X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Palio (Haad Rin) Hostel Reviews

149 Haadrin, Mu 6 Bantai Kohphangan, Koh Phangan, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
103 Total Reviews
  • 66%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Perfect location and a nice atmosphere

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Blood on friends bedsheet, when she asked for a new sheet was handed one to change it herself. Dust mites/bugs all over curtains and in corners of ceiling as well as ants in the sink. Tied into to paying for five nights but only stayed for two due to full moon, left as soon as we could.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

I consider myself an experienced traveller, but this was by far the worst accomodation I've ever stayed at. The water was green, there was blood on my sheets when I arrived, our room was in a boxing gym, with no security, even during the fight. After the fight, there was blood in the washrooms and things were a huge mess, it wasn't cleaned til the next day. Hands down, most unhygienic, disgusting place to stay.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry for coming here and we welcome responsible. And promised to prevent another incident like this. The water we ordered that night, a night we will buy another.Sheets that inform them But not blood stained Full moon reflective color in the last. Cleanliness in the morning, the maid is sick to arrive late. We had a meeting and resolved to improve things as best I can recommend coming here with our satisfaction guarantee and refund you in order to compensate for what you do not like it.

57%

They don't take credit card. We we're put into a room beside the Muay Thai ring (without notice) and the toilet/shower was not clean.


91%

Some of the best nights of my life. The atmosphere was incredible, the staff were hilarious, and the arena next door makes for a great evening. I would definitely recommend this hostel for full moon.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

very cmfortable , nice people , nice cooking school , nice gym


46%

We paid $50 dollars a night for a private 3 person room with A/C. This ended up being a tiny cement box with a tin roof and no windows. To charge such a high price for such conditions is absurd. The photos provided by the hostel are misleading. We were also promised a free bucket on the night of full moon, but the buckets actually cost money. The only positive is the nice woman at the front desk. This hostel is a ripoff with rooms worth barely $10 a night.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Perfect place to stay in Koh phangan if you are there for the full moon party, literally a 2 minute walk to the beach, great social space to meet people in and also if you like to gym it, there is a well catered gym full of everything you need

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Amazing Staff which made our time on Koh Phangnan! The location is great.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

We had such a good time at Palio! The location was great and the staff amazing :)

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Around the full moon party period they let everything as it was left behind, I lived in a piggery.. Poor speaking staff but helpfull ! Except for that, good location to celebrate your fullmoon,

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Place was a little hard to find as taxi driver didn't know where it was located. Also a little confusing on where we was staying as first we went to reception and then got driven to a different location where our rooms are. As a whole the location of the place we stayed was great. Not to far away from the full moon party and not to close to hear all the noise from the beach.


37%

Hands down the worst hostel in the world i have ever stayed. Walked into our room (had to walk through someone else's room to get into ours) to find blood stains on the floor, rubbish everywhere, filthy beds and cockroaches running into every little hole. Please please if you want to enjoy your time on the island stay elsewhere!!!

  • 14th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

If you're planning on a quiet night in, you will not find it at Palio. What a party place! Every night starts with loud music and lots of dancing, and for the Full Moon Party they offered a free buffet and bucket. Pretty good!


97%

We stayed here for 4 nights during the fullmoon party! The staff is very friendly en the people who stayed there during our visit were just brilliant! Loved it!!!! Greetings from the Netherlands!!!

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Really nice people and finally had a great bed to sleep in!

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Koh Phangan Hostels

Please give us your feedback