X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Paddy's Palace Dublin Reviews

5 Beresford Place, Lr. Gardiner St, Dublin, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
3319 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 72%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Very good but a little aging especially the kitchen (not very clean). And the toilet are in insufficient number.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

We've stayed here twice now. The second room was much nicer than the first room. It even had a shower and sink inside it. It does get uncomfortable at night sometimes with no air conditioning. It was the nicest of all the hostels we stayed at in all of Europe during our 6 weeks backpacking.

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

First bad review I've ever left; no hot water, mold under upper bunk bed, walked into a room where kids were living for weeks, clothes everywhere, very poor smell.. left for the airport on earliest shuttle at 4am to leave. Paddywagon was the complete opposite experience.. Sad to say it but other than the friendly staff, Paddys palace was badddd.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Showers were set to extreme temperature, rubbish bins not emptied and floors not cleaned from previous hostel users, front desk not all that informative but in saying that there was decent breakfast provided, beds were clean, and good atmosphere!


40%

Remarkable value is not consistent. The wifi is not working properly. The toilets are not very clean. Too hot in the rooms, and you can not open the window. Some receptionists were not too friendly.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

All in all our stay was good. The free day trip to Glendalough and Kilkenny was amazing and a real treat. Our guide, Katherine, was very lovely and informative. The only thing which was very annoying is that the wifi wasn't working and no one seemed too bothered to sort it out for us. Many guests complained about it, but for our whole stay there was no wifi. Don't advertise wifi of there is none.

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel was clean and staff was very helpful. Wifi was sketchy, not really designed for large number of people. Still, it's free wifi, so you can't complain too much. We stayed 2 nights so there was an included day-long bus tour to Kilkenny. This was an excellent additional value. The free airport transfer to/from was perfect. Only problem was we had canceled one night of a 3-night stay, and did not end up in the room we expected (mixed dorm with ensuite) as we are a family with 2 children.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

No lockers in room so not great for security and a bit lacking in bathrooms and showers. Standard room, clean. You get what you pay for and this was right in line for the money.


40%

I would not let my dog sleep in this hostel it was that bad!! Never never again!

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Water in showers too hot without regulator - can boil eggs in it how hot it is, no ventilation in bathrooms, no wireless in rooms, poor breakfast, kitchen appliancies old or broken, old squeeky house by traintracks- very noisy.


71%

Security for left luggage very poor as they simply give you the key for the room and leave you to your own devices. You could take/go through any bag in there. Not even asked for proof that you had a room. Room clean but toilets though clean smelled pretty bad. Good value for money and very close to centre of Dublin

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

No wifi at all in the room that we are staying in. No hot water in the middle of our stay. No power to charge our phones. Really badly kept hostel. All the basic stuff a backpacker need is deprived off. The only thing that pleases us was the free tour they offer to Glendalough or else this review will be worst than it is. I guess the hostel focuses more on day trip as it is a travel agency+hostel instead of hostel facilities (free trip is worth it for the discomfort though)


51%

No atmosphere at the hostel, the contingent was absolutely bizarre and staff seemed to want to be anywhere else but there.. Would not stay again.


49%

When coming to use the internet for an important booking of a special event we were attending, there were no seats available in one lounge area, but the other lounge area had many. There were 4 lounges and only two staff sitting. When I went to sit on one, a bald man (maybe manager?) rudely dismissed me to sit elsewhere as they were having a meeting. There was no where else to sit, and having a bad knee injury, I can't stand for long. So I had to leave and find an Internet cafe. He was very rude


60%

No wifi access in top floor of hostel. Wifi speed is accessible in lobby but the speed is slow.


60%

Pretty giod location, central right next to busaras so great for a one night stop if you arrive late or are leaving early. The hostel is very dated and lacks atmosphere, it does not feel safe and the fact that a staff member advised it was not good idea to leave my bags in the communal area as well as the fact that the door into the hostel building which is next door was not working as it looked like someone had forced it open means it scores v low on security. No lifts to rooms.


80%

Great stuff, best location, not enough electrical plugs(only 2 in 10 people room). If you look for place to visit Irleand it's the best location, close to everywhere. I really enjoyed this hostel. The kitchen could be a little bit cleaner(microwave).

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

Staff were unhelpful and following overbooking a room made it seem like I was a nuisance to find me a new room. Toilets were disgusting, doors didn't lock. Minimal options for security, a girl had her laptop stolen while there. No common rooms large enough to allow socialising. Internet was extremely bad which can be a travellers only way of communication. Had orginally booked 5 nights but cancelled after two nights and moved to different hostel.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

The rooms are tiny and my mattress smelt like stale sweat, the showers are awful and for my last night there was no hot water. The wifi is so bad it's unusable


54%

I stayed there for 2 nights. they have strict security system that you have to activate your room card everyday. the shuttle bus was really useful and i think the location is also pretty good since they take you there. HOWEVER "NO WIFI" it was terrible. i couldn't connect wifi even in the robby. of course u can't use it in your room. plus there are only 4 outles in one dorm room for 8people and few of them were broken. it's good if you are gonna stay in dublin for only 1 night. but no more


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(132 results)


View all Dublin Hostels

Please give us your feedback