X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green Reviews

233 Willesden Lane, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4553 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Ed was extremely helpful! The lady with the pink hair wasn't the most helpful but she did her job. Everyone else seemed pretty chill.


77%

The airconditioner in our room was soooo noisy!! And I wrote an email to you and asked: Is it Possible that my friends and me can sleep in the Same room. In the Email you wrote yes, but when we arrived it wasn't possible! (We were 3 people and one friend booked in his own but the Same room category) And in every hostel i was before, was a kitchen for all people and in this Hostel not.. A good Thing were the Croissants

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Improve your wifi connection Breakfast was fantastic and cleanliness was great too!

  • 29th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The WiFi is working perfectly. It's just that sometimes the access points need to be reset. If you notify reception about it, they can help you. Thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you again one day!

54%

Only three shower rooms for girls dorm(at least 14 people share)!! Yes, they provide breakfast, which is toast and only one croissant each person! The girls room which at first floor, is very very dark even in the morning! I will never live there again!

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry you didn't like the place, but please do not twist the information. The breakfast is more than that as we also offer cereals, coffee and tea. And the most important thing.. it's free!!! The room you were staying at has only 3 showers but the hostel is full of showers and toilets. So if the ones in your room are busy, you can just go to another one. Kind regards.

66%

Staff were really friendly and helpful. Although this hostel is acceptable. It doesn't have a lot of character, 4 bed dorm was tiny, no working wifi on my floor, location is not far but also not convenient. Nothing about this hostel is TERRIBLE, but the whole experience was a bit uncomfortable. Free breakfast, lockers with room key locks, and great staff were all highlights of the stay. But when you leave, you'll know you've stayed in better places.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We always say that a constructive critic is a good thing so it helps us to improve. We hope you can comeback one day and find the place being better than in your previous experience. Kind regards.

66%

We felt that we had been misled with the information regarding curtains. One of the reasons that we stayed at Palmer's Lodge was that it advertised curtains for privacy, yet our room didn't have them. We also felt that the laundry facilities were extremely poor, especially considering that you require a fee to use them. The breakfast was also not up to standard.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are sorry to hear that you felt misled. It was never our intention and we do advertise the privacy curtains for our big dorms, but the small rooms (4 beds) they don't have them as these are usually for groups of friends. Kind regards

100%

I've never stayed in a hostel before, I've been used to staying in hotels around. This place is magnificent! From the quiet surrounding neighborhood to the friendly and accommodating staff, this hostel take the hassle out of being a traveler. With a lovely bar/pub, to a kitchen, to a snooker/pool table, this hostel has it all. Because this hostel is open 24 hours a day, you may or may not be woken up by your fellow mates coming back from a night of festivities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Makes us very happy to hear you liked the place and had a good stay! Thank you for your feedback and kind words. We hope to see you soon!

86%

Great charming little place. Close to ATM and the underground with very helpful and approachable staff. Free breakfast is standard. I'll definitely stay here next time as well.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's great to hear! We'd love to see you again in our hostel :)

80%

Like the toilet with the window in the lobby. The fridge in the kitchen for guests is a little small for all the food. It would be better to hqve the TV in the lounge as the loud bar music makes it hard to follow a movie. Like the way the showers are mopped so you don't walk in a puddle. There may be people who haven't paid who sit in the bar and the lobby to spend the night. This could be a security risk.

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, No-one should be inside the hostel premises if they don't have a key-card access. But if we notice that someone is on the lobby up at night, we always ask them for their room and to show us the key-card. Failing to do so, they need to pay for a bed or leave the building. We take security very seriously. Kind regards.

83%

Greatly appreciated the upgrade from a 22 beds to a 4 beds room. Toilets/bathroom on the top floor were a bid old and rusty but clean. I sayed in this hostel to attend a concert in Wembley, it is conveniently located on the Jubilee line. Beds are confortable (and made when you arrive!), individual lockers in each room controlled by the key card. Large common space/bar with outdoor terrasse to facilitate encounters.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving your feedback and for choosing us. We hope to see you again!

94%

I think there should be illuminated bed numbers put at the end of each 4 bunk section in the 22 bed dorm as people come in late and night and can't find their beds. There was even a situation where someone got in the wrong bed whilst someone was in it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! It's a good idea! We will definitely think about if it's worth implementing it. But nowadays everyone has a phone with light though. And if someone takes a bed by mistake it's not because of a light missing. The numbers are there so no-one should get in a bed if he/she is unsure of the number. There's always the option of asking our receptionist for the use of a flashlight. Kind regards.

77%

We booked a twin room for 2 people but we weren't in aware the beds are over each other. Good, we had a shower in the room but wasn't good to go out far from our room to the toilet. Good, we had breakfast including in the price. Many thanks for the hungarian recepcionist, Ági who was very helpful and kind and a nice surprice I could speak on my own language!

  • 12th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your good review. This is very important for us to always show our best. Glad that you liked your stay with us. Hope to welcome you soon again - maybe in hungarian again :)

74%

The hostel has breakfast included and nice meal deals at the bar. The cons are that it is not well located, being far from the city center, the rooms have old beds (the bathroom was nice though).


100%

This was my second stay at Hillspring - what can I say. I've stayed in about 15 different Hostels in London and this is definitely the best for facilities and comfort. The atmosphere is relaxed and cosmopolitan, the whole building is spotless clean, the beds comfortable. During my most recent stay I was even offered a free room upgrade!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words and for keep choosing us!! :)

91%

Very nice hostel staff are friendly good food at reasonable prices and had no problems thank you hillspring

  • 9th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey :) Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Palmers Lodge. Hope to see you soon again

97%

The hostel staff is amazing. The place is very cozy and the common areas are comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words! Hope you can return soon!! :)

91%

It could be excellent if you offered another kinds of breakfast, from all over the world, such as English breakfast.!!

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback! We recently removed the breakfast upgrade option as no-one was having it and preferred the free one instead. We are looking into the possibility of having a wider selection of foods in the near future, but then the free option will not be available anymore. Kind regards.

97%

A great place to stay, staff are friendly and helpful. The hostel is clean and the atmosphere is friendly. Good services and well worth another visit. Easy access to central London and a great alternative to a hotel.


83%

The hostel is located in a quiet area between zones 2 and 3 in London. Around 20-30 mins from central London by tube. Pros: very clean facilities, helpful staff, less noisy than other hostels we've been to, large comfortable rooms (we were staying in an en-suite double room), thick curtains on windows, safe box in the room, close to the underground station (5-6 mins), easy to reach if travelling from Luton or Stansted airports.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it and it helps other guests to know more about our property. Hope to see you guys again! :)

94%

Despite the fact that I didn't spend much time at the hospital I thought it was a very nice place with comfortable bedding and facilities. The staff were very nice there. I lack the ability to say more due the lack of time actually spent at the hostel but it was in a nice place. I would recommend it to anybody.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are glad to know you had a good stay with us. Hope to see you again!

(118 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback