X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PILOT Design Hostel & Bar Reviews

Largo Alberto Pimentel, 11, Porto, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
1048 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

Very rowdy. People are loud until 6am and walls are very thin. Poorly regulated hostel. Boys banging on girls' door very late, waking everyone up, and entering in. Did not enjoy this experience.


91%

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Really good location. Nice facilities. And the free walking tour is super cool , which definitely helps you know more about the city's history and daily life. The showers could be improved a bit though. Maybe I didn't get the right way to use it but it kind of annoyed me that I had to press the button every thirty seconds to keep the water coming out. Other than that everything is perfect!

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Pilot was awesome! This was my first time traveling solo and Pilot was the first stop - had a great time. Hughlights were the walking tour of Porto with Flavia and the pub crawl. Atmosphere was great! one suggestion - the plug strip on the bottom of the couch in the common room was hard to find. I don't think anyone knew where it was until a staff member showed it to us on day 2 - within 5 minutes all the plugs were in use! maybe tape it to the top of the table in the middle of the couches?

  • 22nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

the hostel s staff nice and friendly .good organizzation ,nice room .one of the best hostel where i stayed


100%

Pilot was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! It was one of my first times traveling alone and the staff helped make it so much fun! They were always full of suggestions for things to do and knew me (and many other guests) by name. The hostel is clean, has a great location, and builds a great atmosphere for meeting new people :) thank you guys so much! -Lori

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Really friendly staff, nice big rooms, working hot showers. Nice outside garden, good vibe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and got to relax in our garden! We hope to welcome you again soon! OBRIGADA, PILOT Crew

89%

Great hostel, staff is very friendly, has a free shot every night to help people to know each other. The rooms could have more power outlets, though.


86%

Staff are really attentive and super friendly! Not really any bad things to say, other than the lack of bedside power points.


100%

Best hostel in Porto by far! I loved it so much! If I ever come back I would stay there again for sure. The staff is amazing! Great people! Loved Pilot!

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

86%

I loved the staff at Pilot they were amazing. The location is great if you want to go out to bars and clubs at night and don't mind the noise. Definitely a good place to go if you're down to party!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

83%

People already said how nice staff was and its true. Problem is with facilities. Bathrooms are mixed and showers don't have enough space. You just have to accept giving up on decency (I'm obviously on the prudish side). Besides I don't know what was wrong with showers but I had to take cold showers twice. I know it's healthy but it's unpleasant. At last there are no individual lights for each bed so people need to turn on the main light when entering the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for bringing to our attention your experience with the shower. We located the shower you are talking about for our maintenance department. They will inspect it right away and address any existing challenges. We are an eco-friendly hostel, our illumination system is activated by movement detecting sensors. Moreover each room has its own lamps so guests that come in later don't bother the ones already sleeping. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

97%

The staff make every effort to not only make you feel at home but to also get to know you. The bed was probably the most comfortable bed, I've ever slept in aside from my own. Unfortunately the hostel is a little bit away from the center of the town, but it is about a 20 min to all the main sites. The 15 euro dinner + pub crawl is essential to do. 4 course dinner with a drink and then 2 drinks at the hostel's bar before going to 3 bars and a night club. With drinks at each place. Yeah book it.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for staying with us, and sharing your lovely review of our hostel. I am glad to learn you had an exceptional time with us and had the opportunity to try our homemade lunch/dinner. The music, ambience, free shots, and tasty Portuguese cuisine create unforgettable experiences, and we are proud to have them on our property.We believe that our central localization is crucial,since we are a 5 min walk distance from the main metro station. We hope to welcome you another time. PILOT Crew

69%

I'm not really sure why this hostel has received such high reviews. Although it wasn't a bad hostel, it wasn't close to the best I've been to. First is the showers. On hostel world it is advertised that you have "hot showers". You may have had "hot showers" but I never got one. I even changed shower times to see if it was because of volume. The kitchen wasn't clean at all. The only phenomenal part of this hostel is it's staff. They really go above an beyond! They're the only reason id stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! The conditions you describe don't reflect our typical high standards; we were sorry to learn about the maintenance challenges. Your experiences have been shared with our housekeeping and maintenance departments for their immediate attention. We located the shower you are talking about for our maintenance department. They will inspect it right away and address any existing challenges. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

So much fun at Pilot Hostel! The bike tour was awesome, and the room was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our bike tour and hostel facilities! We are looking forward to welcome you soon! Obrigada, PILOT Crew

100%

Great staff who were always very helpful. Incredible location and facilities. The hostel has such a cool modern look and feel to it. People enjoy hanging out in the common areas so there's always something going on. The price is VERY affordable and the hostel staff can assist you with getting around/ places to see etc. I give it 100%

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

94%

My friend and I had a really nice stay at PILOT. The hostel was new, very clean and the facilities are great, they have rain showers! Also, the bunk beds are stable, so if the other person in the bed moves, you don't feel anything :) The staff was super friendly and helpful. I have one small point of recommendation: Even though it's nice that you get a lot of information while checking in, when you are third in line the waiting is far too long as we had to wait for an hour..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Regarding the check in we are really sorry to learn about your experiences at our reception. We normally try to share information with our guests in order for you to enjoy Porto as much as you can! On behalf of the hostel, we thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Obrigada!

86%

I loved my stay at PILOT and met the greatest people. The stuff was friendly and very helpful and I was really sad to leave. Thanks for great advice and hospitality, Katrin :)

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

97%

The staff and the hostel exceeded our expectations by far! Will recommend this hostel to anyone. Great hostel and team - thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

Best hostel yet! Staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful. Location couldnt be better for Porto as its a 1 minute walk to everything you need. They have great events and fun things to do every night too!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

Missing The amazing staff

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(98 results)


View all Porto Hostels

Please give us your feedback