X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Paddy's Palace Dublin Reviews

5 Beresford Place, Lr. Gardiner St, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
3687 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

Unfinished, smelly, and moldy bathrooms. Cold showers and no soap. Crack in room window and very hot at night. Moldy mattresses...very disgusting.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Need more toilets showers that are hot

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Bus never came at noon to pick us up at the airport, we had to take a city bus. Rooms and bathrooms are as small as they get. Walls as are thin as paper.


63%

Stayed in a two twin bed the first night, it smelled like urine and there was a lone washbin in the room. Also the blankets were torn and the stuffing was coming out. Definitely not worth the 80 euros we paid for the room. Stayed in a 10 bed dorm my second stay (for 10 euros) and it was oddly nicer than the two bed dorm. We had a on suite shower but no toilet. Had to walk down three sets of stairs to get to the toilet. No wifi in the rooms, just the common areas which close after 11pm.


83%

I enjoyed my stay here. My only concern was that I was in the right parking lot with plenty of time at the airport and the free shutle didn't even pull in. I watched it just drive by. After a long night of flying and over an hour waiting at the airport it was a little frustrating to have to find another way to the hostel.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Customer service is terrible; staff are horribly rude, overcharged us, and messed up our reservations then blamed it on us. Website is misleading; fault advertisement.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

It is 20 years since I last stayed in a hostel. I was pleasantly surprised.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Staff were a little rude in general. No wifi in the rooms or even in the same building. There was a shower and sink in the room and it smelled to bad to ever leave the door open.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Pros: Good location, Cheap, free tour to Glendalough/Kilkenny (definately worth it) Cons: Rude Staff, No Wifi in rooms, ridiculously annoying keycard system


49%

Uncomfortable, small, cold shower, not much breakfast choice. Stayed in Wales the following night in a hostel for the same price and and was way better in every way.

  • 8th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Only a couple of plug sockets for a 10 bed dorm

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

the staff and volunteers are friendly and helpful. the beds are clean and the bathrooms are cleaned several times a day (which means there is a man in the women's restroom a lot). The only problem was the building itself. the floors creaked terribly and as my rm was under reception that was crazy annoying. the walls were also very thin and it was easy to hear other peoples conversations. The bus from the airport was pretty epic (even if it does run a little ahead of schedule.)


34%

The tours were very good I believe they are a bit separate from the hostel itself as the level of professionalism demonstrated on the tour was above par. The hostel itself was very run down and even had a musty smell on all levels suggesting the carpets haven't been serviced in quite some time. There were no lockers in the rooms and the only ones offered were in the main reception area which was very small and shuts down early. One shower didn't even work cleanliness was questionable.

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice place to stay. Need for photo id, and lack of sympathy soured it slightly for me.

  • 28th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cameroon
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Our room was like an oven and there was no way to set the temperature because the radiator valve was broken. There wasn't any locker in our room (and probably same thing in the others). Position is good


100%

Our stay was great. The only thing that could have made it better was wifi in the rooms- not just in the lobby.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

We are a married couple of 44 years so you can guess how old we are Our first stay in a hostel we slept very well and felt very comfortable

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Lock to main access door to dorms was broken. Early travellers could not get access to personal kitchen items - kitchen closed. Otherwise a great stay. Staff courteous and helpful. Will return. All the best.

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

we had some troubles with facilities.. there was a sink in the room and we were very happy about it, until we found out that it does not work... also there were two shower, but the second one had no light inside, so it was useless as well .. and also the first thought when we saw a room was like "WTF?", but then you realise... for this money... almost in the center, plus an excursion, plus transfer from airport... it looks like we received this room for free.... so we use it only for sleep ))

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Heard horror stories but felt I had a good stay. Once you figure out the shower it's all good! Lots of stairs though so be prepared for a workout if you have heavy luggage!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(114 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback