Hostelworld.com

Pacific Coast Backpackers Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 75 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 75 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.6
Pacific Coast Backpackers Lodge Located at 432 Maunganui Road, 3116, Mount Maunganui.
Pacific Coast Backpackers Lodge
New Zealand
Mount Maunganui 3116 432 Maunganui Road, 3116
81% 75
-37.6488471 176.1916065
Pacific Coast Backpackers Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • riordanmeister
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
9th Apr 2016
5.7

This hostel was a bit of a dive. On the one hand staff were friendly and helpful. But as for some of the guests well it was mostly 20-something pissheads making as much noise as possible. When I walked into my dorm after being out for the day three young female guests had freshly cooked pots of food and plates laid out on the floor getting ready to have dinner as the beer brigade had taken over the kitchen. Avoid this hostel at all costs if you want a good nights sleep.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
7.4

Nice people that run the place. Free bikes. Wifi never worked but at least they have 2 free computers. Great location and huge kitchen. There are a lot of long tremors so they sort of took over everything. I felt a little like an intruder. Other than that it was awesome.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Julesibug
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2016
7.7

Nice place! I ended up extending my stay a few times which meant I had to change rooms once but that wasn't really an issue. The free bikes were great! Wifi doesn't work but they have free computers which I never used. Overall good environment and helpful staff. A little overrun with longtermers but most of them were pretty friendly. The one thing that I found weird was that they clean the bathrooms at like 9am but checkout is at 9:30am so it's a weird time to clean

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
7.7

Good atmosphere to the hostel - lots of people at a night time and really friendly. Downside was the location which is a bit too far the points of interest in the town.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Icecube0000
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
24th Feb 2016
7.4

The room was the hottest room I have ever slept in, the showers and toilets are clean but far away from the rooms downstairs

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2016
8.6

Staff was very friendly and the location is perfect if you're using nakedbus. A little bit of a walk to the beach/mount/downtown but nothing too arduous. There seems to be a lot of long term stayers so the vibe isn't as friendly as some hostels. Overall I had a great time and they provide a great nap and highlights sheet when you check in!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • bennnyworld
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Feb 2016
9.7

Great hostel! Right opposite Naked Bus bus stop and a 15 min walk from the heart of this little beach town. The staff is friendly and helpful, and have heaps of tips on how the make the best of your time there. The facilities are overall spacious and clean. Definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Feb 2016
9.1

Nice hostel and atmosphere! Close to the ocean and beach, but a bit further to main beach and the mountain (but still just a 15-20 minutes walk). Really nice staff. Clean bathrooms and rooms. There wifi was down when we where there, but McDonald's is just around the corner!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • paytontiffanynicole5831
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
31st Jan 2016
6.9

This hostel was just ok. It was in a good location. Not too long of a walk or bus ride to Mount Maunganui beach and the mount. The staff were ok, I spoke to someone when I checked in and out. It was a little difficult to find the showers. I ended up walking through reception and up the stairs because I could not find the downstairs showers. Wasn't a huge deal, but I didn't get a tour when I checked in, so that may explain why I didn't know where anything was. Cool lounge area though!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jan 2016
9.4

Loved it. Close to the beach and free surfboard rentals. Good atmosphere and easy to meet other travelers. Nice lounge upstairs. Wifi sucked but they were in the process of overhauling that so im sure its all on fiberoptic by the time this is posted.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.