Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Palio (Haad Rin) Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 185 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 185 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Feb 2017
9.7

We arrived on the night of the full moon party, there was a free bucket of alcohol and uv paint which was fun. The location was great, very close to an amazing restaurant (Man U, would recommend it, we ate there every day). The staff are great, very helpful and some of them also happen to run the Muay Thai arena and fight there, that was awesome to watch! Good facilities, only downside was hard to access wifi in the room we had.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
7.1

Palio was well located to the beach, but not the easiest to find at first. The wifi is terrible but it works ok at times. They have a muay thai gym next to the check-in office. I stayed in one of the rooms attached to the gym. It was pretty loud most of the time but fun atmosphere during the fight itself, which was free for us to see. We stayed here for a full moon party and I would stay there again considering the decent price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.4

Great for a solo traveler. Minutes from the beach but quiet enough at night. Great atmosphere for the full moon party. Area clean, bathrooms a bit ran down but clean. Gray Lounging area cause it rained 1 day. There's no dinner included like said but the bucket and paint were awesome and free. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.6

Palio was so great! Stayed there for full moon feb 2017 and was not disappointed! The staff were very friendly and it had a fun, but a little more relaxed atmosphere. It was super close to great food, other hostels and the full moon beach. The owner (lovely lady) was very welcoming and helpful especially when figuring out how to get to our next destination after our stay. Room was really nice and there were lots of bathrooms and showers (also very clean). Would definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
8.9

would recommend this hostel to anyone going to the full moon party. We were given one free bucket and face paint on the night. The common areas are very relaxing and create an easy atmosphere to meet others. For those planning on going to the full moon party, I highly recommend this hostel as well as visiting Mellow Mountain!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Jan 2017
8.3

One of the favorite spots during the full moon party in Haad Rin lokated just 3mins by foot from the beach where the party is. Dont expect to be able to catch some sleep the day before the party and during the party itsel, it is way to loud. The prices for the accomodation during the party is fine but then it is too expensive. The staff is friendly but some of them are native Thai not able to speak English. There are showers in the bathroom and outside (hot shower outside). Mosquitos everywhere!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
4.6

Location was brilliant however the room which we stayed in was in another location to the main hostel. There was no atmosphere in this location other than on the night of the full moon party. Cleaners cleaned the outside however not the inside. Mice were able to gain access to the room via holes in the floor and walls. When we notified management of this they simple sent one person round who had a quick look round then walked off without saying anything. Eventually we plugged the holes ourselves

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
29th Dec 2016
9.4

Hostel was in a great location, few minutes walk from the pier and to the full moon party beach. Staff were great, very friendly and helpful. Although I was in a 10bed dorm it was spacious enough for us all and clean. It was expensive but that's to be expected over the new year period so not that big a deal. I would definitely recommend staying here when in koh phangan.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Dec 2016
7.7

Tucked away from the Main Streets of Haad Rin. Good size bunk beds in the rooms. With wifi and aircon on 24/7 which was great. Attached to a Thai boxing gym, it was brilliant. Get to see the fights for free, and free use of the gym. If your after a good night sleep, then probably not for you. On the other side, there are hammocks to chill out in and lounge areas, out of the way of the ring. Overall a good stay. Room was cleaned twice a day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Dec 2016
9.1

I would recommend this hostel to anyone going to the full moon party. We were given one free bucket and face paint on the night. The common areas are very relaxing and create an easy atmosphere to meet others. Only bad things I could say would be that there was no wi fi in our room and outside food and drinks weren't allowed in. However we still had a great time there. For those planning on going to the full moon party, I highly recommend this hostel as well as visiting Mellow Mountain!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.