Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 222 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 222 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 7.8
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat Located at Mile 14, Jalan Labuk, Sandakan.
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Malaysia
Sandakan Sabah 90701 Mile 14, Jalan Labuk
84% 222
5.8933586 117.9485321
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
9.1

cool modern version of a longhouse which has created a big dorm, no A/C but fans keep it cool enough even on the super hot day we were there. full restaurant and beers available. parkland grounds (with monitor lizards, deer etc roaming free.....and some caged crocs which was sad as the cage was so small and not a nice life for the poor things, but at least you knew they were in the cage I guess!)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2016
9.1

The pictures do not do this place justice. It was absolutely amazing. We stayed in the dorm, which was nice, clean and with space enough for everyone. The cafe / canteen at the place has five-six different dishes a day to choose between (always two vegetarian options), with different "meal of the day" throughout the week. It worked out great with the shuttle bus, and we loved being on top of a hill in the jungle, so that we could see sunrise / sunset over the jungle from the viewpoints.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Jul 2016
8.3

Stayed two nights. In the middle of nature, beautiful and peaceful. Shuttlebus to Sepilok is included, aswel as the pickup and drop off at the junction to catch the bus to Sandakan/KK/Semporna. Friendly and helpful staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Jul 2016
7.7

Had a problem with staff we asked how to get to semporna. He told us we had to take a taxi to the bus station which we know normally costs 30 ringgit but he told us 40 and would take 1 hour journey . When we were dropped off (20 minute drive) the taxi driver asked for 55! We rang the guy at the hostel and he admitted he told us differently and hung up. So angry as we already thought this was too expensive and had trusted him. Also the breakfast is cold and so is the coffee. No lockers in dorms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Apr 2016
8.6

Lovely dorms on a Hill in the jungle with beautiful views. It is clean and the staff is very helpful. The only things we were missing was some more interesting alternatives in the restaurant since there was nowhere else to eat anywhere nearby. Otherwise a lovely stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
10.0

Fantastic jungle retreat, friendly staff and great location for orang utan sanctuary. Clean beds and spectacular semi out door bathroom. Dave and Joanne

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
8.0

Paganakan Dii is a real treat. Perched above the trees, our jungle chalet had a balcony from which we enjoyed the view, and a semi-open shower. The atmosphere was warm and friendly and the food great. It was a wonderful retreat from the tourist bussle of Sepilok. My only point of constructive criticism would be that there was usually only one staff person on duty at a time, and this could mean a long wait for service if, for example, she or he was on the phone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Mar 2016
5.4

The place could be so much better. We got there on Friday and there were two schools there for the weekend, probably around 60 kids, which already ruined the peaceful retreat aspect of it. We had booked the dorm but due to the kids (we assume) we were moved to the area where the volunteers stayed, no explanation was given for this. At the restaraunt the service was awful. It took over an hour for food, and they constantly forgot what you ordered. This place was a let down, such a shame.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.