel was great, and I wouldn't even consider myself a backpacker! The procedure to get in and out is easy peasy, the staff are awesome, lovely, friendly, helpful and everything else that you would want. The breakfast has a good variety of 'make-it-yourself' options such as toast, cereals, tea coffee, etc :) You are allowed to use the kitchen which is useful and everybody is very friendly and chatty. I had a great experience here and I would definitely recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comment. we hope you had an enjoyable time, and what Oxford has to offer. I will pass your commetns on to the team, and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

27th Aug 2016
7.4

Decent hostel, not great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Aug 2016
3.7

Do NOT stay here. This is the WORST hostel I have EVER stayed in. I actually left feeling dirty! The musty smell in the hallway was horrible, there was a strong smell of air fresheners attempting to conceal this - the combination was disgusting. The room was over-crowded (far too many beds) hot, clammy with no air conditioning, which meant the smell of stinky feet and sweat which was v. over-powering - I genuinely felt sick. Also, our beds were being slept in by others! Dirty and waste of £

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. All dorms are shared dorms, and as such you will have some level of smells other than your own. Unfortunately we cant control the smell of the guests and what they do in the rooms to an extent. I would suggest booking a smaller dorm if you felt the larger shared dorm was not enjoyable, as we have these available as well.

  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
26th Aug 2016
8.6

Good hostel, great location and very friendly atmosphere. I enjoyed my stay there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.