X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PILOT Design Hostel & Bar Reviews

Largo Alberto Pimentel, 11, Porto, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
1034 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best hostel in Porto by far! I loved it so much! If I ever come back I would stay there again for sure. The staff is amazing! Great people! Loved Pilot!

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

86%

I loved the staff at Pilot they were amazing. The location is great if you want to go out to bars and clubs at night and don't mind the noise. Definitely a good place to go if you're down to party!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

83%

People already said how nice staff was and its true. Problem is with facilities. Bathrooms are mixed and showers don't have enough space. You just have to accept giving up on decency (I'm obviously on the prudish side). Besides I don't know what was wrong with showers but I had to take cold showers twice. I know it's healthy but it's unpleasant. At last there are no individual lights for each bed so people need to turn on the main light when entering the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for bringing to our attention your experience with the shower. We located the shower you are talking about for our maintenance department. They will inspect it right away and address any existing challenges. We are an eco-friendly hostel, our illumination system is activated by movement detecting sensors. Moreover each room has its own lamps so guests that come in later don't bother the ones already sleeping. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

97%

The staff make every effort to not only make you feel at home but to also get to know you. The bed was probably the most comfortable bed, I've ever slept in aside from my own. Unfortunately the hostel is a little bit away from the center of the town, but it is about a 20 min to all the main sites. The 15 euro dinner + pub crawl is essential to do. 4 course dinner with a drink and then 2 drinks at the hostel's bar before going to 3 bars and a night club. With drinks at each place. Yeah book it.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for staying with us, and sharing your lovely review of our hostel. I am glad to learn you had an exceptional time with us and had the opportunity to try our homemade lunch/dinner. The music, ambience, free shots, and tasty Portuguese cuisine create unforgettable experiences, and we are proud to have them on our property.We believe that our central localization is crucial,since we are a 5 min walk distance from the main metro station. We hope to welcome you another time. PILOT Crew

69%

I'm not really sure why this hostel has received such high reviews. Although it wasn't a bad hostel, it wasn't close to the best I've been to. First is the showers. On hostel world it is advertised that you have "hot showers". You may have had "hot showers" but I never got one. I even changed shower times to see if it was because of volume. The kitchen wasn't clean at all. The only phenomenal part of this hostel is it's staff. They really go above an beyond! They're the only reason id stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! The conditions you describe don't reflect our typical high standards; we were sorry to learn about the maintenance challenges. Your experiences have been shared with our housekeeping and maintenance departments for their immediate attention. We located the shower you are talking about for our maintenance department. They will inspect it right away and address any existing challenges. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

So much fun at Pilot Hostel! The bike tour was awesome, and the room was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our bike tour and hostel facilities! We are looking forward to welcome you soon! Obrigada, PILOT Crew

100%

Great staff who were always very helpful. Incredible location and facilities. The hostel has such a cool modern look and feel to it. People enjoy hanging out in the common areas so there's always something going on. The price is VERY affordable and the hostel staff can assist you with getting around/ places to see etc. I give it 100%

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

94%

My friend and I had a really nice stay at PILOT. The hostel was new, very clean and the facilities are great, they have rain showers! Also, the bunk beds are stable, so if the other person in the bed moves, you don't feel anything :) The staff was super friendly and helpful. I have one small point of recommendation: Even though it's nice that you get a lot of information while checking in, when you are third in line the waiting is far too long as we had to wait for an hour..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Regarding the check in we are really sorry to learn about your experiences at our reception. We normally try to share information with our guests in order for you to enjoy Porto as much as you can! On behalf of the hostel, we thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Obrigada!

86%

I loved my stay at PILOT and met the greatest people. The stuff was friendly and very helpful and I was really sad to leave. Thanks for great advice and hospitality, Katrin :)

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

97%

The staff and the hostel exceeded our expectations by far! Will recommend this hostel to anyone. Great hostel and team - thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

Best hostel yet! Staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful. Location couldnt be better for Porto as its a 1 minute walk to everything you need. They have great events and fun things to do every night too!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

Missing The amazing staff

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

Very nice hostel. I recommend the bike tour

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

Amazing staff, amazing atmosphere!

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

It was the greatest place we've stayed in, on our journey through Portugal. Awesome atmosphere, Thanks to very kind and helpful staff. Excellent localization ! WILL DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT TO OUR FRIENDS & EVERYONE ELSE !!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

94%

It was a very good hostel! I love it. All these people were so nice and when I come back, I will stay there again.!!! :) The pubcrawl was my favorite highlight :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your lovely review of our hostel. I am glad to learn you had an exceptional time with us and had the opportunity to try our homemade lunch/dinner. The music, ambience, free shots, and tasty Portuguese cuisine create unforgettable experiences, and we are proud to have them on our property. We hope to welcome you again in the future- obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

Loved my stay at Pilot! Great place, lovely staff, totally recommend it!

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

97%

Very good value for money. Really friendly and helpful staff. A speciall thanks to Diana!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

86%

The hostel itself was nice and really modern, although I wouldn't recommend the third floor where we had stayed because the room was really low-slung, so not really suitable for tall people. Also I would not recommend the pub crawl in the evenings but I guess it's only because of my personal taste.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! We were sorry to learn that you found our room a little bit too cosy. Because of our central localization, the building is typical traditional Portuguese architecture. Therefore with the constraint dimensions we try to create the most comfortable room arrangements for our guests with the beds, lockers, side furniture and individual seats. We gladly listen to all comments both positive and constructive in order to improve our hostel. Thank you for staying with us.Obrigada! Pilot Crew

83%

It was good for this price but I prefer the other little bit more expensive ones

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our mission is to offer our guests an unforgettable stay in Porto. Because we understand that our guest are on a budget, we want to give them the best value for their money: the most comfortable accommodation with fun activities like pub-crawls, free bike tours, home made dinners and a 24H bar where they can meet people from all over the world. Thank you for staying with us! PILOT Crew

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(100 results)


View all Porto Hostels

Please give us your feedback