X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green Reviews

233 Willesden Lane, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
4032 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The staff was really great and the place was clean. For just needing somewhere to sleep and keep your belongings it is perfect. Also great to have free lockers inside the rooms. No complaints would definitely recommend.


66%

Hostel was average. Room was ok and bed was comfortable and had clean bedding. water in showers, not warm enough. Wifi in our room was extremely poor. Getting to the home tell was a nightmare, being new in London did not help. Breakfast was below average.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Botswana
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Having not staying in a B&B for 20 years I thought this was great! The rooms were a little small and the curtains didn't cover the window, but the beds were very comfortable. The staff were friendly and the washing facilities were kept nice and clean. Although it was a surprise having men and women sharing shower and toilet facilities. This hostel is in a great position, very near the underground station and a nice street full of food shops etc. I would definitely recommend it! :)

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

This is one of the better hostels I have stayed in. It feels comfortable and safe the PPl are really friendly. The walls can be a little bit thin and the food is plain, but at least they have food. The kitchen is in an awkward spot but still usable. Other than that it's simple but it's nice. I would stay here again.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

One staff member was particularly rude! His attitude was more like we were inconveniencing him.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We're sorry to hear that. We are going to investigate further and making sure that all of our staff members are following our policy of making our guests feel just like at home. We are aware that there was a minor problem with your booking and because of that we gave you a 30% discount. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. Kind regards.

60%

It was a little bit out of the way from the main sights to see in London. Rooms were not as clean as I would like them. A fitted sheet on the bed would be nice. Too noisy, you were able to hear peoples conversations in the hall way and other people getting ready. I stayed in two rooms: four bedroom private, nice but a little small for four people. The best part was the individual lockers. The other room I stayed in was a twin private- was supposed to be one bed but they gave us bunk beds.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are sorry to hear that you didn't have the stay wished for. The twin rooms are, in every hotel or hostel, two beds and not one. If you are looking for one bed only you need to book a Double Room or Single Room. Kind regards.

89%

Idealy placed as we were going to Wembley stadium,staff were helpful and it was good value for money.

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Graeme hostel with good facilities. And 5 minutes from tube. :). We had a good stay

  • 17th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

just as good as it always is! best hostel out there!


83%

Been here many times before and will be back again...


94%

Will be staying here again!

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Makes us happy to hear that! Hope you can come back soon :)

94%

Best hostel I've stayed in in London. Very friendly and helpful staff, the property was very clean. Immaculate bathrooms and the beds were comfortable. Will definately use them again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your kind words. Hope to see you again soon!

71%

Good value, except for breakfast which is pretty bad. Fresh orange juice and good coffee is not luxury. My children were a joy to eat a real English breakfast. they were disappointed. Why not have the opportunity to order a real breakfast? The cleanliness of the room was not great, it deserves to make a little investment.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

Wasn't particularly impressed.


77%

I just popped in for a quick night's stay. The bed and room was fine, the food and drink were fine. Guy tending the bar was awesome, wish I knew his name, but he worked the night of March 29th. Gold star for you man. Was really quiet, which I liked. Overall, pretty good.


100%

I stayed here altogether 7 nights in a female dorm and so far it is the best hostel Ive stayed in London. Good location and connections to central London in 20 minutes. They put a big effort on security. Staff was extremely nice and helpful, and I felt very welcome there. Palmers lodge was also very clean and the cleaning staff was nice aswell. Breakfast okay with cereal, croissant and toast. Something fresh would make it even nicer, some fruit perhaps. Thanks a million! :)


71%

Although it was a hostel, we thought out en suite room was very small and our beds somewhat uncomfortable, leaving both of us to sleep badly in our bunk beds. The communal areas were good with good use of the wifi, and we found the staff to be most enthusiastic. the breakfast was poor with just toast, cereal and croisants

  • 27th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We offer a continental breakfast (Toasts, croissants, cereals, juice, coffee, tea) as we are one of the few places in London still offering a free breakfast. We are looking into the possibility of having a better breakfast, as we do in our sister hostel, but that will require an extra charge. We still have lots of reviews liking it the way it is at the moment, but every voice counts and we thank you for your opinion. Kind regards.

71%

It was very loud. We got good results when we called in to complain, but we had to bring it up every day. The staff was very helpful when we discovered the washing machines were both broken while I was in the middle of laundry. Breakfast doesn't count if there's no protein. And they did not have enough seating for breakfast. The kitchen did not appear to have utensils and pans available, and seemed dirty and tiny.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are sorry to hear it was loud, but that depends of the guests of the moment. We are only one of the few places left in London to still offer a free breakfast. We are looking into the possibility of offering a better BF but with an extra charge. Sometimes the pots are left in the restaurant's kitchen as they were being cleaned and forgot to put back in the self-catering kitchen. But we'll have a close look and replace any missing utensils. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

94%

Cool Hostel! Receptionists always ready to serve you!;)

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

AWESOME place!! It was only about a 10 minute walk to the tube, and you could get straight onto the line that takes you to Big Ben, the London Eye, and Westminster Abbey without needing to switch! it was about a 25/30 minute ride, but i thought it was worth it--even with having to buy an oyster card it was still cheaper to stay here than in most other hostels! the staff is amazing, Mr. Ed and Cassandra especially helped me out and they were super friendly and sooo nice!


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(138 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback