Hostelworld.com

Oxford Backpackers Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 2,739 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 2,739 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
Oxford Backpackers Hostel Located at 9A Hythe Bridge Street, , Oxford.
Oxford Backpackers Hostel
England
Oxford OX12EW 9A Hythe Bridge Street
78% 2739
51.7533899 -1.2667322
Oxford Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd May 2016
9.4

It's in a great location, near to the Ashmoleon Museum. The hostel has comfortable beds and good showers. The kitchen is quite good. Breakfast is free and the staff are friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. I wioll pass them on to the team. We are happ to hear you had a great time, and enjoyed what Oxford has to offer.

  • alisonhickey7143232
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
9.7

Great and helpful staff and facilites, warm welcome and friendly atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

  • mmoloney1111411
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th May 2016
7.1

Pretty basic but well located. The internet didn't work the whole time I was there, it was hard as it meant I had trouble sorting the rest of my trip with my friends in London. Facilities were basic but sufficient, most of the people there seemed to be long term residents so didn't really feel like a hostel. Wouldn't stay there for any longer than I needed to.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments. The internet has been tricky lately but this is soon to be resolved by the next time you are with us. Safe travels

  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th May 2016
5.1

Location is good. Other then that the place feels dirty and there are to many beds in very small rooms. Too few toilets and showers for the amount of visitors and they where not clean either. Very few outlets in the rooms, to few security lockers. I am not staying there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. We are sorry to hear you will not be returning. We have taken your comments on board and will address these in our meetings.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th May 2016
7.4

Nothing very exciting about this hostel. Bathrooms were kinda gross. Breakfast was pretty standard; bread, spreads and cereal. Rooms were spacious, however no in-room, free lockers was a bummer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. I will pass this on to the house keeping team and address your concerns. We hope to see you again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

2nd May 2016
8.9

Good location, helpful and friendly staff, low prices and excellent value for money. I appreciated the free breakfasts as these are not usually provided. The premises need some redecoration and there was not enough fridge space for guests, but overall this was a good place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the comments. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Unfortunately we are limited to space, but we do try keep things in order so all guests have space to store food and other belongings

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
5.7

It was very loud and cramped. We had one space heater for an 18-bed dorm (which was two separate rooms) so it was freezing. Every morning I found people sleeping on the couches in the common room, and one morning all of the toilets were backed up and there was no hot water! The hostel is right next to a nightclub, so you can expect to hear that all night. Perhaps a good place for the extremely extroverted, but I would have preferred a more relaxed environment.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
10.0

I would definitely stay here again. The staff was very friendly. Oliver and Kade were so welcoming, and both of them made some great suggestions on things to see and do while I was in town. I loved the Saturday night out! Such a great way to meet other travelers and experience Oxford's nightlife. Wifi didn't work in the room, but that just meant I was out and about more socializing. Overall I had a great experience and was sorry to leave!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
8.6

Friendly staff. Good location. Nice breakfast. But very suck wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your comments. We are currently still working on the internet, but do try our best to assist with any requirements guests have such as making further bookings or travel arrangements. We hope you enjoyed you visit with us, and look forward to having you stay in the future.

19th Apr 2016
4.0

Wifi was down and staff blamed it on "too many people" trying to log on in the hostel. Not helpful at all, just told me to keep trying. The place was within walking distance of most places, but not really convenient and further than advertised from the bus stop. The checkout time is super late in the morning and the breakfast offered is not great - just toast and cereal. Even though the staff was up earlier, they refused to open checkout until exactly 8 am. Not very social either.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.