Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

PRISON by thehostelcrowd

  • 970/1 Anjuna Flea Market Road, Opposite La Franza Restaurant, Goa, India

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 226 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 226 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
9.1

Very good hostel, cheap, and staff are very friendly and helpful! Met so many great people at the hostel and travelled to different beaches around Goa on a daily basis with other backpackers from Prison. Only downside was the night time security guard who seemed like a bit of a pain in the hole, constantly looking to complain about something. But apart from that, I had a very good stay at prison!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • amitcemk_cse
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Mar 2017
8.3

They should take extra efforts for comforts of foreigners (specially who dont know english).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • anjboxer5566
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Mar 2017
9.4

This place was pretty sweet! Really close to the beach. It was low season and I dont think the staff cared too much as they charge like 1/10th of the price in high season. I also stayed at FunkyMonkey and thats right on the beach and I'd probs stay there if I did it again. Prison was still an awesome place though and with breakfast included how can you knock it! It probs get an aircon room next time though :P (Also FYI bring sunblock as Indian sunblock is dodgy as!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.4

Great stay at the Prison! Loved the bus bar and appreciated the WiFi and hot water. The only downside was that the staff didn't keep us up to date with what was going on in the area. Another hostelcrowd hostel Jungle had a bus put on for a day trip to Dudhsagar Falls and to the Arpora market but Prison wasn't included.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Mar 2017
5.1

Good points [Nice travellers, good party atmosphere, Close to some clubs & beach/shops, Clean] Bad points [Highly aggressive barman who abused me for taking a cup from the kitchen [no one told me we couldn't use the usually communal kitchen!]. Would not stop yelling at me for 5 mins in front of other travellers. When I ran from him out of the hostel, he chased me out. I was afraid he would hurt me. The next day as he was the chef he refused to cook me breakfast, despite me having paid]

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Mar 2017
10.0

The prison hostel was super cool. Really good concept that they have for the hostel and they run activities each day which is a great way to meet people. Devastated that I left before ladies night at club Cubana. The staff were really helpful when booking onward travel and helped one of the guys in my dorm who had broken his elbow. It is a 5-10 minute walk from the Wednesday market and the beach so it is quieter in the evening when you want to sleep. The outside area is great for meeting people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Mar 2017
9.1

Absolutely loved our time at prison. Cool theme idea, great people and atmosphere. Definitely would return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
5.1

The hostel wasnt great. I had money stolen from me inside the hostel and I once woke up at 10 and the breakfast had finished even though they say it's until 11

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there - We're sorry to hear that you had something stolen from you in the hostel. Every bed comes with lockers big enough to store the entire backpack and we ask all guests to lock up their possessions to avoid such situations. We're sorry to hear that you weren't served breakfast at 10am. We'll definitely have a word with our staff to see that it doesn't happen again. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • India, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.0

I loved my stay at prison.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the kind words!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
8.9

Wonderful staff, welcoming and friendly. Great value for money, especially with breakfast included. Not too far to walk to the beach. Definitely eat at La Franza across the road. The only downfall is the occasional power cut but I'd certainly recommend this Hostel and I'd stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review! We're glad you liked the staff and had a great time at Prison, La Franza does have some great food at a reasonable price. We're sorry about the power cuts, unfortunately, we're at the mercy of the electricity department when it comes to that. We did install a basic power backup so that the WiFi and a few fans continue to run at least. Hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in India!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.