X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PILOT Design Hostel & Bar Reviews

Largo Alberto Pimentel, 11, Porto, Portugal

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
1552 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Good and confortable rooms. The staff is really nice and friendly and the bathrooms were clean all the time i was there.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

The hostel was incredible. Rita (from reception) was really nice and helped us out arranging a plan for the days in order to see the city. Also she was an amazing Pub Crawl guide! We had a lot of fun. The hostel was so nice we ended up staying one extra night there. Really well located! Thank you Rita!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

97%

Wicked hostel. The staff were amazing. The bar was cheap. The only issue was the lack of power sockets which wasn't much of an issue to be fair.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. In all of our rooms you can find several power outlets, and in our common areas as well. We hope to welcome again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

Amazing hostel. Thank you to all the staff. You made my stay!!

  • 8th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

89%

I loved that the bar was open 24/7. There was plenty of space to hang out in the lobby--there's even a patio. The dinner with the pub crawl was a little disappointing. They gave me a frozen pizza because they didn't have enough of the main dish, which was a fish, potato, cheese and spinach dish that my fiends didn't like. The only other thing that bothered me was the bathroom. The floor was constantly wet and dirty. I recommend bringing flip flops.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear you didn't love our pubcrawl. We serve typical portuguese food in order to provide you a delightful and complete experience of our city. The music, ambience, free shots, and tasty Portuguese cuisine create unforgettable experiences, and we are proud to have them on our property. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

97%

Really nice hostal! Thanks!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

Had the best time here! The staff were super! Especially our mate Hugo. The facilities were fantastic. The 24 hour bar was great and had a great vibe. Can't go past the cheap drinks as well. Such a family feel with the pub crawl and dinner. Beds were comfortable and clean. Only thing I would say wasn't fantastic was that the shower didn't have taps. Just a button you had to press continuously to keep the water going (very Eco👍). Overall Fantastic though. Would go back 1000%. Thanks pilot!

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

83%

Came for 3 days in December and had a great time, really friendly staff that I ended up going out with on Friday and Saturday night. Nice lounge area and kitchen too. Only complaint was the fact there was one single outlet in my room of six, not very convenient.

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. In all of our rooms you can find several power outlets, and in our common areas as well. We hope to welcome again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

Porto was my first solo trip and I was a bite nervous going alone, but everyone at the hostel was so friendly and nice especially Hugo! When there was not enough people to do a pub crawl, he invited us to join him and some of his friends out after he got off and it was a great night! He went out of his way to help me with anything I needed. The hostel itself was also very nice. It was always clean, always had a friendly atmosphere, had a outside terrance, and a free shot at 10 every night!

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

My stay at Pilot Hostel has been great! When me and my friend arrived, we were offered two shots of fine Porto wine, and there was no better way to begin our vacation in Porto. The Hostel is quite near to the Ribeira, it has a beautiful wide room in which one can have a chat with the other guests or play a guitar. The showers and the beds are clean and comfortable. But the most pleasurable thing of the hostel is the staff! Rita has been very kind towards us every time we needed something.

  • 29th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, amenities, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

One of a kind. The facilities and cleanliness were immaculate, and the pub crawls inject local experience (and heaps of fun) into your stay. The warmth of the staff reaches you instantly through their remembering of your name, and the vibe is such that it as though you are part of an international community, rather than a guest. Rita, one of the outstanding receptionists, worked for the most part of my stay and she went tirelessly out of her way to ensure that people were enjoying themselves.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

94%

Pilot was really great on many levels yet, as a 40-year-old, I will probably pick something with a slightly older atmosphere next time. The staff was super helpful and accommodating and the amenities good. I really enjoyed my time in Porto...thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

69%

Not bad, except for the whole party atmosphere I did not enjoy. Not really a place where you can relax and share an experience. The breakfast was good and plenty. The room was freezing cold, and some of the "design" choices I did not understand, like the water pump in the shower that you have to press every 10 seconds. Also the deposit only provides a room key, not a key for your locker.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear that you did not love our 24H open bar with music, ambiance, free shots,and tasty Portuguese cuisine. We encourage our guest to join us in our lounge to socialize, play games and go with us on a pub crawl, so that everyone becomes friends, or just relax in our common area. We provide heaters in all of our rooms and our showers are timed with an Eco-friendly system! We hope to welcome you again in the future! Obrigada! PILOT Crew

97%

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Its location is perfect, the staff is genuinely friendly and available 24/7, and the place is being kept clean all the time (really, ALL the time). The only thing I missed in the room are power outlets, which are few and far away from the beds-the beds themselves are very comfortable. The atmosphere is great--the bar has a foosball table, and you can have craft beers or bottles of wine for reasonable prices. Overall, extremely pleasant experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for your kind review. Your response is exactly what we are aiming for here and we are more than happy to hear that we we're able to provide you delightful experience. In all of our rooms you can find several power outlets, and in our common areas as well. We hope to welcome again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

94%

Pertect stay there for 4 nights ! =)

  • 22nd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

I really liked this hostel, highly recommendable. The only thing I didn't like was the breakfast, too expensive for what it was.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We were sorry to learn that you didn't love our breakfast. In addition to the fruits,4 types of cereals and 5juices, we offer toast, fresh buns, chocolate cream, homemade jam, coffee and tea which we believe will provide a great start for the day.T hank you for staying with us, and sharing your feedback. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

I had a really awesome stay in Porto. The Hostel staff were really friendly and helpful. I was visiting during a quiet time of year, and the staff were still able to make sure I had a good time. The place was really clean and had everything I needed. There's a big common room to hang out and meet other backpackers if you're on your own. The location was conveniently close to the bars and downtown area. Special thanks to Margarida!

  • 16th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your kind review. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been shared with our team internally. We thank you as well for praising Margarida. The whole team, works very hard to make sure all our guests benefit the best service. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

PILOT is the best Hostel I have stayed so far ! I have traveled across the Europe, and have never been to place that clean, well located and friendly ! The beds are super comfy, showers are specious and the atmosphere is AWESOME ! It's a perfect place for everyone(couples, singles, families!). I RECOMEND IT TO EVERYONE WHO IS ABOUT TO VISIT PORTO !!!!!!!

  • 16th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly and safe hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

86%

Good location near the central boulvar, excellent staff and facilities. Only shame is that lockers have to be locked by personal locks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our hostel. We are always glad to hear that our friendly hostel helped make your experience in Porto memorable.Our lockers need personal locks in order to provide security to our guests to put their personal objects in safe, you also can rent a lock per only 1.00€ at reception. On behalf of the hostel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

100%

A quiet and comfortable hostel just what i needed. Nice staff and facilities and the matress is amazing. I totally recommend it

  • 11th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey ! Thank you for the kind words about our hostel, and friendly staff. We are glad to hear you liked our property, and enjoyed your visit with us. Please contact us if you would like to stay with us again in the future as we always look forward to welcoming our guests for a return visit. Obrigada for taking the time to share your lovely review. Obrigada! PILOT Crew

(111 results)


View all Porto Hostels

Please give us your feedback