X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Pai Circus School & Backpacker Resort Reviews

m.1 t.maehee, Pai, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
75 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Loved the circus school! Met some lifelong friends there and the people were absolutely amazing, talented, inspiring and all such beautiful souls. Highly recommend this place! Xoxo

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for the comment. Its so great to hear you had an amazing time. We work so hard and feel so happy to hear these lovely things. We hope to see you on your next trip.

100%

Had such an amazing time at circus. Really chilled out vibe and only a 5/10min walk from the town. great oppertinities to learn some circus tricks and have a laugh and a few beers watching the sun set over the mountains. Definitely hope to return in the near future. Thanks for the experience. love Alice and Alice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for leaving us a comment It puts a big smile on our faces to know all our hard work has made you guys so happy. Have a safe trip and don’t forget to check our facebook page as we are updating photos from guests staying at the guesthouse. See you next year we hope.

83%

Loved my stay here, the bamboo huts are really cute and the location is beautiful despite it being a little walk from the town (10 mins approx) the atmosphere is what really makes it - great place to meet people if you are a solo traveller like me as there is a really good communal hut where people congregate. The only bad thing is it is very cold at night and the blankets they provide are too small and not adequate! Bring a jumper and woolly socks for bedtime! Would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for leaving us a comment. We are really happy to hear you liked the bungalows and atmosphere we have created. You are right the blankets weren’t warm enough for this winter, being our first year open and having the coldest winter in years we have had some teething problems but have already planned for extra large warm blankets for when winter comes next year.

20%

The bamboo bungalows are what you'd expect for 350 baht. When you are trying to go to sleep, roosters and dogs keep you up all night. The mosquito nets have giant holes in them. The sheets had bed bugs, we had to leave the next day. Bathrooms are horrible, you have to buy toilet paper. And it was falsely advertised, no swimming pool or bar. It is a big mislead. A fun place to learn to juggle, but don't stay here. Big mistake!

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you didn’t feel your time was good. Pai has wild roosters and they like to make noise but this is the Thai jungle. A new mosquito net is now in the room so thankyou for letting us know it got broke. The bar opens every day from 6pm after you checked in at 1pm we didn’t see you again so i understand how you didn’t see it. The swimming pool has just been removed to make way for a huge new one.

86%

Being in dose touch with nature is a special experience for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for leaving us a comment. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful nature we have in this area. Please check on our facebook page for updates of photos from your stay. We hope to see you again on your next trip.

60%

The music boxes were placed next to the bungalow i was staying in. The loud bass (from 11am to 11pm) made it impossible for me to relex in my bed. It's a 10 - 15 minutes walk o the city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes the DJ area is open in the day time after 1pm for people to play but has never been on before 1pm. We made this area next to the dorm you were staying in because our cleaners have never seen people spending time in this room throughout the day because we provide so many relaxing areas for people to sit or lay down. We have four dorms and would have been happy to move you to a different one had we have known you like to relax in bed throughout the daytime

77%

The hostels are in fairly rickety bamboo huts with nails sticking out of the floor....but the hostel had a good atmosphere, lots of people around all the time. It would be nice if the rooms had locks, but they provide lockers for valuables, so I at least could put away my valuables

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for leaving us a comment. We are very happy you like the atmosphere and many new friends you made  Yes we stopped giving keys to only our 12 bed dorm because it was never locked and people kept losing their key. We went to check and yes found a small nail popping out the floor board which was fixed straight away, we will keep a good eye on all the floors from now on. Have a safe travel and we hope to see you again on your next trip

66%

Very cold. Bungalow wasn't well enough insulated. Toilet too far from hut. Similar price, warmer and free breakfast over road

  • 9th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for leaving us a comment. Winter was very cold this year and are happy its summer again now. We have 35 bungalows and the furthest from the toilet is about 25 meters walk, we would be happy to have moved you closer if you had asked. You can get a bungalow about the same price next door but it is next to the road and provides nothing compared to what you can enjoy at our place

51%

There are no free breakfasts, the septic tanks are full and leaking thus the smell is unpleasant specially in the huts next to the toilets, the beds are very uncomfortable, they charge you for the toilet paper

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for leaving us a comment. Yes we don’t provide free breakfast although have an amazing restaurant onsite with reasonable prices and different areas to sit and enjoy the view when you eat. The septic tanks wernt full but a pipe had broke which is now fixed. You chose the cheapest option with budget beds although we do provide more luxury bungalow if its what you feel you need. We hope you come and give us another try in the future

71%

I had such a great time staying at the Circus School. There is a wonderful atmosphere and a beautiful location. The value for money is good and it was great to be able to afford my own room as a solo traveller. The bungalows are basic but meet all your needs. It gets extremely cold at night here, so it could have been better to provide proper duvets. The staff were friendly and engaging and the food was good value. The only downside is the toilets which are often unclean and the showers suck!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for leaving us a comment. We are really happy to hear such a lovely comment, we try so hard to make a nice place and its great to hear you had a good time. We have just had installed a 12 meter high water tower so now the showers are super high pressure and we are making sure they are cleaned three times per day. I have also printed a poster for each bathroom asking people to inform us if they see anything not clean so we can keep up a high standard.

100%

The Pai Circus School was by far the best hostel experience I have ever had. They have manifested some incredible energy there. As I walked up my heart fluttered like a baby hummingbird its first time tasting sweet nectar, it was as if I had entered another dimension. People are constantly playing, having revolutionary conversations, and just enjoying being apart of such a blissful community. I only wish I would have spent more time there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The Pai Circus School was by far the best hostel experience I have ever had. They have manifested some incredible energy there. As I walked up my heart fluttered like a baby hummingbird its first time tasting sweet nectar, it was as if I had entered another dimension. People are constantly playing, having revolutionary conversations, and just enjoying being apart of such a blissful community. I only wish I would have spent more time there

80%

Staff was amazing! Vibe of the hostel was amazing! My only issues were that there were not enough hot showers (and the showers were a little grosse, definitely experienced worse though) and the beds were not very good. We stayed in a private bungalow and it was a really cool experience, but we absolutely froze throughout the night which made for a pretty poor sleep. But overal the vibe of the resort was amazing and I thoroughly enjoyed the staff there! I would definitely recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thats great we love that you had a good time and felt we were great hosts to you. The shower now have a huge water tower powering them and we are adding another shower block so things have already improved as well as we are making sure they are cleaned three times per day. Yes winter was very cold this year although now winter has finished we already have planned for extra large warm blankets for next winter. We hope you come back and visit us on your next trip

71%

Overall, I've had a very nice time at Pai Circus School. The facilities are very bad, though. I don't mind waiting, cold water wouldn't be a problem for me -- but badly isolated wiring next to the showerhead is downright dangerous. That has to be fixed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very happy to here you had a great stay but are shocked to here about the electric, we went straight to the showers and checked and you were right one of the cables was hanging down half a meter above the heater box although it wasn’t dangerous it has been changed by our electrician today. We hope you come back on your next trip to see the improvements

83%

Nice place to stay if you're open minded and not fuzzy. All rooms are bamboo huts, so they are not insulated, so gets cold at night. Toilets were nice and clean, but the hot showers aren't always hot. Laid back and chill atmosphere. The place to be if you're an aspiring or already are a hippie. I'd stay there again, but I'd bring a sleeping bag!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Its great to hear you had a good time, our place really is VERY hippie and chilled atmosphere, with many of people around to hang out and make friends which is what we planned when we made this place. We look forward to you coming back next year

57%

Great view from this place. Not a lot of other good things to say about it. Washrooms were pretty bad, and the constant crowing from the roosters throughout the night made sleeping pretty difficult.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are glad you loved the view If you didn’t enjoy anything else we feel maybe not the right place for you Our place having three large relaxing areas, bar, restaurant, foosball table, XL trampoline, Circus lessons and fire shows isn’t what everyone wants from a place we understand. Yes the wild roosters make noise at night everywhere in this small village but this is because we are in the jungle and it cant be helped. We do hope you come back and give us another try

91%

Wonderful atmosphere. This is perhaps one of the hippest hostels in the country, complete with camp fire, huts, tents, juggling shows (and classes). Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Definitely recommended if staying in Pai!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Its so nice to hear about your stay. We work 14 hours most days to try and make the perfect place for people to have fun and make friends and to hear this really makes us feel the hard work was worth it. We hope you have a safe trip and come back to see us on another trip

49%

We moved to another hostel for the same price and we got our own bathroom. The bathrooms here are the worst I've seen and we have been traveling in hostels of 18 months. Way better places to stay. The pool is empty, u have to pay 600b to use the circus staff and free cooking lesson is only when u buy a meal u can watch n learn.


46%

There are far better places to stay in Pai for the same amount of money with ur own bathroom. The bathroom facilities were a joke, disgustingly dirty wouldn't even describe them. They need to clean them at least twice a day. We were there for 2 nights

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have replied to your wifes comments above which we feel cover both of you. We are sorry you didn’t feel it was right for you but please remember if you choose to move from a 5 start resort we cant provide the same for only 340 Baht per night.

89%

Pai circus school is a fantastic way to experience pai! Situated on a hill overlooking the city I was constantly amazed everytime I left my dorm at the view I was presented with. It is just a short 5-10 minute walk down the hill into the city centre and it is completely worth the walk when you see the view and experience the calming atmosphere that is pai circus school. It is more of a camping experience so if your looking for modern dorm go elsewhere but if you want to experience pai go there!


60%

A block of 4 shower/toilet/basin combos is not sufficient for 28 huts and they weren't cleaned in the 4 days we were there -the same empty Chang bottle was in the same place every day- and queuing for a pee on a freezing morning while 4 people had their showers is just not on! A shower block and a loo block with outside basins, so those who just want to brush their teeth don't have to hang around, would really improve matters. That said, it was one of the best New Year's Eves ever!


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Pai Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback