X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green Reviews

233 Willesden Lane, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
4551 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I love the curtains that hide the bed for added privacy. The new bartender was very social and very cute. I liked it here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the feedback and the kind words! We'll make sure our bartender knows about it :) Cheers!!

77%

I really enjoyed my stay here, I'll be back soon

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's great to hear :) Thank you for the feedback!

51%

Didnt get a wink of sleep. Room smelled of mould and so did the bedsheets. Walls seemed to be made of paper so could hear everything that went on in the corridor such as screeching, laughing and loud knocking until 5am.

  • 26th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear you didn't have a good stay. Our rooms are cleaned daily and our bathrooms a minimum of 5 times a day. Sometimes some guests actually complain about the smell of the cleaning products. Hope this experience doesn't make you change your mind about staying in hostels in the future. Safe travels!

97%

Good staff friendly atmosphere


89%

Good experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. Felt safe there. And it was clean, pretty good over all!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks!! We always appreciate the feedback. Glad to hear you liked the place! Hope to see you soon :)

71%

House with garden...

Owner Comment (Hide)
We hope you liked our big backyard garden :)

57%

As advised to your receptionist our room in was awful. The bed was old and creaked every time one of us turned over. The room was very noisy, we could hear the lift mechanism all night. When it wasn't the lift it was people thundering up and down the stairs. At 4am unable to sleep, i sat crying! We booked a superior double room but this cannot be the room we had. The breakfast was good. Overall our stay was terribly over priced and has put us off using Palmers Lodge again.

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel is situated in a very nice neighborhood, about 10 minutes, or less, from the tube station. I dont understand why people complained about this fact. Even if you have a lot of baggage you carry it only twice: at arrival and departure. The main advantage is that on the road from the hostel you can find lots of dinners and markets so there is no need to worry. The staff was always very helpful and the bathroom facilities were cleaned 5 times every day. I stayed in a 10 mix dorm. Cheers!

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, the common sense and the kind words! We are surprised too when we read that the hostel is far away from the tube station. Someone once said it was 20 a minutes walk. We were wondering to which station the guest walked to :) Yup, it's only a 7 min walk approximately according to Google maps. 600 meters or 0.4 mile to be precise. Thanks again and hope you can comeback soon! Cheers!! :)

100%

Everything was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
A perfect score, thank you!! Hope to see you soon. Safe travels!! :)

97%

One of the better Hostels to stay. I slept in a 20 or something dorm and it was clean and mostly quiet. The curtains beside each bed provide privacy and don't let you wake up if someone switches on the light in the middle of the night. The staff is likeable and always eager to help you. Recommendable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the kind words and the feedback! Hope to see you next time you're visiting London!!

80%

Me and a friend stayed 4 days in a 4-bed-female dorm. Overall our stay was quite pleasant, just some of the other residents on our floor were quite noisy during night time. The nearest underground station is Willesden Green on Jubilee line, it makes travel easy, just not when you have heavy luggages as that station doesn't have elavator or escalator, so you will have to carry your luggages up and down stairs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Welcome to ye old Willesden Green Underground Station :) Just kidding, we'd love if it had an escalator too! An elevator would maybe be a bit too much as the stairs are not really that long. But! We do have an elevator in our hostel :) Hope you can comeback soon!!

86%

Pretty good overall, staff were friendly. Didn't enjoy having to pay 3.5 pounds to print out some travel documents, most places don't mind doing that for free but otherwise good.


91%

Hostel staff did their job with an excellent precision and attitude. The atmosphere made me relaxed and it seems that the hostel attracts good kind of people. I definitely recommend it to anyone who's looking to have a good stay with a reasonable price. Four and a half stars out of five!

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the kind words and for giving us a good score! We hope to see you soon. Safe travels!!

97%

You are just about 15 minutes away from central London, by Metro, which is great. The staff is very helpfull and nice. The atmosphere is amazing. It is very clean and rooms are very confortable. Security is the best i have seen. One of the best hostel i have been. 5 stars. Willesden Green is also a lovely small city with many restaurants and options to vegetarians.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time of leaving your feedback. We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked the place so much. We hope to see you very soon!! :)

91%

The room was really comfy and the bathroom really clean, I absolutely loved the bunk beds (they make no noise whatsoever). I had a slight problem with people talking at around 3am in my room without much consideration for those that were asleep, but I don't believe that's the hostel's fault - those talking simply didn't really care. Overall the hostel was in a good location just a few minutes from the tube and everything seemed pretty organised and secure. Great place, would stay again!

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for taking your time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the noisy guests in your room. Sometimes there's not much we can do about it, but remember that we have staff 24hrs. If needed, the receptionists can tell the ones making noise to respect the others as it's late at night. Hope to see you soon!! Kind regards

74%

Comfy, good breakfast and a classic motorcycle exhibition next door.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for the feedback. Hope to see you soon!

71%

It wasn't really for travelers. Felt like a lot of people who were there were trying to live in London. As my first hostel on my trip as a single traveler not a good place to start.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay as much. The guests are constantly changing. As a policy, we don't accept bookings for more than 30 days so that the atmosphere keeps changing.

83%

Everyone that worked at the hostel was very friendly and able to answer any question I had. The only thing that was negative about the hostel was the location. It wish it was a little closer to the underground station but other than that everything was great!

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving your review and the nice words towards our staff :) Glad you enjoyed it. Hope you can comeback soon!!

83%

Good hostel, toilets and showers very cramped and fairly average. rooms basic, close to tube station, very reasonable value for london, would stay here again if I was looking for cheap and cheerful place in london. Staff were excellent, very friendly, smiley people.

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for your feedback. It's true that the toilets and showers can get quite busy during peak ours, but it's usually fine for the rest of the day as we have bathrooms in every corridor. Hope you can comeback soon!

100%

Fabulous hostel, very clean, Every thing fab

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's great to hear. Thank you for giving as such a good rating!! :)

(2375 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback