X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Pai Circus School & Backpacker Resort Reviews

m.1 t.maehee, Pai, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
99 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Very dirty hostel. Heard two girls scream when they saw the state of the bathroom. Nice ants nest next to my bed. Nice people here though.


63%

I stayed here two nights, which was a mistake. I don't think the bathrooms were cleaned the entire three days I was here. The smart thing to do is to get to Pai and scope out hostels before deciding, because the tiny town is littered with hostels that don't show up on Hostelworld. Having said that, I did meet some great people here and the staff are very friendy. Great views over the mountains!


66%

Amazing circus arts, space, view of pai, and people, however dirty bathrooms and the lock on my door didn't work.


74%

It's definitely an interesting place. If you're really into the hippie free spirit thing you'll stay for a month, otherwise maybe a few days. It's outside the town so it's best if you have a motorbike to get back and forth. Floors in the dorms are really creaky and loud. Bungalows are really cheap - go for those. Nice place to meet people though and everyone's welcome to play with the circus toys


60%

Dirty room, holes in mozzie net, could not get breakfast before 10am as no staff was around. However the view was beautiful and staff addressed our concerns to the best of their ability.


69%

Totally funky place but right for the price! We ended up staying for two nights just because we loved pai. Nothing to complain about here (with the price the bugs, minimally created/decorated rooms/facilities were to be expected) but nothing to rave about either.


94%

I stayed in pai circus school recently while in thailand had only planned to stay one night but ended up staying almost a week, it was one of the highlights for me in thailand very helpful and friendly staff!!Nice chilled area, bar and amazing view i would recomend this to anybody traveling through Pai!!

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I got told about the circus school from people I met travelling who told me it was the highlight of Thailand for them- I would definitely agree! They told me to email the owners direct for a cheaper price ;) The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was incredible as was the general atmosphere around the chill area. The bungalow was warm & clean as were the toilets and showers. I stayed a week longer than planned & have a new obsession for circus skills! Thanks so much guys :)

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This was by far the loveliest time I've had on my travels through se Asia. The staff are friendly and will pick you uo from town in a really fun side car! There is tasty food on offer and a chilled bar area to hang out in. The bamboo begoeas with hamocks are the perfect place for taking in the view and the circus atmosphere and generally great prime who hang out there make it a great place to stay. The bugalows are nice and quiet. You can get circus lessons or just pick uo some toys and play!!!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Azerbaijan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place is the best guesthouse i have ever stayed, They have so many areas to relax and enjoy the view, so many nice guests and staff. My friend and i joined the circus class everyday and it was great, we learnt so much and didnt want to leave after almost three weeks there. They also have a really nice restaurant and wonderful golden labrador called Jack who will be happy to play with you until your out of energy. A must stay if visiting Pai.

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cambodia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel was amazing and the circus school even more! I learned a lot in a short period of time and the overall atmosphere is great. Great people, great location, great vibes. Good Pick!

  • 25th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This place was the highlight of my trip to Thailand. The staff here were so friendly and helpful and I met some amazing people there who will be friends for life. The atmosphere was so chilled and the vibe was brilliant. Definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling in that part of the world. Plan to stay for longer than you originally intended though because once you're there you'll never want to leave!

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Atmosphere was amazing, and with so many cool chill out area's its definitely one of the best hostels i've stayed in so far!! Really nice location and really nice staff Really enjoyed learning how to fire spin!!!!!! have always wanted to learn but never had the guts to do it without a properly trained instructor. Saw a fair few reveiws complaining about the toilets in the past but i had no problems, they were all cleaned more than once every day i was there.

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

the option of having people teach you juggling and stuff is nice. but if you are only there for a short time the 600B they charge seem too much. bungalows are very low quality and too expensive for local standards. most places offer a night for 100B less than the school does. also they advertised a pool which is still being built. i dont really care about not having a pool but i think it's not nice to lure customers in and then not stand up to what was promised.


77%

Great location ... within walking distance from town .. .but far enough away that it's quiet (other than the roosters and geckos). The bamboo huts are really cool and the people are great.

  • 21st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

We should have known something was a Little shady when we saw the sign saying 'No refunds'. The Dorm was a bit pricey, 150 baht pr night, and what you get is a quite poor bed with no aircon or fan, so it gets quite hot in the night. Furthermore there was no running Water for three days in a row, and the hostel did not Work out something with another hostel, so that we would be able to have a shower. That meant we felt sticky and nasty for three days. nice aTmosphere though.


83%

10 min walking distance to the town of pai but with an amazing view. the friendly and helpful staff offers courses for fire spin, juggling and more. the bamboo huts are basic but good value for money. very chilled atmosphere and nice people


40%

Bare minimum facilities. Hard mattresses. Reception is usually unmanned. Terrible wifi. No water for a week with overflowing toilets. Leaky plumbing. Unclean toilets. Far from the town. No water in pool on two separate visits (they send you to a different pool which requires entry fee). Much better personal huts on the Riverside for 100 Baht in off season compared to 150 Baht for Pai Circus School. Never going back here again.


86%

Great time here. For the price you get reasonable facilities, but if you're staying here chances are facilities arent your primary concerns. Nice cheap private straw huts or group dorm huts available. The selling factor is the circus training and the super chill vibe of the people you meet. Eventually you will migrate to a better spot once you've met a comfortable number of people. Will definitely come back and I have been recommending to others.


83%

Loved the circus school! Met some lifelong friends there and the people were absolutely amazing, talented, inspiring and all such beautiful souls. Highly recommend this place! Xoxo

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey, thank you for the comment. Its so great to hear you had an amazing time. We work so hard and feel so happy to hear these lovely things. We hope to see you on your next trip.

« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all Pai Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback