X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Oxford Backpackers Hostel Reviews

9A Hythe Bridge Street, Oxford, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1926 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Bloody brill!

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Dominican Republic
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place! Very clean, friendly staff and perfect location.

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel was quite okay. The breakfast didnt deserve its name. It was super clean! All in all a good place to stay if you want to save money.


60%

The hostel is good, but not so clean and a bit desorganized.


71%

They make you sign a paper with stupid rules, hostel looks really cheap, staff is not so good, bathroom is okay regarding cleanliness, room was cold but when everyone's there it gets warm and kinda smelly. It is really fun though, we went to a pub crawl (only worth it for the company because they don't give you any drinks) and there's a pool table which is fun too.


77%

Fine for a hostel, only negative experience was some guests who seemed to be drugged out but never felt unsafe.


89%

It was a nice hostel; very cosy, friendly staff. Breakfast was fine. The hostel has the perfect size: not too big and not too small. Though the rooms are very narrow and a bit crammed. And the sheets and pillows are very thin.=)


100%

Great atmosphere and helpful staff

  • 18th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I had a very pleasant stay at this hostel for 4 days. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Lorna who helped me on numerous occasions. Having stayed at all 3 hostels in Oxford I would say this one wins hands down. It has a nice friendly vibe, decent security and good facilities, especially the power showers which are a pleasant change from the usual warm trickle you tend to find everywhere else. Top marks.

  • 17th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Svalbard And Jan Mayen
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The staff were more than helpful and happily answered every question and need. They were flexible about luggage storage, early check-in, etc. The room was clean, stocked with shelves, and the other guests were respectful of quiet hours and others' space. The location right by the train station and less than a minute to the edge of central Oxford was perfect. I would definitely stay again.

  • 8th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A fantastic place: - sociable, welcoming and friendly atmosphere, and at the same time the possibility to sleep and rest - located 3 minutes (walk) from the central train station, and another 3 minutes' walk from downtown - great service: linen, towels, internet and breakfast: all for free! THANKS, Oxford Backpackers!

  • 7th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The Oxford Backpackers was a great stay for the price and was a great atmosphere! The staff are incredibly helpful, and the hostel has useful rules to insure a comfortable and restful stay if you value that sort of thing! With breakfast included, it was and is a great place to stay. Also very clean!

  • 6th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location with a friendy atmosphere. I was very well looked after and met some lovely people there!


86%

The space in the rooms is not enough, specially when 12 people are together. Breakfast was simple and didn't offer fruit or alternatives for those who like balanced food. I was in Edinburgh Backpakers and everything was perfect for less money, that's why I decided to go to Backpakers in Oxford, but at the end, I felt a little bit dissapointed.

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

It's no easy to access to reception. Staff is not kind sometimes, there are a lot of restriccions in that hostel. Rooms are very small, and they don't distribute beds properly according to groups. You cannot even pack properly your luggage beacuse there isn't space. There are only two electrical sockets for 12 people, ant there aren't any lamps aside the beds, you have to disturb other guests turning the lights on. Lockers also are very small, you cannot leave regular lugagge there.

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

They should change the stools or benches to some chairs as it might bring more convenience to customers

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place and super convenient!! The staff are all very helpful and the people there are very nice!! Highly recommended!! :) p/s the bed space is a bit cramped so don't be surprised but it is indeed well worth the money!! ;)


74%

The staff are nice and helpful, has a kitchen and a common room. Breakfast was free and really good. The shower was clean but can tell it is a little bit old. However the room was super crowded, I stayed in a twelve people dorm. There was not enough space for all of us to put our luggage, and it was really difficult if you want to pack in the room. They should not fit so many bunks in one small room.


100%

I had such an amazing time during my stay here at Oxford Backpackers! The staff are very friendly and always there to help you if you have any questions or concerns. Breakfast is great and FREE! The whole building was clean and well heated- which is perfect for this time of year! They have a bar and a pool table in the common area which helps crate a friendly and fun atmosphere! Would stay here again in a heart beat!


94%

Fantastic value for money, great location, other hostellers very friendly, and the staff were great.

  • 10th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


(59 results)


View all Oxford Hostels

Please give us your feedback