X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Pacific Coast Backpackers Lodge Reviews

432 Maunganui Road, 3116, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
29 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 60%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

The hostel does not provide adequate facilities to those who need a quiet place to work. The car park is poorly arranged.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are a busy hostel, not a party hostel. You booked a dorm room in June (our quietest month!), even though we do have other rooms if you were needing privacy. Sorry that you felt our internet cafe was not suitable for your work, we do offer WIFI in which you could have chosen to use a laptop in a part of the hostel with less visitors. Our records indicate only a few cars were onsite the nights you stayed with us, so at least 10 spare spaces were free! Regards, Brooke

60%

Overall it was okay, kitchen was nice, room was tidy and clean. However the bathrooms were a little dirty and smelled like puke in the morning. Read in the lonely planet that it's a nice place where the staff makes sure that people are being quiet after 11pm. But the staff was still celebrating with the guests at 3 am. Also there was a really annoying electric garage door which went up and down all night whenever someone passed it. So I recommend ear plugs if you wish to sleep in this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. Our night warden does control the noise after 11pm, & our cleaners for accommodation are treated just like any other guest. Sorry that the bathrooms were not acceptable - our cleaners do start at 7.30am to freshen the facilities & unfortunately one of our guests had food poisoning the night before! The electric garage door is obviously the neighbours - of which you are the first to mention it! We'll look into fixing that issue now you have made us aware! Enjoy NZ!



View all Mount Maunganui Hostels

Please give us your feedback