X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Oxford Backpackers Hostel Reviews

9A Hythe Bridge Street, Oxford, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2371 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Clean and staff is very nice


80%

Very great hostel, good location, very cosy. Few comments : It was not always very clean ( showers...)...and NO COFFEE in the breakfast 2 days in a row....it's not very normal at all...


40%

The bed is not large enough and the toilet is dirty. Moreover, the breakfast is not sufficient and there is a room for improvement.


80%

This hostel is not unclear. But it's relatively old coz those facilities r utilized for several years I guess. It's well organized and hospitable running by its responsible staffs.


77%

Have only one suggestion which i think everyone would agree with whoever stayed in that place the fridge could have been much bigger then is there. The fridge such a small size for so many people that you need to force your food in and you be very lucky if you will get any bit of space in that joke fridge.

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

My stay at the hostel was not at all what I expected. The atmosphere was not very enjoyable, most people staying there were middle-aged/older working men and the staff were not organised at all and quite careless. More fridge space for the guests, as there is only 1 small fridge to share, but about 4 fridges for the staff. Friendlier staff would be nice, as the people already staying there were old and drunk men. I didn't even stay the last night, even though I had paid! Would not recommend.

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Living in a four-female room but just have two sockets

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Hostel has a common room area with pool table and chairs/tables and tv. Free breakfast was served - bread with variety of spreads. Room was clean and other guests were polite and quiet at night going in and out of room. One slight snorer, but I guess that's inevitable in a room of 18 :)


74%

Okey hostel with various people staying there. Not bad, not great.

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Not much of a place Excellent staff under the circumstances


63%

Boiler broken so there was no hot water for 3 days, should of had a discount for the massive inconvenience. The two girls were a little hostile at times had a weird vibe, really friendly Aussie guy tho. The rooms were freezing! Probably wouldn't stay again, but the location is perfect straight by the train station and the pub!

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The place was great. People and Staff were friendly and helpful. No additional fees for anything. Free lockers are great, nevertheless if they are not available for everyone I see it as the only issue I had. So I personally would welcome more lockers, placed in the room - even just a small ones!

  • 4th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Just a problem with the hot water :-(


40%

This is the worst hostel in my travelling aroud England. It is quite convinient about its location,but no hot water,too crowdy near the night club, no change coin to client, lost little things by house keeping. All things are facts happened in my stay,that not happened again in any other hostel I stayed in England and Europe.


54%

Thank you for your request of feedback. I found this place extreemly dirty. The ladies lavatory was dirty, the floor was full of hairs and dirtyness and there was not hot water ! Dirty also the kitchen and all the areas!!

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

no hot water for shower is really bad. the service is good on average.


86%

Great atmosphere, and included breakfast was very convenient. The large common room, plus kitchen available to guests was great, and added to the friendly atmosphere.


57%

Rather dirty, room not ready at proposed check in time so had to go back later to check in. Very noisy. Can hear the club bass next door all night.


83%

Wonderful, friendly atmosphere - an option of fruit for breakfast would make this good hostel a remarkable one - also, the windows were noisy and drafty, but the duvet was very warm - look into updating the window seals and panes (it sounded like the window was cracked open, but it wasn't)


83%

The hostel is very confortable, cool and cute for young people, friendly atmosphere. I liked that there is a shared kitchen inside beacuse is a opportunity to eat what you want for lunch and dinner and also to know people. Good experience!

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(64 results)


View all Oxford Hostels

Please give us your feedback