X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PILOT Design Hostel & Bar Reviews

Largo Alberto Pimentel, 11, Porto, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
1112 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

Friendly staff is one of the positives from this experience. The atmosphere is upbeat and social but if you are looking for a refuge from the partying I would look elsewhere. The noise levels were loud almost all the time with no quiet hours enforced. There was only one plug in the room for everybody's chargers. Everything above having a bed was for a price which was not fun. The water pressure was good and with ample hot water however their green initiative meant that the water would shut off.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience that does not meet the high standards we strive for. We asks our guest to enjoy the 24H bar and common areas while respecting the sleeping hours. It seems like something went wrong this time and our management team was already notified. Also, you can find plug ins both in the room and in our common areas. Thank you for your feedback. OBRIGADA! PILOT Crew

83%

very nice clean fun hostel.i will stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

57%

I stayed here in a private four person room with friends. To say we were disappointed was an understatement. The room we got was tiny and cramped, by no means enough space for four people. The bathroom was dirty and flooded. I would probably not recommend this hostel to others staying in Porto.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! We were sorry to learn that you found our room a little bit too cosy. Because of our central localization, the building is typical traditional Portuguese architecture. Therefore with the constraint dimensions we try to create the most comfortable room arrangements for our guests with the beds, lockers, side furniture and individual seats. We also have 4H housekeeping team that cleans both the shared and individual toilets every hour to keep the common areas cleaned. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

54%

The facilities were dirty, toilets usually wet, especially in the lobby. The atmosphere in the evening was more a sales meeting than a joyful hostel atmosphere. If you don't join the pub crawl or order from the bar the staff showed their dissatisfaction. The kitchen was poorly equipped and all the dishes were wet all the time. No towels except two small ones that were always wet. I've seen many hostels and this was one of the poorest in terms of cleanliness and help for travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for your feedback. We have 24H housekeeping team that cleans both the shared and individual toilets every hour and we encourage our guests to keep the common areas clean. We were sorry to hear that you did not love our 24H open bar with music, ambiance, free shots, and tasty Portuguese cuisine. We encourage out guest to join us in our lounge to socialize, play games so that everyone can become friends. We hope to welcome you! OBRIGADA! PILOT Crew

100%

The hostel facilities are excellent (especially the 24 hour bar!); it' in a fantastic location near to the attractions, good restaurants and the the nighlife. Best of all the staff are really friendly an they organised excellent activities. Thank you: I hope to visit again one day!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

97%

I loveed the hostel.. Just two things 1. My bed wasnt made when i arrived and 2. Didnt like paying 2 euros to leave my backpack in the luggage room.. Besides that the hostel its almost a hotel its very modern, super nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We welcome our guests to arrive at any hour and enjoy our facilities until they can check-in after 15.00. With our luggage service you can explore the city even after check-out without worrying about your belongings! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again! OBRIGADA! PILOT Crew

89%

Nice hostel with great facilities, the location is also good with lots of restaurants and laundry service nearby! The staff are also all very nice, especially Daniella, who is a very interesting and fun girl! Would recommend to other travelers!


60%

Very rowdy. People are loud until 6am and walls are very thin. Poorly regulated hostel. Boys banging on girls' door very late, waking everyone up, and entering in. Did not enjoy this experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience that does not meet the high standards we strive for. We asks our guest to enjoy the 24H bar and common areas while respecting the sleeping hours. It seems like something went wrong this time and our management team was already notified. Thank you for your feedback. OBRIGADA! PILOT Crew

100%

Pilot was by far the best hostel experience I have had. The staff was amazing. I will definitely return for my next visit to Porto.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey!Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review! We work hard to make sure that all our guests are having a great time and your answer is exactly what we are striving for! We hope to welcome you again soon! OBRIGADA! PILOT Crew

91%

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Really good location. Nice facilities. And the free walking tour is super cool , which definitely helps you know more about the city's history and daily life. The showers could be improved a bit though. Maybe I didn't get the right way to use it but it kind of annoyed me that I had to press the button every thirty seconds to keep the water coming out. Other than that everything is perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your lovely review! We are happy you enjoyed our facilities and the free walking tour! Our showers are timed as are Eco-friendly and want to do our part for the environment. We hope to welcome you again soon! OBRIGADA! PILOT Crew

100%

Pilot was awesome! This was my first time traveling solo and Pilot was the first stop - had a great time. Hughlights were the walking tour of Porto with Flavia and the pub crawl. Atmosphere was great! one suggestion - the plug strip on the bottom of the couch in the common room was hard to find. I don't think anyone knew where it was until a staff member showed it to us on day 2 - within 5 minutes all the plugs were in use! maybe tape it to the top of the table in the middle of the couches?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey!Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and had a chance to go on the walking tour and pub crawl! Thank you for your suggestion! We hope to welcome you again soon! OBRIGADA! PILOT Crew

100%

the hostel s staff nice and friendly .good organizzation ,nice room .one of the best hostel where i stayed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for taking the time to write your lovey review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon! OBRIGADA! PILOT Crew

100%

Pilot was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at! It was one of my first times traveling alone and the staff helped make it so much fun! They were always full of suggestions for things to do and knew me (and many other guests) by name. The hostel is clean, has a great location, and builds a great atmosphere for meeting new people :) thank you guys so much! -Lori

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you very much for your kind words! We are proud to have made your first traveling alone experience unforgettable. We work very hard to make everyone feel like at home and your feedback is exactly what we are striving for. We hope to welcome you again! OBRIGADA! PILOT Crew

83%

Really friendly staff, nice big rooms, working hot showers. Nice outside garden, good vibe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and got to relax in our garden! We hope to welcome you again soon! OBRIGADA, PILOT Crew

89%

Great hostel, staff is very friendly, has a free shot every night to help people to know each other. The rooms could have more power outlets, though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. In all of our rooms you can find power outlets and also in our common area. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

86%

Staff are really attentive and super friendly! Not really any bad things to say, other than the lack of bedside power points.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you had fun with our staff! Because of our location in the historical center we have some limitations regarding power outlets. Nevertheless we are already working out a solution and we will offer bedside power point very soon. We hope to welcome you again soon! OBRIGADA! PILOT Crew

100%

Best hostel in Porto by far! I loved it so much! If I ever come back I would stay there again for sure. The staff is amazing! Great people! Loved Pilot!

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

86%

I loved the staff at Pilot they were amazing. The location is great if you want to go out to bars and clubs at night and don't mind the noise. Definitely a good place to go if you're down to party!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

83%

People already said how nice staff was and its true. Problem is with facilities. Bathrooms are mixed and showers don't have enough space. You just have to accept giving up on decency (I'm obviously on the prudish side). Besides I don't know what was wrong with showers but I had to take cold showers twice. I know it's healthy but it's unpleasant. At last there are no individual lights for each bed so people need to turn on the main light when entering the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for bringing to our attention your experience with the shower. We located the shower you are talking about for our maintenance department. They will inspect it right away and address any existing challenges. We are an eco-friendly hostel, our illumination system is activated by movement detecting sensors. Moreover each room has its own lamps so guests that come in later don't bother the ones already sleeping. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

97%

The staff make every effort to not only make you feel at home but to also get to know you. The bed was probably the most comfortable bed, I've ever slept in aside from my own. Unfortunately the hostel is a little bit away from the center of the town, but it is about a 20 min to all the main sites. The 15 euro dinner + pub crawl is essential to do. 4 course dinner with a drink and then 2 drinks at the hostel's bar before going to 3 bars and a night club. With drinks at each place. Yeah book it.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for staying with us, and sharing your lovely review of our hostel. I am glad to learn you had an exceptional time with us and had the opportunity to try our homemade lunch/dinner. The music, ambience, free shots, and tasty Portuguese cuisine create unforgettable experiences, and we are proud to have them on our property.We believe that our central localization is crucial,since we are a 5 min walk distance from the main metro station. We hope to welcome you another time. PILOT Crew

(110 results)


View all Porto Hostels

Please give us your feedback