Hostelworld.com

Palio (Haad Rin) Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 154 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 6.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1
Palio (Haad Rin) Hostel Located at 149 Haadrin, Mu 6 Bantai Kohphangan, Koh Phangan.
Palio (Haad Rin) Hostel
Thailand
Koh Phangan Surathai 84280 149 Haadrin, Mu 6 Bantai Kohphangan
72% 154
9.6754580 100.0652253
Palio (Haad Rin) Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th May 2016
4.0

We were placed on a room that was inside a gym with a boxing ring. You opened the door at moorning and there where people making gym outside and at night there where figths with public. The toilet was shared with all the public that went to see the fight, and with the people that went to the gym, the smell was awful after the fights and wasn't cleaned until next night. Water was taken from a small lake outside, very polluted, we could't belived it but we fill a bottle and water was green.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • willnedpalmer
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th May 2016
4.9

Stayed at Palio2 location (even closer to the Haad Rin Nok), so I can't speak to the room and accommodations for the the main location. Basically if you are there to just get wasted and don't plan on spending anytime in the hostel, this would work. Not really clean and not secure. But great spot in Haad Rin and the staff was helpful. Hope this helps.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2016
6.6

Though located conveniently to haadrin beach the facilities are just okay. The ac barely works and ineffective through the day. The ceiling was too low and the ac right in my face as I had got the top bunk of the bed . The common area however is nice and open.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Apr 2016
6.6

Stayed here for full moon but this is not a party hostel! Barely saw anyone until the free paints came out! It's pretty easy to get to everything from here just hard to find when you get off the boat. Never saw the staff and had to chase them to get my key deposit back.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
20th Apr 2016
6.3

Not really good for the money. We stayed in room 8 and it is situated right outside of a fight ring. Whatever, we can deal. What we couldn't deal with was the men walking into our room whenever they felt like it to switch the breaker, no knocking, nothing. Just waltz right on it. That didn't make me feel that safe, especially when I would be alone in our room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Apr 2016
8.3

If you like to party, stay on the cheap and you like Muay Thai, this is the place for you. We stayed for full moon which was ideal, but I wouldnt go here for a holiday. The lady on reception is a gem and the room was average. I would advise against hiring a bike from the place close to here because if you even scratch it, you will be charged extortionate rates for 'repairs'. There are cheaper places for bikes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
8.9

Wow. What a hostel this is. What. A. Hostel. This. Is. What Palio lacks in facilities, security and cleanliness, it certainly makes up for in character. This is a place where dreams come true... you'll walk away with great memories and even better friends. Simply a must for anyone who wants to experience the true magic Koh Phangan has to offer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2016
9.1

Our booking appeared to be messed up and our group of 4 girls were going to be split across two rooms, 3 in one and 1 in another. We told the staff we were not going to split up and they kindly relocated and reroomed us so we could stay together in a 4 bed dorm like we had paid for. The staff were very helpful. We ended up in Palio 2 which was in a great location, close to bars, shops, restaurants. Room was clean and good shower, communal area outside was great to meet neighbours.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Apr 2016
8.3

Nice staff, 2 minute walk from haad rin beach. The bathrooms smell sometimes and wifi only works in common area, but good value, you can train in the Muay Thai arena just next door for free if you stay longer than a couple days

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
20th Mar 2016
8.6

The staff here were very friendly and accommodating. One barman even went so far as to paint body art on me for the full moon party for 1 hour- completely free! They have fun with the customers and it makes for a nice atmosphere. Location-wise it is perfect. Super close to the full moon beach and the centre of Haad Rin but tucked away a bit so it's quieter at night. The Muoy Thai fights next door were also fun. Negatives:- A lot of mosquitos, no windows in room, rooms not cleaned often.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.