X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Palmers Lodge - Hillspring at Willesden Green Reviews

233 Willesden Lane, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3424 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

It was just great! The staff were very friendly and helpful , everything was clean (even the toiletts) , and you have allot of opportunities to do something in the hostel (Bar/Pool/Billiard/Card Games/Books etc...). Just arround 10 minutes to the next tube station and in zone 2 wich means that you dont have to pay that much if you want to get to zone 1 . I can recommend this Hostel allot !

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The stay was pleasant and good and had good sleep for 2 nights and the hostel served my purpose very well with friendly and helpful staff, the hostel is well maintained and clean overall was value for money. Would definitely recommend to everyone.

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!!

80%

There was a strange smell in the Basement room (like fresh paint). I have read a comment saying that before going, so if that's not temporary, the staff should do something about it asap.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We stayed in the private double room with ensuite. It was lovely, clean and comfortable with a TV, hairdryer and soaps/shampoos, and tea making facilities. It was just like a hotel but 3 quarters of the price! Lovely area and the free continental breakfast was nice. The staff on reception were very welcoming and helpful; I would definitely stay here again, only a ten minute walk to the tube station and good shops near by.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

It's a bit expensive, but everything in London seems to be. The only real complaint I can give this hostel is that it's a bit out of the way, which with a metro pass isn't even that much of a problem. Otherwise, it has tons of facilities and amenities, which were all quite good. I would definitely recommend it.


57%

We had a room on the top floor, shared with 14 people. It was a really crummy room. Very dirty and old. The bathrooms were uncomfortable for many reasons. The key cards stopped working to let us in the room. Breakfast was okay. could definitely be better, thats for sure! Overall, not the best.


89%

It's all good, I will definitely stay there again but the hair dryer can't work.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there and thank you for your review, We are sorry to hear that you've experienced a problem with one of our hair-dryers. But if you let the receptionist know about it they will happily provide you with another one. Otherwise, we provide hair-dryers in almost all of our bathrooms. Kind regards

100%

It would be nice to fix the big hole in the road right outside the gates as you can step right into it if you get out of your car to press the bell. Nice to have a small kitchen to cook in. If possible the hostel might invest in a larger fridge and maybe some cubby hole shelves to put supplies away. Its a mass of orange bags so hard to find anything. People value being able to cook so if would be excellent if the kitchen could be expanded. There is a small locked unused room next to it for expa


100%

Amazing place only wifi don't work on 4th floor, but highly recommend it

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Thank you for the review and feedback We will be installing another WIFI hot spot up there for better coverage. Thank you Palmers Lodge Hillspring Team

97%

Thoroughly enjoyed my time there. Well done to all!


71%

Most of the things were great except for the following: 1. There was very strong smell of paint while I was staying there and that definitely made me feel headache. 2. It would be better to inform in advance if there is a group reservation for the restaurant area. first day noon I went back finding out that the kitchen was unavailable due to group reservation. if it could be informed earlier that day, many people didn't have to spend those time all the way back to there.

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback Please accept my apologies about the smell, we are refurbishing our 4 bed rooms, we will make sure next time the restaurant gets the proper signage regarding group meals. We hope you will choose us again in the future. Kind regards Robert Stanca Manager

91%

Staff very friendly and helpful. Good atmosphere Breakfast very welcome. Laundry facilities great. Thankyou. Marie Portz and daughter Kathryn McRae

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback It was a pleasure meeting you both and we hope you will choose us again in the future Kind regards Palmers Lodge Hillspring

94%

This is always my first choice of place to stay when I come to London. Everything I need, at a good price. Lovely friendly staff and a great atmosphere. Thank you. :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will choose us again in the future. Kind regards Palmers Lodge Hillspring Team

80%

only thing i would say is the location is just fair. Overall is good.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

My experience here was very good! The only thing I would like to say is that the spanish boys at reception are very kind but the girls, except for the english girl, are often in a bad mood. Me too I work with customers, I know there are rude people but I always smile to their. Mine was just a suggestion because you can not know who you are dealing with.

  • 23rd Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback I have taken in account your suggestion regarding our staff members and I will keep an eye out, we hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Kind regards Robert Stanca Manager

97%

Absolutely fantastic value and hospitality

  • 20th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for the review and feedback We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us, we hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Regards Palmers Lodge Hillspring

89%

It was good, the internet worked well, the breakfast was fine. Thanks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will choose us again in the future. Kind regards Palmers Lodge Hillspring Team

63%

The privacy curtains seem to make people forget others. Main light switched on at 2am, 3am and 5am, and loud conversations at all hours. Five nights of broken sleep, worst in two years of travelling. Perhaps on check-in staff could remind people in the large dorm about respecting others. Better signage to self catering kitchen and lighting in basement showers, smell of chlorine in lobby. Has much under utilised potential.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback, I'm sorry to hear your room mates where inconsiderate during the night, our hostel has signs around regarding the noise after 11PM but I will make sure we will provide more of these to raise awareness, usually this can be easily fixed by asking assistance from our 24 hour reception. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Robert Stanca Manager

94%

GREAR HOSTEL!! If it was a bit closer to the city center it would be perfect


(1882 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback