X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pacific Coast Backpackers Lodge Reviews

432 Maunganui Road, 3116, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
35 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Really really enjoyed this hostel, the staff where so friendly and very welcoming! Great place to stay and atmosphere of the hostel was brilliant. Il be back one day. Wifi isn't the best but who needs wifi when you have great people to talk and staff to keep a smile on your face. Thanks for everything Brooke,Tash and the rest!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Appreciate your review, and it's easy to stay smiling with awesome guests! Glad you finally caught the bus here, and good luck with the rest of your Summer in this beautiful city. Free wifi is never going to be as amazing fibre/ultra/goldplated, and we want you to enjoy the atmosphere, socialise, and breathe in all the goodness without being consumed by technology. Peace, Love & Sandy Feet, Brooke (Manageress)

86%

Staff were really friendly and welcoming and there were loads of tips from staff all over the notice board with recommended places to visit which was really helpful. It is a great atmosphere, with loads of spacious areas to relax in and watch TV or play board games. The facilities are shared and kept really clean. The only cleanliness problem is in the kitchen/outdoor seating area, through no fault of the hostel staff, can be messy as guests don't always tidy up after themselves

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! We loved having you stay over the Long Weekend, when we were full to the brim. Our staff work tirelessly to maintain our 4star standard, & there will always be a messy guest around - it keeps us on our toes! We work hard to make sure your stay in the Mount is enjoyable, and hope you had fun checking out Tash's Top 17 of free and cheap things to do in Mount Maunganui. Enjoy your travels & see you soon, Peace, Love & Sandy Feet Brooke (Manageress)

100%

This is a fantastic hostel. The staff is very helpful and friendly. great big kitchen with lots of space. I had an incredible stay. highly recommend!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - we enjoyed having you stay, and glad you managed to explore the best of the Mount - with our free bikes and handy cycling/walkways guide! Enjoy your travels and hope to see you again! Peace, Love & Sandy Feet Brooke (Manageress)

54%

The hostel does not provide adequate facilities to those who need a quiet place to work. The car park is poorly arranged.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are a busy hostel, not a party hostel. You booked a dorm room in June (our quietest month!), even though we do have other rooms if you were needing privacy. Sorry that you felt our internet cafe was not suitable for your work, we do offer WIFI in which you could have chosen to use a laptop in a part of the hostel with less visitors. Our records indicate only a few cars were onsite the nights you stayed with us, so at least 10 spare spaces were free! Regards, Brooke



View all Mount Maunganui Hostels

Please give us your feedback