Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oxford Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 3069 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 3069 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
9.4

Hardly spent any time at the hostel but the bed was comfortable, shower and toilet facilities pleasantly clean and modern. No complaints and a bargain for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2017
6.0

It's definitely a space designed for socializing rather than resting (and staff may look at you strangely if you don't intend to take advantage of the nightlife). There is also loud nightclub nearby that makes it difficult to sleep. Breakfast consists of a bucket of bread slices and bowls of jam.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Apr 2017
6.0

Not the best stay but nothing special. Good if you need something cheap near the centre. Staff seem very busy or uninterested. Hostel has a kinda generic traveller vibe but not updated in 20 years or so. The 'continental breakfast' was just lots of sliced bread in a tub and some dirty bowls of jam and butter and peanut butter.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
9.7

I needed to get away for the weekend to go to a convention that wasn't too far, so when I booked into the Oxford Backpackers, it was well worth it. Friendly service and everyone there was really helpful. It's the perfect place to get away in Oxfordsire when you need a break or time away from stress and this was just what I needed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
6.3

The staff is cool but some of the other guests, not so much. There was a much older man (looked around 50) in my dorm, who was particularly disrespectful. He came in to the room after 12, switched on the lights, and kept swearing as he tried to get undressed. He happened to be on the bunk below mine and he kept kicking the bed making it difficult to sleep all night. This might have been a one off thing, but I didn't enjoy my time here. The general hygiene at the hostel wasn't great either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
8.6

Large, orderly Expensive local parking unless you take a a bus or walk 2 km. Laundry for 3.50 pound Cheap free breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
4.0

This place smelt horrible, I didn't have a pillow, one of the girls in my room got her headphones stolen, and it just didn't feel like a safe place at all. I would avoid coming here at all costs.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
10.0

great place. the employees were super cool and had great suggestions would definitely come back again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.9

Everything was ok. Thanks Maciej Zejdler

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.0

Very small room Bathrooms dirty Poor diversity for the breakfast and we needed to clean the dishes before eating because it was dirty But the staff were really great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.