X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PILOT Design Hostel & Bar Reviews

Largo Alberto Pimentel, 11, Porto, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

95%

Rating
1011 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Excellent hostel, amazing staff & great location - totally recommended!

  • 25th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

Rita is the sweetest girl I have ever met. She made my stay amazing

  • 24th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

94%

Really nice, aesthetically pleasing hostel. The staff are so nice, but it kind of felt like they were trying to squeeze as much money out of us as they could. And the showers turn off after like 5 seconds - you have to keep pushing the button to turn it on again. But a seriously amazing hostel, we had a great time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! We were sorry to learn about your experiences at our reception. They normally do a fantastic job sharing information with guests(other reason) and it looks like this time something went surprisingly wrong. Your comments have been shared with their manager for her immediate attention. We honestly appreciated you calling our attention for this unfortunate and rare event and hope you will give us an opportunity to excel ourselves welcoming you next time. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

Stayed here for one night, but would live here. Amazing.


100%

Wow this is an amazing hostel. The staff is Awesome! They make you feel right at home. The hostel is beautiful and they give a free shot at 10pm to everyone, as you imagine it gets everyone to interact quite well. Ana Is awesome she can help you with anything you need, and she can even mix up a great caipiranha. Sara took us on an excellent pub crawl and partied as I'd she was just one of us. Great job guys. Stay at the Pilot Hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

Such a great hostel! The staff was always very helpful and friendly. I signed up for the bike tour and I had an amazing time. The hostel is very comfortable and clean, yummy breakfast!

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

10/10 - would definitely go back! The location was great, it's near good sightseeing and the going out scene. Staff was fantastic, especially Daniela. They answered any questions I had and told me about cool things to check out in the city. The atmosphere in the hostel is really nice! It's a small hostel that has a bar area with couches where people hangout after sight seeing and before going out. I went alone and it was a great location to meet people.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

It was a great experience! There is a lot going on at the hostel: walking tours, bike tours, party dinners, games nights - I met a lot of amazing people and I had loads of fun! The hostel is really well located and the facilities are excellent - totally recommended!

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your lovely review of our hostel. I am glad to learn you had an exceptional time with us and had the opportunity to try our homemade lunch/dinner. The music, ambience, free shots, and tasty Portuguese cuisine create unforgettable experiences, and we are proud to have them on our property. We hope to welcome you again in the future- obrigada! Pilot Crew

69%

The staff is really nice and helpful. I would recomment to borrow some bikes from the hostel and join the city-trip (about 10 Euro/day). After the "official trip" you should definitely go to the beach by bike. It's the best alternative to go there and to watch the beautiful landscape! The facilities are clean, but I've seen better! The dorms are quite noisy.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your experience regarding the noise has been shared with our Hostel Management. We gladly listen to all comments both positive and constructive in order to improve our guests experience. Our 24hour reception is available and prepared to help our guests with any request. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

Great place to spend few days in Porto, staff is very helpful and open, it is one of the cleanest hostels i have ever been, very nice common place where i met a lot of people from different part of world.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

The Home! I have to call this hostel, becose I felit like if I was whit my family. Everybody been so nice and friendly, not just the costomers even the workers. Everything been clean, at nigth thay ofer a delicius dinner and amazing Pub Crawl. I really recomenate, to call it The Home or even Your Home :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

Such a clean hostel! Very modern areas! And a fun time!! idk about serving the same dinner multiple nights in a row.. like the leftovers. but I had a great stay. tiny fridge, so no room for your food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

100%

Its the best hotel I have ever been..clean rooms and sheets and the staff is incredible

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Andorra
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada Pilot Crew!

91%

The hostel is great - very clean, they really do clean the bathrooms every hour. The kitchen is a bit small and there is no oil/salt/pepper etc so bring your own! Beds are comfortable. Rooms are a bit cold because they only have little heaters, but apparently that is the same everywhere in Portugal... Overall - great hostel. (And super easy to get to from airport!)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada Pilot Crew!

100%

Thank you for an amazing day! It was my first time in a hostel and it was really good. great friends

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada Pilot Crew!

83%

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights during january. The hostel is in the city center so perfect for everyone who wants to visit around. The staff are very nice and always there to help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada Pilot Crew!

100%

Loved my time in pilot hostel. Staff are lovely and always helpful. Free shot at night. The beds are awesome and very clean

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada Pilot Crew!

94%

There was no heating in the rooms. It was freezing inside, and the humidity was horrible. Our towels would not dry for two days, the room was always really cold and we got a cold upon our return.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for bringing to our attention to your experience with the shower. We located the room you are talking about for our maintenance department. They will inspect it right away and address any existing challenges. Obrigada for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the future. Obrigada Pilot Crew

91%

The staff was super sweet and the hostel had a really good atmosphere!!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada Pilot Crew!

100%

Thanks pilot for an amazing stay!

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada! Pilot Crew

(106 results)


View all Porto Hostels

Please give us your feedback