X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PILOT Design Hostel & Bar Reviews

Largo Alberto Pimentel, 11, Porto, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
1101 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Really great hostel, very clean and friendly staff. Great for meeting people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

91%

The value for money of this hostel is excellent. You pay a relative small fee and get a great place. The location is also pretty good, near the night spot of the city where you can find all sorts of bars and lots of people on the street during the night. Also the room was very clean and the staff was very helpful and nice with us. I totally recommend the place

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

Porto is a small but a charming city with a lots of things to see! Pilot is in right place with amazing location! All the reviews I read about staff were true! They are incredible andfriendly, and show me some local points whereee I bought a lots of second hand clothes ;) my tip is Order a mojito and ask to sleep in room 14!!!

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

The hostel is AMAZING! I only booked one night, and i stayed until today. Thanks to Thiago and Dani, they made my nights. Thanks to Pedro, the walkingtour was incredible. I already miss you guys. Sorry for leave the hostel so early, but now lisbon is waiting for me! :)

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

Very nice hostel! Nice accomodation and nice staff!!!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review.PILOT Crew

63%

Reception was okay when we arrived but nothing more. Only one toilet for the floor. Breakfast included was nice but the music playing is always too loud. I guess they are trying to create a party atmosphere but it doesnt suit everyone. Overall an okay hostel but i would try another one before going back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your feedback. The conditions you describe don't reflect our typical high standards. You can find in our hostel, 3 bathrooms per floor, an individual shower, an individual bathroom, and finally a big bathroom with 3 showers. Also, in our ground floor you can find another bathroom that you can use. We have a 24h bar and reception and we encourage our guests to come socialize whenever they want in our common are, but to respect the sleep of our other guests. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

69%

The stuff could be more helpfull! We were told that there are no places to go out on a monday night, but then we just walked around and found a bar on the river with a lot of students and cheap drinks! Also they were not able to switch of a very annoying fire alarm in the morning for 30 min! And somehow the caused some trouble by checking in 7 people in our 4 bed dorm. I don´t know how that was supposed to work out :P

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! We were sorry to learn about your experiences at our reception. At Pilot Hostel we strive to satisfy all of our guests requests. Nevertheless we are confident that our team made an effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible. On behalf of the hostel, we thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your feedback. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

97%

I love this place! The only thing I have to complain is the shower, that stops very quickly and the woman that stays at night. She was very rude with me.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! We were sorry to learn about your experiences at our reception. They normally do a fantastic job and it looks like this time something went surprisingly wrong. Your comments have been shared with their manager for her immediate attention. We honestly appreciated you calling our attention for this unfortunate and rare event and hope you will give us an opportunity to excel ourselves welcoming you next time. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

91%

Great hostel, staff was very friendly and helpful and the location is great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

80%

I think that they need to improve the acoustic, the bedroom is very noise during all the night. And thry should have bathroom separate for boys and girls. It's all together. The breakfast it's very poor, I suggest to go out. Another question don't have pugs near the beds, you need to leave your thing, and some phones starts to ring during the ninght.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience that does not meet the high standards we strive for.The breakfast in addition to the fruits, 4 types of cereals and juices, we offer toast, fresh buns, chocolate cream, homemade jam, coffee and tea, which we believe provide a great start for the day. Also, you can find plug ins both in the rooms and in our common areas. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

This was one of the best hostel's ive ever stayedin, The staff was so cooperative, interactive and always available. The atmosphere was great and I met really cool people. I strongly recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

66%

Very loud No bedlight and light in the meeting room is sparkling If you like party, you can choose here But not suitable for quite people or just need a good sleep Some thing smell very bad in my room for 2 days

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your feedback. Located in the city center we made sure that our rooms are soundproof. For those that can still hear the noise, we have rooms facing our inner garden. We have 24H housekeeping team that cleans both the shared and individual toilets every hour and we encourage our guests to keep the common areas clean. OBRIGADA! PILOT Crew

97%

couldn't fault this hostel! Best staff! they felt more like friends than workers, always making conversation and introducing everyone to give an even better atmosphere. such a good common area with a nice outdoor and indoor space, as well as a bar, breakfast and dinner available too. rooms are spacious nice and clean. one of the best hostels I've stayed at! I

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

Great Hostel, amazing experience!!

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

By far the best hostel in have ever stayed at! Super modern, absolutely amazing staff. A completely unbeatable vibe! Thanks for the good times guys, until next time! ....Higgins

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

Clean and safe hostel! Best staff ever!

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

57%

Friendly staff is one of the positives from this experience. The atmosphere is upbeat and social but if you are looking for a refuge from the partying I would look elsewhere. The noise levels were loud almost all the time with no quiet hours enforced. There was only one plug in the room for everybody's chargers. Everything above having a bed was for a price which was not fun. The water pressure was good and with ample hot water however their green initiative meant that the water would shut off.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience that does not meet the high standards we strive for. We asks our guest to enjoy the 24H bar and common areas while respecting the sleeping hours. It seems like something went wrong this time and our management team was already notified. Also, you can find plug ins both in the room and in our common areas. Thank you for your feedback. OBRIGADA! PILOT Crew

83%

very nice clean fun hostel.i will stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

57%

I stayed here in a private four person room with friends. To say we were disappointed was an understatement. The room we got was tiny and cramped, by no means enough space for four people. The bathroom was dirty and flooded. I would probably not recommend this hostel to others staying in Porto.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! We were sorry to learn that you found our room a little bit too cosy. Because of our central localization, the building is typical traditional Portuguese architecture. Therefore with the constraint dimensions we try to create the most comfortable room arrangements for our guests with the beds, lockers, side furniture and individual seats. We also have 4H housekeeping team that cleans both the shared and individual toilets every hour to keep the common areas cleaned. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

54%

The facilities were dirty, toilets usually wet, especially in the lobby. The atmosphere in the evening was more a sales meeting than a joyful hostel atmosphere. If you don't join the pub crawl or order from the bar the staff showed their dissatisfaction. The kitchen was poorly equipped and all the dishes were wet all the time. No towels except two small ones that were always wet. I've seen many hostels and this was one of the poorest in terms of cleanliness and help for travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We have 24H housekeeping team that cleans both the shared and individual toilets every hour and we encourage our guests to keep the common areas clean. We were sorry to hear that you did not love our 24H open bar with music, ambiance, free shots, and tasty Portuguese cuisine. We encourage out guest to join us in our lounge to socialize, play games so that everyone can become friends. We hope to welcome you! OBRIGADA! PILOT Crew

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(107 results)


View all Porto Hostels

Please give us your feedback