X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

PODs The Backpackers Home Reviews

6-1, No 30 Jalan Thambipillay, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
424 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Fine place to stay, though I was disappointed about the private rooms not exactly being private (although perhaps this was a misunderstanding of the description on my part). The walls do not reach the roof, so light and air conditioning are communal even in a private room, and sound travels a lot. Nice and clean though, and very secure. Had no troubles with an early check out, and very easy to find and get to with public transport. USB ports in the room was a nice touch :)


91%

Located right next to kl Sentral. Perfect for those traveling to and from the airport. The staff is super friendly and the rooms are clean.


91%

The total stay was very good I felt it was a nice stay i did not find any difficulty in my stay in the pod really i was very happy in the stay, If any body asks me i will propose your pods, If i come next time will stay in your pod only. Thank you

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

It was really noisy eventhough we booked a private room and the staff were lackluster and did not enforce the rules which was why It was noisy. Furthermore, the bedsheets werent clean and we were generallt not very happy.

  • 10th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

very good hostel, would stay again.

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Best value for money. Perfect location.


100%

It is a great place to stay. The staff is really helpful and nice to chat with. I just can recommend this Hostel to every Backpacker!! Go there and enjoy the Time in KL!!

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Please do yourself a favor and don't go there unless you really have to take an early bus/flight. It's quite a s****hole There's much better places to stay for this price.


100%

Must also have all male dorm-type.


46%

Terrible place..very hot..they have Air-con only at night time. One air-con for the whole floor. Hell.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Location is very good, so close to main transport hub and big shopping mall. Middle of the Indian cultural neighbourhood. But rooms are narrow and non-comfortable. All rooms seperated by non-completed walls. Practically, every rooms of same floor is merged. That means rooms are so noisy.

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Everything is good. Just the shower is a little too loud.

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Cool hostel with good location close to an amazing indian restaurant (and also just a two minute walk to MRT). Unfortunately the room's walls don't go up to the ceiling which means when someone turns on the light in the hallway yuor room will lighten up.


86%

Dorm type should not be mix male and female


77%

The staff were extremely unhelpful and rude. We asked them simple questions about where to eat or how we should go about booking buses to other cities. In both instances, their answers were very vague and completely useless. At one point my friend asked one of the guys if he had change and he just laughed in her face and said no. The only positive was that they had quick and fast wifi in the lobby, so we could use that to at least get some of our questions answered. I would NOT stay here again.


86%

A really nice place to stay in KL. I stayed in a dorm and it was really clean, no bugs at all, which is a huge advantage for me! The location is ok, 1min walking distance to the monorail and approx. 5 minutes to the subway station. A walk to the Twin Towers took me around 45mins. Lots of cheap restaurants around. And the staff is amazing. I will come back! PS. We had some problems with getting there due to misleading directions but we told the staff and they changed it already. Props!


74%

Ceiling of single room is connecting

  • 2nd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Kind of a s***hole to be honest. The facilities were pretty dirty and the bathroom seemed especially sketch. There are signs everywhere warning you not to trust any of your fellow guests, which creates the opposite of a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The location is good, though, being right next to KL Sentral and thus providing easy airport access, so it's fine if you just need a quick overnight before an early flight. If you're doing a few days in KL, though, stay somewhere else.


74%

PROS: Great place for meeting people, free toast with chocolate spread and peanut butter, free tea and coffee, huge fridge to keep your things, huge lockers per bed. CONS: No wifi in the dorm, bathroom smelt horrific of sewage and was always dirty, no soap in bathrooms, beds are old and uncomfortable and the sheets are very old and worn polyester- having to make your own bed means you see all the gross stains on the mattress. AC from 7pm-7am only so unbearably hot the rest of the time.


89%

nothing tks

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sri Lanka
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback