X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Pal's Hostel Reviews

Hercegprimas street 3, 1st Floor apt 4, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
1882 Total Reviews
  • 96%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

We stayed in a 3 bed studio apartment that overlooked st stephens bascilica. The location was not to be beaten. The room offered everything you expect as well as a kitchen. The room was clean and tidy


100%

we have a very wonderful time at pal' hostel, everything is fantastic. Good location which is very convenient to look around the city center and do some shopping, and the church is so closed to the room, even you can see it exactly from the dying room as well as the bathroom is cleaned everyday. Additionally, pal is so nice and very helpful. I definitely recommend all of you choose here.

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Me and my friend stayed in the double bed apt. near the Bazilika and we absolutely loved it. It's right in the middle of the city, easy to access everything (walking distance from Instant and Szimpla pubs), really helpful and friendly staff. The room was huge and had everything we needed. The only annoying thing was the Bazilika, it's bells start ringing at 6 AM and rings every half an hour. I had earplugs so my sleep wasn't affected by it.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

WONDERFUL !! Perfect for our layover night. Great location and architecturally stunning apartment. Great value and would recommend highly to any visiting Budapest.


77%

Everything is good, but the heating is definitely terrible. In the middle of winter, the heating is not strong enough to warm up the room, and it's absolutely aging version that bring annoying sounds.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have an oldschool but very good heater in that room. It's a gas convector heater. We showed them how to use it at their arrival (there's a switch on it that you can turn clockwise to increase the temperature). They stayed for 4 nights. It's a pity they didn't let us know they had been cold after their first night:(

97%

Best hostel I could imagine in Budapest. We had a warm welcome and a spacious, clean and peaceful twin room. Bathroom and kitchen shared with two other people. The hostel is in a living area right in the city center. If I ever go back to Budapest I will go to this place again. Great value for money.


100%

Location of this hostel is ultra, super, mega, interstellar, number one, best of bests, total, superman, spiderman, batman, best of the world.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you:)

83%

We rented the 6 bed ensuite. Honestly the best place I've ever stayed ever. Unbelievable location for this part of the hostel. Only down side was that the staff was completely worthless for just about everything. They had no clue how to get around or what there was to do in the city. Kind of disappointing. However the unbelievable location made it all VERY worth it.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

We ended up with a beautiful apartment -- affordable and easy luxury!

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

We loved this cute well positioned friendly hostel in such a fabulous city. We are coming back to both for sure. Thankyou Pal's!

Owner Comment (Hide)
More than welcome:)

100%

Great location with a beautiful view of the basilica! Can be loud at night though. Very clean with tons of room. Would definitely stay again


100%

This didn't feel like a hostel, it felt like a home! It definitely exceeded all of our expectations! I traveled with 3 of my friends and we booked a private 4 bedroom apartment. It was stunning!!! I will DEFINITELY DEFINITELY return!!!


100%

Love, Love, Loved this place. We got an apartment off the square of the basilica. We only regret not being able to stay longer. Wifi was strong enough that we could use it outside in the square. The place was clean. The location was close to everything you need. Metro, groceries, bars, street food, and breakfast all under 5 min of walking.

  • 19th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel. We stayed in a private duplex, outside of the hostel'a main building, with 2 other private rooms. The common area here was super comfortable and fully equipped. The atmosphere 'though depended fully on the other 2 guests - which we gave lucky to be great people. Great location, next to the metro station and in front of the main basilica in Peste part - also near to the main pub zone. With the same price we couldn't get a shared room in Italy so value for money was fantastic! Cleani


100%

Got there expecting a small apartment, got much more than we expected! We had a huge apartment with an amazing view, comfortable beds and excellent kitchen and bathroom facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful. I was able to borrow a hairdryer which was a lifesaver! Great value for money, would recommend to anyone.


100%

This is the best hostel ever!

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location, great price, very kind and smiley staff. Everything you could ask for!


100%

Thank you for the towels! :D :) they were very helpful

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

After an upgrade to a huge apartment right next to St Stephen's, it's hard to complain. We had an incredible amount of space, with a bathroom, kitchen and living room. Not much to say, it was a great stay, would definitely stay again.


83%

Location is excellent and the apartment is beautiful. One of the staff members doesn't know English and doesn't know Budapest. Her recommendations were not good at all. We had to ask a tour guide for where to go to eat. The hostel staff as a whole is unprofessional. Their welcome email serves no purpose. Not even for directions. Don't know why they bother to ask you to reply to it. They will probably use it for spam. Laundry was too expensive. The taxi driver they called was very nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
My receptionist thought he couldn't speak English very well. We don't use any spam. It's a presumption. Besides we already knew his email address. We could have shown him the nearest self-service laundry but he didn't ask for it:(

(109 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback