Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oxford Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 3095 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 3095 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
5.7

Very hot in the afternoon (in June) so we can just stay inside in the evening. The common room is dirty with poor facilities. The bedroom is very uncomfortable in the afternoon because it is too small and the beds were located too near. Overall because it is cheap so can not expext more.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
7.1

Not one of my favorite hostels, that's for sure. That being said, it's a great value for accommodations in an expensive city. Pros: Location is close to city centre. Still a little walk in, but not far. Very budget friendly for a rather expensive city. Luggage storage before and after your stay is helpful. Cons: Very uncomfortable beds Worn down building and facilities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Jun 2017
9.1

A great place to stay, close to the city centre and a lot of bars and restaurants. Stayed here once before and i would definately recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
4.6

It was very dirty and loud.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Jun 2017
7.4

It's not a bad hostel--clean bathrooms, clean bedsheets--but be warned that when it rains, the building smells quite strongly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
10.0

Everyone was really nice and encouraging to spend time in the common room to get to know other people. The rooms were clean and nice. I had a great time!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
7.7

I rated the staff as neutral because they are quite friendly and helpful (often living at the hostel as well), but several of them seem to have trouble turning off their alarms in the morning. Everyone in my room was woken up at 630 or so in the morning to an annoying alarm that did not get turned off until we knocked loudly on the staff door to get their attention. The hostel is very social, and a great place to meet people. Just don't stay there if you really need a full night of sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th May 2017
9.4

The building itself looks old, but it is overall very clean; I could often see the employees at work, cleaning and folding sheets, and cleaning up the kitchen. The beds are comfortable, and the staff is incredibly nice and easy to talk to. The atmosphere feels very familial, and you don't really want to leave the hostel, once you've settled in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
2.9

There was someone throwing up on his bed in the middle of the night, it was so smelly and 7/8 people needed to get out of the room and stayed in common room until 5/6am. The staff wasn't proactive to accomodate us. We didn't feel safe as well because that man is still under the control of drugs. It took a very long time for them to make decision. We asked for refund but they didn't proceed it. WASTE OF MONEY! WORST HOSTEL EVER.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
4.0

Nasty. Never again

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.