X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Palm Hostel Reviews

Hanivim Street 6, Jerusalem, Israel

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
257 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 62%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 61%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 55%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

Very small room, could not even turn around. The bed sucked, they added foam pads that kept on separating. Did not supply towels, soap or shampoo.


91%

Hostel has a great location, near the Damascus gate, in the middle of downtown. There are two parts of this hostel, the new one and the old one. The new one is very nice, clean. The old one is very basic no TV, no AC, just bed and wi-fi) but clean.There is a shared kitchen with free tea and coffee. It is not the newest but cleaned every day.Staff is amazing, very helpful.


89%

Very helpful and friendly staff. Awesome location.


63%

I arrived at 3 am, the receptionist was in a bad mood, unclear communication about the basic facilities. The personnel the next day was friendlier and flexible. I woke up 2-3 times during the morning smelling cigarette smoke, another guest said that sometimes people would smoke in the lobby, the personnel said it was due to construction work on the building and the workers smoke outside and the smoke comes in.

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

Never seen such an awful Hostel!

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


20%

This place is disgusting, the neighborhood is filthy and unsafe. The property itself is dirty and looks unattractive. The staff were rude and lazy. Due to the mentioned reasons we decided to leave and they literally said a four-letter word instead of good-bye. Don`t stay there unless you want to totally spoil your vacation.


100%

it was really a great experience , the stuff is very helpful and they provide great information , the location is just outside the old city of jerusalem , its just amazing and worth each penny , tea coffee and wifi is free 24 hours :) :) :) ... for sure coming back again :) .

  • 2nd Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The Palm Hostel is in an excellent location, just a minute walk from the old city and near to some good stores and restaurants. My room was very small and basic for the price, but I think that goes with the territory in Israel. They sold me an interesting day tour to Bethlehem and Jericho which I'd recommend if you have a larger group (it was quite expensive for fewer people). The breakfast was a nice start to the day too.


49%

Great location, that's all ... Very dirty, no curtains in the room, matresses in poor condition, booked a double bed, got a three twin beds, shower cold and very low pressure for two days, not safe as it's open on the street all the time, staff is not concerned about the well being of the occupants, average breakfast and hostel way too expensive for what it is ! Not recommanded !


60%

Some very small details could have improved quality. Such as some hooks in the bathrooms, so you can hang up your towel etc. And equipping the kitchen with some plates and utilities....


60%

Cleanless, the staff are first kin, but if you cancel the room, they will be changing.

  • 15th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very nice hostel with helpful and courteaous staff. Good location with shops nearby open all the time, even an atm just around the corner.


97%

If u looking for budget hostel close to old town and other points of intrest go for it!

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent. High value for money; accommodating staff who made my stay in Jerusalem a very smooth one. Will definitely be back.

  • 25th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Breakfasts are lovely, plentiful. The dining area, airy and filled with lively conversations. Internet cloisters are good places to meet fellow travelers and compare notes. Right in the middle of an Arab sector of Jerusalem, the surrounding area teems with activity and a colorful array of vendors. Being right near Damascas Gate, entry into the Old City is barely two blocks away. I also spent part of my stay at Mount Zion a more luxurious hotel, which was lovely, but lacked the intimacy I shared

  • 15th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location right outside the Damascus Gate in front of the old town. Also very close to the light Rail Station. Friendly stuff, great Breakfast included and all day cold and hot water, tea and coffee. The first room we were offered was really small and had only one window with the size of a newspaper page. After asking for a better room, we got into an neat AC-Room with own bathroom for a few dollars more. All in all great value for the money.

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I very much enjoyed my stay at the New Palm (I was in the "Hotel" section, in a private room with a bathroom attached).


91%

Had a great stay in the new Palm. Staff were always helpful and very laid back. The location could not be any more perfect. The hostel itself is really homely, very easy to settle into. Friendly crowd and nice building. Rooms are perfect for crashing after a long travel, clean and comfortable. Will be back soon.


69%

What is would like to add is to take your exact price with you to the hostel. The owner want to take you more money, because of 'bla-bla'. But you just have to pay the price what hostelworld is telling you, NOT more. Except this thing, I have had a nice stay in Palm Hostel.

  • 19th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

absolute no-go ! very dirty (rooms, eating room), bad smell in the room, bed laundry not clean (probably used for several guests)..


(145 results)


View all Jerusalem Hostels

Please give us your feedback