Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Oxford Backpackers Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 3166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 3166 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Aug 2017
5.7

The man at the desk was quite rude. The whole place felt tatty, dirty and in need of a good refurb. The room I was supposed to stay in was dark and crammed with bunkbeds with barely any room to put anything anywhere. It smelt damp and the bedclothes looked old and not clean. It's frustrating that hostels in the UK can get away with charging high prices for third rate accommodation.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jul 2017
7.7

The staff were very friendly and very fun, although the atmosphere was pretty quiet most of the time. Our bedrooms were clean and the bathrooms were pretty good too. Lockers in your room are very small but they have bigger ones outside. Overall not bad, but not the most exciting place we've stayed.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
6.3

The location was the best part about the hostel. Overall it was just okay. The staff wasn't very outgoing and the facilities weren't very clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • judithgantschnigg7485
  • Austria, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Jul 2017
7.1

Air is pretty stale in the dorms, otherwise a basic hostel.. would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello thank you for the comment, we look forward to seeing you again.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Jul 2017
8.9

Good hostel with ok facilities. Breakfast can be improved though. Brown bread is absent and there is no variety. For ex. there is one type of cereal, the great British Cheddar wasn't there (actually cheese at all), no British ham (I wouldn't dream of the continental salami). As usual, British hostels breakfast offer is chronically drab & austere in comparison with their European counterparts. Improvements can economically be made by clever management 2 avoid more insult 2 British food & taste.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello thank you for the comment. Please be aware the breakfast is not included in the price but we offer this for free, we have coffee, tea, white and brown bread, jam, butter, peanut and chocolate spread, milk and 2 types of cereals, It seems to be fine with everyone as it is free and you can eat as much as you can.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jul 2017
8.6

Great location near to train and bus stations and not far from centre. Comfortable room. The bathroom was ages away. I was unhappy at 9:30am when several of us were using the bathroom, a male cleaner came in to clean. This is our only place to get changed etc if we are in a mixed dorm, so a little privacy would be expected, at least until 1030 when the bathrooms are closed. Breakfast was not healthy or substantial- even just the option of brown bread and some fruit would have lifted the standard

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Jul 2017
5.1

cheap hostel with few staff and very basic amenoty

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jul 2017
4.6

Did not enjoy my stay here. On arrival had to wait a very long time to be seen to. Room smelled very bad and material on pillow and quilt was ripped/ very uncomfortable. Kept awake by Hostel-ers coming into the room and turning the lights on until 12:45am. Could not sleep due to it being very hot. Despite this, location is very good and the prices too. However I recommend staying at Oxford Central Backpackers across the road for a more enjoyable stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello thank you for the comment. If anyone has to wait to be seen is never longer than 5 minutes, in this case we put a sign to explain it so you can have a seat while receptionist are making sure all facilities are maintained (kitchen,bathrooms,common area etc) or they are dealing with another guest request. We check and clean all rooms daily, if you had any issue with your bed or the smell in your room you could have let us know and we would have gotten this sorted for you.

16th Jul 2017
4.6

Not the worst, but certainly not great. Pillows were not actual pillows and the bedding was 100 years old. Bathrooms were a 6/7 on the cleanliness scale. The staff was what made me feel the most uncomfortable - less than friendly. The main reason for never staying her again was the night club next door. Music blared all night made it impossible to sleep even w/ear plugs. I was in rm 1 which was the "nicest" according to the guy who checked me in. I quickly learned it was closest to the noise.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • michaelmeakin1493
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
7.4

Very warm room, made it difficult to sleep. Was good value for the money though as was an excellent location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.