Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

PODs The Backpackers Home

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 572 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
PODs The Backpackers Home Located at G-6, No 30 Jalan Thambipillay, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur.
PODs The Backpackers Home
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur Wilayah Persekutuan 50470 G-6, No 30 Jalan Thambipillay, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur
82% 572
3.1319083 101.6880530
PODs The Backpackers Home
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
21st Aug 2016
9.4

Great location, lovely staff, really nice place, id happily stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
9.1

I felt very safe at this hostel, and the dorms and showers were very clean the entire time. The bathrooms are some of the cleanest in all of KL. The staff may seem cold initially, they warm up quickly. The other backpackers staying there are usually busy with their own tight-packed schedules so there is not a large amount of community to be had.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2016
7.4

The Place was clean, the location is good and the staff were friendly. We booked a twin room, but I have to say it was tiny, it wasn't easy to fit two rucksacks and ourselves in! And we found the A/C to be quite cold and you cannot adjust it, which was a nuisance. Breakfast is toast with a variety of jam/ chocolate spread options, tea and coffee. The showers and toilets were fine, and the chill out area with TV is a nice touch. Overall it was an OK hostel for our stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.6

Lovely staff and great locations. Poor AC in rooms and basic bathrooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
8.3

The staff was excellent. Really helpful. One girl at the front counter even walked me into KL Senteal to show me where I wanted to go. The location is excellent right by KL Senteal, the main train hub. The only complaint I have is the age limit. I was in a dorm room with 65+ year old men and it was very uncomfortable and disturbing and they were extremely creepy. If you're a solo female I'd recommend a private room for this specific reason. Would only stay here again in a private.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Aug 2016
8.3

I booked the large dorm and the air conditioning definitely didn't work so the room was pretty hot and stuffy, otherwise the hostel was pretty nice. Staff were friendly and place was clean - price was decent and super close to KL Sentral. I wouldn't stay there longer than a night or two but it was good for what it was.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jul 2016
9.7

Optimal location if you're taking the trains since the hostel is located right next to KL sentral station. Staff is friendly but are not able to speak mandarin so english is preferred at least. Central air-conditioning works fine and there is a storage locker and personal power socket for electrical appliances. Only negative side is that the wifi doesn't reach the higher levels so you have to use your electrical devices in the common room. But that promotes interaction with other people too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2016
7.4

Small single room (fine), no window (not great) and aircon that couldn't be controled (I was too cold during the night). Great location and nice communal area, but I'll be looking elsewhere next time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jul 2016
8.0

Good place to stay overnight in KL. Comfortabel pod and a nice locaties close to KL Sentral. Not a good place to socialize though. But fine for just one night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
7.1

I think I was using this property much as other backpackers and families do, as a short transit hub for routes through KL. That obviously explains the general atmosphere within the hostel (or lack thereof). But otherwise, it serves its purpose usefully and is literally a 3-5 walk across from KL Sentral. Great for transit, but perhaps not so much for a backpacking trip since you're pretty much up to yourself.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.