Hostelworld.com

PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 642 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 642 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
7th Feb 2017
5.1

Stayed in a single pod room for 3 nights. Considering the price of RM65 for a small room with no air-conditioning, this hostel is utter disappointment. The only plus is the location which is a stone throws away from kl sentral thus easy commute around kl. Surrounded by a mini mart, 7-11 and eateries. Security wise, acceptable. No laundry/pantry. Toilets are spacious but need improvements. You can get a RM70 hotel with air-conditioning + pvt toilet rather than opt for this.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Jan 2017
7.4

The first hostel I've stayed in where the staff were frankly rude. The spent most of the time talking to themselves and would just ignore you at the reception or the cafe. The facilities were fine and the place clean. Overall good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mongolia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
6.6

A location was good close to Sentral train station just in 5 minutes walk. A lounge area was nice and cozy. A room had a bad smell and too small, no aircon only fan. It was true the people who are staying there were many old men and it was a bit scary for me. I think it is ok place if you stay one or two nights just passing over there and prefer to stay close to train station. Not an ideal place for people want to socialize a lot and have a backpackers atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • jstace4
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.7

Where to start... We stayed in the dorm, was ideal, so spacious and a good view on the street below. Staff were so helpful at everything, couldn't vouch for them enough! The air-con randomly broke in the dorm and the heat was unbearable but they did everything they could to accommodate their customers! Facilities were very good, warm showers n clean toilets. Live music regularly which is nice to chill in the lobby. Enjoyed our stay there, fully.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Jan 2017
9.1

Stayed here on two occasions. Private room and dorms. Prefer the dorms because there is actually more space to move around. Perfect location near transportation etc. Staff were helpful and I have no complaints. Will stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Dec 2016
8.0

The facilities are great, location is brilliant being right next to KL Sentral to catch the Metro/Monorail to other parts of the city. The atmosphere was lacking though, most of the beds seemed to be filled by older men from surrounding countries who were trying to find jobs, which meant the social element of staying in a hostel wasn't great. The staff were very attentive and friendly, and it's good value for money too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Cambodia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Dec 2016
10.0

I would definitely recommend it to my friends!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Dec 2016
8.3

good locality

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th Dec 2016
8.0

Rooms were cute, small and basic but fine. Hostel was clean and not far walk to get to the tube station. Free toast, tea and coffee in the morning. Staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed 3 nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Nov 2016
9.7

PODs is my go to hostel when in KL! It is very close to KL Sentral which makes it easy to travel anywhere in the city and to the airport! The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I definitely recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in KL!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.