X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Palio (Haad Rin) Hostel Reviews

149 Haadrin, Mu 6 Bantai Kohphangan, Koh Phangan, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
90 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Perfect place to stay in Koh phangan if you are there for the full moon party, literally a 2 minute walk to the beach, great social space to meet people in and also if you like to gym it, there is a well catered gym full of everything you need

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We had such a good time at Palio! The location was great and the staff amazing :)

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Around the full moon party period they let everything as it was left behind, I lived in a piggery.. Poor speaking staff but helpfull ! Except for that, good location to celebrate your fullmoon,

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Place was a little hard to find as taxi driver didn't know where it was located. Also a little confusing on where we was staying as first we went to reception and then got driven to a different location where our rooms are. As a whole the location of the place we stayed was great. Not to far away from the full moon party and not to close to hear all the noise from the beach.


37%

Hands down the worst hostel in the world i have ever stayed. Walked into our room (had to walk through someone else's room to get into ours) to find blood stains on the floor, rubbish everywhere, filthy beds and cockroaches running into every little hole. Please please if you want to enjoy your time on the island stay elsewhere!!!

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

If you're planning on a quiet night in, you will not find it at Palio. What a party place! Every night starts with loud music and lots of dancing, and for the Full Moon Party they offered a free buffet and bucket. Pretty good!


97%

We stayed here for 4 nights during the fullmoon party! The staff is very friendly en the people who stayed there during our visit were just brilliant! Loved it!!!! Greetings from the Netherlands!!!

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice people and finally had a great bed to sleep in!

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Stayed in koh phangan for 2 nights for half mon party with a friend, and we were looking for somewhere cheaper than where our other friends were staying. The location was perfect- although it was a bit noisy at night as its across the street from a bar. Staff were very nice and helpful when needed, however there was no real atmosphere going on it was rally just a place to sleep and keep our stuff secure. It also wasn't the cleanest place ever but it was fine for the 2 days we were there.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Palio is a great place to stay if you're going to the full moon party! It's only a 3 minute walk to the full moon party beach

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

We stayed in a six bedroom dorm inside the actual gym they have there. It was probably one of the worst hostels ive stayed at. As soon as I layed down there was a cockroach on the ceiling so gross and the running water in that bathroom was yellow. The staff were nice and helpful but I would will not stay there again


100%

Very good place to stay, great staff, good times!

  • 13th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I booked for one night but ended up staying 3 as i really enjoyed the location and chill out area to meet others. The staff were so friendly and did their best to help with anything and it was a bonus to be able to use the gym for free...will stay again and recommend to all


100%

Staff were so helpful and really made our stay fantastic. I really recomend this hostel! and The hostel gave us all Amazing free thai buffet (which was so good!), free bucket of alcohol and paint for the party.

  • 2nd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

Great location not to far from the crazy moon party! Quiet enought to sleep at night. One of the staff was a bit rude when asked questions and there was no wifi available. Would chose somewhere else next time.


77%

It was a shame I didn't get to stay in the dorms that were up by reception and the main area as I think it would of been so much better, I would stay again but only if I could stay up in the main area.

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel offered some great spots for the guests to sit back and relax together. It was really cool to chill at these sit spots before going to the party. Cheap buckets were also available, nice. Hostel staff was friendly. Sound system was one thing I could appreciate. I could even plug in my mobile phone and enjoy my house mixes with friends.

  • 23rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Hostels are in the beach, and considering that this is not that bad, still super expensive for the poor service. Take care about your staff, they offer safety box to put your values, and in the other hostel of the same brand they were all stolen, including passports! even though they recommended to put it then, and they didnt even return the money of stay! also if you l;ike thai boxing this is a good place, but if not prepare to not be able to sleep until thai boxing tournaments are ended

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry you felt the service was poor, we here at Palio try to accommodate as best as we can. We have never had an incident like this and will ensure there will not be a repeat. With regards to the boxing, in Haadrin customers who book in a hostel are generally people who come to party with a few exceptions, therefore we feel that finishing the fight night at 12 is an appropriate time, with most customers continuing their night out after the event.

77%

The hostel is located 5 minutes from the full moon beach but it is just off the main road which makes you can have a good night sleep after the party. They have a common area garden where it is so easy to meet people in a great atmosph, and the buffet, bucket and body paint offered at the night of the fullmoon party are amazing, you meet all fellow travelers and prepare together for an unforgetable night out!


49%

Security was terrible- over 10 guests had their personal belongings including passports stolen after reception was broken into. Neither staff nor management seemed concerned about the break in and did not offer to replace or compensate the stolen items. The hostel we stayed at was not the one advertised, instead we were led to a small collection of cramped rooms about 5 minutes away. The location is really central and opposite a busy bar so is loud at night. Would never stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We can't apologise enough and we understand that it was a huge inconvenience and changed many plans. This is the first time it has happened in the 9 years the hostel has been opened and we are taking all the necessary measures to ensure that it never happens again. We took the advice from the authorities and went through all the processes we could.

« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Koh Phangan Hostels

Please give us your feedback