X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Palace Hostel Reviews

Savoyenstrasse 2, A-1160 Wien, Vienna, Austria

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1009 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Really cool to stay in a hostel that looks over the city, we had a great time admiring the view. There are also walking/bike trails all around so if your outdoorsy I can guarantee you'll like it. The drawback however that it is ages away from anything, you need to allow 45 mins to get into Vienna city. The bathrooms became quite dirty, possibly due to the lack of any bathmat; it became practically muddy after a day. Another drawback is that the wi-fi did not reach all the rooms.


100%

Very good and cosy hostel in a wonderful location! Located in a hill, has incredible views to the city. Perfect place to be relaxed, laying in the grass and profiting before going to visit the city. Just 20min from the city center with public transports which are very regular in time. Totally recommend and want to come back!!

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Second time staying here since the location is great and the beds are comfy. Each time I've stayed something has gone wrong. First time I was willing to let it pass since stuff happens, but the second time was too much. I got back to the room late and someone was sleeping in my bed. Looked around and there were no free ones available. Spent the next 30 minutes with the staffer trying to figure out where I could sleep. Nothing to say sorry except that I had to come down the next day for a new bed


100%

I recommend everyone to stay at this lovely hostel. It is covered with trees and full of green nature everywhere.Also it has a wonderful view of Wien where you can see everywhere from the top. The staff is very kind but maybe breakfast could be better. Thank you all.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Amazing hostel with magic view on vienna!

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Break fast is awesome!!!


63%

Great view of vienna from the hillside. Nice to get out of the concrete jungle of the city for once, but it's rather far from the city. There's no kitchen in the hostel or market close by so all there is for food is a fancy (but quite good) restaurant down the road. Breakfast in the morning was really good. Staff was helpful but don't go out of their way to help you enjoy the city.


74%

While located well outside the centre of Vienna, the hostel is not difficult to reach via public transit and the view was amazing. However, if you only have a couple of days in the city you might be better off staying closer to the Old Town. That said, the free breakfast was really good - meat and eggs in addition to the standard cereal and yoghurt - and the staff was really helpful in suggesting places to go and explaining how to get there.


94%

Service was great Mini golf was awesome really challenging Easy to find hostel


91%

The Hostel is really very good! The atmosphere, the staff, the rooms, i liked everything. However going without a car could be a litte bit hard, because the hostel is far from the city and there is nothing around it.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel was set in beautiful surroundings with fantastic views of Vienna. The room was bright, clean and comfortable. At breakfast there was an excellent selection of foods - we couldn't get enough of the bread, chocolate granola and hot chocolate! The only thing that would have made our stay even better would have been if the hostel provided a kitchen for guests to use throughout the day and evening.


89%

Excellent service! Only downside was no Wifi in rooms. But otherwise excellent!


60%

Nice surroundings, though you need 30 roughly to go in the center of Viena by public transport. The hostel is an old facility transformed in a place to stay, it is rather clean and quiet, but your neighbours have to keep a low level voice. There are few toys for children and that's ptetty much all I spotted during 1 day stay. Parking is close to the hostel and it's free of charge. No wifi, no staff over night, no tv in room, vending machines available with snacks/sodas/beer. Good as last option.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Palace hostel was pretty far away form most of the main things and public transportation is finished after mid-night. So if you are going to party it might not be the best choice, but we absolutely loved it! It was out of the city but the commute is really easy and the hostel location is beautiful and has such a beautiful view, plus it gets you 'out' of the city. The atmosphere was great and we really enjoyed our stay here!

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Beautiful location, and a good deal for the money. The view is incredible, but the rest of the place is pretty standard. It's a little hard to find too.


80%

No matter the hostel is far from the city centre, it is a cheap and clean place. The surroundings are beautiful and you can have a rest and enjoy the view and the nature. Staff was helpful. Breakfast is included.


94%

Great place. The location is great, even if it's not in the city center, but still u get a phantastic view over that stunning city. The rooms were okay and basically clean. Only two things bothered me a little: Breakfast (which is delicious!) is served only till 9:30 (could you please make it a bit more suitable for young people? ;)) and the wifi doesn't work properly in the rooms.


83%

The pool wasn't in the facilities...

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

OK..it is up on a hill overlooking Vienna. Once you get use to taking the bus up there all is OK. The place has families and young school kids and not a party place. A great way to spend a week in Vienna with a chance to have some calm and see the city from the hill. Mini golf was nice. Thanks to John for getting me a pizza the first night.


71%

The wifi is very poor. I had to walk around with my computer to find the right spot where the internet connection worked

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Vienna Hostels

Please give us your feedback