X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green Reviews

233 Willesden Lane, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3983 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

The hostel is a quiet place to stay and to sleep. Breakfast is pretty "small": it would be great to have cheese or sausage. Otherwise you´ve got a clean, quiet low budget accomodation.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. In order to keep our breakfast free we cannot really add any more stuff. We are currently now testing paid breakfast at our sister hostel so if it works well we might introduce a different option for our guests. However, it won't be free any longer. We are looking forward to see you again.

80%

Cool hostel, good environment, clean. A little bit expensive for the services it provides in my opinion. It's not in central London, so to arrive you'll need a 16 minutes underground trip. It's 8/10 minutes walking from the metro station.


91%

It's a very nice and clean place where to stay for few days. I loved it !

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking your time time to leave this review. It's nice to know you love us :)

89%

Mostly, everything was fine. The curtains on the beds are nice for privacy. There were three bad things: 1. The lockers under the bed were too small for a normal bag. 2. The water temperature in the showers kept fluctuating from kinda cold to scalding. 3. The hostel is a bit out of the way. It takes about 45 minutes to get anywhere from the hostel using the underground. Don't make the American mistake that I made; a plate of "chips" is actually a plate of fries.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving the review. The lockers provided in big dorms are for valuables only but we do rent bigger lockers which will fit in the whole suitcase for only £1. Also, we are aware about the water temperature issues and are currently working on it. The tube ride to central London is only 20 mins so next time please ask reception for the best travel options. Regards, Palmers Lodge Hillspring

77%

Bathroom in 14 bed mixed door was ridiculously small. There was no room to change or even dry yourself after showering. Beds comfortable and bed curtains a bonus. Would stay again.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback. We do have more bathrooms which are bigger so next time please ask reception about them. We hope to see you again :)

86%

Stayed in a twin bedroom with an ensuite bathroom. Room was tidy, linen was clean and hygiene facilities were good.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Gibraltar
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the kind words. Hope to see you soon with us again! Kind regards

69%

This hostel is very too big if you want to have some close information and good relationship. It's like a factory. no good morning from the staff. The kitchen is very too small and quite dirty. Good point : the 98 Bus is just in front of the hostel.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I had a great time there, I would definitely recommend this hostel to friends and family! Thank you guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot! We are looking forward to seeing you again :)

91%

Great hostel, very good facilities, nice vibe, spacious and very clean. Only con is that it is a bit far away from the citycenter.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback. Our hostel is only 20 mins away from the city center which is not so bad considering it's London. Next time just ask reception for the best transport options. Hope to see you again!

86%

Stayed in a 16 bed & a 22. 22 bed dorm was actually better, a lot more room between beds. Ensuite was beyond small in the 16 bed dorm, good for night time otherwise just used the shared bathrooms for showering. Breakfast was toast, croissants, cereal, juice and coffee which was great. staff were awesome. The train line had construction during our stay and it still only took about 15 minutes to get into the cbd. definitely recommend staying here if you're not fussed about the short train trip

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very happy to know you had a good time. Hope to see you again!

71%

Clean, very helpfull staff, good atmosphere! there's a bar and the deck area is nice. Room is toughtfully designed and they've got very big lockers, which is nice. There's also a sink inside the room, which allows you to brush your teeth, wash your face and stuff faster and with a little bit more privacy. Too expensive for a shared room though. The rates vary according to how requested the specific date is, so it can reach up to 50 or 70 pounds close to holidays such as New year's Eve.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your reply. We are glad to know you had a good time!

83%

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hillspring, the staff is excelent - very friendly and ready to help at any time. The facilities are really good, the atmosphere of the hostel is also great and the bar is very nice. The room I stayed is a bit small and offers 4 free lockers that only opens with you access key. I found the mattress a little hard and the pillow was kind of thin and not very comfortable... I would recommend to change de mattress or at least the pillow (if possible).

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review. It's great to know that had a good stay. Also, next time just ask for an extra pillow. Regards, Palmers Lodge Hillspring

77%

NB: I selected "average location", but I guess out of London's "cool spots" everywhere seems a little average. Quiet and safe area. The hostel itself is nice; when people meet at the bar indoor chilling, playing or dining with background music, the atmosphere gets very cozy. The bunk beds with curtains and personal night lamp provide you enough privacy if needed - and I slept in the 22-beds dorm (where some more fresh air would be needed... but you don't spend much time there). Recommendable!

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind words. We are sorry to hear that there was not so much fresh air in the big dorm. But having days with 0 degrees of temperature probably made the other guests close the windows. Hope to see you soon! :)

80%

The decor and facility is probably the best thing about this hostel. The beds and curtains were also a highlight. With the exception of one girl at the front desk, the staff did not seem thrilled with their jobs and had no interest in guests. Given the size, this is more of a budget hotel and none of the traveler/backpacker atmosphere I hoped for existed. I stayed in a 22 person dorm and it wasn't as loud as I thought but oh my god it needs far more ventilation. Croissants = fantastic

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to leave the review. Complaints about our staff customer service are very important to us so if you would like to tell us more about it please contact us as feedback@palmerslodge.co.uk. Regards, Plamers Lodge Hillspring.

83%

Nice place and friendly staff. Wish the bar stayed open later and there was a few more options on the breakfast.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for the feedback. We are thinking about extending the breakfast options and offer different things. At the moment we are trying those improvements on our sister hostel and so far it had very good feedback. So hopefully by the time you come back we will be offering a better service :) Kind regards

80%

The lift is too noisy at night, which affects sleep.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The breakfast on offer was misleadingly basic.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, I am really sorry to hear that you did not like our breakfast. However, I would like to point out that we still have it for free and in order to keep it complimentary we cannot really add more stuff to it. Regards, Palmers Lodge Hillspring

91%

Great hostel ticks all the boxes You can't go wrong staying here😃

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's great to hear that! Hope to see you soon :)

86%

Very good hostel- easy to get to and clean, well equipped facilities. The staff at the front desk could have been more friendly, however.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Sorry to hear that about the staff. We usually receive very good reviews about them so this is very shocking to us abd we will investigate further. Kind regards

80%

I was very pleased in general. Just one thing the smell of bleach was at times too strong.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience caused regarding the smell of bleach. We know sometimes it's strong but that's just because we take cleanliness very seriously and the bathrooms get cleaned 5 times a day. Kind regards

(2134 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback