Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

PODs The Backpackers Home

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 591 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 591 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6
PODs The Backpackers Home Located at G-6, No 30 Jalan Thambipillay, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur.
PODs The Backpackers Home
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur Wilayah Persekutuan 50470 G-6, No 30 Jalan Thambipillay, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur
82% 591
3.1319083 101.6880530
PODs The Backpackers Home
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Sep 2016
5.7

No atmosphere, nobody socialises much. There are a lot of older clients...it is more like a cheap hotel than a hostel. The twin private room felt more like a prison cell; no windows, the room was very small like a pea in a pod. Best thing about the hostel is the location. Coffee was expensive and not very good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Sep 2016
9.1

Stayed one night. Not the most social hostel but nice and clean and in a good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Sep 2016
8.9

I was only here for one night, so I can't tell too many things! I stayed here because I wanted an easy transfer to the airport the next day, and this hostel is just next to KL Sentral, where you can find the bus and the train to get there. It's located in Little India, where there are a lot of cheap and good restaurants. The staff I met was nice and helpful, they let me print my flight tickets for 1 ringgit per page. Nice common area which is also a restaurant. Clean and quiet at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
15th Sep 2016
7.7

Finding the place was the challenge. Liked the place except for the bathrooms. Breakfast was basic but free.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • ncabrera
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2016
7.4

Though this location couldn't be any better (quick walk to KL Sentral and connected malls), we certainly could ask for more in terms of the state of repair of the facilities. The area in the 4th Floor Dorms was a little run down and untidy, there was a heap of stuff and dusty supplies near the bathrooms and there were unsightly handwritten notices everywhere. The smell in the dorm bothered me, and it could use a bit of airing out. Other than that, staff were friendly and the place near dining.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
7.7

Not a bad place to spend a few nights. We chose it mostly because we needed quick access to the airport train early in the morning. It's a super quick walk to KL Sentral. Beds were fine and the aircon worked well. However, the lockers in the rooms were terrible clunky, plastic things that could probably be opened without a key. They have DIY laundry facilities, but the machines barely work.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Aug 2016
9.7

Second time I've stayed at PODs - and for good reason. The place is well run with comfortable beds and a good cafe down stairs. Being in a 5 minute walk of KL sentral makes it easy to get the monorail - especially for the bus as its one change or a direct one (somehow couldn't figure that one out) Enjoy your stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2016
6.3

There is only one way to describe pods basic, the bathroom was dirty. The Shower was like showering in a shed

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
24th Aug 2016
8.0

the hostel is close to the Nu Sentral transport hub which has many modes of transport available. the cafe downstairs is large and a good place to chill.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
9.7

Really friendly staff who can tell you everything from transport to things to do and places to eat. Let us get a shower whilst we were waiting to check in. A plug above each bedspace and secure lockers and keys supplied. Great place to stay and would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.