X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pacific Coast Backpackers Lodge Reviews

432 Maunganui Road, 3116, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
51 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

WiFi is only free for 30 minutes, good table tennis table and games, poor location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi. Thanks for your review! Our WIFI is free, and additional can be purchased for $1 an hour, OR better yet, its free at the library right by us. We offer a quiet location just 600m from downtown, with bus stops right outside, we are the closest hostel to the supermarket, and beach is less than 5 minutes away - I'd say that was pretty awesome location. Plus with free bikes, Tauranga is only a 10minute bike ride away! Hope you are enjoying your travels in NZ! Thanks Brooke

86%

Very nice personal.honest and reliable

  • 7th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! It was great having you stay, glad we could get your key deposit back to you! Hope you are enjoying your travels and we are happy you found our hostel a great value for money with awesome location! Hope to see you soon, Peace, Love & Sandy Feet Brooke (Manager)

86%

This hostel is great! Brooke & Tash were amazing with regards to the booking itself and answered all my questions prior to arrival. When we did arrive, they gave us heaps of information about what was happening in the area and about the facilities - even with a grand tour of the hostel. The shower pressure was good and was nice to have a hairdryer in the bathroom for the ladies. The rooms were spacious enough and the fan in the room was appreciated! Great stay all round. Thanks!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for staying with us - it was great to have you & your friends stay with us. We appreciate your attention to detail & loved you managed to climb the Mount to watch the sunrise! Tick that off your bucket list! Hope to see you again next Long Weekend, as there is always something happening in the area - No place you'd rather be, than in Mt Maunganui! Peace, Love & Sandy Feet Brooke Manager

91%

Realy good hostel, the kitchen and the bathrooms were excelent! Cheers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Loved having you stay with us! Don't forget we have Free bikes to get around town on, and the bus stop is right outside the door. Great location and only a few minutes walk the supermarket, Peace, Love & Sandy Feet Brooke (Manager)

89%

Great hostel. Free surfboard hire! great staff

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for staying with us and placing a review! Short & sweet, you've touched on all the areas we think we are doing well in - staff, facility & freebies! Hope to see you again soon - All the best with your adventure - Remember to keep making those memories! Peace,Love & Sandy Feet Brooke Manager

86%

Really good atmosphere, the staff are great, good showers, big kitchen, TV room and ping pong.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us and enjoying our facility! We have just upgraded the bathrooms even more, so you'll be pleased with the improvements. Wednesday night is the Ping Pong Championship, and there'll always be 2 winners! Enjoy the adventure, Peace, Love & Sandy Feet Brooke (Manager)

91%

Great place to stay! I stayed in a mixed 4-bed room with shared bathroom. Great staff! And you can hire bikes to go to the beach (but its also in walking distance), and free surfboards!

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thanks for your feedback! Glad you enjoyed our freebies & the surf & sun! Our 4-bed dorm is definitely the best option on a nightly stay, and we hope you are still enjoying your adventure! Look forward to seeing you again soon, Peace, Love & Sandy Feet Brooke Manager



View all Mount Maunganui Hostels

Please give us your feedback