Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

PODs The Backpackers Home

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
PODs The Backpackers Home Located at G-6, No 30 Jalan Thambipillay, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur.
PODs The Backpackers Home
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur Wilayah Persekutuan 50470 G-6, No 30 Jalan Thambipillay, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur
83% 550
3.1319083 101.6880530
PODs The Backpackers Home
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
26th Jul 2016
7.4

Small single room (fine), no window (not great) and aircon that couldn't be controled (I was too cold during the night). Great location and nice communal area, but I'll be looking elsewhere next time.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jul 2016
7.1

I think I was using this property much as other backpackers and families do, as a short transit hub for routes through KL. That obviously explains the general atmosphere within the hostel (or lack thereof). But otherwise, it serves its purpose usefully and is literally a 3-5 walk across from KL Sentral. Great for transit, but perhaps not so much for a backpacking trip since you're pretty much up to yourself.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
10.0

Was sad that I only stayed here for one night. The staff was great and they had a nice common room. Each person had a locker and security was very good. They let me store my luggage for a very cheap price for about two weeks. The location is very good especially if you traveled by train, very near metro line. Great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aryehgizbar
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.9

A good option for backpackers. Hostel is accessible via KL sentral and is nearby a lot of food establishment and the NU Sentral Mall. They also have their own cafe and lounge area. Staff are nice and helpful. Rooms are well kept and clean. You're given access cards for you to be able to enter the floor where your room/bunk bed is located. Price is good, so good that beds are easily taken if you're not booking fast enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jul 2016
10.0

Arrived in the early hours but nothing was too much trouble. Would def recommend, great chilled atmosphere the following day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jun 2016
10.0

Definitely recommend! We arrived late and had to do so much laundry, we were told that wasn't a problem and the older man at reception washed and dried it through the night, and had it ready by 7:30am. Breakfast included, comfortable and chilled common area and ideal location. Can't rate PODs high enough.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • onlymarble
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th Jun 2016
7.4

Bathroom was not very clean, and wifi was a bit weak in the rooms. The lighting of the room was also quite poor, as mine had no windows. However, the hostel was next to KL Sentral which was convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
8.0

Great location if you are wanting a quick stop over- close to KL Sentral train station and easy to find. Good free breakfast and good communal area with a TV. Bathrooms were a little shabby but nothing else to complain about!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2016
7.7

This place is very accessible to KL Sentral and a great place so stay when arriving from or departing Kuala Lumpur airport. Although on both my visits there was no social atmosphere, and not much of a guesthouse vibe (probably because guests were transiting too). Good security, filtered water, and luggage storage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • sdm0037337
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2016
6.0

This place is boring. No atmosphere and staff are sometime rude. Great location otherwise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.