X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palm Hostel Reviews

Hanivim Street 6, Jerusalem, Israel

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
262 Total Reviews
  • 57%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 64%Staff
  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

It seems the guys at Palm Hostel are unable to cope with running a hostel. It concerned not only us but a few other travellers we met: Overbookings, shifting guests from dorm to dorm, giving away beds that were already taken, and nobody really seemed to care. In the end one of my friends had to sleep on a mattress on the floor; he was given a dirty pillow and I don't think they're laundering their linen. Facilities are filthy. To be fair, we got compensation and we don't have so high standards.


60%

Palm Hostel has 2 advantages - great location and tasteful breakfast. Unfortunately the hostel is very dirty. We have stayed in deluxe room which has no window and was so small, that there was place almost only for a bed.

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Located exactly 2 minutes walking from the Damascus Gate, Palm hostel is an average place to stay - not very clean, without great atmosphere, etc. It is a very basic facility created to sleep in and explore Jerusalem old city.


49%

Well the Owner was nervous, but it's to say, that they are about to renovate it, it was noisy and thirty on dezember 2013. Maybe if it's done, the chief will be more relaxt and the rooms cleaner!


43%

Very small room, could not even turn around. The bed sucked, they added foam pads that kept on separating. Did not supply towels, soap or shampoo.


91%

Hostel has a great location, near the Damascus gate, in the middle of downtown. There are two parts of this hostel, the new one and the old one. The new one is very nice, clean. The old one is very basic no TV, no AC, just bed and wi-fi) but clean.There is a shared kitchen with free tea and coffee. It is not the newest but cleaned every day.Staff is amazing, very helpful.


89%

Very helpful and friendly staff. Awesome location.


63%

I arrived at 3 am, the receptionist was in a bad mood, unclear communication about the basic facilities. The personnel the next day was friendlier and flexible. I woke up 2-3 times during the morning smelling cigarette smoke, another guest said that sometimes people would smoke in the lobby, the personnel said it was due to construction work on the building and the workers smoke outside and the smoke comes in.

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Never seen such an awful Hostel!

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

This place is disgusting, the neighborhood is filthy and unsafe. The property itself is dirty and looks unattractive. The staff were rude and lazy. Due to the mentioned reasons we decided to leave and they literally said a four-letter word instead of good-bye. Don`t stay there unless you want to totally spoil your vacation.


100%

it was really a great experience , the stuff is very helpful and they provide great information , the location is just outside the old city of jerusalem , its just amazing and worth each penny , tea coffee and wifi is free 24 hours :) :) :) ... for sure coming back again :) .

  • 2nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The Palm Hostel is in an excellent location, just a minute walk from the old city and near to some good stores and restaurants. My room was very small and basic for the price, but I think that goes with the territory in Israel. They sold me an interesting day tour to Bethlehem and Jericho which I'd recommend if you have a larger group (it was quite expensive for fewer people). The breakfast was a nice start to the day too.


49%

Great location, that's all ... Very dirty, no curtains in the room, matresses in poor condition, booked a double bed, got a three twin beds, shower cold and very low pressure for two days, not safe as it's open on the street all the time, staff is not concerned about the well being of the occupants, average breakfast and hostel way too expensive for what it is ! Not recommanded !


60%

Some very small details could have improved quality. Such as some hooks in the bathrooms, so you can hang up your towel etc. And equipping the kitchen with some plates and utilities....


60%

Cleanless, the staff are first kin, but if you cancel the room, they will be changing.

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice hostel with helpful and courteaous staff. Good location with shops nearby open all the time, even an atm just around the corner.


97%

If u looking for budget hostel close to old town and other points of intrest go for it!

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent. High value for money; accommodating staff who made my stay in Jerusalem a very smooth one. Will definitely be back.

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Breakfasts are lovely, plentiful. The dining area, airy and filled with lively conversations. Internet cloisters are good places to meet fellow travelers and compare notes. Right in the middle of an Arab sector of Jerusalem, the surrounding area teems with activity and a colorful array of vendors. Being right near Damascas Gate, entry into the Old City is barely two blocks away. I also spent part of my stay at Mount Zion a more luxurious hotel, which was lovely, but lacked the intimacy I shared

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location right outside the Damascus Gate in front of the old town. Also very close to the light Rail Station. Friendly stuff, great Breakfast included and all day cold and hot water, tea and coffee. The first room we were offered was really small and had only one window with the size of a newspaper page. After asking for a better room, we got into an neat AC-Room with own bathroom for a few dollars more. All in all great value for the money.

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(149 results)


View all Jerusalem Hostels

Please give us your feedback