X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Oxford Backpackers Hostel Reviews

9A Hythe Bridge Street, Oxford, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2142 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Definitely one of the better hostels I stayed at in England. Bathrooms, kitchen and common areas were clean and everything worked well. The hostel definitely encourages guests to be social and this made for a communal feel.


100%

Easy going and friendly staff made for a great atmosphere in the hostel. Great communal area and facilities. Price, for the location, is fantastic. Would recommend to anyone.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Only stayed here one night but would defiantly recommend! The staff were actually really nice and helpful and the hostel was clean and had a very good feel about it. Its walking distance to the train station and to the centre, very good location.


86%

This hostel was the perfect walking distance to the center of Oxford. The staff was great! They were always helpful.


83%

The location was convenient and it was only a walking distance to many attractions. The only downside is that the wifi cannot be used in the room. But overall, it is a decent place for a stay.


74%

Fine place, nothing glamorous but it was a bed to sleep on and in a very nice location.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I didn't sleep well here at all. Very noisy at night, with doors slamming and the walls are so thin you could hear what was going on in the next room. The showers were a nightmare only three for the whole place.... After certain times you have to queue for quite a while. Great location close to the train station and central.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Well done. Solid hostel experience.

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good hostel. The events the staff host are fantastic. Pleasant stay.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, with a fantastic atmosphere. I really enjoyed my night here and will definitely stay again.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I LOVED Oxford Backpackers! I ended up extending my stay. The staff are friendly, laundry service is available, free breakfast, clean sheets, never had a line in the bathroom, and the atmosphere is excellent, there are so many opportunities to meet people. The common area is great for solo or group travelers. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place and if I come back to Oxford, I'm staying here. Specifically Nat, Andrew, and Keelie helped make for a great trip!


74%

nice hostel


71%

If you are looking for a Menninger type hostel this is not for you. You have to realise it's a backpackers hostel. People have been living there for months because they are either enrolled in Uni and don't have any room in student dorms or working somewhere near by and it's one of the cheapest option available. Staff was really helpful. The only problem I had was with the number of toilets and their hygiene. Maybe hostel would like to work on it.


80%

Has a bar but you can drink your own stuff when it's not open. No partition in the showers means a damp towel. Bicycle park 1 block away seems to tolerate several motorbikes. Tv is always going. Kitchen is great. Wifi works good. Breakfast is good.


86%

I really liked staying at the hostel. I just think the bathroom could be a little cleaner. That is my only critic to the hostel. All the rest was great!

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The staff served their customers as if it were their routine job. The overall lighting of the dormitory is too darkk, which is quite uncomfortable. The colors of walls inside the rooms are wierd. The vending machine does not work. The lounge feels crowdy.


97%

Staff were friendly and helpful. Hostel has a kitchen which is fantastic, and they even took me out on a pub crawl Friday ! Great place


40%

The facilities, kitchen and bathrooms were very dirty, sometimos to a point of disgusting. I do not recommend staying here. Theres only 1 member of staff who does everything and is not able to manage and keep minimum cleanliness. There are four showers for the whole hostel, so queuing took 30 minutes to get a shower. Do not stay here unless an emergency.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Atmosphere was pretty average. Staff did bit seem motivated and were not very helpful as a result. Kitchen was like a sauna. No fridge space WHATSOEVER! Pretty average overall


37%

The staff were extremely rude and unorganised. The bathroom was not clean, a once day cleaning is obviously not adequate. Only one working plug in the room for 6 people. My designated bed was not ready, i waited over half an hour for the staff to decide what to do, and bring me fresh laundry, of which the staff member never returned after waiting 20 mins so i had to strip another unused bed in the room and do it myself and then went and told the member of staff who was gossiping away.


(135 results)


View all Oxford Hostels

Please give us your feedback