X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pacifica Hotel Reviews

551 Fourth Avenue, San Diego, San Diego, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
90 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 60%Staff
  • 50%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Excellent staff, very helpful. Mailed us Some valuable things we left in the room. Great acces to all the best things you can possibly do in San Diego. Highly suggest renting a bike from Bike Revolution on 6th av.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your very NICE comment,As I told you it is a part of our POLICY to return any valuable left behind by our customer without any charges.This is a TRUE & GENUINE HOSPIALITY on our part and speaks "VOLUME"about our FAMILY BUSINESS. Thanks again for your kind comment and also for your PATRONAGE. M.G.Bhakta.

80%

Top location and good value for the price I paid.


46%

Full of bedbugs. i have 30 bites on my body so please stay away from this hotel if you don't want to be some bugs' feast. i repeat, please stay away.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

I fell in your shower because the tub was very slippery.when I talked to the assistant manager, all he told me was that he had never fallen in the three years that he had been there. Im still in alot of pain and very bruised. The manager never even had asked me if I was even ok. They never changed my sheets or gave me fresh towels my whole stay there.it was very loud at night and, people kept turning my doorknob throughout the stay all during the night.I ended up leaving a day early.No refund.

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice place with friendly staff. Awesome location with restaurants etc nearby. The only thing that bothered me was that the doors to the rooms are not very sound proof, so there were some nights when I woke up from people talking in the hallways...

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
46%

Dirty! Itchy! My room was accidentally given away. Then got another room but it was itchy. Maybe bed bugs!


91%

Me and my husband really enjoyed the stay.This was our first time in San Diego, the staff was helpful when letting us know about places to go.We will definitely recommend Pacifica to our friends. And when we return we will choose Pacifica for our stay. Thanks for the great hospitality.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

I had to attend a congress in San Diego I was looking for a place to stay near the convention center. I decided to go for the en suite private room at the Pacifica hotel. The location is great, nearby the convention center and Gaslamp. The room was OK-Average cleanliness but my private bathroom was fine. There was no A/C which for hot days is San diego that will be a problem. There was a ceiling fan though. The place smelled Indian carry food cooked by the owners and the insolation wasn't great

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cyprus
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The room was a little bit hot


66%

The staff at the front desk of the hotel made this an enjoyable stay. Also right in the heart of the gas lamp district and only a few blocks away from the conference centre.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

no air conditioning


91%

safe, convenient location, friendly and helpful staff, pleasant stay, wifi a little slow but no problem really, bathrooms clean, stayed for 3 days and enjoyed it. good value, private,


26%

There was noone on duty for at least 1 and ahalf hrs. It should not be in data base. This is textbook definition of flophouse. Very bad experience. There were 2 old drunks walking around making noise. No security person. No one on front desk. No note. No place to sit down. I wouldn't go back there for free.


94%

Excellent location, a bit old but clean. Staff is very strict on the "no visits" policy.


83%

Fair price and super location.


71%

Great location? Check. Clean bathrooms? Check Bed bugs? ... check. ...and very unfortunate, as I may otherwise well have recommended the place, 'cause you really can't beat the price. Luckily the bugs revealed themselves before I got to bed, so I was able to change rooms (the manager was really helpful, even though it was already past midnight), and thus escaped a really close encounter. Stayed three nights in a new room without seeing a single bug, but the experience was still ruined for me.


80%

Pleasant stay, thank you


83%

I had an enjoyable stay, very clean and safe and excellent location. I wish they'd had a 'sitting room' or common facilities as I was hoping to meet other lone travellers, but it was more like a hotel than a hostel, and I rarely saw any other guests. apart from that, 'd highly recomment it for the price.I

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have small library with table & chairs for all the guests on the second floor under the huge beautiful sky light with lots sun light during the day hours.

34%

The room smell and noisy. I was there in the cold weather. No heater is on. If I could do it again, I wouldn't go to this place ever.

  • 6th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

The Hostel smells. Your customer service sucks. Your decor is outdated.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all San Diego Hotels

Please give us your feedback